(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

tekkoh
U can buy endowment first cos it's under ur name mah
What u wanna do with it later on is up to u.
Morever the policy u get for ur kids are also joined to ur name so I dun find any diff

choco,
indeed it is gd news.. i'm oso getting my mum to stay with me during my confinement, can save alot of $$.. will be getting bed for her and melcolm most pro in dec hee...

Tek Koh

Yes, the rocker is really useful.. he is not used to being carried, in the day he sleeps nicely in the rocker.. Oh ya I learnt sth, buy a good one, more durable, I got him the newborn to toddler rocker! Now that he is learning to sit, he can sit on it supportedly.. and we feed him semi solid on the rocker itself, coz he is too young to sit in the high chair yet!

Hey gal, enjoy pregnancy.. I miss being pregnant, but I am scared of the idea of having #3 now hahaha.. presently I am contented with the 2..

oic zz .. lol ... see i really know nuts abt endowments .. @ least tat is a start
i actually tot for kids, its under their name ie for them

rc_cola
okay - sounds gd - i might get the Fisher Price Infant to Toddler rocker then
i m sold! but just wondering feeding baby on the rocker, its still a slanted semilying position, will baby choke on puree when feeding?
funny u mentioned #3? i was tinking of asking u but didnt type out yet! lol

Angal choco
It is always nice when the confinement is done by MIL/mother rather than stranger (provided u have chin chai MIL/mum)..
My mum is very strict with confinement rule, so I am glad that MIL did my confinement hehe.. she has the westernized confinement rule haha.. so everything also can
I ate curry etc during confinement beside the normal confinement food, and MIL is 100% pro-bf type hehe

Tek Koh
U are getting a confinement nanny? Yr mum or MIL ler?

an_gal

me not so concern abt money wor...i told her i will pay her the mkt rate..but cos it's mum so she will know my pattern and i know her pattern already.hopefully less conflict and less complain..

i got pattern more then badminton one :p
hehe

at the same time she can also borne with her grandson and #2..
i have not been bringing ze over to her place regurlarly so with her here, at least during the weekend, she can play with him.

but its still tentatively cos she still need to get clearance from her supervisor whether can take 1 mth unpaid or not..

but just the thought of that is enough for me already.

cola

re:dengue fever

i am not sure lei..did not really check with my agent but i would assume still can cos its under accident policy...hmm..is its accident then its not intentional wor...

my hosipitalisation is covered by the medishield and pink of health

but i do not wish to get dengue again...if the person got it again the 2nd time, it will be more deadly then the 1st...

Tek Koh
Better get the Nb to tod one, and not infant to tod, coz it is not reclining as much thus not very comfortable for sleeping.

Oh.. coz at this stage, if we sit them up for feeding, chance is the puree might all drop out from the mouth, with a slightly reclining - seated position it is better. No, he wont choke on the puree, remember we dun force him to swallow mah

choco
I am not the one asking about dengue, i think it's tek koh who ask..

nvm it's pregnesia hahaha.. i suffered from it too previously hehehe..

Bye ladies, i am going home to see my 2 little monsters :p

rc_cola
no one volunteered & tis sort of thing i dun wana ask so i tink i may pay to get a confinement nanny ... but looking for gd one fr word of mouth then via nanny adverts. last time my #1, i was breastfeeding & confinement nanny slept more than me during confinement month! in e morn i had to wake her up even! obviously i will not be getting e same nanny again

choco
yr pattern more than badminton?! LOL - i didnt know badminton got alot of pattern. u are so funny!

tekkoh
dengue shld be covered under the medishield although I do not think that the normal ones under AIA or NTUC covers..
Look for more extensive shield plans.
Both Tricia and my shield plans r under Prudential

choco,
haha i dont think ur mum will 1 u 2 pay her lah.. i think u can giv her angbao instead to thank her for helping.. for me.. i would be glad that my mum is willing to help, 1st she's more chin chai, 2ndly save $$ lol.. having this #2 really stressful.. mayb i'm too spendthrift liaoz hehe..

congrats Tek Koh!

