(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

chatty,
went to check out the peg perego aria at CK Tang today, chloe looked comfortable and happy in it and it's not too difficult for me to handle alone. almost bought it on the spot but they do not have ready stocks. any idea where else have peg perego? went to taka and paragon but dun have.

aiyo... cabs are so expensive now. from paragon to novena square during peak hour cost me $9.60, of which $4.00 is the surcharge!!!

haven post for such a long while..
juat wanna share wif u a pix of my boy in e bumbo..
1189473.jpg

he din quite like it at first and cried..then after a while better but can't stay long in it...

re milk ss
realised my milk is getg extremely pathetic..colleagues who gave birth much earlier than me are pumping by e bottles, yet mine is so meagre...now trying to pop fenugreek..but donch seem to work liaoz..

i finally finish packing. my mum commented that machiam like shifting house, so many tings 2 bring haha.. now slowly catching up the post

angeline,
ur son big drinker hehe.. hopefully after u start bigor and puree he will skip the night feed.. now Melcolm 1 day oni drink 5 times nia..
btw, will start my son with step 2 on the day he turns 6mths.. however, will gradually switch over within 1-2wks meaning mixing the powder of stage 1 & 2..

zhuzhu,
ya lol.. i 1 2 settle everything at my mum place b4 i start work.. if not i tink i oso cant work in peace.. anyway there's some change in plans liaoz.. PILs not happy n hubby ask me jus now can let them take care mon n tues boh.. then my mum wed, thur, fri.. haiz.. was angry at 1st.. after cool dw and tok 2 hubby and tat will b the arrangement.. poor hubby sandwich in btw.. i'm veri firm that i will not change my mind oledi, tat is final.

woof,
me starting work next tues for 2wks at the moment.. if everything ok then will continue there..

ytanhn,
toking abt PIL's.. jus had a tok with hubby jus now.. tink he in a difficult position so we conclude tat PIL's take care mon,tues and my mum wed - fri.. hope theres no more changes.. most impt i hope Melcolm wont b blur cos different locations..

hi settes,
hw had u been?

anyababy,
welcome u, clap clap

chatty
the carseat no joke, i think 20lb prob. add that to the pram, then add paige on top of it, like a sofa, cannot move already. no, paige hasn't outgrown the carseat yet. initially she was swimming in it. now can find her in it already. think in a few months time she will grow out of it.

bliss
Oregon doesn't have sales tax and other states have no sales tax on food or clothes or something. like boston is good for clothes cos no sales tax for clothes. ;) the other thing with sales tax is if that company has a presence in that state then you have to pay sales tax, if not no sales tax for online shopping. for example if you buy clothes from gap online and ship to a New York address, and gap doesn't have a physical store in NY, then no need to pay sales tax, but if they have a physical store in NY then there will be sales tax even if you purchase from the online store.

chatty
at first we were very scare of bringing paige out. scare she starts crying and we cannot calm her down. i keep worrying about how other people will give us the evil eyes or other parents will think we are bad parents cos we cannot control our kid. after a while just try, hubby said wherever we go, just be prepared to turn back and go home. slowly we go out for short period here and there. eventually we brave a meal and now just go. if she cries, just have to deal with it. really cannot then go home lor. :p

but to go out alone i still need some time to try. not that brave yet to go out without hubby. heehee

bliss
i will always use the lift and not the escalator when i am using the stroller. i see parents hang one million things on the stroller, plus the baby inside and they use the escalator, i think it is dangerous.

ytanhn
i totally agree with you. pg no one gave me a seat before but with the baby, people will offer us their seats. when we were at sentosa and took the express to vivo, someone gave up their seat for hubby (who was bjorn-ing paige), soon after someone actually gave me his seat too. maybe feel bad i was crying a big diaper bag.

not sure if my peg perego is a smaller version, it doesn't look small at all leh. look a bit like graco kind. it doesn't fold very small, so take up a lot of room, the good thing is it is quite light.

