(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

loh,
sorry, os blur..i didn't answer ur q about bb's eczema!?? yee heng's is better now cuz i always apply QV cream religiously after his baths, but he had some spots on his face last week, just applied desowen and QV overnight it cleared up..now its back to just QV..

where can i get friso samples? yee heng is having that now to supplement when i'm too tired/busy to pump..wonder if he could be allergic to it? would like samples fr other places too??! got lobang?

how can i encourage yee heng to drink more milk? he takes total of FM+EBM+250ml max throughout the day, and i let him latch on at least 2 times in the day..night time he'll always wake to latch 2-3 times (dunno whether he's snacking or seriously eating)..he's taking 2 porridge feeds, one snack (fruit/yogurt)

leooh,
glad to know u r better

mel,
yea.."plastic" as in processed cheese
i'm not sure if can give yet leh..
my self-target was to wean after 1 year anyway...so just b4 going to perth he'll be 1 year already mar! yogurt i gave pauls full fat, and i'm making it myself now too..my starter was the pauls yogurt..its sour but he likes it! will add steamed apples for him sometimes to sweeten it

muddypie.

u mean the tomatoes+cheese? i removed the skin and seed of 2 small tomatoes and cook them together with the unsalted butter. if u were referring to raw tomatoes, then i'm not too sure if it can be served raw.

jessel,
I stopped pumping in end of April, till now still got some bm supply, will get engourgement if no latching in few days. So think need abt 3 months to totally stop bf. If u want to bf till 1.5yrs, better dun reduce so fast, keep the supply longer.

Gold piggy,
I am using mustela cream and bathing soap for abt 3 month liao. But in bb sitter there is using another type of lotion and soap, not consistant.

Cola,
hahah, sometimes my boi pee on my legs and pants when i open his diaper to potty train him or air his little butt. Think urine got urea as aloe vera gel also contains urea for eczema treatment

just to share, how i DIY yogurt for yee heng

1)empty 1 L of full fat UHT milk in microwave safe bowl and heat under med-high 3 mins
2)rinse vacuum thermos with HOT water, empty it
3)add 4 tablespoons of milk powder to heater UHT milk, pour most of it into thermos
4) add 1 tablespoon of store bought yogurt to remaining heated milk, add it into thermos
5)close thermos and place on kitchen counter overnight

TADA! and u have yogurt! i chill it in the fridge before giving it to bb n me! YUM!

angeline/gold_piggy: mylar balloons cannot estimate lor, so i think can gauge abt 2 normal round balloons = 1 18inch mylar balloon? Agar agar lor. That mummy told me PG provided the sesame street cake toppers leh, told me in actual fact, don't have to buy our own. That's why i think better to go down the bakery shop if you have the time to dialog with them directly and browse their catalogues. I think they should have a wide range of designs which they captured before delivery of the cakes to their clients. hee hee! I think most party shop will help u to fill up helium balloons at a nominal fee. There is 1 chinese party shop at HV, also do that for a nominal fee.

woof: initially i want to have care bear theme for samuel, but my colleagues told me abit girlish leh, so i dismissed the thought! Next one if girl i will opt for care bear theme, hee hee!

an_gal: yah..his gf's b'day, haahaa! 3mths older than him. We also planning for a short drive up trip to Malacca together in Aug, want to test out bringing my son on holiday to prepare for the big one in Dec.

rc_cola: good, i intend to teach my son thru' experiential learning, my colleague taught that to her 3 kids, all 3 very smart. haahaah

Tiny Voice,

Really ah?? Hmm, den i really have to make a trip down to PG liao! I like their cake toppers more than wat i have buy leh! Their like mini one, very cute!

Im staying at sengkang / punggol area, do u happen to know if there's any party shop around my area?

Lilyn,
Thanks for your yogurt recipe, let me try it when I am free hehe :p

Wow.. some of you mummies esp FTWM are really wei da, until now stil BF!!! I know how tiring it is to pump early in the morning and late at nite, the bulk of stuff to bring to office and home for pumping.. gosh!!! I have already stop when meg was 6.5 mths.

