(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

vone the brown rice from yu ren sheng need to cook le abit ma fan.. my mum was saying don't know how to cook 1 scoop of brown rice le hee..hee.. that s y i am looking for instant brown rice

so far i only feed charlene once per day.. actually my pd say is ok le

Bena, think maybe it's because he hasn't drank milk lah ... cos his last feed was 7am. He was weighed at around 11.15 am. If he takes in another 160ml of milk, he should be 9kg cos 160ml = 160g = 0.16kg ... so if you add 0.16kg to his weight of 8.84kg, then it's just nice ... 9kg! Heeee

fitty nut: Tall meh? PD said he's proportionate leh ... didn't comment he's tall.

magoo: oh ya! good la...new course starting every mon and thurs so it will be long days for me 0830 to 1830 cos i gotta go to school after the course.

low family: wonder if i taught her that cos i always used to hold my arms out and ask if she wants tobe carried...aiyo now the moment she sees me she does that leh...

Vone: I am giving Jordan Nestle Brown Rice. Currently he's only tasted Nestle White Rice Cereal and Brown Rice Cereal ... these 2 are the Stage 1 cereals. Maybe when he's 8 months, I will introduce him other cereals like Nestle Fish / Chicken cereal ... will also be introducing him porridge then.

is it ok to give babies the brown rice powder from NTUC? the one in the roundish container...it contains ikan bilis i think

blueskye:

Oh! I havent tried Nestle Brown Rice Cereal. So far im on heinz cereal =D He likes it i finished 1 pack of it ^^ Moving on to the next pack ^^ Maybe i'll start feeding him brown rice soon

low family:

i didnt know brown rice from yu ren sheng need to be cooked lol!! geez then i better start sourcing for instant brown rice. I saw Heinz brown rice with ikan bills. dont knoe wat stage its for..

atinarin:

there was once i was at kiddy palace and 1 malay guy asked me how old is my son i told him 6 months .i was selecting heniz bottle food at that point of time and he told me "oh and pointed to his son.. 2months old" *quite shock his son is almost same size as my son* and he added on tats he's alrdy feeding his son with bottled food from heniz and cereals..

atinarin,

U talking abt the one wif a bb pic one huh?
I m giving my Ayden that for weekdays..
My sis(nanny) uses ikan bilis to boil the water then mix wif the brown rice n give to my boy. He seem likes it!!

magoo: yes, the one with the chinese baby, a fat one, on it haha...they have 2 variations, 1 with ikan bilis and another with some herbs in it.

So that means wash the ikan bilis then boil it in the water, add the brown rice to cook?

vone: i think the traditional thinking amongst chinese malay and indian pple is that u give solids by 3 months or so. THats why my MIL kept hounding me to give bb solids...really made it sound like im depriving my child....my own aunt added nestum to all her 3 kids' milk from 2 months onwards, she said then they slept through the night.

re feeding baby solids:
but we know better right? its best to intro solids as late as possible if baby is still taking milk well bah..
feed too early heighten the risk of allergies leh

ecookie: ya lor but irritating to keep hearing MIL keep saying y i dont give...but most kids seem to thrivewell being intro solids early tooo..maybe cos they don have a history of allergies or asthma in their families

the ice trays from Daiso, are they similar to the Isetan type?

i have no energy to go out man...what a life...weekends are for house cleaning..

atinarin: my ILs also have been asking me when will i be introducing solids to dahlia, at every visit we make to their house. so far my husband has been standing by my side and telling them yes, eventually we will, just not yet.

a wise friend told me that if they say "oh last time i fed your husband chicken when he was 4 mths old!" i should answer "well last time policemen wore shorts, chicken rice only 10cents!" heh.

well i'll just breathe in and mentally tell myself theyre just excited to see their granddaughter grow up.

FAU: same boat la...they from the start keep saying let her taste this and that..lagi worse, told me to put some lime juice onher lips then take photo of her sour look...helloooo?!

<center>Yay! Finally finished setting exam paper!</center>

fau: hows dahlia by the way?
Did the docs ensure its not ear infection/uti or anything?

actually the weather has made hb ill again too.

ecookie, atinarin &amp; Fau Aiman,

Same here, when my bb was 4 mths my MIL already kept asking me when will i have to start my bb for solid.

So i told my husband to give the answer. Our answer is "doctor said our bb cannot take solid food now, must wait..."

Even now i just introduced my BB solid a week ago, my MIL already start saying today eat this tmr eat that, i told her "doctor said must eat the same food for one week :p"

Whatever i always said "doctor said..." then this save lotz of arguement.

