(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

jang, I'm actually hving headache now, cause he moves around so fast, must keep an eye on him most of the time. That's why, it's impossible to do anything except to watch over him during his wakeful time, to make it worst, these days his naps are like half an hour only, so really can't get much things done.

xman, you mean I can still order frm US? Do they still hve stock? Which website to I go to?

Muddypie,
Mine is the BP price. I think it should be more expensive without discount? Btw, how was the aquaducks trial? I have signed up for a term, will be starting the term from next wed onwards..

I am thinking of becoming a sahm from next yr onwards. But these two days have been on MC, 24hrs looking after my boy.. suddenly I feel that working is less tiring .. but than i like the feeling of being able to accompany him the whole day. So confused now..resign or not. haha

Alsie, I just checked with Ash who's the organiser for the Bp, she told me no more stock for 4th gen. But someone else actually sent be an email saying that she'll be starting a bp for the 4th gen at US125 (exchange rate: 1.5). If it's more expensive, am just wondering if I can go to any website to get it myself, but then again, not sure if they hve anymore stock since it's alrdy EOL.

Aquaduck
Hven't gone for the trial yet, it's tomorrow morning at 10am. Keeping fingers crossed that it will be sunny.

After the class tomorrow, will be popping by Julia Gabriel to sign Aidan up for their class. Cin hve alrdy signed up with them.

being a SAHM is indeed very fulfilling as you get to spend all your time with your little one. But, on the other hand, it can be drive you crazy. That's why I'm signing Aidan up for the class at Julia Gabriel, since it's twice a week, I hve 2 days freeing myself frm the boring routine. Though I hve to be in the class with him, at least, I get to meet other mummies and also hve someone else to keep him entertained, as I don't hve to crack my head on what to do next.

I personally hve not gone down to hve a look, but did go into their website to read through their programmes. It seems like their classes for 6-18mths includes play and learn, focusing on their overall development. Not sure if it's good, but hub thought we'll try one term and see how. Actually, got to know abt it through cin.

I see.. but twice a week leh.. I am currently still working, don't think I can afford bringing my boy there twice a week. But I did sign my boy for Shichida Methods. Now in the waiting list because their weekend classes are full.

I think being a sahm will definately be very fulfilling. At least I get to teach my boy the way I want and not depend on others. Now my mil has spoilt him. Carry him almost the whole day, even when he is sleeping. I cannot say her because she volunteered to come to my house to oversee my helper and look after my boy. Thats why I had to be a sahm. I don't like the way she handles my boy.. next time sure become a spoilt child

yo mummies
how is everybody? i am seldom online now cos i find that i have been spending too much time on the internet, facebook, emails. feel bad that i leave titus on the mat n play by himself.

Constipation
beware! its no fun!
titus was constipated last week. he did not pooed for 5 days in a row. silly mummy never bring him to see dr till on the 5th day. got a "scolding" from the pd. he cried whenever he tried to poo n so heartpain to see him crying in pain. on the fifth day, saw his poo as hard as stone stuck at his anus. thought of using my finger to dig it out n lucky i didnt. it might cause infection. called up pd n was advised to go to his clinic.
a suppository was inserted into his anus n within 2 min, his poo start coming out. but the first piece was so hard that he bled at the anus. i was so upset then!!also what a big pile of poo. poor titus, tummy full of 5 day worth of poo.
now he is ok. but after that experience, i seem to be so obsessed in getting him to drink water. the dr said that once they start on solids, they shd drink water. for titus's weight it shd be 200ml. also to incorporate more fruits. one of the jul mummy taught me how to make prune puree n it works for him.
just a reminder, strange as it seems but apparantly carrots n bananas can cause constipation. also mummies who r giving babies brown rice, pls take note. they must drink even more water.

hi alsie
lucky we didnt arrange to go botanical garden today, it has been raining for the past few days.

jg is more on playing, playing n more playing. my church frd is a teacher at the forum branch n strongly recommended me to go. also one of the july mummy yolk sac sent her daughter there. she is one who does alot of research b4 she sent her daughter for class. so i trust her. as for shichida, my personal view is its too young for bub. i prefer classes that let the babies play. u can go to jul thread n read. she posted some pictures there too. i am an avid silent reader of jul thread. very informative sharing.

hi mudpie
how was the trial at aquaduck?i have signed up for jg. class start on 17th mar. join me if u want.

jang,
u mean the 4th generation, bb can face the front like bb bjorn?

loh,
wat happened?
as for p1, itz by the yr...like wat pooh said, in the midst of gng to 7yrs old..

ytanhn,
tink the police are now very busy liao...

