(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

jete,
chloe has no sign of self feeding too, expects me to feed her instead.

nining,
the list certainly comes with memories, everyone here was just waiting for our turn to pop one by one.
just realised chloe is the eldest gal in this thread.

gold..piggy,
whole egg needs to be taken prior to taking MMR jab.

ivy,
hahaaa.. i was trying to control my laughter too when recording the video.

Leoh,

If anything, should get the sole 2. For our kids this age, it needs to flexible (can bend the shoe in half totally). Actually two of the best shoes which I found on the net is http://www.striderite.com/custserv/whystrideritemain.jsp?cid=213 . And http://preschoolians.com/top-ten-1 .But i don't know if Singapore has. And quite ex leh... If any of you going to the states and can order, don't mind tell me.

Hi Chatty - thanks for giving gogomummy my number. i finally managed to speak to her a while ago and she said the BP has closed and price is now $46.90 which i said don't want. I told her if she have spare for giraffe or zebra then to tell me...cos the rest i don't quite like...

ytanhn, thanks for telling me. cos i know i read but anyway, will let my son try the whole egg before he takes the MMR jab. by the way, this jab is free or have to pay if i go polyclinic..haha

Hope James and Yee Heng get well soon.Samuel just recovered from his 3 weeks coughing only....coughing takes a longer time to heal and luckily he is well on his birthday party..heng!

re:drinking from straw
my boy very naughty, i let him hold his own cup and with the straw, he will drink then spit out once he know its water...

Goldpiggy: Wah! So expensive! I know she told me yesterday afternoon that the zoobies were arriving today, and last night she smsed me that she had just placed her order for the bilibos. I think its better if you just wait for the next BP. There's sure to be another coming up soon.

chatty,jenny

thanks for the info,maybe should go bata to see.yes i wanted to buy the sole 2(rubber sole)if the organiser confirm that the quality is not bad.cos i think the stock is from taiwan,don't want to risk bad quality stuff..

One of my friends who is the HR Director of a MNC, is looking for a permanent admin staff to support admin/secretarial work. Salary is est. $1.6k. Location: Changi Biz Park. While waiting for a perm, she needs a temp staff for one month to perform the same role. If any one is interested, please sms me and I'll forward your sms to her. Thanks.

Hi afternoon mummies,

Have a little time after lunch since Aidan is napping.

Wow, so many bbs are drinking water frm straw alrdy. Till now, Aidan still refuse to drink water, so, not to mention frm the straw. I tried giving him the straw and he was biting it and when he accidentally sip the water, he would push the cup away. How ah??? So headache. Everytime I'll have to fight with him when I give him some water at class after snack time. It's just so embarrassing.

Abt MMR, my hub just told me that his secretary's bb just had his MMR and right after that rash broke out all over his body to that he has to be sent to the hospital. Don't know why, cause he was given whole egg long before the MMR and had no reaction, but suddenly rashes just broke out after the vaccination. So scary.

ytanhn, Chloe is so cute, her reaction to her porridge is so so funny. Just gave Aidan the kfc whipped potatoe, he loves it too. But not sure why, he didn't like the whipped potatoe I made....
Any advise on how to prepare whipped potatoe.

Just borrowed a sign language kit frm a friend, am trying to teach Aidan some sign language, thought it'd be fun.

inu, so sorry, haven't got time to reply to your email. Yes, my boy is attending Julia Gabriel, he's been going to jg since 6 mth old, so he's been very comfortable with people.

Haa..good news, Aidan is teething at last....haa...I know it's a bit too late right, cos most of the bbs here alrdy had some many teeth. At last, my bo ge boy is having teeth....phew....what a relief. They haven't popped out yet, but I can feel the teeth on his gum and it's quite visible alrdy.

ok, gotta go get ready for his school, chat again.

gold piggy/muddypie,

maybe u want yr bb to try drink the fruit juice from straw?ruoxi drink from straw when I give her the fruit drink that sell at normal food court fruit store, she start drink from straw 2 or 3 months ago, at first she doesn't know how, but she like fruit juice a lot, I dont know how then she master the skill liao, after that I bought the drinking cup with straw and feed her water from there, now she very happy drink plain water if she's thirsty, if not she also will spit out the water.

an_gal,

tried feed her meesua 1 month ago, she last time b4 sick can eat about 10 piece(my mum always count it) which is about half small rice bowl after add soup and veg, but recently after sick she wont eat that too. so far I never find anything that she like a lot, only fruit juice she like it, and so funny she love the outside sell one, my hubby prepare for her mix with similar fruits that I bought from food court, she seems not so interested.