lilyn
yes that is the combi high chair model i bought. paid $191, got it from isetan. came with a free combi toy and my sis got some points on her isetan card. no instant discount.

muddypie
glad you like prof lee. she told me to start in mid dec when i saw her on nov 17, but i thought it was a bit soon so i hold out on it. maybe she told me to start early cos she thought paige was underweight. their scale was not accurate at all. paige weighed in at 4.9kg when she was more like 5.6 or 5.8kg. wah, paige is so much bigger than aidan now? they used to be about the same size, in fact aidan was a little bigger.

i plan to start paige soon since she is 5+ month already. we see prof lee again feb 1.

did you leave the clinic with lots of formula? they saw/thought how small paige was, given the inaccurate scale, and gave me 12 tins of formula.

chatty
isn't there a stroller that close (or is it open) by itself? but it super heavy. eh..... quinny buzz?

jang
that's the toy my hubby wanted to buy paige for xmas. but i didn't let him buy cos it's so exp. retail was close to $300.

bliss
already ordered, waiting for her to confirm then i will pay immediately. thanks for helping me collect!

cin
yup it's $6.50. that's why hubby goes to work super early to avoid ERP if he can wake up. he was just joking today maybe he should go there even earlier and take a nap.
another one of my friend also pay that much to get to work. prob has non ERP road but how much will gas be right?

no lah, no time to read or do other things. just saying if i have the time i dont mind staying home all the time cos i can find things to do. i know some friends cannot stay at home, will be bored to death.

xman
look like ruoxi and paige about the same size and length. i measured her with my own tape and she was about 60cm. and according to my bahtroom scale she is 6.8kg.

mel
the shipping cost via vpost can be soooo expensive. i bought stuff from leapfrog, 2 diff orders, shared with 2 other friends and the shipping came out very high (i think close to $200). hubby got a shock when he saw the email but we calculated and it is still worth it considering we all bought quite a lot combined.

RE CNY wear
saw kiddy palace sell too. even the korean looking ones. different style than the BP but similar.

bliss
when we brought paige for her 6w check, we decided to do the pneumococcal jab with the next round of jabs. but when we brought her in for her 3m jabs, she ended up not getting the jab. we completely forgot about it and the PD didnt mention anything. when i called the clinic to check, they said it can be done starting with the 3m jabs or with the 6m. they said start at 3m, it'll be 4 jabs but start at 6m, 3 jabs. *shrug* i think the PD was a bit concern paige was small (not really, just their scale inaccurate) and decided to wait until 6m. i guess she will be getting the jab come feb.

jang
thanks for posting that info. now i know i didn't hear wrongly. it is 3 jabs if paige starts the pneumococcal at 6m.

ytanhn
one of the 2 shops at the ulu place sells peg perego... baby kingdom or bbmart?? i think motherworks maybe, not sure. call them and check. which one is it that you saw at tangs? classico or MT? or is there yet another model?

may not be online much these 2 days, my grandma is in the hospital. very worried about her. she is 96 and needs a procedure for blood clot on friday. at 96 no procedure is minor.
back in sept 2006 she had to have her left leg amputated and sank into depression after that. she wont talk or smile. every day just sit there expressionless or sleep. only recently she snapped out of depression after paige was born. she'll beam and talk to paige when i bring her over to visit. i was brought up by my grandma so i really want paige to be able to get to know her great grandma. we're praying hard that she'll be ok.

oh, paige has upgraded to M diapers!

an_gal,

Ya, Javier is a big drinker, per day consumption is at least 1280ml of milk!

No leh, even after i give him bi gor, he still drink milk as usual! I cook almost one similac spoon & mix with 2.5scoop of milk powder.

Noted with thanks, will start mixing when he turn 6mths too

Congrats on finding a job

Hmm, PIL take care of mel on mon & tues & ur mum will continue from wed to fri, how many sets of mel's stuffs u need to prepare as there's 2side looking after him!!

