(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

s*** Nining, your flight adventure really stressful! Plus your boy is rather big for his edge - so it will be aching for your arms. I'll be bringing my 2 boys to France soon. prob end of the month. I thinking of starting a BP so tt i can being stuff over - since i'll be there 1 week. dunno wat to get. never been there before. i mountain tortoise

Jete & Mel, can meet more often but hor really scare Shannon will frighten Paige & Mathias. Very surprise he din say anything lei... he just laugh.

Sunbloom: Paris is very nice at this time, though it can be somewhat chilly as well. Weather is better than summer though, as its hot hot hot then. I've been there 4 times, so have found it easy to get around. Most of the time, you will find yourself walking a lot eg. From Lourve to the Arc the Trioumph...suggest you bring a twin stroller. With a baby carrier, you'll be exhausted and achey by the end of the day. Europe's not very child friendly though, the last 3 trips, I spent pushing my friend's combi stroller up and down the cobbled stone streets and up and down the train station steps... And remember that you have to press the button on the train doors to open the doors. Its not like Singapore where the doors open automatically.

I've been tracking the BPs. If you do an LV BP, I think you'll get a good response, but you can only bring back 1 bag of each type. Suggest you go to the LV shop in Galeries Lafayette rather than the flagship store on Champs Elysee, as the queue tends to be shorter at the former.

Adeline: Thanks! I'm tempted but my hubby will freak out. He almost fainted when I told him how much the Ergo carrier costs, and that's cheaper than the Beco. Besides, we don't use baby carriers at all, unless we can't bring the stroller along...

Wow, looks like lots of mummy going on trip. Envy..

Ninings,
Wow, Luckily it is jus Ike sctached himself. Hope he will adjust to the timing soon. Can be stressful travelling with kids.

nining,
looks like Ike meals schedule will be hay wire wen u com back sg.. meanwhile enjoy ur trip there n had fun !

ivy,
so sad 2 9 i mus go home tell Melcolm his gf run away liaoz hahaha :p
having the 1st bday party at hm veri cramp leh.. somemore my house is 4rm flat nia, so far u search any chalet liaoz? any website to share share? i no time 2 search oledi after working

Chatty
i better bring my nike. i dun have twin stroller. I just use 1 and get my older boy to walk. shld i get my big and stable stroller or my small but flimsy type? I dunno which one to bring.

Sunbloom: Bring the small and light stroller, otherwise if you will die trying to carry it up and down the steps in the RER and Metro (that's their MRT systems, they have 2 kinds run by different companies and all underground, mostly without lifts). Preferably, get the kind of stroller that you can fold up and sling strap over your shoulder. When my friend and I used to go out with her 3 kids (1 child, 1 toddler and 1 baby), it took 2 of us to carry her big and stable stroller down the stairs...you really don't want to try that. I've done it in Paris and London, and its no joke...and I was younger then. Now I think I'll faint and break my neck tumbling down the stairs if I have to do it with James and his big, stable Graco...that's why I bought the combi...

morning all.

yolksac, maybe because of her hair. But you dresses=d her in a skirt or dress, she look like girl what, she's got nice eyes. Everyone also commented that my boy is a girl. So I dress him up in blue and boyish clothes most of the time.

Help!! My boy is not drinking his milk at all. Now everyday only abt 500ml, how???

Aquaduck
Didn't know the trial is free.

Hve just spoke to Yvonne frm JG, she is reserving a place for me for 18 Mar's class. Will make payment by tomorrow. Total amt paying is $1039.40. Fee: $791.80 incl GST + Reg: $37.50 + Library card: $10.17 + Deposit: $200 (refundable)

mel, i stay in upper serangoon, kovan station.

First Food book is very good, should get it.

jete, hope you caught your butterfly soon. What abt getting it through Adeline Minnie Mouse, she just called me, she's getting it too, as for me, I'm still deciding between 4th gen or butterfly.

nining, welcome back.

Mummies, help! my boy is not drinking his milk again, now only abt 500ml a day. How??

