(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

choco,

Extra protein.haha! But yah, super gross..but I thk even if u wah it, if they are hiding inside also cant really see...scary....

Miaon,
I felt that it sterilise so fast until I dunno whether is it spoilt...cos I used to use my other pigeon one that sterilises 2 bottles at a time and it usually takes quite awhile..so when this one took only a minute or so it start to make me wonder if its spoilt..

mel
think shd be ok. rapid mah...haha. but seriuosly, mine was 1st hand and usually it takes abt a few minutes (at most 5 minutes) nia no matter how many bottles i put in. i think only the amount of water controls the timing of the steaming process.

Hi Choco

I am at home, gynae gave me MC already before I start my ML next week.. so didnt have time to log in

I am waiting patiently, coz gynae said could be anytime now..

Let me run thru the thread..

Lelong!
I have 2 vouchers to be given away. Priority to Aug mummies here.
1. Mamil Mama $3 off coupn wif 900g of purchase
2.2shots in 1x4R postcard design photo print (4 prenant mama) or 1 post card size children personalised calender. Studio is at Novena Square, 45days from 16th Apr.

zhu,
i stay balcony got kettle leh. I just add tap water to boil lo. the room provide mineral water too. if u not confortable to use it as plain water then maybe bring a bottle of cool plain water lo. My gals feed on friso3, got those packet like milo kind, so i think brought abt 16 to 18pkts. U going redang also? will u be going onshore? If so pls take my advice, be prepared for the superhot weather and the wavy ferry trip abt 15 to 20mins

miaon,
wed cruise got no gala dinner, so bermudas n flipflops r ok. I wear that everyday onboard even to casino with 3quarter bermudas and crocs. no one stop me leh?

an_gal,
not only melcolm is happy but both of u, mummy and daddy oso very happy!

choco,
u are more concern abt the cupboard than ur hubby's leg..haha..

mel,
i oso use pigeon rapid sterilizer but dun bother abt the time..juz add 120ml of water and let it automatically goes off once itz done...

cola,
glad tat u are home waiting for the new arrival..no nid to be stress and angry...meanwhile enjoy the time tat u have..

An_gal,
Nice pic, everyone was so happy! I see numbers in the pic, 2-0-1, what's the 4th no.? Buy 4D. Heheee....

Choco,
Ohh no.. Chloe loves eating brocolli, must take note next time. If it's me, I will also feel very guilty but ur hb's reaction was very big loh. I think u feel more heart pain for ur cupboard than for ur hb's leg. Haha..

Twinkle,
Looks like u enjoyed ur cruise, my turn this sunday. Yeah!

Cola,
Last night I dreamt of your water bag burst and I even cook bee hoon soup for you before you go hospital give birth. Ain't I good? Hahaa..

an_gal

so shiok, can see that the weather is good over there.
cloudy sky, cool winds...

ythan,woof
new cupboard lei.

my colleague told me brocolli must soak at least 30mins in salt water.

twinkle: I've not booked my cruise.. waiting for promotion. anyhow, I planned to go to Penang and Phuket.

Choco: Broccoli soaked in salt water for 30mins den all the vitamins lost liaoz.. U need to cut it open den soaked and wash under running water for a while only. Soaking any veggie would lost vitamins. My advise: check ur broccoli when buying it.. usually those from Aust from nicer.

an_gal,
Wow! Love the picture! Melcolm looks so happy
*envy*

Ytanhn,
Wah lau! u Du Gui leh...this kind of no. also can see! hahaha!!!

My hb told me a joke.

A couple was talking....
GF: I feel very sad. When my mum was expecting me, my father wanted a boy

BF: Don't be too sad. When my mum was expecting me, my father wanted a colour TV

zhu,
Actually it is advisable to soak vege over hours and rinse through water to flush away the pestiside. As long as the vege is not cut, there shdn't be any lost of vit

cola,
hav a good rest b4 #2 is out!

an_gal,
Happy family ya

An_gal
Nice family pict, everyone looks super happy!

Ytanh,
wah u are so nice to me, when u have #2, i cook the same thing for you before u go delivery k haha! :p

Woof
Ya the best part is now better anger management, at work, no matter how angry I have to watch the sentence that i say.. :p

Staying at home with Meg is the best thing that is happening kekeke!

Dunno when tis lil boy will be out ler.. maybe soon coz last nite the contractions were painful from 3 am to 7 am.. but piggy me, still managed to sleep in between the 15 mins contraction hahaha!!

