(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

rc cola,
my ss never increase...at least u hv seen improvement in urs..i no stress oso like tis..pump 2-3 oz...really low..i tried fenugreek, herbal tea oso never do wonders..sigh..my breasts r bigger than pre-pregnancy..yet not much yield at all!

tks cin for e details!

hi jang, u find him ok? i tink he like v impatient at times n not too willing to answer..i rememeber some time back in TMC he advised that i sun bb in e am n evening 5 pm..so when we went back for baby's check up..n i confirmed wif him again, he said "din i tell u"..i din really mind at dat time..but when i brought bb to see him becos of flu..he oso like quite chop chop..so tinking of changing pd..

ivy,
yap.. have to stuck with my maid till 07/2009... i've heard abt the myth tummy itchy if ur bb has lots of hair, i do have itchy tummy but think it's normal during pregnancy ba..

an_gal,
MIL(again).. mine called me on sat, bombard me with all questions in 1 shot but i steady enough answer one by one but inside my heart i already !@#$%^&.. maid come back from home leave already?...... when did she come back?...... why want to hire phil maid, duno want hire indo maid?...... chloe got guai1 or not?...... chloe got grow big not (fei4 hua4!!!) etc etc.. aiyo..

wow.. ur bb can lift up his head liao ah.. mine still screaming for help..

rc_cola,
yaloh.. my mum also like to carry chloe to sleep and i always nag at her.

alsie,
the bumbo can be used for 3mths up? i've got my rented one y'day but dare not try it yet cos my mum said must wait till 4mths lei & chloe is only 3mth old.. waste my 1mth rental $$$ lei..

Re: BB sleeping on us
Chloe used to sleep on me too and every night i looked after her till 6am before passing her to my mum and i KO. gradually she changed her own timing and sleeping habits.. but come to think of it, in fact she slept on her own ever since i put her to sleep on her side, swaddled her with a beansprout pillow between her legs. now she can sleep in whatever position.

Hi ladies! I spent 2 days trying to catch up with this forum! gosh! I havent had the chance to log in since last week!

I see the EBM u ppl are storing I damn sad for myself..I hardly have any milk to store!hahaa!

But one thing that Im happy abt is that for the past 2 weeks Mathias has been latching on for his feeds..I finally found a way thats comfortable for the both of us..the lying down position. B4 I found it tough latching him on cos no matter how I placed him i was always blocking his nose..now I latch him on, he lasts 3hrs each feed (he latches on for abt 1/2hr on each side) which at leasts makes me feel Im abit useful.

The weird thing is that when I used to pump and pump I could nvr meet his target...so Im still trying to figure out why now that I can latch him on a whole day and only feed formula milk once (thats when I sleep in the mrning and MIL feeds him). Any of u can explain to me?

Oh! and u all always say must drain after latching on right? but mine like nothing left to drain leh..I squeeze and squeeze also maximum 5ml I thk..

Now that Im feeling so satisfied latching on Im dreading gg back to work..cos pumping doesnt seem to work for me leh...this mrng I pumped 1 time 60ml only leh...

When I start work I plan to latch on as long as Im home then try to pump at 10am, 1pm(lunch) and 4pm...should be sufficient right?

I was out in the afternoon till 7+ to run some errands today. my mum told me that chloe was realy fussy and refused to sleep even in the sarong but surprisingly she smiled when i looked & spoke to her, she was like "er er ah ah" to me for a full 15minutes or so, machiam complaining to me that i left her at home.. hahaa... *heart melted*

Bringing chloe for her 2nd 6-in-1 jab tomorrow. Keeping my fingers crossed as she had fever the last time.

Re: Breast size

my right breast has always been bigger than my left so now that my breasts have expanded, the right is still bigger than the left but when I latch on I prefer giving my left first cos the right side seems to suffocate my son!haha!

Re:Back Pain
I sprained my back on the 42nd day of confinement..it was damn bad till I coulnt get out of bed.my massage lady came and massage for me until blue black then finally after the 2nd day I could walk properly but till now I still not 100% ok..dunno if its gonna be permanent..I didnt take epi so cant be cos of epi..

Re: bringing BB out

On fri night my boy stayed out till 2am and he was damn happy! haha! He likes gg out..he' gone to Ikea, Church, Punggol Plaza,Gone to some of my colleagues' houses for Hari Raya cos they invited us..gone to the airport..lots of places lah..and he really likes it.

