(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

My boy is in the seemingly terrible 2 stage as well. He fusses and whine when he want something and I don't give it to him. He can make so much noise that I surrender to him in the end.

Then become so sticky suddenly. I eat and he want to sit on my lap and eat together with me.

Want to start him on potty too but each night after I reached home,I am so tired and he don't sleep early, sleep 11pm...then in the middle of the night can wake many times...and also, I am getting lazier, haha

Mel - actually would think you should think for your own stand. If you want to be a SAHM for your kids and cos you want to take a break from work for a while, go ahead and do it since not every woman actually get to do that and also since your hubby is not going to limit you in whatever you want to buy...since he will pay for your food and material stuffs...but hor, actually i would still think he should give some allowance else...my friends got $500 a month..which to me is not a lot liao considering i spend more than that cos bad habit for me la, anyhow spend money. But then my friends were saying $500 is more than enough cos other things the husband pay.

But if you think allowance is important, continue working. To me, women should be self independent on financial wise as well as other aspects.

That is why I don't think I can be a SAHM and I will go crazy and my son will go crazy cos we will be screaming at each other...Also, my education aren't high like degree holders so I can't really teach my son alot and i rather earn money working and use the money to pay for good schools for my son.

Congrats on your 2nd baby!

tek koh,
since ike's class is one on one, and Ike hasnt join any regular socializing class apart from playing in the play ground, it takes time for him and the teacher to bonds.. but once they bonds (last week) they were just the two of them and I told my maid to keep her view on them but away so Ike can focus the learning.. he's getting better now he actually learns kicking rather than walking all around the pool hahahaha...

Jete,
Ike learns his name from alphabets you gave him
whenever he passes the door he will point and say the letters..

Cola,
ike won't sit inside the bathroom, period ! hahahah.. so high chair is best option. but now I change his high chair from the combi to ikea's plastic one (like those in restaurant) so so much easier to clean, just bring to bathroom and shower it!!

Peanut:
Ike's taken peanut butter sandwich sometimes.. it seems to be fine with him. Tried him some prawns and sotong he's fine also.. haven't tried real peanuts on him tho.. not sure he knows how to chew..

Kropok:
Ike loooooooooooooooves any type of kropok!! but won't take those children crackers !

Nining,

not in plant but in the hdb that opposite the com. he not live there so quite wiered he choose that blk.

nining: my office mostly men in 40s and 50s so all MCP

mel: one other thing to consider is will your hb to paying for your insurance policies? Cos this is a personal thing, somehow men might have other thoughts.

I dun hv the fortune to stay at home but I'm also not that kinda of great mother whois willing to sacrifice their career for their kid.

xman,

yeah...good size for a 37weeks..gonna see her baby tomorrow, so excited...!!

Golden piggy,

I agree with you that as a SAHM, we mummy and our kids will scream at each other most of the day...crazy lor...I hv been a SAHM since last March, my blood pressure is always high with all the screaming, my medicine can't control my pressure also...chium...I tell hubby I will be the 1st to die...

minnie: yes I agree with you!! during my ML 3 mths I tasted the trial liao.
Hv to cook, clean take care baby.. thing is work dun stop at 6pm. it is 24/7

Xman,
oic.. scary huh.. then later ghost month he prolly one of the brothers ya? hehe..

Zhuzhu,
tough working with MCPs ya hehehe..
u so honest hehehe.. I too think I'd be super crazy if becomign SAHM altho I am tempted cos I wanna be the primary caregiver for Ike.. let's see how this life turns lah..

Adeline - ya, i always tell my hubby i will be the first to die..haha, really, practically, have to scream at him not to do this and not to do that...

But at the same time, I really salute SAHMs...it's really pros and cons...

Golden Piggy,

Guess you are at the early stage only, when they grow older, more and more problem will come....I am going to bring my boy to see the phycologist next week....his behavior problem is from bad to worst...we can't say no to him...he will get upsad and throw tantrums and stuck his leg out of our window grills say he want to jump down or either he will go to his drawer to get a set of clothings...then stand right at the main door say he want to run away from home....really faintz man...can you imagine...he is only 4.5yrs old??