Re:Insurance
I have nvr liked thinking about insurance.. V headache. 2day I received a letter saying Mikayla is covered under hubby's medishield. I guess thats good enough right? Any advice? I dont seem 2 remember if Mathias has medishield coverage. Did ur kids have it?

tek_koh,
Congrats!! Enjoy your pregnancy

an_gal,
Own mum is always the best.

Mel,
I also dun like the idea of insurance. I think for all our #1 that is no medishield coverage unless you signed up for it. As for Mikayla, you need to complete the form and mail it back ro them to confirm. It only when you received the cert from cpf then it is confirmed she is being covered.

Miaon,
This is cute and cool. DIY version is good enough cos by a certain time, the kid will outgrow it and prefer something else. Saw some mummies selling of the tub after some time. Mine prefer my bath tub now.

ZhuZhu,
Managed to speak to your hubby on how to care for #2 already?

Hi Morning Mummies

Tek Koh
No harm asking your mum if she can help out during the day? mostly is to cook confinement meal and a bit of housework only.. since u are bfg, then at nite, bb is under your total care rite?

An gal
I think the problem is not really on money, with our mum around, it feels much better, I guess compared to a stranger around in the house..

Zhuzhu
U look good in your pregnancy.. glad to see you~

Re: insurance
We are not into this as well, but then I guess hospitalization plan is good to buy. Last time sil’s daughter, admitted to nuh due to uti for 2 nites only – costs about 1K plus..

snowy
thanks for your concern
I will be looking for a nanny near my mum pl so that my dad can help me fetch even if I work late.
In my line of work, there is no knock off means go home time one

rc_cola
Really ah.. thanks

RE insurance,
to me I think it's pretty important that everyone shld at least be insured with a life policy or something.
Cost of hospitilisation is very high.. e.g. medishield plans dun reli cover the cost of treatment of cancer.
Everyone shld know that if a person kanna cancer, the cost of treating it is very high.. My fren's hb tio before while she was preggie with #1, they so regret din buy anything.
Lucky the hb still alive. Imagine if the hb died, she will be left alone with a nb child.. how to survive?
Not say if a person die then that's it, still got the outstanding loans and credit. The family is liable for it one lo..
Therefore to me buying insurance is not to protect urself but more for protecting your family.

Time flies, Was I the 1st to have #2 in this thread back then? (I was preggy with Lyn when Qweii was only 6 months old).

My #2 will officially joined toddlerhood next monday. I do miss the time when she was much younger.

Some pic to share:
3228615.jpg
3228616.jpg

Now they love bathing together in my bath tub. They can giggle and laugh like mad when in water.

3228617.jpg

They will do almost everything together at the same time. Eat togther, play togther, poo together & cry together. Majam like twin. Lyn is already cruising around the hse.

Zz,
You are welcome

You mean there is no official knock off = mean not reachable for you? What line are u working as? Got to be on standby 1 is it?
Yes,it would be good so tt at least someone is near to help you. Did you put Tricia in cc nearby as well so tt they can help a bit on off.

snowy
Tricia will be attending 3H skool, not cc.
My dad scold me so bad put Tricia in cc.
They are buddies together.
I work as engineer so need to be on standby and ops based

cola
tat is normal pail. huge tho...

loh
my gal already 6.1kg liao at 3 mths leh. tat is why i worried she become too big sized. =P
but hor recently she dun like to drink milk leh. i never increase her milk but she can last longer, between 3.5 hr to 4 hr.

Zz,
Oh, then your work is pretty unpredictable when you need to be back right.
Some old ppl are very against the idea of cc
They feel it is throwing them there leave them to fence for themselves. Last time my MIL also super against the idea, but after seeing my aunt's grandchildren there, she opened up. At least you know your Dad will always be there for you.

re: insurance
i oso headache whenever this crops up. but think better to have one at least? esp since the premium is much much lower when we buy for them when they are young?

i am getting cold feet now..

on one hand i know i have to send my boy to childcare cos my mil would not be able to handle 2 when i start work...and also i wan my boy to learn to play with other ppl and not be so sticky

on the other hand i am worried that my boy cannot settle in. ..
i am also worried that my mil will pressure me to pull him out if he keeps crying(cos she will be the one to send him there daily and pick him)..

he is still so sticky now...

at 1st i wanted to wait till next yr june then start school(after i have delivered and he will be 32 mths) but my hb is saying is it confirm that i want will have vacancy??
also worried that he think i am sending him there cos of #2.

alternatively i put #2 into infant care and let my boy stay at home!! does not sound logically right?

how how..i feel i am so weak hearted

Choco
How about put ur boy for 1/2 day cc try him out first?
I understand they will cry for 3 days then will stop after that..