Cindy (fitty_nut),
i also never teach there anymore, now when it is time to punch out, i punch out and go. must rush home fetch bb. replacement class at most.anyway pay so miserable. =p not even enuff to buy his every mth diapers cost. =p

hi phoebe,
thanks alot..yest night i tried to feed bb water so instead of milk and indeed she sleep slightly longer and the next feed which is about 4hrs, she can drink 160ml..heehee..

hope this will continue and soon one day she can sleep throughout.

maybe becos i haven trained her

atinarin,

Actually i bought the one wif ikan bilis..
in fact no need to do the way my sis done...
She finds it no taste.. so she go n boil the water n then put in ikan bilis to let the real ikan bilis taste to "stay" in the boiled water..
(like the way to cook soup base).
after that then she uses the "water" to mix wif the brown rice n feed..
no need to cook the brown rice..

Mag,
Your sis use dried ikan bilis? Why hah? I thought it's quite unhygenic (have you seen how they sun them?), too salty, and also not as fresh as fresh fish?

Blue,
Wah your calculation so zhun one ah... hahahaha..

Atinarin, Vone,
Me too lor. Till today (I started Zac on solids 2 weeks back), my mum will still give me the accusing look and talk to zac sacarstically saying " Your mummy don't want to let you eat right?", as if I'm starving Zac. Very pek chek. Then now, when I insist on putting Zac on the high chair instead of the rocker when feeding him, my mum will complain and complain(at EVERY MEAL): "Why you put him on the high chair? He doesn't know how to sit yet lah. Let him stay semi inclined in the rocker. It's easier to feed lah." Tell you, I'm very pissed. Then she'll suggest that I feed this today and next tomorrow. When I told her the 4 day allergy test rule, she'll tell me : "Oh your dad's friend works in some hospital cooking for infants and kids, but she says we can feed the child anyhow we like because she followed all the rules and turned our her kids are skinny like monkeys.". Hello? What kind of logic is that?

When I was breastfeeding, she (my mum) had postnatal blues and insisted that I stop feeding zac from a cup when I couldn't latch on. In the end, I persevered and won the battle. Now she wants to interfere again. Dunno why she wants to make parenthood so difficult for me sometimes.

bena: aiyo ur mum is quite terror la but prob cos shes ur own mother so she thought she can be more forward. my mums ok but mil and relatives on my side are irritating

gingerleaf,
Yes, HT Brown Rice is much watery as compared to Heinz 1st Rice Cereal. I give my boy 10 teaspoon for HT Brown Rice, but only 7 teaspoon for Heinz 1st Rice Cereal to result with somehow similar consistency. I oso find that HT Brown Rice is much more coarser, more lumpy. My boy dun really like HT Brown Rice, so I put him back on Heinz. Only mix pureed to HT Brown Rice. Milk with Heinz Rice Cereal.

Bena,
My sis used ikan bilis i think cos she worries the smell of the brown rice content..
she d not put a lot.. just a few into a pot of water. so that the salt is diluted..

To me, I try not to be very particular.. cos afterall she is helping me to take care of my kids..so I ONE EYE OPEN ONE EYE CLOSE..
But back to my house, i dun do what she does..
hee..

seeing all of u all having so much fun in giving solids to bb. really envious.
FINALLY! I will give solids to ben this coming friday. first food must be iron-fortified rice cereal right? anyone knows where i can find it? no sugar and all. thanks in advance!

ben mum: yes, rice cereal...i will be starting on SAturday if all goes well...

Babies on similac, is the poo very watery? I am switching my girl to similac from Enfa, so far one feed is similac but bb seems to be having diarrhea, 3times already today.

Very sian..my gal now really having running nose (start with super watery mucus &amp; now turn yellowish liao)..I bet tonight will be zombie for hb &amp; me cos she needs to be carried all the time!
kao_dizzy.gif

atinarin, my bb is on similac. not really watery poo leh. quite sticky. but he poos daily. maybe is adjustment period?

lbs, do take care. try to get some cat naps if can. else, take turns lo. my hb cant even help me out if ben were to fall sick. sighs. he cant pacify ben! argh!!! i dread to think of that day.

bena, atinarin, i think grandparents all alike. i just smile lo. sometimes v difficult to explain to them.

blue: i got some packets sample nestle rice cereal which PD gave me but i don't give nestle to Sam, if you want i can give it to u too, i must see the expiry date though. When want to meet to exchange the milk? I can meet you on wed or thurs for lunch.