Adeline - yah, mine is just starting so am having headache also when i see him behaving badly.

what's wrong with your boy? think better quickly bring him go see pyschologist as he might be unhappy with something just that he didnt want to voice out?

nining: this is fact of life. I can't afford to be sahm but if I can I dun think I can give up my career/job even though I very much want to be there for my kid..

Golden piggy,

What I think is that he is a attention seeker, once he see us play with Chloe, he will come over to mess it...he want attention from us, thats very obvious...

minnie: how about an activity where u all 4 can do it together? also can try to allocate a special 1hr time for your boy only?

Adeline,

oh,dear, the behavior that u described so drama, a 4.5 years old boy can do such things liao, dont know where he learned it, from school or tv program. must find a way to help him, else sounds so dangerous.

zhuzhu,

We tried before, not successful leh...when all get to do the activity together, both will fight to be 1st...shiao liao lor...guess the time I give him is more thn what I give Chloe now...so usually in the morning when my boy go school, all the time I will be with Chloe...thn when he is back, he will hv me all by himself...

adeline

u must take care ah. high blood is not something to play play with.

ur boy is really a handful.
i agree with zz abt the special time 1 to 1.
not just u but ut hubby also must be involve.
something like sat is u 1to1 with him, then sunday is papa 1to1 with him.

i remember u once mention ur hb is not supportive of u bringing ur son to see doc. is he more supportive now?
what did the doc say? hyperactive or something else?
dun give up on him, he is still young. only 4.5yo.

where did he learn abt jumping off and run away from home. did he learn that from tv?
maybe u have to consider sacrificing ur own tv time.
not sure that is gg to help or nt.

u have to constantly tell him that u love him just as much as u love mei mei.

do keep us updated

lilyn,
YH still having eczema? I am bring Ivan to NUH for review tomorrow. Ivan got no molar yet, only 8teeth now..hehe

Talking about food,
Ivan can eat curry rice, curry chicken, those I feel spicy one, he just chewing like normal.
I let him took half a prawn during CNY, he is ok, have not try him on honey and nuts yet.

Adeline,
Congrate on the new arrival!

minnie: it feels painful. yes. I cant empathize with you but the feeling must be horrid. I guess seeking professional help is always best and you r right in that sense cos it always to have early therapy and prevention

Choco/Zhu..

Thanks for all the advise.

What I can do now is try my best to be the best mum of the 2 kids...since the day Chloe arrive, hubby is fully responsible of her while I spend more time with my boy but seems he want 100% from both of us, now my boy is like so far away from my hubby as he seldom hv time with my boy and he tell me he hv give up hope on my boy liao cos he cant tahan all his nonsense...haiz...I'm all alone facing him...actually my boy is on his regular therapy on learning since July last year, just finish up his last therapy last week can see that there is improvement as before he cant even do writing, now he is slightly better and I spoke to the therapist about his misbehavior, we have been queing for a slot to see the phycologist since last April, finally receive a call today, got an appointment for him next week. Will see how it goes...

Ade,
Congrats on the newborn of your twin sis :p
Hm.. could your boy learn from the tv or somewhere? I think better seek professional help, perhaps he is jealous towards chloe..

Goldpiggy,
I cant imagine u and sam shouting at each other if you are a sahm hehe...

Xman
So scary, y suicide? and the engineer is your co's engineer?

Nining, Mel,
If i become sahm, the biggest sacrifice that i have to made is, no couple time at all already.. coz can go out tog with just hubby alone.. no one to take care of kids at all, coz our relatives are all not here..

One thing i would like to do if i am sahm, i wanna further my studies.. but hubby always says "SAHM doesn't need master lah" keke.. tho he said if he got extra $$, he doesnt mind sponsoring me to further my studies..

Ade,
I can only emphatize you.. I feel it super tough on you! Glad that you're receiving prof help with his problem..

Zhuzhu,
yep yep agree with u..

Cola,
Right now, both me and hubby dont have couple time already even tho we have maid that is willing to take care of ike if we wanna go out.. We just dont wanna do it cos we;ve been busy with work day time..

