(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

choco,
don't stress! sometimes i think when our kids have new things they're adjusting to (i.e. new baby etc) they will tend to regress and end up having trouble with stuff they were ok with before...
try not to let him notice ur anxiety if ur worried..kids very sensitive, can pickup one! before putting yee heng in school, i was talking to my child psychologist colleagues, and they said u can also give kids a security object (which they can bring fr home) which is something that reminds them of you/home so they feel more secure...i think for yee heng what worked better for him was just me constantly talking to him very calmly and confidently about school and how he'd enjoy it a lot (i even went to the library and got him some books on first day in school so he can read it etc). I also told him that even if he cries mama and papa still have to go to work, and the teacher will take care of him..he's very talkative and enjoys books, so talking helped for him more i think. hope these tips help!

zhuzhu,
ooo..ur baby is soooooo cute!
btw ergo i bought one 2nd hand organic one fr forum..cheaper! ;p

hubby is gonna be away this weekend for work in shanghai..am planning to take yee heng for outing somewhere so he doesn't miss daddy so much..was thinking botanical gardens jacob ballas but cannot bring my doggy leh..anyone else know of nice park that has a good playground but can bring doggy?

woof,
is the playground very far away fr carpark @ hort park?

zz: i think other mummies were using beco carrier also rite? any reviews for those? oh ya, p/s the ergo cannot carry outward facing hor..some kids really don't like that cuz cannot see the outside world!! ;p

zz: i got beco, dark brown color, want to sell off. u keen anot? we can take this offline, PM me if you are interested.

cola: am keen in the birthday bash if the cost is not too ex.

I am struggling with ze going to school
Haiz. Now thinking should i withdraw him from the child care.
Those 2 hours playgroup is nt possible cos it will be inconvenient for my mil to send a d fetch.

But letting him stay at home is just meaningless cos he will be just watching tv the whole day

choco,
My friend's son cried for 1 whole year when going to school. But aft the parents left the gate, he is alright.
Such a heartache when seeing your little precious cries.....

Ioh

Ya he is ok after he went in. So u think I should I persist?
I hope no back fire from being persistent.

There are a few blogs with white bread recipe.
I always go to 'happyhomemaker' blog, she got a few good bread recipe.
U also can from her blog link to other ppl blog

Breadmaker not cheap lei. If u found 1, let me know

Lilyn,

regarding carriers, I've used bjorn, beco and ergo. I vote Ergo #1, beco #2 and bjorn #3. Baby able to face outwards is not really an important feature. IMHO. Baby loves looking at muumy and boobies too! :p

Choco,

I thought your boy just had a long break and restarted school lately? Give him some time to re-adjust? If I remember correctly, he was not attending school regularly before due to oversleeping and grandma wanting to bring him out?

In my opinion, once you've decided to send him to school, u must reinforce it. I wake Jae up every morning at 7.30am, even if he is still sleeping. of course I made him sleep b4 9pm every night. I don't make plans to bring him out on weekdays so he doesn't miss school at all unless he is sick. Once our children are used to this kind of routine, it will be easier for them to adjust to school.
Jae already forgot my existence once he reaches the school gate. Sometimes he doesn't even wave goodbye to me. Sobs...

choco,
i feel that you shld let ze continue, if u stop nw next time history will repeat again, y not persists now. Who knows mayb next wk he's ok..

choco,
Thanks for the replied.
My friend just being heart-harded and go off once sending her son to school. Sometimes kids just want to test us. Unless ur son behave strangly or always stay at 1 corner in the school, then u shall re-consider. He has no nightmare And no strange behavious at home aft started his school right?
I got 1 barney VCD talking abt school, Ivan loves to watch it, everytime i asked barney goes to school, u want to go to school? He will nod his head.
My 2 sons like to stick to the nanny...this is how i judged that the nanny did not abuse them...hahahaahah

I am researching a few of these places:
indoor playgym with party function-
1) Frisk and Romp - East Coast
2) Pollywogs - East Coast
3) Playtime at Delta - Redhill
4) Fidgets

haven't really called and enquire about it, because i am not sure how many kids will be attending, can mummies just response so that I can estimate how many kids will be there.

cola,

thanks for organize the gathering, i prefer 1/2/4, either one of them is fine, fidgets the most prefered as it's easy to go, got free shuttle bus at TPY.

Jang
U r right. He actuaaly did nt go school for 4 weeks due to fever cough. Only last week just re start again.

He is ok once reach school, it's only the preparation in the morning that sucks.

Will persist since next yr upgrading to nursery Liao.

Cola
Me will be 1a and 1c. No preference

jang,
how's the pregnancy going? i'm 21 weeks tomorrow..u?
i loved the ergo too, yee heng was very comfy with the boobies..lol..but my cousin in law's kid hated it!

choco,
jia you! its not easy when our little ones are crying so hard..yee heng was crying until he vomitted most of the first week in school! was even crying when he had to put on his uniform etc. i agree with jang about persisting and setting a routine..i even told my FIL i'd prefer that the school bus drop him off daily even if there are days he can pickup yee heng, cuz i think it helps for kids to have structure..that was they know what to expect and its less anxiety provoking overall for them... give your boy time and don't worry, you're doing your best!
p/s the headmistress of my son's school told me her little boy cried everyday for 6 months!!! until he had a sore throat!

loh,
i used to have a breadmachine! its broken down now after more than 6 years! sunbeam brand..dunno if they sell it here (i got mine from australia). u can use the recipes that the machine will come with..i had good results looking through this webbie too, cuz they have lots of tips from ppl who've used the recipes: http://allrecipes.com/Recipes/Bread/Bread-Machine/Main.aspx

lilyn

yeh, will persisit on...
i know he is enjoying himself in school, cos on and off he will start to sing song or says things that are not taught by me.
and i can see that he is able to understand english now but still nt able to speak.

an gal
saw ur blog on the read and write. melcom can hold the pen really well

how come the options u all see is 1a, 2a type, i saw is 1,2,3,4?? I prefer fidgets cos' bigger play area and is per entry payment, no no. of hrs restriction!

I just came back from BKK last sun, before i went, i asked samuel, what present he wants? He said he wants 'fidgets'. hahahhaaa, he's hooked on fidgets, thoroughly enjoyed himsefl.

hey mummies!
looks like have to postpone hort park outing this weekend..i just started getting sick yesterday..have a runny nose and throat starting to get sore..sigh..there goes my grand plan of an outing!

lilyn

take care and drink more water

think its the weather
i am also feeling werid today. suddenly headache after my nap, quickly take 1 panadol.
now feeling better

ivy

i think having a good dual pump helps.

i did not have such good supply for my #1 when i am using single electic pump. i am now using medala freestyle and zz is using medela PISA
what pump u using now?

next is to pump regularly. during my confinement, as my mum is helping, i pump every 3 hrs, at night i also set alarm to pump.
only when 2nd mth then i drag to 4 hours and i try to skip the night pump

and if u can try to occasionally latch baby, the next pump the milk are out sprinting out

mummies using Avent BPA bottles, do ur encounter leakage with the bottle? dono y i open the 260ml new bottle to use but will leak although i turn tightly already.

an_gal
i get leakage from the regular avent bottle sometimes..realised i have to pull up the teat tighter sometimes..now i always check for leaks by tilting bottle b4 i give it to yee heng

lilyn,
i check the teat everything ok, not loose.. i saw frm somewhere tis is a known prob for Avent bottle but cant rem frm where..