(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

if anyone don't mind my frozen BM, i can give..

i fully latch on and don't use the frozen BM. if overdue, throw. hubby believes that direct latch is the freshest and most nutritious.. frozen BM is for emergency when i fall sick or in any circumstances when i cannot bf..

abit wasteful.. what to do.. immune le..

pillow, ah you lucky, at least you got the antibiotics earlier, can get well faster. hiaz. am trying to rebuild supply too...

an_gal, chatty, thanks. really hope I dun get it again!!! LC says maybe coz I started work week before last, didn't clear my breasts properly when pumping at work.

so to all those starting work today, good luck! and remember to clear your breasts properly!!! :p

hi jang

your baby also 100% bm and latch on too? mine too. now, i cant be bothered to keep stock in the freezer already. i guess for me latching is easy cos i dun have to wash n sterilise bottles. u r a sahm too?

wow ah gal, does your baby sleeps in that cot? there r so much stuff in the cot. will it be safe once he learns how to flip n crawl? my hb is very paranoid abt putting stuff in the cot cos he scared that baby will accidentally cover himself. his cot is so boring, only mobile n blanket. dun even have a pillow.

aiyo, kenna scolded by my hb for buying the bumper mat from the forum. he said the forum is a "bad" influence cos i keep buying things recommended there which end up being useless. eg, sling, bumbo seat, scrap book, etc. i have not told him the price yet. dun understand why is he so stingy. i mentioned abt leap pad n he said must be from forum again. he dun allow me to buy till he said baby is bigger.

hi chatty
how is your 1st day at work?

jang, yes, sorry just did the transfer this morning from my UOB account. will take 3 days I think. I figured out why I missed out 1 digit the first time round, coz I cut and paste into the box,cut and pasted the dashes too butthe box can only take so many digits, so the last one sorta got truncated. I made sure I didn't miss out the last digit this time round :p hope it goes through.

cin,
yeah, u saw lots of stuff on my baby cot cos the cot is small.. my baby sleeps there too.. wen he knows hw to crawl and flip, we hav to lower dw his cot if not is gonna be dangerous. so far he is ok sleeping there and is safe with all those stuff around hehe..

with regards to buying tings 4 baby, r u the 1 paying? if u r paying, then can ask ur hubby 2 shut up hehe..

re: buying things for bb

as long as i explain wat it is for, hubby generally is ok. anything for his son is ok..

at first, he was not keen on the leappad. in the end, he was the one having fun with it..

hi jete!
haha.. she sounds like one of my friends..!
for me i'm ok with locations and directions.. one of my friends even can forget how to get back to the shopping mall from the toilet! esp at taka..she always tell me' u go first, i dunno which direction'..

i showed jereth the leap pad yday, but he was in a bad mood i think coz sleepy.. but he still seemed mesmerized by the songs and voices, n also the colours on the pages. stared at it quite some time before he declared he wanted to sleep..

pst,
oh dear, sorry to hear abt your bad experience! hope u're feeling much better now!

jang,
yup my hubby is also ok with buying things for his son.. he was quite impressed with the leappad too although he complained to baby dunno why mummy bought pink for him.. haha..

hey an_gal!
we;ve got the same design for the beansprout pillow! no wonder i felt it looked so familiar..! =)

wow melcolm has grown so much! the cot does really seem small for him ! i also put jereth's necessities at the foot of the cot but stil got space for him to sleep in his starfish style.

an_gal,
cool Melcolm..he is able to lift his head..since when is he able to do it? i m waiting for my girl to do it.

jang/cin,
i dun even haf a cot..bb sleeps in b/w us on our queen size bed.luckily i dun haf the habit of tossing and turning in bed when i sleep.sometimes my hubby will find tat he doesnt haf space (he nid more space, haha) and he will go to the sofa in the living rm. this way, he oso can find excuse and said tat i keep a look out at the baby and when the bb cries, i will make milk

woof,

bb sleeps with me on the bed at night too! luckily we have a king sized bed, therefore is not too crowded. i've already master the art of sleeping and waking up at the same position every day le... hehe

jang,
glad tat ur hubby is having fun wif the leappad. making the money worthwhile

dun tink my hubby will be keen in it. i tink i mite be the one exploring. if itz comics, i m sure he will be hook onto it.

chatty
yeah this year robinsons keep having sale. i too find that vpost is expensive, add on quite a bit to the cost of the items.

