(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Insurance..

just want to share.. great eastern's supreme health plus provides coverage for pregnancy complicatins and congenital disease... i think they are the only one that covers Congenital disease but the waiting period is 2yrs...

Vicki,
Not too sure if it's ALL Metro stores or only at causeway pt. The lady who called me is from there.

Just bought my girl for her 6-in-1 jab last Wed and she also had her 6 weeks old assessment done at the same time. :)

Good morning everyone,
Hope u've a great day ahead

Good morning ...

Goldfishy, didn't know you stay in Bishan! Me too! Haha ... but think you stay at St 13 there right? Me the other side at St 24! Next time can meet also!

Wiselyn, you very good leh, can always bring Clara out! So far I only attempt to bring Jordan out once when hubby is not around. Good hor, you can carry Clara in baby carrier and sling to walk about. I tried to put Jordan in sling he didn't like it ... seems squeezy for him also ... looks wierd lor ... don't know is it I don't know how to carry. As for carrier, I tried at home also ... seems like he's somehow still small to be put in the carrier leh ... or maybe cos my elder one I only carried her in carrier at later stage so looks "funny".

Good morning mummies...
Ryann dunno why these 2 days very cranky. He very tired le but dun want to slp. YAo lan also no use. tried all ways also no use.. Take care of him until i also didnt get much slp.. this morning 'gong gong' 'stone stone' walk and knock to the corner of my bed frame.. super painful.. now blue black on my leg and 'blue black'(dark eye Rings)on my eyes!! I wonder how to cope when go back to work this friday?

need advise on storing BM. i have 2 packs of EBM stored in refrigerator section (think its about 3-6 degrees bah) for 20 hours liao.
can i still freeze them inorder to store longer?

hi blue,

dun like that say leh...hehe...think u practice a bit also can liao!...think all mummies here are SUPERMUMMY!!!...meaning BAO everything...not just being a milk factory

so far for sling ah..haha...clara also dun like leh...think too enclosed for her...she prefer to look look see see the outside world...curious girl...that is why she love the carrier...a carrier is really good for her and for us!

dArmAe,
EBM can be stored in the fridge for 2 days. Some books say 3-5 days but i dun want to take the risk. If not u can put them up to the freezer department, can store up to 6 mths. but i realize that after thawing the milk from the freezer, got 1 smell so i prefer in the fridge.

Hey Blue, Goldfishy, Wise & Clement,
If you guys meet next week let me know k...I'm staying in Bishan with my mum next week
She's staying near Olio Dome. My hubby flying off for the first time since Jade was born.
I think I will be 'blue black' stone stone also.

Darmae,
Not sure leh...I usually freeze immediately. I know BM stored in fridge must be consumed within 24 hours.

Clement, Wiselyn,
My girl same same as Clara! Don't like the sling but she loves being in the carrier! Does your Clara stay awake in the carrier? Mine hor...the minute I put her in, she'll burrow her head in my chest and fall asleep.

hi angel,

clara ah...sleep awhile...wake up awhile...nowadays she also sleep much lesser in the day...sleep at nite...hehe

hi angel,

clara ah...sleep awhile...wake up awhile...nowadays she also sleep much lesser in the day...sleep at nite...hehe

blue,

i am sure u can do it also...we can do anything for the sake of out baby....anyway yesterday was only the second time me bring clara out alone....most of the time she sleepng..so easy for me...

yeah phoebe,

2 days meaning 48hrs... so shld be ok for me to move them to freezer?

i'll make a marking on it... will smell n taste b4 offering to bb.

For me, I think the stroller is a "must bring" cos it's easier to push stroller around. Also, all the barangs can put in the stroller basket. Heeee
But then con is ... must have vehicle lah. If not it's difficult.

my boy is 5.7kg now, think same weight as angel's princess! He still ok with the sling, fidget a little then fall asleep inside. Like blueskye, i think the carrier i have is still rather big to fit my boy inside, he looks wobbly and fragile in the carrier so mebbie will try putting him in the carrier 3rd mth onwards.