Muddypie: James is also drinking less, and his infantcare teacher discovered that if she warms up his milk after he has refused it in the middle of a feed, he will drink it. I think its normal for babies to drink much less once they start on semisolids. As long as he's still active, there's nothing much to worry about.

Adeline,

Thanks! Got it!

Have any of you actually tried the BECO carrier? My friend has it, and she said it seemed a bit small for her hubs, who incidentally, isn't that big size or too tall. Hmm...

Anyway, a small intro. My son's 6.5 months old now, so def an August bubs!

Starting on our solids adventure and it's a delicate balance between giving him enough food and making sure his milk intake is sufficient (so Muddypie.. I hear you! I worry about my Little Man's milk intake all the time. PD said it's important his milk intake is good for the first year as solids are just complementary to his needs).

Xman: Just to let you know, Cherry says she can extend the previous fee to you if you decide to get anything this time round.

Ocean, Magical, Chomecc, Goldpiggy: Your earlier orders have been delivered and will be posted out to me soon.

Hi susu ibu, welcome. Yes, that's what the nurse at the polyclinic told me too. Milk intake is still very important. That's why I'm so bothered.

I'm beginning to reduce my pumping frequency, as my supply is dropping by an ounce everyday. Hopefully, can stop totally by this weekend. Today was the first day when I didn't have to lug my pump and FTG to work.

Muddypie: My PD said that its okay as long as baby is still active, plus babies can't survive only on milk at this stage, otherwise they could fall sick. How much semi-solids is Aidan taking?

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Xman - could you let me know what you think of the BECO carrier?

Muddypie
I am constantly harping about my son's milk intake. And I BF too, so when we started on solids, my supply took a dramatic deep dive! I was pretty freaked out! It seems to have stabilized now, but it's production has not returned to "satisfactory" levels, by my standards!

And lately, my Little Man's been getting up a lot at night, and nurses very efficiently on Auto-Pilot (semi asleep, eyes closed!). I "give in" because I'm worried he's not getting enough milk! Sigh. Tiring!!

Susu Ibu: Possible that your quality of milk has changed so that baby doesn't need to drink as much to feel full? I notice that's what happens to my BM. James is on partial BF.

chatty, for the past month, I've been giving him abt 600ml-700ml of milk with abt 3 tablespoon of oat or cereal and also vege or fruit purees. But the past week, he's still taking all semi-solids, in fact, he seems to love it but milk intake has been dropping drastically. From 6 feed a day to now only 4 feeds a day.

susu, my boy too is not sleeping very well. He usually goes to bed between 7.30pm to 8pm and only wakes up for his last feed at 11pm and then doze off again. But now, between 7 plus to 10pm, he'll wakes up so many times between the time he doze off and 10 plus.

muddypie,
my boy oso drink 4 times a day nia now.. sometimes he cant even finish his milk, he will take either porridge or cereal with puree once a day.. i tink if they r hungry they will cry 4 milk pa..

susuibu,

I feel the beco is quite ok for me,FYI, my height is 165cm and my gal looks so small inside the carrier, she's about 65cm at almost 7months old..my hubby is shorter than me so can't give u comment how is it for a taller guy..

Chatty,

my hubby start complain after I bought the coach swingback, he said I bought so many bags recently.haha..I will wait some time till he forgot about it then may buy again..

Muddypie,

if your boy take 2 times semisolid per day, think 500ml milk is ok?My gal only take about 300ml milk(EBM+FM) at day time,and 2 semisolid(one rice cereal, one fruit puree) but she wake up for latch on about 3 times per night..estimate about 150ml for the night latch on..She looks great and did gain weight so I wont worry about it..

Zhuzhu: Thanks. I just revised USD = SGD conversion rate downwards to 1.42. : ) I know what you mean, I also have difficulty deciding between the 2, but at 25% off, its hard to beat.