did i tell you about the free gift? i got many chops from buying the cib at ribinsons so got a free gift and vouchers out of it. my sis didn't have time to go back to the kids dept to claim the free gift so she sent me. the free gift was colorful packing peanuts!! wet it, and stick it tog to "make" things (like flower). hubby was not happy paying $4+ parking to collect packing peanuts.

lena
my baby upgraded to S maybe 5-6 weeks ago? she's 14w now. at 6w she was 3.98kg. last week when i weigh her on the bathroom scale, about 11lb, so prob 5+kg. i find that she doesn't have much asset on the back so some brand of diapers will slip right off her tush.

sinkor
shipping directly from amazon can be very expensive too. when i was still living in the US, my fren wanted to order some books from amazon, she was quoted over $100 in shipping (think it was $158). in the end she had them shipped to me (free shipping within US) and then i shipped it to her. cost me $70+ to ship to her but it was still cheaper.

pst
sorry about the mastitis, sound very painful. my friend had it twice and she said things just changed within an hour, like it just hit her suddenly.

hope you feel better.

adeline
eh..... i cant figure out how to use the flexishields, meaning to email you but weekend very busy. does the edge go over the funnel?? but one part has a notch thing, then how to go over the edge?

i bought the bigger funnels from robinsons. on the box it says "custom" and does not indicate the size. inside there are 2 pairs, one 28mm and one 30mm. the normal one that came with the ameda pump is 25mm.

chatty
pampers is the greenish one? i find the plastic quite flimsy and the box is deep. so when the wet wipes "chain" break off, hard to stick my hand in to pull it back up. the pigeon one is very solid and the press to open spring is nice. initially i was using pampers wet wipes, bought lots at the june expo, but didn't like it that i have to remove the whole packaging to refill. so i look for something that can put the whole pack in without touching the wipes. i like pigeon wipes best but it is quite pricey. that day my sis was trying to make up $ amt at robinsons so she bought me some avent wipes. the wipe is bigger, which is nice, but i think it's even more expensive than pigeon.

Jete,

Yeah the breastshield have a notch, it doesnt cover the funnel completely, the notch is for air to get in so that there is suction as without the shield, yr nipples go directly inside the funnels, u notice that the shield has a long rubber with jz 3 holes inside, if there is no notch, there will be no air in and means no suction unlike the Avent massage cushion, it only covers the funnels openings, try it on yr new funnels, hope it helps to ease yr nipple soreness.

So the set U bought is actually bigger thn the standard ones that come with the pump? Cos when I use Ameda, I was actually looking out for bigger funnels as well, but the box didnt indicate, so I dare nt buy it...anyway, now I dun nd it anymore, as I am using Avent Duo now.

Jang

Hi, sorry have just made payment, mine is $18.08 and can you please check and let me know. The transaction number is #1436221105.

Also, are you going for the gathering -if you are, can pass it to me then. Thanks.

since we're talking about it. what is in your diaper bag when you bring your baby out??

chatty
haahaa, i also use the same green pouch free from FBI. i'm not so organized, should put more things in zippy bag.

ok, here's what is in my diaper bag
* the green nestle pouch contain the formula container, extra drop-ins, 1 4oz nurser with drop-in and a hanky/bib for feed.
* i bring a small sigg bottle for water to make formula.
* in the fridge to go are bottles of ebm.
* a big thermo flask of hot water for warming up ebm
* a plastic container for warming up ebm
* diaper clutch with lots of diapers
* wet wipes, given up on travel sizes and just bring a full size out now, those with plastic cover on it.
* changing pad
* change of clothes, usually an extra onesie and a set of long sleeves top and pants
* my handbag stuffed inside :p
* and other small things like travel pack of tissue, plastic bags (in case need to put dirty clothes or throw diapers) etc.

i'm sure i have other junk in there that i cant remember now.

after reading on the forum abt buying stuff and asking hubby about it, i think i'm a little woman (xiao niu ren??, my pinyin very lousy) lol. i always ask hubby before i buy anything. usually he's ok with it but if he doesnt think it's necessary he'll tell me straight.

i find sg men are already more into shopping. all my american frens complain their hubbies hate shopping. that's why at a US mall, you'll always find a bunch of men sitting at the bench looking bored.

