(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

Chatty, i very kiasu ..

I see there's some interest in play/enrichment classes?

Julia Gabriel

I started bringing my bb to JG's Mandarin Playnest when she was about 7 months old. The Playnest is for babies who are 6-18 months old. The minimum commitment for Mandarin Playnest is three times a week. There is also an English Playnest and babies enrolled in that programme have to attend at least two times a week.

I feel the programme is excellent. There are three teachers in each class. The teachers in my bb's class are so energetic and animated. They really make an effort to engage with each and every child in the class, so that each child gets some one-on-one time with the teachers, which is really important if your focus is on language immersion.

The school is very well-run and the facilities are excellent and kept very clean. They wash the toys after each class and if a bb puts a toy in his/her mouth, that toy is removed from the play area immediately and put away for sterilising. They check for HFMD rashes and take the bb's temps before each class. They also rotate the toys offered in each class so the bbs never get bored. Their outdoor play equipment is also in great condition - and one of the mums remarked to me the other day that putting aside the teachers, the art and craft opportunities, etc, the cost of the class (abt $20 an hr) is worth it just for the play equipment alone.

A typical class is structured as follows:
- 15-20 mins unstructured indoor play time with different toys, gym equipment from the Children's Factory (you can see their stuff on Amazon.Com); teachers go around and play with the bbs, identifying objects and speaking to the bbs in Mandarin (or English - depending on your class)
- 15-20 min of welcome songs, greetings by a puppet and a storytelling/ drama/ skit presentation by the teachers based on the theme of the week - eg: if the theme for the week is white, an assistant teacher "arrives" wearing a lamb costume and there is a whole dialogue between the head teacher and the assistant teacher-cum-lamb during which the kids learnt vocab like lamb, hungry, bread, milk, egg tart (all with the appropriate props, costumes etc).
- 15 minutes of outdoor play (depending on the week, it could be swimming (in a shallow tub pool), water play, sand play or playground time
- snack time - the babies sit together at little tables and enjoy a cup of water and an organic snack (biscuits or fruit usually)
- more play time (5-10 mins)
- song/singing time, goodbye (with bubbles)

Overall, I'd definitely recommend it. JG has branches at Forum and Evans Road. I've only visited the latter.

An_gal: Thanks : )

Cin: Hmm...guess need more water then. Just wondering if the Rusk biscuit is contributing to the constipation, as in does it have a lot of fiber? U might want to check the ingrediants list...I haven't moved to that yet, as James is still toothless.

Jete: Thanks for recommending my IL's services. When she's dealt with the leapfrog items, which are arriving at her home a few pieces at a time in huge boxes, I'll ask her to check around for the best prices in carriers and make recommendations.

Mommies: Let me know your preferences in carriers...

Jete: I applied yesterday morning, so maybe I will give them till this afternoon to respond...I hope it won't be a case where they miss my application and accidentally keep my money...

Yolk Sac: Nice pic! BTW, is your baby the one attending swimming class by another company and not Aquaducks? If he is, could you give me the name of the company, please? Thanks.

cin: how's titus now? My mum told me tat brown rice is very 'heaty'. It can cause constipation and so if your baby like mine dun enjoy drinking water very much, dun give so much brown rice.
i only feed Tricia 'white new rice', cook very long with pork loin and carrot den it wud like disintegrate and taste quite nice!

Chatty: I have Rusks too but I dun give everyday. At the most would be twice or once a week only.

Mummeies:
How to pyshco baby to drink water? I reli regret never listen to my mum cos I was ebm for my girl and they say babies drink bm dun need drink water but after she stop ebm and go to fm she don't like to drink water!! headache leh.. I try to use the avent bottle handle and the drink spout for her to arouse her interest but hor she drink very little only.. help help.. sigh

Zhuzhu: My PD advised putting more water into food. I also feed James water using the Pigeon Soup spoon, or from the milk bottle. For a start, maybe you can put just a little bit of FM into water to flavour it, then slowly reduce FM amount until no more.