Muddypie: I did some reading, and at this stage, most babies only take 4 to 5 feeds of milk a day, whereas previously, they would need more feeds. Also, babies go through growth spurts, during which they drink more milk, than at other times. Maybe, you could try warming up Aidan's FM, and see if he wants to drink it. Like Aidan, James drinks much less now, as he takes more semi-solids. He's still active, and none of the doctors in my family, or his PD are concerned about this being abnormal...so I think its okay. What we're more worried about is his gross motor development, which seems a little bit on the slow side.

jang,

I feel ergo is easier to wear and take off, beco I need someone to help me to wear and take off, feel ergo give more room for bb while as beco is less room...but the beco definitely more fashion and pretty lah..hehe..

chatty,

seems coach every year or every half year got such 25% sales..wait for next round then..

FM,
When i shake the FM, there are a lot of bubbles, just like soap/detergent...is tt normal?

My baby likes FM a lot, fed fm these few night, he finished all, 170ml. Topped up another 40ml EBM for him last night and he drank all...so hungry

Loh,

Last time I give ruoxi similac it also has a lot bubbles, but later changed to friso less bubbles..I think it depends on the brand of the FM..

mummies who is interested in tumbletots class at punggol plaza, i had called them up and i need to know roughly how many of us are interested in order to know whether we can form our own class or need to tag on to the current class..

Currently, the saturday classes start at 4:30pm, if we were to form our own class, it may start abt 6+pm (not confirmed), dono isit too late for mummies here..

Pls add on to this list for those interested in the class then i will call tumbletots and check again..

Mummies interested in tumbletots class at Punggol Plaza....
1) an_gal
2) Ivy
3) pooh_astro
4) Angeline ( depend on timing )
5) Tulip (both timing r ok)
6) jete (dep on timing, 6pm a bit late)
7) Mel
8) Mic (depends on timing)

Updates - jus called tumbletots and they say we cant join the current class as 2 big group, so had asked them 2 chk whether we can form a class ourself on 23rd Mar. They will check and let me know

mummies, have u started to efiling yr income tax?I just done mine yesterday, hv bb is so good thing, there's a lot relief can claim...I claimed more than 30K relief..last time no relief at all b4 have bb..haha..

an_gal, 4 times only huh? But each feed how much?

Mine, has been the same quantity since don't know when man. He's only taking abt 80ml to 150ml, only at times slightly more, abt 170ml to 200ml (which is very rarely). The worst is, he don't even cry for milk even when he's very hungry. Only found out he's very hungry when he drinks very fast and finished all.

chatty, I tried warming up the milk, but still he didn't want, until an hour later, I hve to throw the milk away. Hve been wasting lots of milk these few days. Maybe you're right abt bbs past six mth might not need so many feeds, I'm now trying to readjust his schedule again, hope it'll help. But one consolation is that, he loves his semi-solid, and he finishes them all the time. What I do is, I usu mix the cereal or oatmeals with his milk, he finishes all. But when I try spoon feeding him his milk, he just shut his mouth immediately.

xman, so ergo is easier to wear than beco huh. Hmm...I hve not even order yet, now I'm lost, can't decide which one. Agree that beco looks so much nicer.

loh, your bb so good, can finish 170ml of milk each time.

muddypie,
the milk feeds realli depends on my dear son mood leh haha

Morning - 200 to 250ml bigor
PM - Porridge with puree
PM - 160ml milk
Night - 160ml milk
Last feed btw 11+pm to 12+am - 180ml to 240ml

sometimes he cant finish his milk oso, i tink u don make so much milk 4 ur son if not wasted. If he wants more then u make, tats wat i did.. seems like u son prefer semi solid food, mayb u can feed him more meals in the day

xman,
thx for the info

an_gal, muddypie,
no, he just like the Formula Milk, if feed him EBM, he took 100ml then will stop drinking and we have to wait like 20min and feed him again. When on FM, his mouth still in sucking motion when we pull out the bottle aft he finished the milk.

Muddypie, my son is like yours. His max is only like 150ml. My son started on fish porridge only for about 2 days but stopped now because MIL's eyesight not so good and she can't really see fish bones so told her not to give fish porridge liao but to give brown rice cereal.

I can make porridge and add in marmite hor...

It's me... the last time I posted was for the Carter's rompers warehouse sale... now it's another 1 I spotted.. haha...

