(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

JustMe: Was it you asking me abt Mandarin Playnest at JG? Just to let you know that the current term is ending soon (we just have this week and next week) so if you want to sign your bb up for the new term, now's probably a good time to do a trial, etc.

Hi Phoebe,

Don't mention. Didn't rec' any PM fr you. Was wondering if I had missed it in any way. Hope the baby's alright.

Hey ladies need to check with u all:

Re Bottles
u gals mentioned changing teats. I change every 3 months or once they are discoloured but what about BOTTLES? When to change

Re Pnemococal jabs
How many of your babies are going for this?

I read up and some sites dont say good things about it. Just like the MMR jab and the hype over it causing autism, this jab is said to contain alot of toxic substances. My girl has howevergone for her first dose.

Really confusing huh

i am having hard time exploring the Facebook..
how can i add the SMH group to my account?

Glad to see so many mummies there..

I have sent invitation to all mummies, please add me, k?

thx ^.^

Hi yoki, what's your email addy? I'll find you and invite you to join the SMH group.

Re pnuemococcal jab,
My PD advised that all babies should take as a precaution coz it can be fatal and why not take the vaccine since its available. But if baby is not going to infantcare or frequently exposed to other babies going to infant/childcare then its not critical to take before 6 months. So I decided to wait till 6 months to take the 1st dose, apparently this way I save 1 dose too.

Atinarin,
Yah what was in the news about bottles? I also didn't see. Why are you so concerned about BOTTLES? Make me panic also! I have changed my bottles since Jade upsize to the 270ml bottle when she was 4 months old.

Re teats, I've been using the 3 hole teats since 3 months. Going to change to the 4 hole teats when she turns 6 months next week.

Talking about teats, yesterday I waS so grossed out. I kept the 1 and 2 hole teats in a container a few months back and was thinking of keeping it for my next baby. When I opened it yesterday, it was growing mould already. *faint* Threw the whole thing away.

Hi Emily,

Can u let me knoe the price of their high chair at Chong Choon ?
Thx ! I'm intending to get a chair for my boy as well.

Bena,

Mine still refuse to take from the bottle. Was really bad >_< Maybe things will get better when he start taking semi solid food

re teats
my boi still on size 2 avent teats leh. must change? he seems very comfy with the teats....

me changed his bottles when he was 3 months old. aso thinking whether to change his bottles or not. according to the report, plastic bottles which are heated too many times will emit a substance called bisphenol_A. not good for bb. aso am trying to find out more. any mummies have any idea?

angel: i was worried about BOTTLES haha cos its like sterilised too many times....dont know safe or not.

benmum: Bisphenol A is found in the plastic used to make the bottles...its either have or dont have (Bfree bottles dont have it) i dont think sterilising will make it come out more.

teat: still using 2 hole one cos my girl cant handle 3 holes one...

bottle: cant UPSIZE to bigger one cos she is still taking 90ml only

Hey I got a question. I signed into Facebook and there were so many requests for Plants, hugs etc.. What am I suppose to do with them? If I click accept it'll bring me to another page and I have to click something else to download something.. my gosh so tedious..What am I suppose to do??

-Blur Bena

Bena,
Haha you're finally on FaceBook! I just invited you to the Sept Mummies Group. Ya thats the fun part of facebook...can send gifts, plants, etc. You'll have to install the application in order to accept the gifts. Its quite fast usually - just takes a few seconds. Then once installed, you can also send ppl gifts, plants, etc.

Hi yogi,
You're not on the Singapore network so I can't add you to the group leh. Must change your Network first.

Angel,
I've been on FB for quite a while already actually but no time to figure it out hahaha.. it took me very long to install those applications leh..

yolk sac,
yes, i was the one asking abt the JG playnest. THanks for the info!

re: pneumo vaccine,
since sarah isn't exposed to other babies often i think i will have the vaccine when she's older maybe abt 1 year old. I think then will i enrol her in playgroup. after 1 year old, too, i hope to get the chicken pox vaccine. wah.. dunno if too much vaccine good for her ... or the other way around.

Sharing what our babies like to do now ... mine loves to use his tiny hand to feel and touch my face ... and as he's doing that, he always smiles. My heart melts when that happens! That's bonding to me.

Btw hor, think I am going through a really rough period now ... don't know if it's some sort of depression but it seems that everything is coming at one go.

Work has been hectic for me ... hardly has any time to breathe and believe it or not, I actually only have time to go toilet once at lunch time and maybe once more in the evening. Yes, that's how busy I am lately. If busy during work hours only never mind, now I even need to work in the evenings w/o any extra allowance or off-in-lieu! And bitchy people around me didn't help the situation the least bit ...

