(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Jete

I kaypo and read aug's thread. Janelle had eczema on her cheeks when she was younger. Prof Lee gave some cream for eczema to apply, which I now use on J's back and buttocks. She has some rashes too, seems to help a little. Goes away after a few days but will come back again.

Btw, my mum says for avocado, best not to keep for >2 days as it will oxidise. U can eat it too, lots of omega 3. ;-)

chomecc,
i guess now u get used to it and enjoy the shopping there rite?

nining,
wow...ike enjoys himself so much in the pool...will u be home this sat?

gold...piggy,
she will play wif it when put her in it..erm,which robinson are u referring to...can u rem which day? i dun recall seeing anyone familiar leh..watz the price for the bright starts now?

loh,
wah..so the pads are giving u a hint tat period will report soon..

jete,
hope tat paige's rashes have gone....cant imagine tat the big needle is gng to be prick into my skin...
carene is gng for her 5in1 jab as well as 2nd dose of hep b coming mon..so scary...2 jabs at one go....

my Melcolm fell off the bed today and he had a mini "ba lu ku" on the left side of his forehead now.... sobs sobs.. heartpain man...

magical,
i boil the porridge with a piece of lean pork and after tat add on puree wen porridge is cook, sure hav taste 1 leh.. wont b bland.. lean meat will discard, melcolm oni had the porridge

jete,
oh dear, hope paige's eczema wasnt that serious..

muddypie: heard from cin and read off the JG website that the first case of HFMD at JG Evans (of late) was reported this week. is the infected child in your class? now wondering whether to bring my bb to class tmrrow or not. sigh.

hi choco!
yeah i blend the whole thing .. coz got meat, veggie n ikan bilis .. i don't have time to make ikan bilis powder n puree the meat n veggie fresh ..

i dont blend it too much so there'll still be some little bits of chunks in it.. n i now try to pick out the pieces from the porridge to blend and then add them back again.. but somehow when i pick the stuff out, the bowl is almost empty liao.. hee...

an_gal,
oh.. that's how my mum did it for us too! =)
but then if u discard the meat then what's the point of cooking it together? won't the protein be wasted? or is it like veggies? once boil all the nutrients will go into the porridge?

magical

This is wat I usually do on wkends. I will buy either chicken or pork bones fr the mkt & boil the bones in a big pot of water. Then I will separate the soup into smaller containers to freeze. Each time I wanna use, I will take out a container 2 thaw.

I normally cook the porridge by double boiling the thawed soup wif powdered brown & white rice (for the rice, I will blend the uncooked rice in bulk & keep in fridge). Then in a separate pot, boil watever meat/fish/veg/ikan bilis I wan. Puree those then add to the porridge. Tay way the porridge is not oli tasty, it's has all the nutrition of all the food in the purest form.

This is wat my PD taught mi. Hope it helps.

Woof,
Thanks. Received the item liao.
But hor, 2 pcs of the "diamond" dropped. Need to glue it back.

Ytanhn,
Had placed for u the 3 littletouch bk and littletouch sys. Will advise u the cost. Lucily was in time for free domestic shipping and before price increased.

TULIP,
THANKS SO much for the tip on cooking.. will get it done this weekend.. make own chicken or fish stock and later add them onto the rice prrodige, right?

Loh,
I think the heinz rice cereal not tasty, but it adds texture into Ike's veg puree , making it lumpy.. so he eats the whole thing up...

Woof,
Will be in Tumbletots jurong east with mikiko.. can bring there if u wanna..

Ocean,
he's a menace sometimes too hahahaha...

Woof, Shannon also fuss when i clean her mouth then my mum say is the way i clean. We need to tell baby mummy going to clean your mouth and then we gently clean her mouth. It works.. Then my mum say do you think you like it when someone suddenly use a cold cloth to clean your face????? Gena scolded by my mum

Hi Tulip,

Paisei have few questions to ask you:
1) How do you double boil?
2) Powdered brown rice can use Yu Ren Sen brown rice si sen fen?
3) Do you sun your white rice before blending?