Goldpiggy/muddypie, I think Xman's way is pretty good. Start with your baby's fav drink. I just discovered over the weekend that James can manage drinking from a thin straw (the sort that comes with packet drinks) better than from the thick straw that comes with the pigeon cup. He sometimes chokes on the water from the thick straw, but he can drink continuously from the thin straw.

Lilyn,
hope yeeheng is ok, sometimes ruoxi also use her dirty hands to rolling her eyes, but hard to control her,and told my parents to wash hands for her but they said it's ok, bu2 gan1 bu2 jing4 chi1 le1 mei2 bing4, I faints but bopian.

xman,

haha there's a similar hokkien saying too:
lap4 sap4 jia2,lap4 sap4 dua3..meaning eat dirty things,will still grow healthily

leooh & xman,
ya i have grown up with these 2 phrases, esp leooh's as i'm hokkien
but now my parents show double standards to my gal leh, keep nagging abt hygiene. eg, they wash the coins with soap & water till v clean before my gal can touch or "tong" into the piggybank.. but i think all we need to do is wash her hands after that.

Leooh,

hehe, chinese have similar saying though in differnt dialect.

Glee,

yr parents so good, my parents wont so protective leh, I tell them should wash hands more frequent they said I sick.

btw, any mummy plan to give bb chickenpox vaccination when they are 1 years old? I asked the GP at bishan, it's $88 per jab. can share the price that your GP charge u?I didnt ask the PD think it's more exp.

chatty

not allowed to work,so can only find jobs that won't pay CPF..hehe
prob give tuition or do translation/copywriting jobs.

or maybe i give chinese enrichment class to babies who don't speak mandarin at home?mandarin playgroup,haha

I am Back!! Wah..being busy with training these few weeks...

Lilyn: Hope that Yee Heng gets better soon...

Jete: Congratulation!! On Paige successfully drinking from the straw!! I have taught Gladys to drink from straw since she was 9 months old. How she is holding the handle liao and drink on straw!!! Hardwork and consistence paid.

Gladys now learning to walk...thinking of buying the walking Wing to teach her to walk..but it is very expensive..$50! Anybody try that before??

As usual, not being good term with my MIL. Yesterday just told her off again in the morning after my hubby went off for work early. I told her,"Pls do not keep insisting you do this and that, give your son and me some private time to be with Gladys..." "If you have nothing to do, please sit down on sofa and rest or watch TV..." She just keep quiet.... I don't care she does listen or not.

the red-eye/conjunctivitis is a bacterial infection..i got it first, hubs got it after that and now yee heng's right eye is down with it too...poor boy will need eye drops..hope he gets better asap as we're going to KL tmrw and to batam next weekend!

yeah lah, i was so excited. taught paige how to drink from straw and she learnt, then she decided maybe can try to hold the handle on the cup. esp excited cos she has rejected water until now. since birth she will not drink water. she only drink milk and if i mix juice to water, she will give me face and take a few sips. plain water is a never.

as for teaching how to drink from straw, thanks to misch for teaching me. here's how...

you use your finger to block the drinking hole part, holding some water inside the straw. put the other end into the bb's mouth, then bb can learn to suck with your finger sort of controlling the liquid flow. does that make any sense?

i started last thur, did it 4x, screw the cover back, give paige the sucking end and she knows to suck. after she woke up from nap, she forgot already, so repeated the process. fri, we were out so didn't try. sat, same thing as thur, must remind her. by sunday, just have to give her the cup with straw, she knows how to suck, no need reminder lession any more.