Just when work didn't turn out well for me, my hair is going on a fiercer strike!!! I am losing even more hair now, to the extent of appearing bald in front. Went to see my hair specialist yesterday and I am already in stage 2 of hair loss. Have more or less decided on the hair transplant surgery. The last time I shared that I was quoted $7k for 1,000 grafts of hair 2 years back ... now, I need 2,000 grafts as I've lost even more hair now. Cost of surgery will be $12.5k ... adding up misc costs will be at least $15k. To some of you, you may think that you won't spend this kind of money ... but hor, when this happens to you, you definitely will think twice lor ... I mean, of cos I might not do it if I'm in my 50s (at that age, who cares right?) ... but I'm still young lor ... I don't wanna look bald. You know what I mean?

Then adding on to my depression is that I really hate to be weaning off so soon. It's such a waste to wean off when I still have milk supply. But it seems as a "no choice" if I'm going for the surgery. Anyway, a console for myself which I am still trying to convince is ... at the very least, like hubby said, Jordan will have at least more than 6 months of breastmilk and that's enough already.

Sigh ... aiyah ... very depressed now.

blueskye,
i feel for you. I am sorry for your situation. The last time work was like that for me, I quit. That was when i was expecting sarah at 3 mths.
I am not encouraging you to do what i did. I just sympathize with you.

Hair issue. Hair is like our crowning glory. Being in your situation must be really hard on you. I just hope your condition will improve. Maybe its all the stress. Plus postnatal shedding ~ which many of us are also suffering.

Re weaning.
I agree with your hubby. DOn't push yourself harder. You had done your very best for Jordan and weaning off earlier doesn't mean you are a less great mum you are. Just learn to relax and don't think too much. I know its easier to be said than done. But its all in your hands.

to the mummy who helping to collect ebm.. ive got 4 bottles of 125ml and 2 bottles of 260ml.. but the ebm is 16,18,31 oct and 2,3 nov.. its been a long time so dunno if the mummy wants it.. its frozen..

Hi blueskye,
So sorry to her about your situation. Try to relax and get more rest if you can. Stress can aggravate the situation. Regarding hair loss, I think its a good investment now for the hair transplant.. Like you mentioned, we are still young and still need to face the world.. $$$ can be earned back in future, but hair cannot lor.. Dun worrie, you have done a great job to BF Jordan for a long 6 months period.. If you compare to me, I only BF for one month.. Sometimes I also feel bad about this..

Hi Vone,
Cheong Choon has a wide range of high chairs, price from below $100 to $200+. I have shortlisted 2 brands:

1. Mamalove: $145 - can be converted into writing table &amp; chair, but its a bit bulky.
2. Herokids Swing High Low Chair: $165 - Looks good, 6 level of reclining, can serve as a napping chair or feeding chair..

I am planning to see the actual chair in Kiddy Palace this week before I order from Cheong Choon as they have free delivery.

emily, dun feel bad. i never even bf. only 1 time. pump out 1 week of milk ss for ben nia. sighs. i largi even more guilty.

blueskye, go for it. a bit ex. but if it is good and looks natural, why not? we are still young. so far, my hair balding in front le, where my parting is. now can still change parting to cover up. dunno how long it can last tho. this my first bb only. think if have second one sure jialut aso. =<

workwise, sighs. aso working like mad cow in school. now CA around the corner, more things to settle aso. bitchy people around you? pray and let god handle them. vent here aso can. we will listen. =D

blueskye,
You must be very stressed now. I think the $15K is only money, like Em said can always earn back. Hope it works well though! Re breastfeeding, actually you've already BF for 6 mths and all the pumping is alot of effort! 6 mths already very long lor. Its sayang to stop when supply is so much but can't be helped since you going for surgery. So don't worry - your Jordan will not blame you. In fact I think babies don't have a preference to FM or BM...as long as they are fed and needs are met they are happy!

BLuesky: So easy to say relax and take it in your stride but i guess its diff when u are actually in that position.

Can u take leave or MC? Rest a bit...if you are overworked and tired you wont be efficient either.

You have bf for 6mths which is so wonderful...pple like ben mum and me...want to give also cannot.

Whats worse is the paltry 20ml i can gie, my girl no longer likes or wants...keeps rejecting.

Ben mum: My school also pretty bad...work aside, a lot of workshops to attend so my days start at 8.30am and end at 6.30pm.