Tiny Voice,
I think experiential learning is one way to teach the baby coz if we keep nagging, we doubt they will get our message.
Must say and do at the same time, then they know. You have to try, it works for Meg, so far so good.
The naughty girl once tried to touch the working fan, then my Fil used a plastic spoon/fork and just slot it to the working fan, then got sound mah.. krekk krekkk krekkk so loud... fil told meg U TRY U TRY YOUR HANDS WILL BE PAINFUL... she heard the krekkk krekk sound she is so scared, until now she doesnt dare to touch the fan anymore hahaha...

wow, all the babies eat alot, titus only eats breakfast (cereals, fruits n yoghurt), lunch keen n dinner porridege n supper (cereals). latch on abt 4 times whole day that is all.even for porridge, he take the most half a bowl.

i am also trying to intro fm bit by bit. if not coming his 1 year, i dun want to bf him 100% already. very tiring. he just doesnt want bottle. i tried snowy's method to give him the bottle n play but he can such a big mess instead of drinking. sought a lactation cosultant's advice, she said i introduce bottle too late. she asked me to give him milk in a cup. haven try that yet. cos i was thking how to give him a cup of milk if he wakes up in the middle of night???

hey mummies
if got lobang of company that deliever helium gas n manpower to blow balloons, do let me know. or would it be cheaper if we combined order?

chatty, pai seh, thanked the wrong fella! After going thru the session, she concluded tat my poor is mourning the loss of my mother - cos my mom passed on and he cannot understand why he never see her. So kids show by tantrums. poor boy, miss her and yet dunno how to express. so must pay more attention to him

Angeline - what is PG? For cakes huh?

Lilyn - my pedicure not that good leh. Not shiok but my nails are indeed nicer looking now...i was so bored, they were so busy, never give me magazines and i was like nearly dozing off..haha

hi rc
your gal really very guai. titus fell from our bed last week. even so, he is still not scared. now he is so playful n he likes wire. last week caught him biting the fan's wire. his latest trick now is to pull the drawers open n take stuff out from it. my mum commented that why being a sahm, my son can still be so naughty. that really makes me abit unhappy. i dun understand why people (including my mum) got this mentality that sahmms' children must be obedient cos their mothers r with them constantly 24 hrs to teach them.

Baby luke have a way of rejecting food he doesn't like - by spraying onto me and my outfits. Plus he purse his mouth shut and shakes his head.

Tiny voice,

I also wanted carebear and was out voted by the whole world cause its too girly. Like you, I also have it on reserve if I ever have a daughter.

Finally decided on the light blue and white baby sesame street pattern.

cin,
You are right about balloons, do let me know. Do a balloon helium bp?

Gold Piggy
PG = Pine Gardens. Lots of mommies get their cakes from there.

Breastfeeding
Any mommies still bfeeding? I'm thinking of stopping. Less and less leh.

youghurt
lilyn, wow, you make yoghurt making sound so yummy n easy to make. but i dun thk i have the time to do it.
anyway, his classmate's muumy was sharing a tip with me. she advised me not to buy flavoured yoghurt for them. cos they r sweet n not real fruits. she taught me to buy natural unsweetened youghurt n mix my own fruit puree to it. healthier n freshier.

hey cin, i find ur 'manpower to blow balloons' statement very amusing, get your family members or close friends to help out with decor lor, get them to blow balloons. Or if got any nieces or nephews, let the kids have fun, come earlier and blow balloons. Then tell them at the end of the party, they can bring home. Unless you intend to engage a party organiser, then sure setup incl. pumping of balloons. Oh yah, can use a balloon pump! Am going to attend balloon sculpturing session org. by my church in August, good timing to brush up my skill so that i sculpt balloons for my little one's party in Sept.
I signed up my hubby and maid for the course too, hahahha, KS mummy!

cin relax lah - my older boy @ 1 yr old is so "hand-itchy" that my late mother once contemplated to tie up the cupboard juz in case he pull out something dangerous.

Look on the bright side - at least he is active and curious - so take it tat he is juz being normal - normally naughty...