HTH.

nining
we are actually quite naughty with outside food. even when paige was very young, we let her taste.... like ice cream, bad daddy. now i will give her a bit of outside food but she must eat her own food first or eat enough to satisfy me. also the good thing about her is if i give her say mashed ptt, i decide it's enough, i tell her and sign last bite, she will take the bite, sign back to me "no more/finish" then that's it. even if i continue to eat the mashed ptt, she will leave me alone.

xman.. which part of bishan u staying? ya i went to the happy family website..seems good that is why i registered..cos i dunno which child care to go liao.

leooh - i also like..lap4 sap4 jia2,lap4 sap4 dua3 then they can grow up stronger haaa...this mummy siao one

muddypie ..i also thinking oh sending her to JB but there is no wkend class ..aiyo..and i only free on wkend as i work during the wkday..else every wkend jaelynn just accompany me go shopping centres n shop shop...dun learn anything except spending $$ :p

lilyn
how is yee heng's eyes?

dont think paige is sharing, she definitely do not want to share her toys. she is at the copy cat phase, i feed her, she feed me. i bought a pigeon mag mag cup, skip 1 and 2 and went to straw. that's the one i was using to teach her to suck. she seem to choke on it and some mommies commented that the straw/hole on the mag cup is too big. i was holding out on buying another cup (cheapo mommy) hoping she will learn to regulate her sucking. any way my sis bought her the hello kitty combi set for her birthday so now i am using the combi one instead, she seem to like the combi one better than the mag.

miaon
i started giving some cheese to paige yesterday and today. i just give her a corner of my piece from my sandwich. i think it was cheddar. the individual wrapped slices kind. not sure if it's ok but i decided everything in moderation, she got to start somewhere.

I'm back! Since the "guessing game", I went MIA.
You all must be wondering why...
kao_confused.gif

wanted very much to share my joy with all of you but since 4w4d I have been spotting (now still spotting intermittently).
today is 6w4d and i just saw baby's flickering heartbeat
can't control anymore so decided to share my happiness and relief here.
at least after this first milestone, i feel more assured about this pregnancy.
EDD would be 27 March 2009.
now still got to rest more cos the spotting is caused by a blood clot in the womb.
hope it will go away soon.

looks like Doren will be happy to have a sibling...

1618009.jpg

Jete,
i also use those cheddar cheese ( half of a quarter of a piece to a egg yolk) to make omelette, she loves it

Bliss
congrats! wow can feel the happiness

hi all, info sharing. one of sept mummies distracted me, i had to call and check out. hee hee! This is good for those staying in jurong west.

Nining, i think this childcare is not far from your plc.

Carpe Diem Playskool Pte Ltd
Blk 153 #01-41 Yung Ho Road
(Taman Jurong along Corporation Road) Singapore 610153

Half day $320 (7 – 1pm or 1pm – 7pm)

Full day $395 (7 to 7pm)

Monthly sch bus fee: $85-$90

1 teacher : 6 toddlers max.

glee & leooh,

leooh,
i've shifted to Fusionopolis already. about 1km away from Biopolis
but i can still meet you for lunch (at Raj - mango lassi!) cos there are shuttle buses going to biopolis everyday!

bliss

yes!our favourite meeting place haha.is that one of your craving?hehe

if i really get posted out end dec then cannot meet you for lunch anymore,sobsob

you take care,anytime you want to meet for lunch sms me!

bliss,
missed u so much! you were supposed to announce to me rite? rem our vow? hehe
anyway, can see tat doren is so happy to have a younger sibling soon..so happy for u...congrats once again!

inu,

I live at bishan st12, near the blk510 ntuc. U got it?

bliss,

so our guessing is correct, do take care, if this time a little gal hving same eyes like doren sure she will be a beauty.

muddypie
same, paige also will not drink water. hopefully yesterday was not a one time thing. i used to give her o.5oz juice to 4oz water, that was flavored enough for her to take some. i figured some liquid better than nothing.

signing is fun. that is the only baby e video that can catch paige's attention. since young she will sign milk to me. and she understands when i sign things, like apple, cereal, bread, play, bath, please, thank you etc. now she does some signs herself, some from video some her own creation.

congrats aidan is finally teething, i know you have been waiting for him not to be teethless.

Thank you all for the well-wishes!

woof,
of course i still remember our vow!
(in fact, i really wanna PM you when i found out initially!)
but because of my spotting (1 day after i tested positive) and after guessing game, the pregnancy is no longer a surprise! hehe...
having said this, u must tell me when your turn comes ok!

leooh,
ya man! when i am more stable, i will sure meet you and have our mango lassi, yum yum...

xman,
gal or boy, don't dare to think cos my only wish is for baby to be healthy and strong

guess this is destined!

muddypie,
read ur past post.
dun worry about the design of the cake!
if i mind, i wouldn't be sharing the info with you all here right?
glad u had designed the cake with the lollies. nice!