Bitchy staff easy to find even in our line eh? ;)

Re High Chairs
I saw one that costs only $59 at Mums and Babes. Very stable looking. Big tray

bluesky: done be depressed.. i can totally feel for u.. my hair has always been on the thin side and 2 years ago when i got really stressed out at work, my hair started to fall out so much so that i considered hair transplant that time but my dermatologist advised against as she said my condition is not so serious and she prescribed me hair tonic instead..

since i preggy i stopped using it for obvious reason and now, 4 mths after delivery i started using it. bcos of post natal hair loss, i realise my hair have reverted to pre-tonic stage.. very thin n little
.. but im still persisting with the tonic hopefully it will work for me like last time..

must think positive, i was really depressed back then but my hubby helped me to cheer up and rememebr that life is more than sadness.. so go ahead with ur transplant &amp; hopefully things will be better for u in the future!!

as for breastfeeding , u ve done great BF for the past 6 mths.. i stopped after 2 1/2 mths cos ive asthma and BF will increase the risk of passing to my boy..

since i chagned job n stress level go down, realise im much happier &amp; it helpes with improving hair loss situation too! so stay happy okie!

bluesky,
take care. u really sound depressed. must vent out ok, dun keep all to yourself. we're human, not saint. jia you!

anyway mummies, baby fair at taka is coming early march, why dont we go there to source out high chairs? surely got good offers then?

blueskye: hope you get your well deserved break soon.. and don't get too stressed about the BF part, you've done your bit to give him you best..

wish me good luck mommies, going out with baby Dahlia by myself today! bringing her to the office for a while, lunch with colleagues and then both of us will *hopefully* survive a bit of shopping at marina square..whee!

blueskye, when you are down and unhappy, think of your smiley boy and take a deep breath, you will feel better. Dont be so stress on BF, it will worsen your hair loss.

ecookie, im also waiting for the Taka fair to get a walker for my gal. its starting 9th mar is it? im going to isetan scotts later to get the ice cubes tray, recommended by yolk sac. hope they still have them.

yolk sac, whats JG playnest sounds interesting. you have the website would like to sign up some enrichment classes for my gal.

bluesky, hope you get some time off work soon for RnR! you can only go toilet twice a day! i too scared to think how much work you are getting! must be a horror!

Blue,
So sorry to hear what you are going thru now. It's really a tough time for you. I will pray for you that the situation will improve..
Like what all the mummies here have said, you really have to pat yourself on the back and say that you've done a great job with Jordan. He's such a happy and adorable baby.

Vone,
Re taking the bottle, just continue to try offering the bottle to him everyday...he will get it sooner or later.
Think babies are so smart...they learn things very fast. Bad when they're picking up bad habits...but also good when we're trying to change something! These past few days I've been 'training' Jade to sleep by herself instead of the usual carry/pat/dance/sing ritual. The first time she kept crying and was difficult to settle, but it became easier and easier each time and in just 3 days she's sleeping by herself already
*What a relief!!*

I'm now also trying to introduce the magic cup to her...she didn't know how to do it the first time but everyday I will give her...she is able to suck a few sips now. Also realised she's willing to suck more when there's apple juice (diluted) inside instead of water hehe!
Maybe you wanna try. Apple juice is good to prevent constipation...when we start solids like cereal and purees must give them juice together with the meal. It also helps with the absorption of iron because there's vitamin C. My PD told me to give undiluted but I'm afraid she'll get a sweet tooth so I give it to her diluted.

Hi justme,
Re Pneumococol jab,
My PD recommended that we do it asap, since when they're young and immune systems are not strong, if they are hit with the virus it will be life threatening. If baby is less than 6 months, need 4 doses, 2 months apart. If baby is 6 months, only need 3 doses. That's why he advised if the exposure is low and baby doesn't go to infantcare, then wait till 6 months then we save 1 dose.

I decided to do at my GP (near my house)...he charges $150 per dose (inclusive of gst and consultation). There's very low risk of fever. But understand from some mummies that the jab is more painful than the other jabs so baby will cry louder after the jab. So must be mentally prepared. :/

Hi rxsti,
I initially gave her Heinz one...but comes in such a big bottle and must consume within a few days so I find it wasted coz she only drinks 100ml a day. My PD say OK to give normal apple juice that we drink - But must be careful and look at the ingredients - must be 100% apple juice, not from concentrate, no preservatives, no sugar and acid, etc. So I started to buy from NTUC, comes in a 1 litre packet. 2 brands I have found is ok - Ceres and Harvey Fresh.

my boy had his 1st pneumococcal jab on his 6th week, 2nd one on his 3rd month, then 5th month and the last jab i think it's ard 12th month... so total 4 jabs. i believe it's more painful than his 6-in-1 jab coz he really cried very loud on this injection.. very poor thing... but hubby and me feel that it's better to have him protected...

Hi dodo,
Very pain meh? My boy took it together with the 6-in-1, he cried a short while oni.. heng ah!

I was thinking am I too cruel to let him take 2 jabs at the same day? But PD said, its the same, still need to pain 2 times...

Em,
Haha! That's true...anyway it seems they cry awhile only so can't be that painful right? My Jade doesn't even cry when she goes for her 5-in-1 jabs. My PD will be talking to her and she will still smile at him. Maybe she can't feel the needle go in because too much fats in her thunder thighs.

yah think no choice. better to have them vaccined then risk an infection..

my boy didnt cry during his 2nd 6-in-1 jab!

will see if he cry during his 2nd pnuemo jab next mth