These 2 days very siong, whole family sick...my boy kenna fever, flu and alot of phlegm in his throat. Thank God that the fever has subsided. Hubby brought back the flu bug from office cos' the whole coy went to vietnam a wk ago and most of them fell sick. Really hard to avoid spreading germs/virus at home, 1 kenna, usually most of the other members will also kenna.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Phoebe</font>..
Thanks for ur help to extend the membership for me. When I spoke to one of the Amore staff abt my pregnancy, they told me that they will put my membership on-hold until I restart my class again.

I forgot to ask my gynae when can I start my exercise. I intend to go end next week. I'm also on C-section. Is there any kind of exercise that I shd forbid? I love aerobics & stretch fit classes. I delivered via C-section on 11 sep. I got 5kg more to lose. *faint*

Hi <font color="0000ff">Voice</font>,
I forgot to ask Woody when we can start exercise regime. Did u ask him?

Hi <font color="0000ff">peapod</font>..
Same here. I am also buying skirt & pants with L size. But I advise not to buy too much. We shd be able to fit into our pre-pregnancy clothes by 6th month... Anyway, like Voice has mentioned, u r the slimmest among all the mummies during our first gathering... And you still look great when u r pregnant.....

Hi <font color="0000ff">blueskye</font>..
I agree with u. Stroller is a must-have for me too. I cant imagine carrying my baby who is already 5kg+ for so many hours. 0.5hr oso cannot tahan liao.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Voice</font>.

Take care, hope samsam will recover soon. I think its good to keep some face mask at home. Anyone who gets flu shd wear face mask to avoid spreading the bug to their babies...

Hi Em, i will be seeing Woody next monday, will check with him on exercising. Still it depend on our individual comfort level i think. I like hi-impart classes ie. kickboxing...guess i won't be able to do that for awhile, scare affect the wound.

Pillow: he loves to fall asleep while am feeding him, dat's why he took so long to finish his milk!

Angel: tks, yah man..was hoping this long weekends to bring him go gai gai(actually is the mummy wants to go gai gai lah)...looks like it's gonna be confined at home.

Hi <font color="0000ff">Voice</font>..
I think we can start with the low impact one first. Kickboxing shd be avoided.

Orchard Rd shd be avoided, man! I was there last weekend, it was super crowded. I spent one hour searching for a makan place, everywhere was having long-Q.

thanks Emily: silly woman at the polyclinic say MUST! I told her KK said no need and she went "Well we are diff from KK"

So rude

I told her: Yeah i know that...obviously!

Hi <font color="0000ff">atinarin</font>..
I think she is referring to 5-in-1. I heard polyclinics do not have 6-in-1 yet. Not sure cos I prefer private PD than polyclinics.

Hi Tinyvoice,

Regarding passport photo:-

We just put our bb on the bed (with a white cloth as the backing and take photo. Gotto make sure that his head is facing straight at the camera and eyes open big big.

We then download into computer and resize it into the size tha ICA requires (their website got specify), then send it in directly via internet. Like that faster...

Haha! Hubby also figured just do like that first... if they dont accept, they will inform us then try again lor!!

Anywas, apparently, they accepted the photo cos they tell us can come down collect passportl liao.

Havent decided where to go for holiday yet but want to have passport ready first...

Re: bathing bb

Actually, since bb was born, i have been bathing him twice a day (once in the morning between 9-10am and once in the evening between 5-6pm). Just felt that his face seems very oily (guess its my perception) in the morning when he wakes up and his head full of sweat in the afternoon!!

Wah! My bb really makes life difficult for me these few days man! He's been having 2-3 hrs nap every morning and afternoon... but when at nite, he wakes up every hour demanding for milk!!

Got so irritated last nite at about 3 (after waking up 4 times) with the hourly feeding (between the feed only got time to lie down and fall asleep for less than 10 mins!!) that i decided to give him water to make him hungrier before giving him milk. Apparently it worked! When he woke up at 4, he finished his milk (before that just dirnk 60ml then sleep liao), and slept for 3 hours till 7!!