Jete: The Isetan Privilege card costs only $10 for 2 years. Just get it from the customer service counter. Heres more info:

http://www.isetan.com.sg/icc/isetanpc_1.jsp

Oh yes, received a SMS from Cute Tink. Theyre having a sale for members now

I got the free mystery gift from Robinsons about 2 months back when I purchased the Britax Royale, when it was on salemore than enough chops to get the gift. My gift was different though, it was a hot wheels horror house set, i.e., I think theres this mat which has a town printed on it, and you buy different houses to place on it. I got the House of horrors with a hot wheels car. When you have the entire set, the hot wheels can move from house to house on the trackNot bad, but itll be at least 2.75 years before James is ready to play with it

An_gal: Soooo cute! Melcome looks like a big, strong baby. Is it an optical illusion or is he outgrowing his cot soon? Just curious

Jang: YahIm gonna call them up afterwardscant even track my order, as system says item doesnt exist!!!

Cin: I find it very hard to resist buying things from the BP Boardsbut I try to restrain by asking myself, Will I really use it?

Pumping for the third time in office now. I just lock my door, pull down window shades and do ittoday has been fine so far as term is ending and I have no teaching duties this term anywayso while my colleagues are rushing to complete their marking, Im catching up on my e-mails and finalizing some training materials for Thursday. Next year will be a different story, as Ill not only have day classes, but also night classes to teach and attendI dont even want to think about it at this pointtoo scary.

Magical: James also stared at LeappadI think he finds it more interesting than the Leapfrog Caterpillar : ( Jareth is going to be a New Age man sweet and sensitive : )

Jete: The Isetan Privilege card costs only $10 for 2 years. Just get it from the customer service counter. Heres more info:

http://www.isetan.com.sg/icc/isetanpc_1.jsp

Oh yes, received a SMS from Cute Tink. Theyre having a sale for members now

I got the free mystery gift from Robinsons about 2 months back when I purchased the Britax Royale, when it was on salemore than enough chops to get the gift. My gift was different though, it was a hot wheels horror house set, i.e., I think theres this mat which has a town printed on it, and you buy different houses to place on it. I got the House of horrors with a hot wheels car. When you have the entire set, the hot wheels can move from house to house on the trackNot bad, but itll be at least 2.75 years before James is ready to play with it

An_gal: Soooo cute! Melcome looks like a big, strong baby. Is it an optical illusion or is he outgrowing his cot soon? Just curious

Jang: YahIm gonna call them up afterwardscant even track my order, as system says item doesnt exist!!!

Cin: I find it very hard to resist buying things from the BP Boardsbut I try to restrain by asking myself, Will I really use it?

Pumping for the third time in office now. I just lock my door, pull down window shades and do ittoday has been fine so far as term is ending and I have no teaching duties this term anywayso while my colleagues are rushing to complete their marking, Im catching up on my e-mails and finalizing some training materials for Thursday. Next year will be a different story, as Ill not only have day classes, but also night classes to teach and attendI dont even want to think about it at this pointtoo scary.

Magical: James also stared at LeappadI think he finds it more interesting than the Leapfrog Caterpillar : ( Jareth is going to be a New Age man sweet and sensitive : )

Jete: the isetan card is yearly 18 dollar.
re:baby massage
yesterday went to amk hub. Guess wat they told me only have slot for 10-11am. And only class for mummy to listen no hand on. But previously call parent craft they mention feed bb an hr ahead before heading to the class n hubby can attend. So nw i am kind of confuse.

magical,
u bought it frm beanie pillow too? this cot is given to us frm hubby cousin, is realli small but at the moment still can use.. Melcolm still can perform 180 degree turn at nite in this cot when he slps so i guess still hav some allowance..

woof,
abt 2wks ago Melcolm can start 2 lift his head high up liaoz.. was surprise at 1st cos he did it all by himself w/o us expecting it

Jete: Yes, Pampers box is the green one. I think its quite solid as the plastic is quite thick, but I agree about it being too deep. My fav is still Pigeon wipes, as its wet enough and you don't have to remove it from the packet to put in the box. Pampers wipes are wonderfully wet...not so for other brands. Avent is actually a bit on the dry side, and J&J is ok...I can't justify buying the pigeon box, though I like it, coz I already have the pampers box, so I'll make do... : )

Why do you have to bring both EBM and FM out? I always feed EBM at home, and bring FM out, otherwise very troublesome...But then of course I don't produce enough to TBF, so its easier for me this way.

I'm like you in a way. 99% of the things I buy, I consult hubby first...I just feel better if he has a say in our purchases, esp if its for the baby or the cats. Furniture is something we always make joint decisions on...I know of a couple who never consult each other before they buy pieces of furniture for their home - no guesses needed to know the state of their relationship or their house...