Loh: I quite sure soaking of veggies will lose the vitamins. whether cut or not cut. U can confirm with doc. I quite sure of this thing. rinsing over small flow tap water I think would suffice in removing the pesticides. Now choco is worried about worms

ytanhn,
u good leh but choco lagi better...can see 4 numbers...

cola,
hv a good rest..

loh,
tat joke was funny

How is everyone today?

I was wanting to ask u guys, I wish to send Rishi for some play lessons. Someplace he can interact with other kids, preferably during the weekends. Any suggestions?

Glee,
I went to recee the childcare at the building beside lot1 last weekend.
Kinderland charged abt $570 from 7-7pm. Environment not bad.
Saw one at my place was like refugee...very crowded and the toddles there is like so poor thing!
Another Apple Tree playgroup, $160 for 2hrs on 5 weekdays.
The nanny was very gan cheong, she scared she will lost Ivan....

Loh,

Of course lah cos ur nanny dote Ivan so much, treat him like treasure ah!! She sure bu she de u to put Ivan in CC or playgroup!!

Ytanhn & Choco,

Both of u so funny to think of 4D leh... hehehe

zhu,
I extracted some info from Health Promotion Board. Lots of info from them! Got recipe some more ler
• Rinse all fruit and vegetables thoroughly
in a basin of tap water to remove any
dirt, bacteria or chemical residues.
• For leafy vegetables, remove the soiled
portions of the vegetable and / or cut
off the base and rinse away any residual
soil with tap water.
• Soak the vegetables in a basin of fresh
tap water for 15 minutes.
• Before cutting and cooking, rinse the
vegetables once more under a tap or
in a basin of fresh tap water.
• Addition of salt, special detergents or
washes is not needed for cleaning fruit
and vegetables.
• To preserve the nutritional value,
minimise cutting and shredding of fruit
and vegetables. Once fruit and
vegetables are cut and exposed to the
air, their vitamin C content decreases.
• Cook in large pieces so that vitamin
and mineral losses are minimised

The Agri-food Veterinary Authority
conducts inspection programmes to
ensure that both imported and locally
produced fruit and vegetables do not
contain excessive pesticide and chemical
residues. However, it is always a good
practice to wash your fruit and vegetables
before eating or cooking. A combination
of rinse, soak and rinse will help to remove
pesticide residues on vegetables
substantially. When rinsing, pay attention
to the base of the stems where dirt or
pesticides tend to get trapped.

Angeline, Choco,
Yalor, when i told them i am expecting another boi, the nanny told me may be they have too little man (the nanny hb is the only male, excluding Ivan)in the house, so when my #2 comes, can balance up...

choco,
The rate is aft discount of citizen and working mother.
2 nappy changing time, once in the morning and once in the afternoon.
I heard UTI is high if putting young kids in CC

hm..u mean there is timing to change nappy??

so even if the nappy is full or heavy, they will not take extra effort to change for them?

do they wash their hand after they change for EACH kid?

my boy is still not toilet train yet. think better have to start the potty training 1st

choco,
The nappy changing time is listed twice in the time table. I didn't ask much.
My friend's boi boi is having lots of diaper rashes aft entering CC and had UTI once.
Hmm..if already potty trained, I wonder will the CC still ask the kid to wear diaper all time

Loh: there u go. soak for 15min.. not hours.. keke.. otherwise waste ur time cooking liaoz..

btw veggies usually i pluck, not cut. Unless no choice den i cut

mel,
mus b difficult for u cos still need to take care of Mathias.. try to rest more when u can.. as for clumsy, my frends oways told me bad tings happen in 3's, after that it will be alright hehe

Mel,
U must feel bad aft all things happened. May be just too tired to do things well. I am quite tiring everyday, dun feel like working. At night always occupy my boi wif tv so that I dun need to chase aft him, me v bad!

g.piggy,
My boi did the allergy test at NUH under gov subsidize. Think the cost around 30+. But i have NTUC insurance, so only co-paid $15 for the consultation+test.
Actually it is a skin-prick procedure. REsults shown aft abt 20min, if the spot is swallen, means the baby is allergy to that specific allergen. Not much allergens available for young kid. U hav to ask the doctor what are the allergens available for testing.

glee,
This week might not possible to ask you out coz hb was sick yesterday, and I am infected wif sore throat today.

hi all!
saw the topic on travelling and would like to have some comments

i'll be going to melbourne with my in laws and jereth next week. but now melbourne is one of the affected areas. =(

we intend to stay with relatives and she said tat in her area is not really as bad as we think. the affected areas are mostly in the suburbs and we will not be going there anyway. FYI the auntie is not the kind who would put leisure above health, but was giving her truthful opinion

transportation wise we'll be going around in car and no public transport. and anyway we do not intend to visit crowded areas.