Zhuzhu: Can someone just advertise in your blog without your permission? I think there is a business thread called ____closet, that organises BPs for kid's clothing from time to time, not sure if its the same one. You can check the Business and BP threads.

chatty: I feeding water from the bottle.. but i tot they say dun flavour the water if not they will only drink flavoured ones next time??
Not sure leh. Don't even know who this person is.. she put her ad on the shoutbox (for leaving msg)

Wow, JG is also at Forum? That will be more convenient for me.

Hi Yolksac, cin,
How much is it per term? I am not a sahm also, maybe can ask my FIL to bring my girl there

Seems like it is very fun!

Thanks for those addng me in msn :p

Same like Woof, we can afford to be sahm and dun think the single income will be enough to support the 3 of us in the family, or else my hubby wouldn't have any single cent left every month. The major burden for us is really serving the home loan - it took up almost S$2,000 per month!!!!!

Cin, lucky u, quite burden free huh. But as I heard ppl say, it is better to say with ILs in your own house rather than staying with them at their house, dunno how true it it.

Anybody got skype or not? we can chat there as well.
My user id is fen.mike.megan
Add me if any body has it.

rc cola: It's $978 per term for Mandarin Playnest I think. English Playnest should be cheaper if you're opting for twice a week. Yes, lots of babies are accompanied by helpers or grandparents.

Jete,

which butterfly u've got? i've decided to get a butterfly too! however the design that i want is out of stock almost everywhere!

the butterfly design is easier for piggyback.

zhuzhu,
For my baby, spoon feed water is more efficient than bottle feed. He sucks a few time then will reject the bottle. My baby sitter feeds him water in between meal in the afternoon

chatty, woof, jete, pooh
thx for the info

an_gal, lilyn,
Do u find the bigor bcom hard when it is cooled?

jete,
when the wind blow, it is really cool for us last time....or may be we have less fat...whahaha

inu,
me too, only got time to do puree during weekend. So far only introduced bigor, no meat no fruit no vege yet. Think this weekend will make carrot or spinach for him to try.

cin,
poor baby. Will let my hb know abt this coz he said v good if baby only poo once a few days time...faint

Zhuzhu: The Official Coach BP that I'm trying to organise is for the 25% off Coach items at the main stores. If you're interested, you can pm me first, as I don't know how long the moderators will take to set up my thread. Will organise one from the factory outlets another time, but won't be from Gilroy, probably Caprazone, which is 2 hours from LA. Gilroy is like 7 hours from LA, as it is nearer Paolo Alto. Both are equally big outlet malls.

ivy,
ur friend giving birth today? Where? My good friend also today...she went to induce at 9.30am at KKH!!hahaha!!!

yesterday was on leave, so this morning busy catch up my email...

Muddypie,

Jete has answered yr question about the 4th generation beco. maybe you can let Chatty's IL help u to get it?

Alsie,

I also want to be a SAHM, but so many commition liao..haiz..

Jete,

yr hubby so good, my hubby refuse to wear beco leh..

Yolk Sac,
The pic is ok leh!
But bb looked tired, wanting to sleep!

Zhu Zhu,
Mayb u can try to feed using spoon to feed her? I only dun give Gracia drink water. Only recently cos i start givin her cereal, will let her drink. She din drink that much too.

Oh, My account had been REINSTATED back by Bee Lee liao.

Whew, din realised being a new memeber had so much restriction till I became a new member!
talker.gif

chatty
you need to give them 2 working days to approve the application (think that's what the info said). usually i give more than that and give a specific start date. then start date no thread then i email them. both time it is missed out on application when i found no thread on start date.

cin,
thks.. will check it out.. if titus can take the semi solid then let him continue.. cos i notice Melcolm is drinking lesser milk once i start with porridge.. now 1 day he oni drink 4-5 times i will slowly increase pa.. siong man, every wkn mus make puree to freeze..

btw, i don blend the porridge, sometimes jus use soup spoon to press and break it, my mum oso tell me don let Melcolm eat 2 much sweet potato cos will cause stomach wind.. i no care, still giv haa.. but i will try to cut down lah...

ivy,
u hav the links to those chalets? i need 2 chk isit veri ex.. the ones i saw all super ex leh.. like 1 nite btw 250-300, pengz.. if no choice last resort is at my own house but super cramp lo

loh,
no leh.. the bigor oni bcom quite thick, wont harden.. i mix into fm n bottle feed leh..

