(2007/09) September 2007 MTBs

Blue,

I got this from another thread about bb food in this forum.

I just cut and paste the recipe
maybe you want to let Jordon try this. I will try if i can cook it for my bb on this coming weekend.

Cheesy leek, sweet potato and cauliflower
=========================================

15g butter (I bought unsalted one)
25g leek, washed and sliced
1 sweet potato, peeled and cut into chucks
225ml boiling water
75g cauliflower
25g grated cheddar cheese (I bought Kraft.)

Heat the butter in a pan and add the leek. Saute for about 3 minutes until softened. Add the sweet potato and pour over the water and cook for 5 minutes.

Add the cauliflower and continue to cook for 5 minutes.

Strain the vegetables, reserving the cooking liquid. Blend the vegetables together with about 100ml of the reserved cooking liquid and the grated cheddar cheese.

blue,
re: minced beef, potato, broccoli, carrot.

chk wif u... since u hvnt bgt the blender yet.
hw did u 'puree' the meal? use back of the fork?
i'm planning to make some for maegan's lunch this saturday.
juz buy regular minced meat from market rite? steam them together or separately?

bb piglet,
cool... i bet u'll hv fun travelling together as a family. HK is a nice place for short retreat plus retail therapy. kekeke,.. we are gg again tis sept.

blue,
jordan attending GUG trial ah... hee. dun wear too nice / ex clothings hor. cos last time when i attended with darius, he literally slapped alot of colors on me, leaving behind all the stains... hee... but it was fun as they get to explore. till now he still rem the zoophonics...

Emily:
I meant only for Singaporeans or Singaporean PR mummies, not babies.

Shirley:
I have switched my gal to a neighbourhood childcare now. Wow, the cost is cut by almost half!!! Used to pay about $750 per month after $150 working mum subsidy and now, only need to pay $363 after $75 non-working mum subsidy!

nate,
if i'm not wrong, leek belongs to the onion family.
it look somewhat like a bulb like onion with long greeny stalk

Darmae:

RE: minced beef, potato, broccoli, carrot.
Yah, I don't have blender, so have to make them as fine as I can lor. For potato, broccoli and carrot, I will scrape them. After that mix everything in a bowl and use spoon to further mash them lor. After steaming, I add his formula milk in ... the whole thing will become "mi3 mi2" ... can eat liao!

RE: GUG Trial
Huh? So will be messy?

Btw have you let Maegan play with the Dora magnets already?

darmae,

if u only cooking for maegan alone hor..can suggest that u buy lean meat the mince it yourself with a knife...i nowadays do that for clara's porridge

So the neighbourhood childcare is much cheaper.. i want to consider that also :p Suntec here is 890 b4 subsidy.

Blue,

i will only use sweet potato, water, cauliflower & cheese and exe off the butter & leek. Maybe also very nice liao hahaha..

blue,
ic... noted liao.
will try tis sat... juz 'booked' my mum for morning marketing.

re: GUG trial
no exactly messy lor. depending on hw u see it. i find its fun for the kids to explore. there's a segment where they will hv contact with water, colors etc. sometimes they make handprints and other art work etc... some kids tried to put their colorful fingers in their mouth.

re: dora magnet
i showed her the box. she oredi made the 'oooohhhhhh' sound. when i try to keep it (disturbing her)... she screamed.
i can see she really luvvv dora. hahaha

wise,
hmm.. tats sound like some toning job for my arms. hee.. will try tat out!

Anyone knows how much milk should a 10 months' old baby be consuming daily?

I just did a rough estimate of Jordan's milk intake ... like very little leh! Today's milk intake better cos I added milk into his food ... imagine if I never add then he only barely drink 300 ml!