Hi Mummies anybody interested in Tokyu Fashion -Mayuki? I wanted to buy from the Bulk purchase thread but seems like quite ex after adding the shipping charges and handling fees...

jete
abt the enczema, u wanna try the calendula cream by california baby? my boy's skin ard the mouth is sensitive and always with rough red patches. i tried putting the cream and the red patches healed after a few days. of coz it comes back again when he drools a lot, but at least the cream is not medication, so can apply as and when u feel required. i used on his neck where it was red as well and it is slowly reducing now. seems to be getting better as well.

Jete: Thanks : ) Happy Belated 8th month to Paige too!

My dermatologist says to put lots of moisturizer on baby's eczema patches. If the eczema doesn't get better, then bring to the dermatologist for more potent medications.

Ivy: I'm interested in the Mayuki fashion wear but I don't dare to order, coz I'm not too sure that the clothes will fit me. I've ordered all sorts of stuff on-line, except for clothes and shoes...

To double boil, just put your food into a ceramic / porceline bowl, put the bowl into a pot of water (make sure that water in pot does not cover bowl), cover pot and turn on fire.

Rashes, itchy / swollen eyes can also be due to food allergies. For example, James gets rashes when he takes potatoes.

Ivy - what's the website? Can i see?

Woof - It's the robinson at Centrepoint? Bright start still at $269? Cos now considering between that and the Rocking Jitty buggy...any suggestions?

My boy's mucus is still stuck in the nose, i can't see it or suck it out but i can hear it - do you think i should bring him to see a PD again?

miaon,
I applied calendura cream on my bb feets, condition seems worse

choco,
I put a piece of pork to cook the porridge, it is very tasty but some how my bb just refused to eat. For rice cereal, I did added puree (eg carrot, apple, spinach or pumkin), but he also not interested in it.

magical,
I didn't blend the porridge, very smooth if cook with using slow cooker!!!

BTW,must puree the ikan bilis to cook porridge? cos the ikan bilis is very 'powdery' ler, if cooking, the fin, head or tail will come off, not scared will injure the baby's throat when swallow?

Loh,

what cereal are you using? Jaeden doesn't seem interested in the Bellamy's cereal previously, but he enjoys the HT barley cereal now

gold_piggy: wat an_gal does is correct. It's the same theory as pple putting in the loin bones and chicken bones to soup to make the stock. The protein and calcium goes into the soup. U can try adding carrots, potatoes into the porridge and boil together.
Oh! Try not to make the porridge watery yah?
I use pork loin. It's sweeter den lean pork.

Tip: Buy from market, those from indonesia one are nice. Aussie pork tend to have a smell.

Hope it helps!

Loh: U need to wash the ikan bilis cos they are salted. U got 2 ways to do it:

1) Wash ikan bilis, dry it den put in microwave oven and toast the thing. When it's crispy, pound it and add to porridge

Btw, remember to remove the centre part of the ikan bilis if it is those whole type.

2) Wash ikan bilis, boil with porridge or boil ikan bilis stock den throw in the rice to make porridge.

morning all.

jete, Aidan has alittle of eczema too. He developed rashes on his body last month. Went to see Prof Lee, she recommended using this brand, Oilatum Emollient for bath. Has been using since then, now he's all cleared. I got it frm Pharmacy, using the 2nd bottle now, and is finishing soon. Just pour 2 caps full into the bath that's it. I don't use powder, using moisturiser, started with Gaia since his birth, recently just changed to this brand call Lavera, it's a German product, they hve a shop at Raffles City basement. They even have face cream for bb, so I bought it too. Hope that help.