My luke still wakes up 3x every night for feed. any idea how to encourage him to sleep thru? i cannot tahan already...

cin
not a FT caregiver cos her health cannot tahan. She was staying with me all the while. Passed on only early this yr. Juz that i find my boy moody and throwing tantrums v often. not quite right. Juz tat i never imagine a boy will miss someone he loves so much. Can u imagine wat a kid goes thru if parents divorce? "shudder"

helo tiny voice
the problem is i dun have nieces n nephews. i thk on that day, i will be too busy to blow balloons. of cos i can get my close frds to come n blow balloons. but that means their whole families got to come early to help out. i thought if the supplier can send someone down to help me to pump helium into the balloons, that will solve my prob.
hey which church u guys from?

Cin,
Dun take it into heart, that is old ppl's thoughts :p
Meg also likes to pull open the drawer and then push it to close it, and knows what her fingers always got caught while pushing the drawer to close it.
She will sure scream and cry coz painful mah hahaha... but this one she cant control coz the drawer will slide to close. In order to slow down the sliding while closing, we put some papers on the side of the drawer to make it harder for her to push it and then her fingers wont get caught there :p

Wiring wise... my house not much wire on floor.. so she never experience biting wire before.
Another naughty thing that she does : play with remote control, bang it onto the floor or table until the battery falls out, and eat the batteries!!!!!!!
This is very very naughty of her, and of course dangerous, so now we keep very close eyes to her when she starts playing with the remote control.

sunbloom
hahaha! 881 club?? no audience lah! : p

cant help u with the waking up to latch. me still have that challenge to overcome too. i guess most bfing mothers face that challenge. the funny thing is my body is tuned to it.

cin - my son also reject bottle. i introduce him @ 1 moth also cannot!

Now still on breast. When i am @ work, he drinks from spoon... at leas he loves solids esp durians...

geez.. sunbloom, i am an anglican too. hey bring your children to sun school? let them soak in the atmoshpere of singing n playing in the nursery school. actually can get a pastor to pray for elder son.

cin: am from trinity christian centre @ Adam Road.
No nieces & nephews eh, then u rope these mummies here to help u to blow balloons, if no resources, help each other lor, 1 way of pooling resources, *wink*!

tiny
been there b4 during my school day. my sis received christ there. always have got fond feelings for trinity.

yah. i was thking we can invite each other for our babies' party.hahaha!

on lah! sista, come n help me pump balloons! :p

Cin, sunbloom,
Eating batteries is not a joke, she could have swallowed it!!!! Cant let her do that again. so naughty!
But one thing which i like a bout my girl, the things that is hard and she cant swallow, she will just keep it in her mouth hahaha...
Once i let her eat cookies, i didn't know got peanut inside, after 15 mins I see that she is like sucking sweet like that, so i go and dig her mouth, a peanut is stil intact hehehehe...

Tiny Voice,
Babies at this stage are very very receptive, its good to teach them things start from now til 3 yrs old. She can recognise A B C and D liao.. will teach her other alphabets in the coming months.

You know what I do everynite, read "san ji Jing" ahhahahaha
"Ren zi zhu, xin ben shan
Xin xiang jin, xu xiang yuan,
Gou bu jiao, bla bla.."
I cant even remember even i read everynite for Meg hahahaa.. Hopefully one day when she knows how to talk, she could spell out what I have been reading to her for the past few months hahahaha

wow!! rc, u good man! taught her that. my hb wants to teach him hokkien. everynite 30 mins b4 he sleep, we let him do gymboree on our bed n play silly games with him. maybe that is why he is very playful??
i was telling hb that i reserved a book that costs $25 from borders abt boundaries for toddlers. he said no need lah, buy a $0.50 cane can already. hah!

sunbloom
u call your son luke becos of star wars rite? i want my daughter to call leia next time. princess leia.

ok, see u mummies
me going to be "maria" b4 titus is up from nap.
be good everybody.....

I got married in Trinity - booked the hall there cos i love the strained glass panels...

I think the most impt thing is to pray over them. Cos u never know.

cin: am a lurker here...from sept thread lah. heeheehee! here to pick up tips from Aug mummies mah. Am a FTWM.

rc: *saluate* you...at least you see results of your sacrifice being sahm.