One thing abt my son is that he likes noise,.when theres noise he sleeps very peacefully..put him in a quiet plc and he'll go crazy..cry and cry...weird right?

Re: BB sleeping pattern

One thing very funny abt him is that he tends to fall asleep very well when we carry him and pace around the kitchen cos from the kitchen theres the sound of cars from the expressway..hahaha! so whenver he's fussing my hb will bring him to the kitchen to pace up and down till he sleeps!

Re: Potty training

One more weird thg thats has its good points and bad points is that Mathias doesnt shit in his Diapers/Napkin! he will cry till u bring him to the potty lor...he has ony shit in his napkins twice since I brought him back to the hospital..imagine that..so Im thking...how to bring him out? If ppl see me brg him to the toilet to shit they sure think Im some kiasu mother whose potty training a 2mth old bb lor!how? Have any of u seen any disposable potties being sold in spore?

Woof , Leeoh! Your BBs r 2mths old today right? Our lil' angels were born on the same day so I can remember! haha!

Re:In-laws
abt staying w MIL..i tell u..I ended up quarelling w my hb so many times cos of MIL..its not that she stirs trouble, but I just have alot of complaints abt the way she does things then I always end up complaining to hb cos I dun dare to tell my MIL directly and in the end its me and hb who quarrel.eg.now im latching on for Mathias feeds rite so none of us know how much he's drinking so once he starts cryg non-stop. MIL will keep insisting that he's hungry even when I know he's not lor..how can be half an hour after a one hour feed hungry liao? I already tried for almost 2weeks..he always can tahan 3hrs..I dunno y just cos he's fussing it must b cos my brestmilk not enuf leh?

It not that my hb dun side me lah..90% of the time he's on my side but he also love his mom alot so i complain complain every single day I thk he hear until very stress cos he want both of us to live in harmony..and actually I also can get along with his mom but I just dun like the things she do lah...like hang clothes to dry outside the living room window..wah lau! thk I staay in kampong huh? then re-arrange the thgs in my kitchen cabinets..then talk so loudly to mathias ( I so scared he'll become deaf) as if he cant hear her...*sigh* but actually shes v nice and sayang me alot..thats y v hard for me to tell her off sometimes..

Re: Customary wedding
Guess what? I got ROM in may and customary in dec last year and i now have a son..didnt even get to go for honeymoon lor! was supposed to go either turkey or new zealand leh! but cos I could only take leave end of Jan so didnt go straight after wedding..in the end..pregnant liao..cant travel for the first trimester..in teh end hubby brot me to Bali for mini honeymoon in april..

Luckily my hubby and I have abit of er4 ren2 shi4 jie4 b4 customary..we already live together for abt 2years otherwise sure damn sian..so fast preggie..we actually planned to have BB asap cos we already pator for 8years then got married but didnt expect to have so soon!

up pumping. just now my poor hubby complained to me that bb after herlast feed at 12 am refused to sleep till 2 am. i told him..ya that is wat i go thru every day..n u just one one..haaa

Me up pumping too. boy slept at 11pls till a while a go.
I realised if he last feed at 11plus, he can last longer, abt 6hrs. The nite b4, he sleeps at 10, woah every 3hrs, still wake up to feed. why? *blur*

Mel, steady! ur bb potty trained liao?! is it coz u all train him to "ng ng" since nb time?
I was told even nb can be trained, juz catch the timing n make it a habit daily. too siong for me to attempt though.

So far, haven't been bringing nb out at shopping. only to mum or IL place nia. Told hb to take leave next wk, need to buy new clothes for work, then perm my hair.

Inu, ur hb takes the nite shift? my hb v heng, so far for my 2kids, he's spared the nite shift. i'll rather be tired myself than see him so tired. somehow, i tink women are stronger than men, hahahah we can withstand hardship n pain more.

jete,
In case you want to bring your pet to see Robin, his clinic is closed on every Monday and there is a night clinic on every Tueday. My dogs are seeing him too.

settes,

the doctor u went to at TMC is which one? mine was a bad one, so changed to the one at Tiong Bahru, different doctor. Dr Edmund Koh, if i remembered correctly..

so tired n sleepy...bb made a lot of noises while trying to sleep/sleeping...i oso blur..so kept monitoring his movements..