Yolksac, I'm not aware of it, was at class yesterday, but no mention abt it. Will call them later to check it out. If it's true, think will not bring Aidan to class next week. Do keep me informed if you heard of any latest news ok.

ocean,
aiyoh, so paiseh leh....din notice the diamonds drop...maybe in the midst of delivering it to u, it fell off...anyway, hope u like them

nining,
great! will see u in the class

ivy,
no use one leh....i tried telling her too but she juz dun like pple to clean her face...nowadays oso the same thing happen when we wash her hair...we haf to distract her by singing song rite in her face but haf to make it a fast one if not she gets impatient too!

gold piggy,
oh, i was there on 22nd mar..the sat after good fri...maybe u are rite...i din see u leh..w come din u come up to me? nt sure abt the selling price..maybe itz at $269. i bot it at $239. nv try the jitty buggy before so cant compare and comment..

zhuzhu, thanks for the tips on how to prepare ikan bilis, will try it out this weekend. So far, I've only made pork bone stock, add lots of big bone into the soup, boil it for few hrs, then, filter the soup with a sieve. Store them up individually in freezer. Whenever I want to make porridge for Aidan for that day, I'll take it out frm freezer, thaw it, then cook with porridge in slow cooker. He likes it when I add vege ourees in it, finish it all.

lilyn,
my son has red patches and spots all over his body even feets and palms after he recover from teething fever. very jialet tt kind. bt after few days recover. dunno if you referring to this.

woof,
he fell off at my mum place while slping on my queen size bed

magical,
no leh.. all the nutrients will go into the porridge liaoz wen u boil.. i didnt let my son take tat piece of meat cos is gona be veri hard after long boiling, i add in fresh minced chicken separately..

xue,
welcome back.. u missing frm tis thread so long :p

went to see the PD at sengknag yesterday (didn't go TMC in the end as i was rushing to work and it'd just be another long long wait)..dr lilian lim at kids clinic..she's pretty good!
anyways, yee heng has bene diagnosed with a viral infection..he's got rash all over the trunk, face and arms..and he's developed a slight cough as well..examination showed that his throat was a lil red, which explained his poor appetite over the past few days..poor fella! we were given some meds for the throat, but think he may be allergic to it cuz his facial rash worsened suddenly right after the med was administered! sigh..just hope he gets better soon cuz he keeps waking up at night( 3 times last nite!) and i'll nurse him cuz he seems willing to at least latch on and eat a lil bit..really don't want him to form a habit of eating at nite instead of the daytime..
re: his weight, the PD said not to worry too much about it at the moment, as he may not have much appetite due to his throat and may have also lost weight due to the fever over the prev 3 days...she did recommend that later on in about 2 weeks i can give him pork, chicken or beef (blended) as he's a pretty allergic kid and fish can sometimes be problematic..another tip is to add FM powder to porridge to kinda make it more high calorie..

nining:
cute photos of ike! he looks so happy in the water! where'd u get his swimsuit from?

loh,
which heinz biscuits are u giving ivan? hoping to fatten up yee heng so i bought him rusks but they're so hard and absolutely tasteless!

jete,
for yee heng's eczema, which is pretty nasty, i was told to use QV cream as his regular moisturiser..also, when there are flare ups, can use mid strength steroid cream (i was given desowen and elomet, elomet for the really bad patches, only to use 3 days max, then swap to desowen), then use moisturiser 2x daily in btwn flareups to keep the skin intact..i was also given this cream called ezzera, which is also a moisturiser which i'm to use during flare-ups instead of QV cream(contains lipids, which apparently is the best type of moisturiser acc to current evidence)..this is what prof giam fr NSC told me, and so far its worked really welll for yee heng..his skin is great now! she did emphasise to moisturise lots tho! twice a day is minimum..hope this helps!

xue,
yeah.. tis mth 17th he will be 9mths liaoz.. so fast sia

lilyn,
u can gib yee heng potatoes after he recovered.. it has got lots of carbo.. hope he recover fast n u too take care..

woof,
haha.. yea.. its practically a once a week thing to the amk hub.