However, by then, this mummy is so tired, she just collapsed on the bed. Poor kiddo... i think he must have cried very long before i woke up!! (i had a dream that he was crying and i dreamt that i was awake feeding... was wondering why feed liao still crying non-stop then i realised its a dream and woke up!!)

vicki: tks...me will try to do it the same way as you, submit online. hee hee! So cute your dream...haahaahaa! Guess what, there's one night my hubby woke up by my boy's noise, he dreamt that he poo-poo all over our bed..hahaaa. Then he go check on him in the cot, true enough, he poo-poo! Waaahaaa!

Hi <font color="0000ff">vicki</font>..
My boy is super persistent.. if he doesnt get his milk, he will keep crying by increasing his volume.. Feeding water will not work for him..

Hi Clement, Wiselyn and Blue,
I am staying at Street 12.

Sure Angel! Let me know too if you all decide to meet.
Wiselyn, I have emailed u my hp.

I have a sept bb as well and I am having almost the same problems as some of the mummies here .... now I'm worried what's going happen after I go back to work in 2 weeks time!!

1. BB unable to sleep for long during the day, she will cry after 30-45mins and no matter how I pat her, it's no use unless I carry her. Most of the time, she will fall back to sleep almost immediately. But if I put her back to the bed, within 5-10mins, she would start making the err err sound and then would wake up crying again!!

How long shld bb be sleeping in the day time?? At night, she would wake up ard 3 times, 12-1plus, 2.30 - 3plus, 6plus. But there would be a lot of noises when she sleep /if she sleep as I would be KO by then.

- She has been chewing on my shirt/arms, her mittens and I realized that it's not that she is hungry. Any mum have any idea on what it means?? Do I have to resort to use a pacifier for her?

- feeding
It seems that she has to be fed every 2hrs and she would drink ard 90 - 120ml FM per feed. Is this normal? How shld I lengthen her feeding duration as I can't do anything with this schedule alone at home. Not even washing the bottles, pumping and makan as the remaining 1hr after feeding I might have to carry her so that she can sleep or stop crying.

I have tried to let her cry so that she can sleep on her own but after a few minutes, she would cry until the whole face super red and even her voice will be gone and the tears coming out. After that, she would have a slightly swollen eyes !!!

With the above, what's going to happen if I have to leave her in infant care or nanny if I am able to find one !!!

I am very SAD now!
I had to discard 8 bottles of my "hard-pumped" (instead of hard-earned) EBM. That's a good 1 litre of EBM!!! I almost feel like crying now!

What happened?

As Jordan will be at my MIL's place from Sun night till Wed noon, I have to bring enough EBM there. Problem with EBM is ... once frozen and thawed, or even for those kept in fridge, it has to be consumed within 2 days (48 hours). So, after estimating his milk consumption, I brought 10 bottles of EBM over on Sun, targeting to last till Tue noon. I even confirmed with my MIL on the balance no. of EBM on Mon night and my estimation was on track. So Tue morning when my MIL met me as she drove my elder gal to childcare, I passed her another 10 bottles of EBM to last till today noon since they will be at my place after that.

To my horror when I came back just now, there were 8 bottles of EBM left from what I passed to her yesterday! According to my maid, Jordan has been crying whenever he drinks milk these 2 days and he often has problems even to finish 1 bottle of 120ml. So they didn't add another 40ml from another EBM bottle (previously he was drinking about 150-160ml EBM every 3 hours so have to combine the EBM from 2 bottles to make up 1 feed).

Anyway, the conclusion is: I can't keep that 8 bottles of EBM cos it will be more than 48 hours already.

I feel so sayang and imagine yourself pumping like mad and you have to throw away more than 1 litre of milk!!! I am going crazy!!!

To console myself, I should be thankful that I still have more than 50 bottles to "standby" should my supply falls after being stressed from work.

Arrrghhhhhh ... still ... aiyah, you all will understand how I am feeling now when this happens to you (which I hope it won't happen to anyone). *Sob Sob*

Regarding Passport Photo:

You can bring your BB to ICA for photo-taking. They will let BB sit on a bumbo seat with you supporting his/her neck and they will do the editing thereafter.

Submitting the application there personally and you will be able to collect in a weeks' time.