Loh!! wooohaaa Ivan is so advance with food.. I am indonesian and his Dad loooooves super spicy food but I still dont dare hahaha scared he get too traumatized hahaha..

btw Adeline,
I have no experience in taking care of 2 kids.. but all the books I read said that children thrives in consistency so if u try to do activities togehter, it must be all the time.. the first many rounds may be tough but he and chloe will get there eventually, they need to learn accepting each other, but of course if chloe snatch from javier, she must be told too, same goes with javier.. THis is my personal experience, I was super jealous with my younger brother cos I was the youngest for 6 years before he came.. I was so bad to him and I ran away couple of times hahaha.. I am thinking if you split your time like now, in future Chloe will be jealous too and will act same way, then double tough on you..

Re : TV programs
Looks like all the children are watching very healthy program. Hmm.. 1 or 2 hrs watching those are okie
I need to change liao... no more tv programs.

Re : SAHM
It's really not easy to be sahm esp when they are teething or unwell. The time is terrible.

Cola, ya lor very headache when we go out.

Wiselyn, me quite adventurous too. mee sau, bee hoong, quo tiao, whatever i can find in the supermarket i will cook for her

an_gal
i was at rivervale plaza just now, the mixed flavor can of goatmilk sweetie is $15.50, individual flavor is $13.

cola,

dont know why he suicide, the police still investigate it. He used to be my department engineer then later transfered to another department. actually he already resigned and this friday is his last day,dont know how come today suicide at opposite office the hdb, jump from the top of the hdb. very sad.

I was sick for the whole week and my little one too. ate too much of new year goodies.
put on 2kg sob*sob* Got to go on diet liao.

Didnt login for 2wks. It took me quite sometime to finish reading all the postings.

Xman,
Ya agree with you. It is not easy to maintain a household for single income. That's why I've to keep on working and leave Cheryl to the maid. No choice.

You must be feeling really shocked to learn that someone you kn committed suicide. Is he married? Any children?

Ytanhn,
How much you pay for the program in JG? Is it exp? once a wk? Pl let me know if Chloe enjoys herself? Am considering to sign up for Cheryl but Hubby said too young.
Hope to hear some positive feedback from you so that I can persuade him to agree. Oh ya, heard JG is very popular and need to waitlist. How long did you register b4 you got a place? Is it possible to add me in to your blog?

adeline
congrats on the new nephew!!! hopefully with professional help, your boy's behavior will improve. hang in there.

ivy
you cook and bring food with you whenever you go out? all my frens with older kids tell me when the kid is ready for potty training, it takes so much less effort, so i'm just going to wait to train her and have an easier time with the training than fight her to learn now. i do let p watch tv but limited time per day. she seem to be learning quite a bit from the shows.

re: alphabets
so glad to see the name alphabets i made have educational value. ;)

re: food
we are quite naughty, usually if it's safe food, will let p try. she likes green tea frappe from starbucks, that should tell you how much food we let her try. :p one mom ask abt prawn? tried a long time ago in tempura.

re: discipline
fortunately, i rarely have to shout/scream, now and then i will raise my voice. i put my foot down, i don't negotiate. i am not operating a restaurant, whatever i cook p eats, no choice of menu. if she rejects her food and wants ours, i let her sit there and she knows she has to eat enough of her own food to satisfy me before i give her a taste of our food. she doesn't want to play with 1 toy, then she keeps it before she can take another one out. she can walk where it's safe, once we get to the unsafe area (like car park or road), she has to stop and let an adult carry her. if she doesn't sit in a high chair/stroller, she doesn't eat. very army style huh? kids are smart, p knows she can get away with things with daddy but not mommy. fated i am the "bad person".

mel
i am with nining on the money issue for sahm. we operate on "our money" cos hubby feels that he can go to work with a peace of mind cos he knows p is well taken care of. we give both side elders monthly money, we give ourselves monthly pocket money too so we can have our own money for buying each other gifts or for whatever we want to buy for ourselves. i spent most of my money on stuff for p. maybe our problem is also we have been tog/married for too long, not very romantic any more.
you know what's our plan for vday? sit at home and wait for delivery of a toy we bought for p.

nining
stickers seem to work better for girls. for p maybe i should try pandan bread? lol when i tell p "it's hot" she tells me "blow!"

lilyn
think it's all trial an error. diff kid like diff show and prob at diff stage of his/her life. p likes one of the baby e dvd since she was very young, so i ended up buying the complete set. absolutely no interest except for that one disc only. waste of money, so put away. took out the set again a month or so ago, now she doesn't mind watching any one of the discs. i am allergic to shellfish but p seem ok when we let her eat prawns but she is allergic to nuts, which is weird since no one in either side of the family is allergic to nuts. p doesn't chew the goatmilk sweetie, so i'm thinking they will melt in the mouth?