Will it cause confusion to mel anot? What happen if mel recognise place & dun want?

anyababy,

Welcome onboard

cin,

i also dunno if i could bear to leave him in infantcare. but dun want him to stare at me at home only. btw, i dun see much mummies strolling babies around here. mostly, grandparents.. hehe..

normally at home, i'll put him on the playmat to play by himself, if he gets bored, i'll put him on the bumbo, then maybe in the bouncer, next can put in the activity centre, then can put on the high chair and watch me surf net. by then, its almost time for nap. sometimes if he doesn't want to sit, i will "talk" to him, walk him ard the hse, stare outside the window...etc..

jang

wow jaeden really is 10kg?then enci will look a bit smaller beside him,heng ah.i think she's ard 8kg now.

angeline

javier drinks so much every day?really good appetite!enci drinks ard 820/day.what's javier's weight?is he 5mths already?

nining

ike is so good looking!can become child model liao!

Cin: What’s a stationary walker? If its stationary then it isn’t a walker right, but a seat. I think as long as baby can support himself in a seated position, its probably ok. Impt thing is not to try to speed up the process and have him skip developmental stages, because you don’t know what harm that might do to him.

Woof: Practice makes perfect lor…persuasion skills still need to be refined further…

Jang: I’m interested in the jumperoo. However, I wonder if its suitable for James at this point in time because though he can hold his head up, its not for that long. The jumperoo seems to be for older babies who can hold their heads up and sit up for long periods of time. What do you think?

Ytanhn: Er…not sure leh. I’ve never actually seen the peg perago before. Have you tried JL, Isetan or Robinsons? Why not call their nursery depts up to ask first before going down? I usually do that. You can also call Cheong Choon up if you have the model. Their prices are usually lower and they can do a special order if they do not stock the model.

Jang / Settees: Such cute babies! I must find time to post pics of James this weekend.

An_gal: I know what you mean. When I brought some of James stuff over to my mum’s place for his weekly visits there, I ended up with 4 bags of things! Really like moving house. Guess now both your PILs and your mum will be happy. Very nice suit for Melcome! I don’t have time to go down to Chinatown, so I bought James’ suit from Metro Paragon. Same suit as that sold in the BP, but twice the price
….bought matching shoes for him too!

Anyababy: Welcome! : )

Jete:

Hope your grandma will get better soon.

Wah! Sounds heavy! I wanted to buy a travel system at first, but hubby was against it as he felt it couldn’t be used for long, and then we would have to buy a proper carseat. Turns out he was right, so we started out using the carseat cum carrier that friend lent us, and then bought the Britax Royale during Robinsons sale.

As for MRT and strollers, I think its quite easy, coz I see lots of people using their strollers on the train and now most stations have lifts anyway, so getting to the platform will be a breeze.

Yeah. Not VAT for Oregan and New Jersey. I spent part of my honeymoon in Oregan and shopped like mad : ) Thanks for info on how sales tax is charged for on-line stores! I always wondered about that.

Hubby and I go out all the time with James (since he was 2 months old)…so we’re able to manage him together. The one time hubby brought James out alone, James pooed and hubby had to clean him up! : ) I’ve not brought James out alone yet, as hubby uses the car, and isn’t keen on James going out in taxi without carseat.

U mean there really is a stroller which opens and closes by itself? Wow! I’ve got more features to add to my dream stroller: it must be able to climb up stairs by itself. My poor colleague has been climbing up and down 6 floors with his 2 year old and 3 month old babies as well as Aprica stroller for the past 2 months! His condo manager embezzeled the entire sinking fund, and so there has been no money to repair the spoilt lift! Poor guy! He has lost so much weight!

One reason why we chose to move away from Woodlands was because of the ERP charges. I used to work in town, and getting to work in a cab during emergencies was super expensive…now even worse still.