muddypie,
aidan is cool! is he wearing any underpants in the 1st pic...so sexy leh..keke

hi alsie
strongly recommend u to be a sahm. i was not used to it during 1st 3 mths. but now i am enjoying it very much! of cos, it also mean have to live within means. no more long holidays n self indulgences.but i dare say titus is a confident child n doesnt cry or whine easily. the con is be prepare that your son will stick to you like a koala bear!

cin,
it really takes a lot of courage to be a sahm...recently faced a problem on my bbsitter & i was tinking, how i wish i can be a sahm but den again. dun tink it is the best solution coz itz quite difficult to haf a single income for my case..

muddypie,
wasay, aidan can stand pretty well now hor..

xman,
ya lol.. luckily they change my pump.. then at least i can keep it so in case i hav 2nd one still can use hehe

ivy,
tinking to book a chalet but haven research on venue yet leh.. wat abt u?
i oledi took the disney bday cake catalog frm bengawan solo hahaha..

loh,
so fast 1 2 look for primary sch for ur bb liaoz ah.. stress sia..

cin,
hope titus is getting fine now.. can share hw to make the prunes puree? 1 day need to drink 200ml of water?? tats alot leh..

hi woof
i understand what u mean. i am lucky in the way cos i stay with in laws. so in certain way, we are burden free. once we got our own place, might have to tighten our handbag.
what happen to your babysitter? why dun u try infant care?

an_gal,
hahaa... whole day realy all occupied by chloe.
as for chicken puree, i use chicken thigh fillet bought at NTUC, normaly i use hand-held blender. i tink using knife to chop till very fine should be ok too.

cin,
hope little titus is fine now.. he is such a dear.. always giving a very serious look. Love the way he looks.. haha. regarding JG, unless I am a sahm, else dun think I can sign up since they do not have weekend classes. I am still in the waiting list for shichida, by the time they offer me a place, maybe I am not interested already. May want to try GUG since they do offer weekend classes, but not sure if its good.

Sahm,
Had plan to be one, but have to wait till next year. It would definately be good if i can stay at home all day to take care of jerome myself. Even though I am working now, jerome sticks to me like kola, maybe breastfed babies are all sticky to mummies.

Woof,
Have you tried searching for another baby sitter yet? Or you are considering infant care? For most infant care, they do not have 1:1 ratio.

hi ah gal
i thk titus's problem is i only give him brown rice. somemore my brown rice is very thick cos i didnt add alot of water. now instead of 2 meals of brown rice, i change to one meal only. 200 ml is inclusive of juice. cos once they take semi solid, there r less fluid in the food. also they drool alot n as they get more active, they lose out water. now i will make sure i get him to drink afew sips of water every now and then. so far his bowel system is back to normal. trust me, once u see your baby cry in pain n blood in anus, u will freak out n do what the pd said.

prune puree
boil 2 or 3 in a pot. after 3 mins when the skin breaks, off the fire. by then the skin is quite easy to peel off. peel the skin off n then puree it. that is it. its a life saver. i never trust those bottle juice. but of cos cannot take this everyday. if not lao sai!

Nowadays, Jerome has been rejecting cereals and porridge. He takes in at most 3 to 4 spoonful (combi spoon) and than he will cry and cry. I have seen my mil feeding him porridge these two days as I am on mc, she actually force feed him.. whenever he starts crying (opening his mouth to cry), she will just try to push the food into his mouth making him scream more. Is this the cause for him to reject semi-solids? How do I make him like eating semi-solids again? sigh..

Such a busy day for me today, as I was on child sickleave yesterday. James is much better today. He was with my mum, and will be going back to infantcare tomorrow...

Jete: Thanks! Happy Belated 7th month to Paige too!

Loh: Pr 1 here starts the year child turns 7 years old. Hence, for Aug babies, they will start Pr 1 in Jan 2014 at the age of 6 years old.

Ivy: Aiyoh! Aug still many months away, so not thinking so far ahead yet...I'll probably have a family gathering for James' first birthday, and have him celebrate it at the infantcare centre as well.

Cin: I remember another mummy sent her baby to another swimming class, rather than Aquaducks. Any idea which one? I think if I wait for Aquaducks, I can wait forever...

Muddypie: Wow! Aidan's a fast developer...James still can't sit yet, brought him to the pd on Sat for flu, and PD suggested sending him to tumble tots first...so we'll be sending him to the tumbletots behind my home this or next Sun for a trial session...a little worried.

Mummies who have organised BPs in the BP Thread before: Need your advice, I've been trying to set up my 25% Coach Spree thread in the BP, transferred money and all to the moderators, but I haven't heard from them yet. Any idea how long before they set up the BP thread? My IL's 25% discount is valid from 8 to 16 Mar only...