Choco

Hm.. I think this was what I have gone thru previously before #2 was out.. I guess all second time mummies would have this prob especially those relying on other caregivers for our kids..

1. ask your mum if she can cope with two if Ze stays at home til June.. ask if she is okay to have an extra pair of hands to help (ie. Maid? Yr dad? Is he working?)
2. if dun send Ze to full day cc, perhaps half a day will be good. Most kids will start off with the crying sessions, and they will eventually settle down

I would personally think you are not going to send your bb to infant care, and let Ze stay at home. Don’t be surprised when bb arrives, Ze will be quite independent already.. Meg was super sticky before bb was out, once bb is out, she is okay to watch tv for a little while while we need to bathe baby or whatever.. Relax..

zz

at 20wks looks ok lei..not too bad ah..
so how much weight have u put on?

i read mix review on half day and full day childcare...
some say starts slow...some say better to put to prevent the kid from thinking that it is a half day thing.

maybe i need to discuss with hb and see how.

dun think he will settle after 3 days, my coll was telling me her ger was crying for 2 whole mths then better.

my hb is already telling me to prepare for the worst that is to pull him out if he cannot settle...

cola

till june is not an issue cos i will be delivering n arp, 4 mths ML....but i am worried that by then there will be no vacancy in the CC or i have to be in the waiting list..so kiasu me want to enrol now(newly open branch)

after my ML, my fil cannot help during day time cos he is working.

i will give the half day CC a try for the 1st mth...

i keep telling my hb to tell mil cannot be soft hearted but here i am...haiz

Choco

He will eventually settle down, u just need to be firm to him.. I would think a half day care will be fine since your home got your mum and dad.

Meg is gonna go sch next Jan too, I am not worried about if she will cry or not, coz she will have to learn that going to sch means mummy is not around.. but mummy will pick her up once school finishes.. I dun like the idea of sending kids to cc especially if you have someone at home.. unless really yr mum and dad cannot cope with 2 kids, then it is another story.

Do talk to your mum, she will be able to tell u if she can or cannot cope.. must seek her opinion too coz she will be the main caregivers..

Like my MIL, I asked her when I started preg, if she could cope with 2 kids, if not, I would get a maid, she told me can cope and she doesn’t like a maid at home, tts y I didn’t employ a maid. She also told me at most she cant cook for us, then it’s fine for me, coz we can order food from outside, etc..

But it is really very tiring for her, taking care of 2 active kids at her age is not easy and is really exhausting.. so once I come home, I will take care of them while she relaxes.. weekends, I will be in charge in the kids – from morning till nite, MIL will do her own cookings, go out or do whatever she wants..

Hope this helps..

i just had a change of mind maybe to send ze to cc next next yr...

will check with mil whether she can handle 2 kids from sep to dec or not(when i am back to work)

haha, fickle minded mummy

choco,
haha.. sch meaning attending classes like 2-3hrs.. cc is like either 1/2 day or full day.. once u decide to send your child to cc, u need to be hard hearted.. which i tink u r not now hee..

Choco

School – pre nursery

It’s a place when their focus is on teaching things to kids, just sharing with you what Meg’s sch is all about:-
Meg’s school will start at 9 – 30 mins of playground activities, then followed by classes – math class, literature class, life-demo class (I dunno how to name it, but this teaches kids how to pour things, mix things, etc), mandarin class and one more class, cant remember wat it is..
Each class/section is about 45 mins and they will have a break at 10.30 for them to munch on sth.. The snack has to be self-prepared..
By 1am, class finishes.