Aldo, Levis, Levis Kids, Osh kosh...

Jay Gee House - 10 Genting Lane

Til this sunday. I think fri open til 7 pm.. not too sure abt weekends..

Only went past cos no time.. so hopefully some mummies can check out to see if it's worth it? Saw things going for $6...

Ocean and Muddypie: Thank you for your kind words. Yes, my baby has quite pronounced double eyelids (she actually gets that from her daddy, though we both have double eyelids) and some mornings, she wakes up with triple eyelids. Yah lor, but we gotta wait until she has a bit more hair before she really looks like a gal!
Heh heh.

Muddypie: Great that you got a confirmed JG place! Tues and Thurs afternoons with Cin and Titus? Won't get to meet you then. From next term, we'll be in the Mon, Wed, Fri playnest (mornings).

Xman
Thanks for your feedback on the Beco. We're still considering.

Chatty
Thanks for the tip about possibly my milk changing its compositions. Now that you reminded me of it, I think i did read somewhere along those lines.

Loh
I believe when mixing formula, you should be "swirling" the bottle to mix the formula and water up, not shaking it. Try this and see if the bubbles reduce?

helo susu ibu
welcome to aug thread. so did little man poo today?

hi rc
yah.living with in law is not easy. fil is ok but mil is ahem.. but alot of give n take. so normally i will just switch off to save myself from frustration. when things get bad, just remind myself without her egg, my hb will not be around.

hi gold piggy
marmite??? no lah. its salty n unhealthy!

hi yolk sac
haha! emily looks like she having a good time in school. u mean she got mistaken as a boy? but she got a girly face. sometimes i thk some people need to wear glasses. i have got people congrating me for my second pregancy. i am not sure which part of me still look pregnant.
btw thanks for the picture on titus.

sahm
for myself, i find that eversince i become one, i become lazy. never bother to dress up n put on make up when i go out. my sis told me, if i am not careful, i will be on the way to become a yellow facewife. yeek!!! so today went to market with mascara n red lip stick. titus cried. cos he thks mummy look scary with RED lipstick.

i have been so obsessed in making him drink water everyday. he just dun like it. have to resort to syringe. feel so silly doing that cos he is not a newborn now.

do u all have this problem? when u feed your baby, he will blow bubbles?so funny but irritating cos very messy.

i have read my guide book. babies below 10 mths, their main source of nutrients shd still come from milk n not their solids food. that is why i am worried. he doesnt eat much semi solid. milkwise, i thk not much too. he is on tbf so i dun know how much he drink. but i thk its lesser than before.

hi yolk sac

forgotten to tell u that u r known as emily's mummy in my family. my mil n hb know u now very well by now. cos i always say "emily's mummy taught me this n emily's mummy recommend me that."
so when i told hb to pay for titus sch fees, his first reaction was " so emily is in JG is it?"

i have signed him up for english playnest instead of chinese. cos my english is so broken n singlish nowadays that i thk he will benefit more if he goes for the english playgroup.

an_gal, your boy take quite a lot each feed huh. For mine, sometimes only give him 135ml and he still can't finish.

jete, hve replied to you.

loh, how I wish my boy can be like that, sucking away. For him, he kept pushing away....

gold piggy, you giving marmite? Can they take alrdy? Why don't you use pork bones to boil soup and then use the soup to make porridge. Then you don't hve to add marmite.

yolk sac, yah, will be in the same class as cin and Titus. I specially gave them their names to check which class they are in, then I told them to put me in the slot. Will be popping by tomorrow to make payment. Hey, how come some many classes for the playnest, is this the mandarin one?

susu, you considering the beco too huh. Me too, who you intend to get it from?

hi yolk sac

forgotten to tell u that u r known as emily's mummy in my family. my mil n hb know u now very well by now. cos i always say "emily's mummy taught me this n emily's mummy recommend me that."
so when i told hb to pay for titus sch fees, his first reaction was " so emily is in JG is it?"

i have signed him up for english playnest instead of chinese. cos my english is so broken n singlish nowadays that i thk he will benefit more if he goes for the english playgroup.