Jennifer Lim (iluvmygirl),

ya, unless hubby earn quite a lot, else one single income really very tight and no extra $$ for kids to go enrichment class and also for future education savings.

the colleauge is a single, only 26 years old, yesterday xinming daily got report it but not in the top news. just say he's not happy with work but dont know the details. he's a master degree holder and quite young and good person. haiz.

oh, ya, for the JG class, I signed the weekend one, think near $600 if u sign a full term( 10 classes), I waited several month, u hv to pay $37.5 for the register fee first b4 they put u into waiting list, after that if there's vacancy they will call u or u can also call them to check, then only need to pay the fee for classes once confirmed yr slot.
Jete,

wow, paige is such a good gal, when u refuse her request, she wont cry?I dont know ruoxi learn from where, we never send her to any child care or mixed with other kids, but when her request can't be entertained, she will cry and try to sit on the floor even if my mum trying to carry her, she refuse and just want to sit on the floor. But if I walk away and say if u like that mummy won't talk to u and carry u, she will cry and walk to me, the moment I carry her,she stopped all the fuss.

Thread is moving again

Ivy
Whenever u want to go out for couple time with your hubby, will you pass shannon to your parents of ILs?? keke.. I am stil thinking if i really got no help.. that would mean no couple time at all unless at nite (at home) when the kids are asleep keke..

sahm no sick leave, no annual leave keke.. whenever i take sick leave coz of flu, i dun really get to rest at home. firstly, meg will tag into my room, unless she naps, then i can nap, if not, i have to keep an eye on her, fil/mil wont take care of her if i am at home

Jete
Paige is such a good girl haha.. she is scared of mummy rite? Last time my mum used to be the "bad person" and we all grow up well and obedient haha..
Meg bullies me tho....

Xman
26 yr old only? gosh why he opted suicide.. hm.. life is so unpredictable rite..

Nining,
Same.. i always feel guilty whenever i go out with hubby especially during the time we know Meg is not sleeping.. coz we have not been spending much time with her due to work, and now we have some spare times, yet she is left at home.. haha.. i know i shouldn't feel this way, but.. just cant help it.. so whenever we go, she goes! no peace during meal times.. grrr....

nining,
can start let Ike try a bit of spicy food first, if worry, rinse in boil water (i rinse wif my saliva, gagagagag). Prepare to give him drink water if he feel hot.
The nanny said Ivan got no expression when he 1st tried on the curry fish.

Ivan loves orange. He can eat almost 1 whole orange!!!

cola,

u r same as one of my colleague, she said she doesn't like mc, when mc and stay at home her IL will not take care her gal,she's even more tiring.
think that's the difference between IL and own parents, though my parents always complain they r so tired taken care of ruoxi, but when I take mc they will tell ruoxi "mummy not feeling well, let her rest, u dont go to disturb mummy", and still take care my gal as usual plus cook something that I requested.

life is unpredicted, so we must cherish the present.

the only time I go out with hubby without ruoxi is the movie time. but actually we hv a lot chance lah, we working in same com so if we want, we can have lunch together, but I feel sian always face to him so I hv my own kaki and he has his own, we seldom eat lunch together unless my kaki all on leaves.haha.

Loh,

I remember Ivan has eczema should avoid spicy food? or it's ok?I dare not let ruoxi try spicy food yet, scare her skin not nice.haha.

Xman,
Yeah.. i think that is the major different between parents and ILs.. we dare not request for anything on the point that they have willingly helped to take care of Meg..
I dun request for any type of food when i am sick, i eat what is being prepared. Somemore I cant request for more and must be careful that my words are not being interpreted wrongly by ILs, not easy at all.. the more i think, the more tempted i am to become a sahm.. coz no different at all.. I do all housework during weekend, wash clothes, iron, clean this and that..

Jete,
Ike is like that with his Dad, but not with me hahahaahaha.. Hubby said he knows what he can get away with, with me.. So he keeps on pushing his boundaries.. last night I put him to sleep, he kept on walking all over his room till he sweat (in air con room!) then I told him he can sleep by himself, then he quickly go to bed tried to settle him self.. this happened couple of rounds till he really settled hahaha..