ocean,
welcome back

Jete: Sigh! If only this was not such a rush this time round. My IL only got the discount card on Monday, that's why so late then apply. Guess earliest would be tomorrow right, since I submitted at around 9am yesterday morning.

alsie,
SAHM is sure more fulfilling in a sense lor..for my I also wanted to take 1 yr unpaid but thk and thk in the end decided to work 2 1/2 days a week instead but now I suddenly feel like taking unpaid..hahah!! COs I see my boy growing, learning new things etc...So nice lor...but sometimes I also end up not knowing what to do with him lah..then just leave him on the mat to roll around and talk to himself *bad mommy* But who knows? Maybe few months later instead of being a p.time SAHM I'll be a full time one..haha!

Ocean - welcome back, did they give the reason why they suspended your account?

Yolksac - thanks for the detailed information on the Julia gabriel class. $978 very expensive hor. Me working and hubby working - haven't asked him but he will sure say, baby still young la...per term is $978 and how many weeks and how many times per week? It's 1 hour per session?

My boy is like starting to want to stand - he is 6.5 months now and he like want to crawl also.

Carriers - which is good? i also want buy leh.

For babies who don't drink water, like my boy, i let him drink water instead of milk ( especially when he is hungry ) during his feeding time. Like very bad mummy la, but hor better than he reject it totally. When hungry, anything also can right? hahaha, otherwise, use spoon to feed them water..

Hi Yolk sac,

Thanks for the info, but may i know how long is it per session? and for each term, roughly how many sessions are there?

i switch my baby from friso to similac cos baby not putting on a lot of weight so hopefully similac will make him fatter...

exchange of milk powder

mummies, i have 1 bottle of 400g mamil gold (w immuniforties) and wan to exchange with 400g similac

anyone wan to change??

Gold_Piggy,
It was cos of the toddler bed. Mod told me it should be post under BP section even if i not making a profit and testing response only, as this will encourage other pple to follow suit.

So guess in future had to be careful as i think nowsaday alot of pple do business using BP as a sheild, which is not allowed. Hard to monitor and thus it became even if no profit, still mus post there.

an_gal,
How long u cook the bigor? me only 'stim' with stirring for 13-15min. My bigor will get hardden if cool down, does it means the rice still raw? But if I added some hot water and stir a while, the bigor will bcom soft again wor. I blended the rice till powdery liao.

cin,

yes, Jerome almost kena choked by the porridge because she just try to force the food in when jerome open his mouth to cry! See already very heartpain, thats why thinking of becoming a sahm.

chatty,
Think I will just try to give him cereals once a day instead of porridge for lunch and cereals for dinner. Just cut down to one semi-solid.. and will try to use the "Doc say" thingy like lilyn has mentioned to my mil.

xman,
Yes, its definately not easy to convert to full time sahm. I am still trying to make arrangement and hopefully by year end or beginning next year I can be one.

jete,
Where to get those covered stroller? I am thinking of bringing the ergo carrier instead of stroller.

Ocean,
latch on is easy but than pumping in office is tiring.. thinking of stopping bf but than my boy wants to latch on at night.. so very difficult to stop.

Mel,
So good that your office can make arrangement for you to work twice a week. I can actually do such arrangement too, but that would mean lesser income.. thats why must plan ahead. Though decision. I see the way my mil force my boy to eat.. very heartbreaking.. but dare not say much since she volunteered to help.

alsie

have u try mentioning to ur MIL if he cry then stop, its ok one.

the purpose of introducing semi solid is not for them to take the nutirents, is more for them tolearn how to swallow.

should take it easy, not forcefully

loh,
i oni cook abt 1 scoop of bigor mixed with 120ml of water using similac scoop.. abt 5mins or until boil done liaoz.. not as long as more than 10mins leh.. once the bigor boil n bcom thick, i assume is cooked haha

Ocean,
I remembered last time my boi also reject my nipple for a few days. Aft that, he latched again till now.

an_gal,
btw, u put uncook water+powdered rice then boil or boil water first then put in powdered rice and continue boil?