jang,
oh no, i din go to any doc at TMC..it was dr koh..after we delivered, a pd wld be assigned to us right n he was e one..at first tink he ok, but subsequent visits at his clinic, find dat his service not v gd..so tinking of changing pd if any ard tis area..

jang,

hope tat you are feeling better already..you are not a bad mother la...sometimes i also feel the same...tat y i cant manage my own bb...hehe..it's normal...sometimes we juz need to space out and do some things to relax..eg, going shopping or eating a really gd meal..(hehe..coz i quite tam chiam one) w/o the bb ard...then it wil really refresh you one....relax okie...

settes,

think we had the same one assigned to us at TMC. u go try the PD at Tiong Bahru, quite like him. its also Pediatric Center but Tiong Bahru branch. different doctor. moreover, its less crowded than the one at TMC.

Hi Jang

Managed to catch up with the posts. Will let you know when i have transferred $ to your account, probably tonight or tomorrow morning.

ng

ya he take the the 11 to 12 am shift..bb usually woke up during that time to feed once then she will wake up again btw 3 to 4 am then i will feed. anyway my hubby usually dun sleep till 1 am..so i got excuse to sleep at earlier lor :p

wow...exactly this forum got a lot of mummies with dogs....pig pig also have dogs

inu
Have 3 bull-terriers. Bought 1 and 2 of them are adopted. Used to spend about 1 hr daily with them but now with the bb, cannot spend so much time with them liao. apparently, they are very upset with me

Ocean/Cola,

For me, I pump in the store room leh...cos meeting room got glass panel beside the door, can see thru..paiseh leh..!! Store room hardly people go in, thn I can lock myself inside.

An-gal,

Yeah...my back almost break every saturday cos I use Sling to carry her, as need to bring my elder boy to attend his Shichida class at Toa Payoh from Tampines, lucky all the way in MRT.

Lena,

My gal is 12wks this satrday.

Any of U know for 6 in 1, baby should take it base on weeks or month? Cos if 3mth, my gal will take next wk, if by wks she should take this satrday.

hi adeline.
for the jab.. they count by months not by weeks.. the clinic u went , nvr tell meh to arrange for appointment ? and when u go for the second dose or next dose.. it must be more than 30 days.

Had a bad night yesterday, Jerome was cranky from 12am till this morning 8am.. He wakes up and cry every 1 hour and he will not stop crying even though I have fed him and change his diapers. Getting real fed up cos I do not have enough sleep. Worst of all, hubby just continue to sleep and ignore his cry somemore.. I am on fire already, this morning he wakes up I told him to pack his back and go back in-law's house. Its already not the first time lor and I have been bearing with him for the past few weeks already. Weekends I ask him want to bath baby so that can bond with him, he tell me NO, he wants to sleep and every night he plays game till late night than sleep. To him playing game and sleeping is more important than helping me take care of baby. So fed up, thus decided to send him home, have him or without him around makes no difference since I have been on 1 man show for so long.

ytanhn

For the bumbo seats, its written 3 months and above. But I also think should let baby try only when baby is about 4months or his neck is strong enough..

Alsie, cool down cool down. Ur hb really went back ah? maybe u can hv a good word with him? sometimes, we hv to tell them wat we need them to help out on. My hb dare not bath bb yet coz too fragile. once bb's neck is firmer, he promised to take over coz i want them to bond also. he has been bathing my elder gal most of the time now. i think it helps to assign who to do wat on the housework.

Mummies, can i ask wat kind of insurance policy are u getting for ur bb? how much per mth?

jang! our babies exactly the same!!! isaac also dun care if his whole diaper full of shit. and he also wants us to carry him to sleep all the time. we also found that he likes to sleep on us. and yes... he wants to sleep - can't sleep, so cry and cry and cry... hiaz... recently we try swaddling him with a sarong (coz the baby wrappers all too small liaoz). swaddle him, then carry/rock him to sleep, then when we put him down, coz the sarong-swaddle holds him together, he dun feel it so much when we place him down. so now we do this - much easier... you try try...

sunbloom, how come your bb only takes spoon-feeding?

settes,

i didnt go to Dr Koh for 6 in 1. Much more expensive than my GP downstairs. his 6 in 1 is $399 exclude consultation.

My GP downstairs, less than $300.

pst,

okok.. i go find a big piece of cloth to swaddle him also. my sumo super big to fit in the normal receiving blanket. wanted to buy the swaddle leooh was using, but was thinking he may outgrow them very fast too..