Jordan's Meals Today:

8.30 am: 1 Sachet Nestle Rice Cereal + 90ml Similac (1.5 scoop) followed by 1/2 Avocado

12.45 pm: 1 Sachet Nestle Rice Cereal + Beef + Pumpkin + Spinach + 90ml Similac (1.5 scoop) followed by 1/2 Avocado + 50ml Similac (0.5 scoop)

3.30 pm: 120 ml Similac

6.30 pm: Porridge (Pork, Fish, Carrot & Spinach)

9.30 pm: 150 ml Similac (may or may not finish)

Total Milk Intake (with food): 500 ml
Total Milk Intake (just milk): 270 ml

Is it too little?

totoro_bb: i think JG not exactly childcare cos at most 2 hrs for that? childcare is either half day or full day

blue: i think still need ard 600ml..so wat jordan is having is stil okie quite close to that.. i suggest continue adding milk to his food cos they still need the nutrients from milk..

ecookie: That's what I feel lor ... at least if I add in the milk, he still gets the nutrients from there. If I don't add, he drinks less than 300ml. Faint!

my milk lover drinks

6am - 210ml
7.30am - bread (1/4)
9am - 180ml
12am - 150ml
2pm - 150ml
5pm - 150ml
6.30pm - porridge
9pm - 210ml
1 am - 180ml (last 3 days only. usually sleep thou)

total :1050ml + 180ml (1am) = 1230ml

very little solid ... also worry

florence! ur baby girl drinks so much milk? how heavy is she now? cos i dun recall she v fat from fb. hee...

baby YZ drinks ard 700-800ml milk now.. + dinner n breakfast (not much). so w lunch introducing soon, think his milk intake will drop to ard 600+ml only..

blue: yah read somewhere that still re'q min 600ml a day will be good.

florence: ur girl is milk junkie!! hee hee...am very amazed to see her down bottle after bottle the other time at vivo while my boy struggles to finish 1 bottle!

darmae: those processed minced beef selling in market may not be good quality one, best is get a mincer and mince urself if amount is alot, else like what wise mentioned, do arm training and chop your own.
For less than $30, can get a mincer, i bought mine at the last isetan sales. Even my mum with traditional thinking can tell me don't buy off the shelf minced stuff, go for the chunk and ask the person to mince is another option.

RE: Minced Meat
Agree ... should buy the chunk and mince yourself. Also, minced meat cannot be kept long. Max. is 3 days. I usually buy the whole chunk and portion it before freezing. Need then take out, thaw and chop / mince it myself.

blue,
Jordan sounds like teething to me wor. You may not feel the teeth coming out but it could be growing from inside thus cos abit of irritation. Poor mummy and baby.
As for milk, minimum 600ml - 700ml, if baby is taking 2-3 full meal of solid. Usually Ryann drink more when he wake up, because he is very hungry already. So early morning i don't feed solid meal first. Will feed milk first.

Phoebe: The thing is, he doesn't even wanna drink though he's hungry. Most of the time when he drinks is when he blur blur sleeping. But sometimes when he sleeps, we can be holding the bottle for half an hour but he still never suck one. Damm headache! So hor, how to train him to hold bottle? He's not even gian lor ... no motivation to hold. Last time my gal can hold bottle when she was 5-6 months leh.

blue,
is it the brand of the FM? last time when he take BM will like tat?

got a few things can play around with, i think the teats and the brand of FM.have to trial and error lor. no choice. me still finding the way to handle ryann too. =(

Well, i would say dun compare. my nephew also very gd with food and milk. But ryann hor... haiz headache. So best dun compare then will make ourselves more happier and less worried.Must tell yourself jordan is special da shao ye.So must help him hold lor. =p

He doesn't like to drink milk since his 3rd month leh ... don't know why. That time still on breastmilk ... even then when he took Enfalac A+ at night, he also don't like. But first 2 months ok ... drink quite alot regardless of whether it's breastmilk or formula milk.

Sigh ...

blue, same for my boy as well. now totally, he would not drink milk when he is awake. i have to dreamfeed him ALL the time. so luckily he naps often, so whenever he naps, its milk time.

blueskye (blueskye0909) , ecookie (ecookie) , TiNy VoIcE (voice_0229) : Hehe , Hazel is a milk lover , she started solid late and is not really liking her solids. She loves cakes and bread and sweet potato ... She has 8 teeth but isn't good at chewing ...
But I am taking things slowly as all babies are different , so I will just wait till she is ready.