Happy belated 8th months to Paige and James!

Hi mummies, while we are on the topic of food, can i check.. how do you make pork stock.. i tried boiling the pork bones in water.. then i taste it.. its like so bland.. so i threw the whole lot away.. is there any thing else that you add?

At the same time, where in Isetan can i get the ice cube containers? Tot of using that to keep the stock.

i am trying to buy the "kangaroo" brand of white rice..but don't seems to find it.. anyone know where to get that?

Oh.. one last thing, how long do you cook the porridge in the slow cooker??

Sorry for so many questiongs, thinking to cooking porridge this weekend for Kedric but as you all know.. i am a cooking dummy..

chomecc,
there's a book named first book. if i din remember wrongly. i bought tt book as well. there's asian recipes for bb and above. there's recipes for veg, pork and others stocks. thumbs up for tt book.

an gal,
thanks for the tip..i wa told to give more protein tho as that is supposed to help with the weight gain, cuz so far he gets carbs in his diet already with his porridge+puree...i usually add sweet potato/pumpkin/green beans..he gets bananas too...think what i may do later on is mash bananas with some FM....he's such a long lean baby now! 72cm and 7.3kg at 7 months! and so super active even tho he's sick..this morning was trying to latch him on in the car b4 dropping him off at his granduncle's place and he kept twisting and turning wanting to sit up and check out what was happening outside my nursing shawl..cheeky lil monkey!

using slow cooker is quite slow. for me, i "steam/boil". my mum taught me to blend the rice before cooking it. will be faster. normally slow cooker takes 2-3 hrs. bt after blending, 1hr + done!

woof - didn't go up cos not really sure whether it's you -if it's not, very malu one hor! I think i recognised your girl mah..

Why are all the babies coughing nowadays mine too - bringing him to see PD tomorrow liao!

An_gal, my son fell off king bed cos he super active - roll and roll and roll and bump...*cry*

lilyn,
is gd that yee heng is still active.. if he's not, then u gota start 2 wori.. yest Melcolm fell frm the bed, luckily up till tis morn, he is still behaving normal.. but i super sian, cos kept having tat thought tat my son had fallen off the bed haiz..

gold piggy,
ya lol.. my son oso, slept tummy down, flip, turn n turn n turn then down on the floor, my mum say the big bolster oso landed on the floor, faintz..

xue,
actually i have that book.. but was thinking can i skip putting the scallions and the chinese cabbage to the pork stock.so decide to ask you mummies

do you use a blender to blend the porridge after its cooked?

an_gal, don't xin tong, its a good thing he is behaving normally... i understand how u feel..kedric fell off the bed once too.. and up till now.. i still worryed about it..

chomecc,
i'll ask my mum then tell you.
blend the rice before you cook will be faster.
but wen you blend the rice must add hot water instead of cooled water.

chomecc,
haiz ya lol.. tis wkn cant go back my IL's place liaoz if not sure kanna scolding.. i hope the blue black on the forehead will fade by Monday

lilyn,
I giving him Heizn crust (for 6mths above), thrown away the box liao. But I do not recommand this brand to u and I am going to switch to other brand also coz Heinz biscuits are sweet. My Boi loves it so much.

lilyn, jete,
Hope urs bbs are getting better.
My PD fr NUH also asked me to applied QV cream for bb eczema.

zhuzhu,
Thx for the tips!!!

jang,
I giving him Basmati Organic Brown Rice, i blended it to cook bigor

chomecc,
Don put too much water when u cook stock.

xue,
do you use a blender or grinder to blend the rice?

an_gal,
never mind my dear, I am sure the bump will heal nicely. cheer up!

Question:

abit confused... do we blend the rice first then cook porridge or do we cook the porridge first then blend?

if blend the rice first, but its wet after washing.. cannot blend a lot at one go to keep, right?