Jete,

My hubby is one of those american man that hates shopping, remember whn we have our pre-honeymoon in Bangkok just after our ROM, while I am in the departmental store, he is sitting outside waiting for me or either, he find seats in the shoe department and zzzz there. Can U imagine? He simply hate shopping, I was tell Chatty that when I told hubby I want to buy the leappad, my hubby face turn black and never even bother to answer me...the problem is I am paying not asking him to pay leh...stingy man...

Jete: Yes, Pampers box is the green one. I think its quite solid as the plastic is quite thick, but I agree about it being too deep. My fav is still Pigeon wipes, as its wet enough and you don't have to remove it from the packet to put in the box. Pampers wipes are wonderfully wet...not so for other brands. Avent is actually a bit on the dry side, and J&J is ok...I can't justify buying the pigeon box, though I like it, coz I already have the pampers box, so I'll make do... : )

Why do you have to bring both EBM and FM out? I always feed EBM at home, and bring FM out, otherwise very troublesome...But then of course I don't produce enough to TBF, so its easier for me this way.

I'm like you in a way. 99% of the things I buy, I consult hubby first...I just feel better if he has a say in our purchases, esp if its for the baby or the cats. Furniture is something we always make joint decisions on...I know of a couple who never consult each other before they buy pieces of furniture for their home - no guesses needed to know the state of their relationship or their house...

Nining: SitnStroll looks good! I must show it to my hubby! Is it light? Looks heavy...

Jayden's mummy: Oh! I didn't know about the change in price. I just copied what's on the website...BTW, have you got your vouchers yet? They haven't sent me mine for this round...

Adeline: My hubby doesn't enjoy shopping all that much either, but he will come with me if I really want him to. He's quite generous, and I'm really notti about shopping...so I must try to restrain myself...

chatty,
i can manage it, but if ike is inside dunno i can or not kekeke, he is 7.5 kg now..good thing is if u're flying n buying ur child a seat, this can be used in flight n in car, n also in waiting area in airport..

Baby Massage Class
I was told the class will be at AMK hub? Can any mummies who sign up confirm? Now rather confusing cos when I sign up they did not mention that it will be at AMK and they say its practical classes.

Chatty,

My hubby is opposite lor...he is a stingy man...maybe cos he grew up in a poor family where his dad is a postman and mum not working. So he save every bit of what he earn and very very stingy...me is opposite, I am generous in shopping before I married him, but now seems influence by him, I will think twice before I buy anything...

Hmmz seems like most of your babies are wearing size M for diapers. Mine still on S size. I guess she realli on the small side.

Re: Lifting of head
I nv put Rin on her tummy yet but when i put her on the bed. She will lift her head and hold it there for awhile. Duno can consider that she can lift her head.

Re: Shopping wif hb
My hb still on, normally will accompany me to shop. But if too long he will find a seat and wait for me lor. He's generally ok with me buying things for Rin but if I wana buy something more x for myself. He will make noise...so pian xin rite! Buy x things for DD ok but for wife will make noise!

Woof,

May I know what class list huh?
Have not gone into the forum for quite some time..
Postings move super fast!!!!

Cant catch ler..

How about gathering? When? Where? How much?
Can someone PM me?

Thanks hor

Jang,

You fully latch on huh? I only do exclusive pumping ler..
My bb rejects my breasts, yest (Sunday) try to latch her on, she screamed like being beaten ler
Then tears flew down like pouring rain so pitiful hehehe

Think I wont latch her on again, anyway I am working so not so many chances to let her suckle as well.

My ss drops! Wont force myself, whatever I have then I will give, if less and less and dry already, then no choice lor

Jete, Jayden's mummy
Recently just applied the Isetan privilege card at $10 for 2yrs, was told by the staff that it was some sort of Isetan's promotion. Probably that's the reason for the difference in card fee?

Any mummies using any baby carrier already? Can share which type is easier to use?

an_gal,
Ur baby really cute ur and the cot is really got lots of stuffs....i put diapers and some clothes at the side, then my boi will kick kick kick...then all over the bed liao

long time didn't post my boi's photo lioa. Guess wat, he is wearing a cloth that i wore b4 when i wasa baby...this batch of clothing was passing among all the cousins from my mother, then now return to me...dunno my grandson will got chance to wear or not..hahaha
1067733.jpg