Xman/Cola,
that is why SAHM is tougher, no annual leave, no weekends, no sick leave.. I think the 23K salary is lower than those sacrifices.. Lucky for me when hubby is in town he can work at home, so if am sick I tell him I am sick and he will tell Ike mommy bobok and close the bedroom door for me.. but when he is travelling I've got no heart to not be with him even when am sick..

Loh,
I do that too for Ike sometimes.. reminding me of my parents telling that they chewed food for me when I was wee and I was like "eeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwww... dont tell me that!!"

Nining,
Same if hubby is at home, i will ask him to take care of Meg, but too bad in the afternoon, he is at work.. so my girl gotta bear with me, sitting beside me and kept repeating mummy bobok.. mummy ngantuk haha.. then i said yes, mummy is sick, u dun climb here and there later on fall down.. most of the times she listens, she will sit on my bed play with her dolls.. the terrible thing is she keeps pipis.. so i gotta bring her to toilet quite frequently haha! normally when i am sick, i pray hard, she will nap together with me haha..

Cola,

dear, now u pregnant still need to do house chore during weekend?yr IL or hubby not help?I think I better stopped complain my parents not so good to me, I do nothing after pregnant, last time first pregnancy no parents around even weekend I hv to cook and wash cloth, but now all those were done by parents, hubby as usual only do the cleaning of whole house once a week.

Nining,
u and Jete both hv mature hubby who can help, my hubby till now ruoxi 1.5 years old and I pregnant with #2, his life style still like single but not married and with kids. everynight play pc game till 12+, whenever I asking ruoxi"where is daddy", she will either answer me"daddy is playying game", or said "daddy go out play mahjiang with friends",of cos my gal speak mandrian, I just translate it to english. see, my gal also know what's her daddy doing.

Xman

I dun mind those easy housechores like washing clothes and ironing.. coz it's not heavy.. mopping floor i am okay, coz just use the stick and mop.. i cant stand any dirt in my house.. the more i cant stand whenerver my little QC inspector says IHHHH DIRTY.. ihhhh an zang! last time FIL used to mop everyday, only weekend i mop, now only sometimes he mops and somedays he doesnt.. as I say, I cant blame him, perhaps he is tired.. fyi, my girl naps quite a lot and sleeps a lot.. dun think mopping takes too much time coz usually i am done in like 20 mins...

Hubby helps to scrub toilets... anyway i used the long scrub to scrub everytime i take shower.. coz no need to bend just that the corner it's hubby's job..
My hubby is a workaholic and seeing him very tired with his work, and his studies, I just do whatever i think i can do.. and if really cannot, then ask him to help. He never rejects, just that I have to open my mouth and ask him..

Ya, dun complain liao, your parents are very nice to you.. ho ho.. i miss my parents!!!! so envy that your parents are here with you!

bundle of joy,
oats shld be good, v healthy. Much better than my gal who is having love letters (cny crackers) everyday :s

xman, rc_cola,
Hb will do most of the housework too. But i have to take care of my gal even when i m sick.

Our couple time is incorporated into family time, if i have free time (if no need to work or charlize is with nanny) i wld wanna go out with friends instead

I taught charlize to say "dirty" and "yeeeeee" too, then that day she saw the mole on my hand and said "DIRTYYYYYYY" and tried to "scrub" it off :p

Glee,
Thats a relieve but is everyday good? Bec sometimes when he refuse to eat anything else i give him oats, sometimes twice a day. Worried that too much would cause harm.

Anyway love letters are in demand during cny rite. Maybe she knows and thats why she is indulging in it.

Bundle of Joy,
Just make sure that the oat is all natural, non-preservative, and no-add on seasonings, it should be fine.

My girl has the oats for so long already! Again, it must be all natural, no seasoning, non-preservative one..

Glee
Haha.. cant eat too much of love letter, very heaty! My girl also ate a lot of keropok (prawn, non-prawn, spicy, nonspicy) everything during CNY, i just make sure she drinks lots of water, and no more snacking after coming back to SG.. keke..

Re: spicy food
Meg has a bit of sensitive skin, but she is okay with the spicy food.. she can eat rice with curry gravy as well, and of course will ask for water immediately after eating one mouthful hehe.. guo tiao with chili also take.. keke..