Cin: How's Titus now? Any idea what caused the constipation? Is it just insufficient water or other factors as well?

Alsie: I usually mix cereals with pureed vegetables or egg yolk, and James loves it. Maybe you could try that? Sometimes James fusses when we don't feed him fast enough. It could also be due to bad experience of being force fed of course...

chatty,
I do mix apple purees, pear purees, pumpkin/sweet potata purees into the cereals.. but he does not like leh.. he takes at most 3 to 4 spoonful and he will cry already. How thick is your cereals? I make it quite runny cos he does not like thick thick cereals. How much cereal do you make per feed? One teaspoon with milk will mix up to quite alot right? Have you started on porridge? My mil insist I have to give porridge because she says cereals is not enough.. how?

cin,
ya until now i still don dare to let melcolm take porridge twice a day.. i scared too much semi solid for him n hard to digest so oni once a day feed bigor and once a day either porridge with puree or cereal with puree..

the prunes isit those we saw in supermarket with dark purple skin??

chatty,
glad to hear tat james is recovering well..

hi ah gal
now i give titus 2 meals a day. morning i will give him brown rice with a veg puree n finished with a fruit puree. evening i will give him porridge with another veg puree. is it too much?
there is alot of prunes in the sipermarket. some are sour. i got mine in a box n its oval in shape. i thk the round one r sour. mine is called aust sugar prunes.

hi chatty
not sure of other swimming sch other than aquaduck. his ocnstipation is due to lack of water n brown rice. he is on tbf.

hi alsie
according to my pigeon guidebook n baby's firstfood book, its normal for them to reject food. titus reject some awhile too. but dun force feed him, if not he will remember n mealtime will not be enjoyable for him. cos baby at 7 mths, their main source of nutrients is still milk/ so fret not if he doesnt eat at times its normal. how to eat when they cry? wont he swallow air?

Treat
i found a treat that titus likes a lot n would share here. he loves half a rusk biscuit mashed with some bm into a paste. i will give it to him if i feel that he doesnt eat alot. but again, pls remember to give water. also if 3 days no poo, pls consult dr. its uncomfortable for them if the dun poo for more than 3 days. dun be like a clueless like me when poo is concerned.

aquaduck
i am not sure why u ladies have to wait for so long for the trial.the max number of babies per class is 5. there is 2 vacancies at my class which is on fri 0930am at the moment. yolk sac changed her day due to jg and another mummy migrated. why dun u all call n ask to have trial on fri? btw, my class is going to end on 30th march.

coolzy,
haiz....bbsitter wans to take of the other girl's brother as well lor..so her intention is to take care of 2 babies and 1 toddler...i thot itz too much so decided to change to another one...& when i told her tat i would look for another bbsitter, she said 'ok'. this shows tat she has nothing to lose and wouldnt mind tat i step back..sway lor..

cin,
no infant care near to my place..moreover the timing for infant care doesnt fit into my schedule...oh ya, hope titus is fine now..

Porridge
do u mummies blend the porridge? titus cant eat anything if its not blend. he needs his food to be very smooth. so i will blend the porridge after cooking it. but i realised there r small bubbles in the process. maybe thats the reason why he fart alot? do u all blend? can your babies eat food with a bit of texture?

Oh yah, last thing. if u give them food with roughage (do i spell it right?), u must give more water, if not its diff to digest. and i realise fuits like pears are quite grainy even after i puree/ so when i give it to him, he always seems liek he wants to vomit.

Sweet potato
myth anot? have u heard from old folks not to give it to baby so often as it causes wind n knees to be weak? that what my granny said. she said during WW2, rice were scarce, so people eat sweet potato till their knees got weak. haha! i hope i dun sound too bimbo for asking this qn.

ok gotto sleep b4 he wakes up and fuss. its going to be a long day for me tomorrow. bye everybody...

cin..when u start titus on semi solid..did you try one thing for 3 days to see if got allgery then try the next tthing? cos for my case, i have to wait till wkends then i can try on jaelynn, means i will take very long before she try all things le..but no choice..only wkend i free to do it for her to eat

Muddypie,
Aidan standing on the playpen reminds me of Gracia too. But lucky mine is slightly deeper.
You noe, it can b scarely especially in the middle of the nite when u suddenly saw her standing at the playpen..... ===faint===

Alsie/ xman,
I wish my bb wanna latch on... Nowsaday asking her to drink direct hor, machiam i torture her like tat. She scream and struggle till i had no choice but to warm her EBM. Urghhh... envy envy...

xman
the beco looks wonderful on you. many said the body of the carrier is longer, so not surprise ruoxi is hidden in there enjoying herself.

jang
personal pref i guess? you can find the 4th generation on sale at many webstores. the 4th generation have more positions but i dont think i will use those positions so i prefer the butterfly with the insert.

loh
i just added the evening feed when i feel like she needed more food to keep her full. but now that i just started her on the cereal again (stop when she was sick), i am doing optional evening. some days if she seem cranky or uninterested, i just skip it.

chatty
nining flew to VA. hee.