Magoo: what type of brown rice you bought for Ayden?

Today i tried jar puree for Sam too as we went out 1 whole day. Tried Earth's Best organic jar puree, sweet potato, not really sweet, so i find it's good. Am going to stock up more, jar food for going out.

Voice, ok you can pass them to me. But got to be week after this cos whole week I'll be at home (tomorrow going for my surgery liao). Will sms you to arrange or what ...

long time no post here already! Freaking busy with work since I went back to work in Feb. Hows everybody? I don't even have time to read the posts here...only peep a bit occasionally.

Need help! My friend is giving birth in August this year and she is looking for a confinement lady, anyone got any good recommendation? Mine wanted to charge her $2k which I find it rather expensive coz last year she only charge me $1.7k. So I told my friend I will help her ask around my forum friends. Can anyone help? Thanks in advanced!

huh blueskye, wat surgery? you ok? Take good care yeah!

atinarin, my boy is on similac too, he poos once every 3 days and his poo is not watery leh...I think like what ben mum said, probably its the adjustment period.

magoo, HOW are YOU?! long time no see leh...
i'm so freaking busy with school work...haiz!

hey ladies,GOOD MORNING...screwed up gotta go for course so i been up since 6am!

anyway anyone of u big fans of Body SHop and wanna get discount let me know, i have the star loyalty membership card. its expiring end March, dont thnk im gonna pay $10 to renew cos i hardly use it, thts why cant chalk up the 450 to auto renew too

So if u wanna get stuff soon and can meet at AMK hub weekday evenings at 7, lemme know, can fully take advantage of them heheh.

Voice,
I bought from NTUC. The round container wif chinese wording on it and a bb pic..

Arisz,
Ya lor.. Really long time no see.. We still hv no chance to see each other bb yet....

how's the wkend? mine a bit tiring..had gathering with friends at goodwood park hotel. food is pretty good. shd try if u can.

btw, want to sell off desitin cream. anyone interested? pls pm me.

1301748.jpg

Re: Similac (Hey, quite alot of babies on Similac hor?)
I have switched Caelen to Similac from Friso. So far, his stool is much softer than Friso (texture is more of the BF type of stool) but not to the extent of lao shai :p

RE: Eu Yang Sang Brown Rice cereal
I also bought the EYS cereal for Caelen. ALternate between this and Dumex cereal. He is about to finish one tin already. Didn't have much problem cooking the cereal, I usually add 2 scoops of brown rice and 2 oz of warm water into a tiny saucepan and boil till it gets thicker. I then add 2-3 scoops of milk powder to the rice.

The key about the EYS brown rice is that it includes some Si Sen Powder which is supposedly good for baby's digestion. But if you buy normal brown rice, you can also just buy the medicinal powder and add.

Hi Blue, you have a good rest after your surgery

Hi arisz, hey, I also have a friend due in Aug! It's a baby gal
Hmm... I can pass you the contact for my CL but not sure if her price has increased also. She charged me $1.8K previously.

I've been feeding Faith Heinz rice cereal for over a week now and also started giving her apple puree. Will like to ask how much cereal do your babies take each meal? Currently Faith is taking 2 tbsp and about 140ml EBM after cereal. Wonder when I can just feed her cereal for 1 meal?

Also, Faith has been a notti girl at night. She wakes up almost every 2hrly! She will start making noise in her cot and will be tossing and turning but with her eyes closed. She can't be calmed down even after picking her up and carrying her, always have to resort to letting her latch on and then she will fall back to sleep. I don't think she is doing this bcos of hunger, she seems to be sucking for comfort. This has been going on for weeks! Is it due to teething? So far no signs of any teeth popping out lei...I'm so tired every night as I keep getting disturbed sleep and next week I'll be starting my new job so really hope to resolve this by this week.

Hi mummyfaith
I feed Caelen cereal in replacement of a meal. But I will add 3 more scoops of milk powder to the cereal so that it is more nutritious. I go by the milk powder type of scoops. Then must remember to feed more water cos' cereal has less liquid.

Caelen wakes up rather frequently at night for the longest time, for no apparent reason. I'm sorry I can't offer any solutions, I'm at my wits end myself. Please let me know if you found any sleep solutions. U would have saved my life heheee.

hi blue, ok u let me know when, no hurry.

hi mummies, i got 1 tin of NA HA stage 2 sample tin of milk powder, anyone got enfapro want to exchange with me? Exchange in town area after work!