Childcare
U can drop the kids anytime after 7am and pick them up before certain timing. The teacher will be bathing them, feeding them etc.. then in between maybe teach them things (depending on the centres that u choose).. it’s like a place where the kids’ needs are taken care of rather than educating them..

Choco,
my advice is to not send ze AFTER the #2 is born, if you want to send him to CC IMHO you have to do it ASAP before the bub is born. Else he will think that the bub is the reason he is "abandoned in CC" and it will be tough on everyone if that feelings creep into him.

Choco
Unfortunately Nining is right to say that.
Previously I almost sent tricia for cc and the principal said the same thing to me too

an_gal,
wah..ur bump looks big...so how's everything?

zz,
take care coz i saw in fb tat at times u do haf dizzy spell...which sch is tricia attending?

snnowy,
itz priceless to see the sisters enjoying themselves..when is the 3rd one coming coz u said u miz the younger days of theirs..

nining, zz

noted that...
my hb is telling me to be hard hearted and let him try, who knows he may have outstanding behaviour

so....i guess...i will ask the skool whether whats the policy for refund or whether there is any trial class or not...

thanks mummies for 'listening' to my nonsense

ZZ,
Of course no grudges cos blood is thicker than water. YOur bro still love you. Perhaps he is in the midst of adjusting to fatherhood that made him said harsh remarks. No worries, next time you will see how well your #2 and your nephew clicks. At the end of the day family is still the best

zz/an_gal,
Nice bump. It genetic your bump is big? Cos that was what I looked like when around 8 months preggy. In fact I only told my in-laws about #2 after 14weeks and they were surprised cos tummy was totally flat.

Choco,
I think what you need to do 1st is to check if your MIL is able to cope wif 2. Considering that ze will be already 32mths when you delivers.

The reason is sometime when we said that by sending the kid to cc might lighten their load when we did not see that it could be the opposite.
Taking into consideration when there is a timing required to:
1) prepare (bath, feed, change),
2) bring him to and fro school within a scheduled time(which likely mean your MIL has to pram #2 and send him there)

By then #2 will be 4 months old and kids around this age will be sleeping alot. Without an additional hand, your MIL needs to make sure that she is able to do all the memtioned when #2 is not crying for milk or sleepy when she has to send him there. It can be difficult too.

If you send ze to nursery/cc in 2011,
1) ze will be around 40months old
2) #2 will be 9months old.

Do you think by then ze will be more indepandant? As in able to change himself? or feed himself better?
Do you think #2 will be more active so that when the time to send ze to school will not 'cut' into the time #2will be sleeping? Also by then #2 will be on solid. your MIL can bring some bb biscuit to settle 1st instead of diedie must milk feed.

If you are intending to send ze to cc by next year(2010) then I would agree with Nining, do it asap. He would definietly take some time to settle down but at least the main concern will still focus on him alone only. You see my point?

You will need to take all these into consideration in your decision making for the moments to make the best out of it.

woof
Yes, I've been having dizzy spells lately for the past few days.. Tummy feels queasy too..
As if gg back to 1st trim

Choco
Most cc got trial class but 1 day for $50..
U can ask them, should be np.
I still like the idea of the 1/2 day cc.
btw if u need to send Ze to cc, please do it soon and register cos class starts in Jan 2010.
I see some of the 2yo reli very independent in cc.
I'm so amazed!
Once I brot tricia to cc to view the environment & immd she blended right in.
Even tried feeding herself during the meal time when the auntie gave her a bowl of noodles.
btw most cc dun provide dinner and bathing only once a day unless they soil themselves.

morning mummies...

woof,
i'm ok.. at least can eat more now hehe.. mayb tats y i feel that i'm so fat.. but my stomach oways alot of wind.. i guess is normal for now pa .. when u see dr wong again? mayb i can go c u soon wahaha...

snowy,
in fact for my #1, my tummy quite small and not so high.. this #2 making me quite uncomfortable, tummy high and big..

<font color="119911"><font size="+2">Hi mummies! Sorry to intrude, i need to get Nestle Nan 3 milk sachets urgently.
If you have or know where to get them, please kindly PM me.
My budget is 50cents per sachet. Thanks for your help! </font></font>