--------------------

we exchanged a couple of sms late last night. yeah she said very tired. she also said she loves her papatum carrier.
so another carrier to consider if mommies are looking to decide which one to buy. wait for nining to come back and review her papatum.

alsie
you worry about you or jerome?
bundle him up well before you leave the building. if you go out cold, even if you wrap up later, it's not as warm as if you go out warm already. also if you are using stroller, can get one of those zip up baggie looking sac. i bought paige one from gap when we were living in the US, very toasty.

loh
16 degree is not cold lah. i used to go outside in tee and shorts in those temp. i think either got lots of fats or used to the weather already. :p

xman
i asked hubby if he will wear the beco and he said yes. he said paige dressed up in all pink and he bjorn her around too, so he deosnt see the diff between that and wearing a colorful beco.

muddypie
if you order the ergo from the US, it is US$92 with free shipping within the US.

unfortunately i dont remember which web store, but when i was looking for the butterfly, i found web store selling the 4th gen beco at less than US$100. others selling at US$105. look hard enough should be able to find the sales.

mommies
if you are thinking of ordering the beco or ergo from the US, why not ask chatty if her IL can help you ladies buy and charge a handling fee? just like she help with the leapfrog and coach items.

cin
poor thing, hope his tush is feeling better already. paige has gone many days without pooping. her pd said 10 days then start to worry. look like i should worry about it sooner.

what kind of prune do you use?

chatty
email the mod again. twice they missed out on my application and i have to email them and asked about it before the thread was started.

Cin: Great seeing you at JG yesterday! Titus is such a handsome little guy! Here's my (slightly blurry) pic of him - gotta work on my "no wobble" photo-taking skills now that I try to not use my flash with the babies:
1281429.jpg

morning everyone!
quick post b4 starting my busy day at work..
jang,
got ur email about pu/pd..will try to reply tonite k? can't access hotmail at work...but jsut as a general note, u need to do pu.pd for all sleeptimes, starting fr naps..otherwise its confusing for bb..in fact can b easier to start with naps, cuz mummy not so tired then

Cin,
poor titus! thanks for sharing ur experience with us so we can learn too...looks like i have to be careful about brownrice porridge too, as we don't have habit of giving water...so far i've only given him brown rice once cuz i have to sieve it after its cooked (yee heng chokes on the grainy bits otherwise), and it's pre-belnde befor ei even cook it! so have to be smooth smooth also..think they only start chewing motions later on..

alsie,
can u pull hte "but dr say" trick? cuz the primary food in the 6-7 month is still milk leh
inu,
i'm doing the same, only intro new food on weekend..planning to start pumpkin this fri when i'm on childcare leave

Alsie: I guess every baby has his own food preferences. Is it possible that Jerome does not have a sweet tooth? I notice all the foods you have been giving are sweet. Maybe you could try veggies instead. If that doesn't work, then try with porridge or a different kind of cereal, like oats (Healthy Times has a baby version), or leave out cereals altogether and feed mashed potatos instead. My friend with 3 kids, living in France, uses potatoes as a base to puree all sorts of veggies with. It will serve the same function, as potatoes, rice cereal or porridge, Oats are all carbohydrates.

The Infantcare centre uses this cone-like cobalt blue long handled scoop from some FM tin to measure out the cereal, and James can take up to 2 scoops of cereal. I would say 1 scoop of cereal is equivalent to say 1 scoop of Isomil FM (I think the two scoop volumes are the same) or 2 scoops of Enfalac FM. I mix it with roughly the same amount of water, so the cereal is quite thick, and not runny at all. I then add in mashed up hard boiled egg yolk (no egg white as this can cause allergies), potato & brocolli puree / carrot puree / pumpkin puree. I haven't tried fruits yet, as we're coordinating with infantcare to introduce one new food a week, so that we can check for allergies.

An_gal, i'm trying a few options. I'm getting my hb and sis to ballot for their co. chalet. We did it for her 1st mth celelbration but we din manange to get the chalet so in the end we have it at our house. If they don't get the chalet, i might have it at another location. Maybe pasir ris NTUC chalet. But the ntuc chalet quite ex lei