i've got enough hand sanitisers and have prepared masks for the trip. we've bought all essental winter stuff and over there our auntie has bought a toddler seat for jereth already. but when i took a flu jab today, my dr STRONGLY ADVISED me not to go and says there is a high chance of contracting.

on one hand i would dearly love to go because this pregnancy is driving me up the wall - i cant get to sleep until 4am on most nights and sometimes even until the sun comes up. i'm getting frustrated of having no appetite and throwing up when i do eat. and i dont want to fall into depression like i did in my first pregnancy - and that's why i would love to have a change of environment

on the other hand, i feel guilty for putting jereth and my unborn baby at risk although the fatality rate is not very high for H1N1. we've talked abt changing destination but we would like to have an easy vacation - not possible with super active jereth along (two old ppl with one preg mum and one super active 2-yr-old) and melbourne offers that since our uncle will be driving us around and we can return to their home at any time to rest and hang out.we'll be staying with them so there will be ppl helping out

any comments pls?

magical, it's good to have alot of help during vacation. If your auntie said it's alright, i think shld be fine to go lah. Be prepared to come back do self qurantine if the situation worsen when you're there. Some coy imposed self qurantined using own annual leave.

Melbourne is a nice place, in between Sydney & perth pace of life i think. I been there twice and I think the place is great.

Just to share..u wanna know what other bad thing happened to me yesterday?? I had to walk down from 14 storey (where I live) to the 1st floor yesterday when i was going to the motherhood fair..*faint* Both lifts were spoilt!!! AMAZING! It was the craziest day EVER!

hi tiny voice!
okay.. right now its school vacation and i teach so still not so bad.. at most if my school prefers me to quarantine myself, then will just not have to attend meetings -
but right now MOH only orders home quarantine for those who have had close contact with confirmed cases, but not those returning from affected areas.

you u think i should just go ahead ya?

mel
i am speechless at your unfortunate events.
and i amire your determination to get out of the house even with the
lift breakdown
have you thougt w hat will happen if the lift is still not ready when you come home?

magical
you need to measure the risk.
i can feel that you would very much like to go.
discuss with your husband and in laws again. whats their opinion.
they have to show their support.
the last thing you want is so unluckily touch wood, something happen and they blame you for it.

magical:
imho, there's always a next time to travel again.

To me family and health comes 1st before anything.
I would think those are much more important and things are pretty unpredictable now which the cases in Singapore gg up too as well?

Touch wood if reli kanna den you will be blaming yourself why u went in the 1st place but if u dun go u can be quite assured that at least u minimised the risk.

for your thoughts

magical
one more thought.
you have to check whether pregnant can take the tamiful med or not.
if cannot then it is very risky to go

Magical,
IMHO, you can take all the precautions and avoid those affected area, but when you're flying back, there's no guarantee a person carrying the virus not joining you in the same flight. The virus carrier may not even know he/she carries it.. This will be out of your control, no matter how careful you are. Victoria is the worst hit area in Oz and Melbourne is their only international gateway, any passengers from any part of Vic will go to melbourne airport.
And yep as choco said, you don't wanna take tamiflu unknowing of the effect. And even if you don't take tamiflu, your bub may carry the consequences. When I was preggie with Ike, I had common cold and I was scared taking meds, so I just take those warm water with honey and lemon.. I healed eventually but Ike had pneumonia at birth, which the PD suspected due to my common cold..There is no evidence but best to be extra kiasi when you're preggie..

Magical,
i agree with nining and zhuzhu. There is always a next time to travel again. moreover the risk you r taking to me is a bit high cos it's not only u, there's the risk for jereth and your unborn too. As nining had said, you can be really careful throughout the trip but when it comes to boarding a flight u really can't control whether any infected on plane. Touchwood if u were infected, the fact that u can take tamiflu or not may still make u fall into depression cos if can take, u will worry the effect on your unborn, if cannot take worse, u will start worrying how the virus will affect your unborn. So sorry if i am too bland, just kind of worry for u.

Mel,
gosh I think there are days that we are jinxed the whole day huh... How was the return trip? lift OK? I cam't imagine if I were u prolly I just cancelled the trip hahaha am lazy bum!!

Nining,
The trip back was fine..thank god for that...hahah!

Yesterday my hubby bought a word world DVD from JB (RM4..pirated one lah..but very clear) and I realised its the same as what I watch on Playhouse Disney..are those DVD's that u all buy the same as the episodes shown on Playhouse Disney? I realise that Im starting to be able to memories the episodes of Dibo. Mickey mouse clubhouse, Word world N Winnie the pooh! hahah! COs they seem to keep repeating the same episodes!!