Florence:

Your Hazel really can drink alot leh! Seems like she has sweet tooth as the food she likes seem to be on the sweet side.

Blue:

Will try out the Heinz beef cos you made it sound so yummy! Since my mil is the one who always cook for Kaylan, I have no idea how to prepare his meals yet. That's why admire each of you who actually prepares all your darlings' food as so far I only contribute BM.

Darmae:

Please share your experience when you return as I am planning to bring Kay to HK after Teacher's Day as that is the day he turns one!

JustMe:

Thanks for the recommendation, will check it out! Nature's Farm or GNC?

Tumble Tots Trial:

To all mummies going this Sun, let's take a group pix! He he I am a sucker with group pix cos can identify each one easily.

Kaylan's Daily Meal routine:

8am plus: 240ml BM
11am plus: porridge
2pm plus: 240ml BM
5pm plus: porridge
8.30pm: 240ml BM

He drank the most milk at 8am plus cos last feed around 12 hours ago. Will leave maybe 20ml. The other two milk feeds range from 140 - 180ml. He is definitely not taking enough milk then. Mil will prepare one pot of porridge to feed for both meals. Just bought 'Si Shen' brown rice powder from yu yang sang as it is suppose to help improve appetite for bb.

His daily meal routine is so boring as compared to what you gals prepare for your bb. :p

Ayden's daily intake

7am plus : 240ml FM
10am plus : cereal
12pm plus : pork porridge
5pm plus : 240ml FM
7pm plus : pork porridge
10pm plus : 240ml FM
5am plus : 240ml FM

he doesnt always finish all the milk feed.. most of the times left with 10ml

bb piglet: waaaah, Ayden drinks well too, 10ml left behind is nothing lah. hahahaha! You have not let your boy tried fish or chicken? For Sam, he alternate between fish and chicken daily, no pork for him.

Voice,

fish and chicken only??? not introducing beef??? i cook beef porridge/beef stew for clara...and she loves them...slurp slurp

Clara's daily intake

6am plus : latch on
8am plus : cereal
11pm plus :porridge
2pm plus : 140 ml bm
3pm plus : snacks
5pm plus :140ml bm
7pm plus :porridge/cereal/noodles
10pm plus : latch on

blue,

ya she very active, that's y she eats/drinks alot...forget to add...before her dinner..when she reaches home..she will need comfort latching...haha

So blessed to have babies with good appetite. Before bed time just now, I only managed to coax my "da shao ye" to finish 140ml milk cos I made 200ml, left 60ml.

blue,

actually each indivual babis knows how much they need to make them full lor...so u need not worry abt jordan's milk intake....like clara...before she starts her lunch...she use to take a dreamfeed at 11plus...but now she drop the dreamfeed...when we try to feed her she refused to open her mouth..so babies are smart..they will know how much is enough

blue,

as long as he is eatting well and growing well...then is good! he is GOD child...so GOD will take care of him..dun worry too much..just bring him up the GOD's way

Just worried about his milk deficiency which might cause calcium deficiency. Think I will blend some ikan billis powder to supplement his calcium intake when I have a blender.

Chloe is still in hosp due to upper repiratory tract infection and now become bronchitis..she has been refusing food and drink for the 6th day..for the first 4 days, she practicalli took noting ...onli yest she begin to slowly accept some milk like 30-60ml for 1 whole day...

it's breaking my heart...I MISS my chubby, happie and smiley Chloe..I want the old Chloe back......................... :_(

CHLOE, MUMMY MISS U SO MUCH....GET WELL SOON......

blue,

do ikan bilis powder alot of work.....my MIL do one kg of ikan bilis powder for clara...but daddy and mummy is sharing it with her...cos we use it to boil soup so that she can drink our soup also....so nowadays what we eat is blend and natural....