I have brought my daughter (also a Sep BB) there even before she turned full month and have brought her to JB twice since

Hi <font color="0000ff">blueskye</font>...
I can imagine how sad u r now.. for me, i will feel angry too...

Well, there is nothing much that you can do to save the 8 bottles now... but u shd check with ur MIL or maid on why little Jordan was crying when feed... If there is a problem, it shd be solved so that it wont happen again..

Emily, we notice that this pattern only happens when he's feeding in the afternoons and evenings. Night time and early morning feeds he seems ok leh.

Just now when he cried, I took over the feeding. I kept talking to him to distract him ... in the end, he finished 165ml of EBM. Previous few times also like that ... I kept talking to distract him ... in the end he still can finish. Maybe my maid and MIL didn't do that when he cried. My boy is growing to want people talk to him lately.

But I also think probably he got colic ... the talking kinda distract him from the discomfort.

Hi <font color="0000ff">totoro_bb</font>..
I will be going to work in abt 2 weeks time too.

#1: Baby shd not sleep more than 4 hours in the day. The max is 1hr morning nap, 2 hours afternoon nap and 1hr evening nap. If baby sleeps too much during the day, she will have problem sleeping at night. Babies shd have 13-16 hours of sleep daily. My boy takes abt 2-4hrs nap in the day and 12hrs at night.

#2. Sometimes my son also needs to be carried and pat until he falls asleep before I can put him down. Sometimes baby feels insecure, and they need us to comfort them. Maybe you can try to swaddle ur baby.

#3. Baby has sucking need (additional from the need to drink). So they will suck their fist or thumb. This is how they comfort themselves. If u r not breastfeeding, maybe you can try to use a pacifier. For me, I only use it when my son has difficulties falling to sleep. Limit the use if you are worried abt difficulties in terminating its use in future.

#4. Feeding. My son is taking abt 110ml every 3hrs. PD advised me to feed whenever my son needs it. I'm not sure how to lengthen the feeding schedule, perhaps other mummies can advise u.

#5. I believe baby's crying shd always be responded to promptly. I cant bear to see my son cries himself to sleep. Though some ppl claim that baby will fall asleep when they r tired with crying.

My son will be going to Infant Care. I told myself that the teachers there are more experienced & handle all kinds of babies. They will surely know how to handle mine.

Hi <font color="0000ff">blueskye</font>..
You shd show yr maid & MIL how u talk to ur son and make him finish the whole bottle.

Yeah, babies like to be talked to. I talked to my son during feeding also. I keep asking him to finish his milk & he needs the milk to grow up blah blah blah... and surprisingly he finishes it..

Same to bathing... He used to cry... Now I talk to him during bathing... I will tell him what I am doing, and he has not been crying since then..

Baby somehow knows what we r talking abt.. when i scold my son, he will cry!

Last time I didn't wanna talk or sing to my son when drinking milk cos I don't want him to develop the habit of wanting people to talk or sing whenever he drinks milk. I only do it when really no choice.

Haha, think my maid will be very confused. She must be thinking "How come Mdm said cannot talk to baby when drinking milk now she's talking to him."

I read a lot of books, and they all encourage us to talk with our babies... talk WITH them, and not talk TO them... so i guess it is OK...

Did anyone apply lotion or moisturiser on your baby after shower?

Without the lotion/moisturiser, my son's skin feel soft & nice to touch. But after applying it, it feels sticky. I wonder if there is a need to apply it after bathing.

My situation is just the opposite. My baby is forever hungry and has never once rejected milk no matter how much I give him. And when he drinks, he's so focussed on sucking that he doesn't even listen to any talking. He's now taking 150ml-210ml per feed 8 times a day and he's only 5.3kg. Most times after a feed, he'll cry for more and I have to either give him a pacifier or force him to be burped so that he'll forget that he wants more. When I latch him on, both his hands will be grabbing me/ my clothes, as if so afraid that I will unlatch him and deprive him of his food. And when I unlatch him to change sides, he'll be screaming his lungs away till the other breast is shoved in his mouth. Any mummies have similar experience?