Good grief! $200 for shipping is rather excessive. SingPost must be making tons of money from us mummies! Next time, it might be worthwhile to try Comgateway or get a friend to send stuff to you via USPS. BTW, did Leapfrog give any free gifts? When my ILs ordered stuff for James, they got a free video tape for Maths education. Also, turns out that not all leappads purchased in US come with free tote bag…that was just a special promotion by leapfrog’s on-line store in Nov.

Congrats on Paige’s growth!

jete

didn't receive your pm leh,think the pm function really bad...anyway my SIL is not pumping liao,she directly latch on for her baby(Jay)and although have to supplement with FM she's ok with it.so no need to standby the valves.thanks for offering!

and happy for you that paige is growing well;-)have you started on the 12 tins of FM yet?hahahaa

an_gal

congrats on finding the job!!hope you'll like it there...now that you have to let PIL look after for 2 days,means that you have to buy another set of things for them right?1 set for home,1 set for PIL,1 set for mum...would cost you a bomb!last time when i decided to move back to my mum's place(hubby outstationed for 3 weeks)i also bought another set for mum,very xiong leh!!

cool down...but quite funny that your PIL are so insistent.i guess heng my mum made it clear long ago that she would not sacrifice her freedom to look after any grandchild.selfish la,but at least i don't have to be troubled over this.in a way i guess its good that you know your PIL loves melcolm so much.

agree that its going to be quite confusing for baby to go 3 different places in 1 week.but maybe now he's coming to 6 mths liao he's able to adapt better.maybe will train him to be highly adaptable,and he can fly all over the world next time?then can be pilot already,no longer colleagues in farm/zoo with enci and chloe,hahahaha

Jang,

Is Huggies Ultra good? We using Huggies Dry ( blue packaging ) for daytime, oso L size while Mamy Poko L size for nite.

How tall is Jaeden?

Leooh,

Javier as of end dec is 8.5kg & 70cm tall. Last nite my mum told me he shd weight more cos we always place a folded mattress ( seahorse brand ) underneath the yao lan but now cannot yao anymore cos the moment she put him in, the yao lan touched the mattress. Got to open up the mattress liao, else no way to yao.. hehe

Yup, he's already 5mths 11days old

We will try to drag his feed to 3hr interval but sometimes when he start cyring for milk at 2.5hrs, we will give him too.

jete

hope your grandma would be fine...heavens bless..

chatty

good that you(and ytanhn)give review on the reversible handle thing,now i decided not to get one with reversible handle!i feel that its really troublesome bringing a stroller out leh,however light it is,so i think for shopping trips i'll prob use my MIM sling,very easy to get enci to sleep...

and that day a mummy who chatted to me (while queuing at john little)was using a waist-pouch style of baby carrier,looks just like a waist pouch,very cool,but its for the baby to sit on it so that its less of a strain for your back,and less tiring on the arms.costed her >$100 from mothercare but i might go buy that...

and i'm like you,totally against walkers too!!!violently object to anyone buying for my baby...but dunno why so many people are still selling..

wa so many mummies bringing or have brought babies for the pneumoccocal jabs!
think i'll be bringing Doren when he is 1 yr old.

an_gal,
the CNY clothes looks nice and seems to have better quality than those sold at the BP. Melcolm looks good in it!

jete,
thanks for the info on the sales tax!

hehe... i'm one of those parents who hang things esp groceries, on the stroller haha!
agree it is dangerous that's why we always buckle doren up. hmmm... maybe should not be lazy and start carrying those stuffs by hand
but very xiong!

saw ur orders but Kids Books has not reverted.
concurrently, i'll contact her via her hp to expedite the process.

angeline

70cm,very tall leh!!little hunk like jang's jaeden,haha..hope enci can meet javier gor gor when i pass you the books,i should be collecting this sat morning..btw i think i'll be going raffles city area(and funan digital mall)this sat after collecting the books cos hubby wants to buy some things,you want to meet me there?if not where do you stay/work?i work at buona vista...

chatty,

my jumperoo is coming tomorrow. shall review it and let u know. if u want, u can bring James over to try it out at my place!