Cola,

I know where U are working liao...yr office basement have cold storage rite? Its opp Hong Lim? My lunch time is 12-1pm but usually hv to be back to office by 12.50pm cos need to pump mah.

Cola,

I know where U are working liao...yr office basement have cold storage rite? Its opp Hong Lim? My lunch time is 12-1pm but usually hv to be back to office by 12.50pm cos need to pump mah.

i am giving up on breastfeeding. going to take medecine to stop.

have infection yesterday AGAIN..its my 3rd time in 9wks...really cannot take it liao...

my MIL say take medicine to stop, the boob boob will become very small but i got no choice cos whenever i try to drag the pump to 4 or 5 hrs i got very bad engorgement, with lumps on my breast. and if i dun clear, i get fever...
furthermore i going thailand next mth(b4 start work) and i scare will have fever if i only pump in the morning and at night...

feeling VERY guilty cos keep thinking that i am thinking of myself only but not for bb..haiz...feel so guilty...

i am already feeding him FM at night now i am even deprving his morning BM..

hello all!
long time no see!
so busy for the past weeks and fell sick some more.. stupid flu bug..

wanted to post on monday but office network down! in the end couldnt even log onto my laptop.. was watching mulan halfway loh..irritating..

just took jereth for his jab today.. now knocked out so got sometime to come in.

at 3 months he's now 61cm and 6.3 kg! dr says he's above average, but he only takes 70-100ml per 3 -4 hourly eh.. seems like so little compared to when he could take 120ml n sometimes still wanted more..

nining,
i'd love to have the catalogue too! [email protected]

garfield

mornng and night i am pumping 3-3.5 hrly. even at night when i feed my bb FM at 3am, i also wake up to pump.

last fews days, i try to drag 4-5 but it did not help. my breast get very pain and hard...

in order to stop the BM, do i need to tahan this kind of pain??? anyone can advise?

choco: it means u got a lot of milk. try to tahan a few days to let ur body get used to ur new pumping schedule.maybe by then ur body will be used to 4-5hrly interval and will not have engorgement liao. very pity to give up bf leh.
i recentl increased my pumping interval to 4hrly, initially able to get 8-11oz, but now, i only get 7-8oz. ss decrease but i still hanging on. so u try to hang on ok? if not, u can put cold cabbage leaf on ur breasts to relief engorgement breastsb but put for 15-30mins only if u intend to just relief the pain. if really wan to stop breastfeeding, then put cold cabbage leaf on ur breasts for a long period, ur ss will stop naturally.

Hi Adeline,

Ya, you got the place! Hehe
I usually eat around 12 as well then quickly come back office and pump.

Today very demotivating, managed to get only 150ml this afternoon. Morning I get 160ml.
Envy you have so much supply.. is it because of stress while working? I dunno ler.. but I have been super busy since I came back.

This morning attend 2 meetings and now lots of work waiting for me

Settes, Jang,

I brought my girl to GP at beo crescent. It is called PJ clinic. The price quite reasonable. Perhaps you could try there lor.. I brought my girl for pneumoccocal and rotavirus vaccine, total S$270. The doctor quite friendly also, maybe because he has got 2 young kids

Mel,

If you keep on latching on, you will see increase in supply last 3 weeks I latch bb on every 2 hourly (her feeding interval) till she became so cranky when I latch, I stopped.

does ss really drop after going back to work? die now i worry cos she on total BM..i scared if drop and i feed her FM and if she drink Fm then how?

brought Melcolm to PD this morning at ABC (Anthony's Baby Clinic).. my poor darling having fever, cough and runny nose
did the urine test lucky no urine infection. hope he will recover soon.. btw, Dr Anthony n his assistant are really gd.. strongly recommend to ppl staying near Hougang area..

cola,
i saw those chinese medical hall selling n indicated can start above 3mths so wondering at 4mth can start boh..

ytanhn,
wow, tats alot of questions frm ur mil n some is stupig questions haha.. melcolm cant lift his head yet leh.. still need to support, hopefully at 4mth he is able to.

adeline,
lucky ur boy class is oni once a wk haha..

alsie,
try to talk to ur hubby n let him know wat he can do 2 help u.. mus b veri straight with them sometimes if not he jus act blur n ignore.. they shld play a part too.. usually wkns my hubby help me with feeds and entertain bb while i pump.. he don help to bath bb but i'm fine with it..

choco,
don b sad.. at least u try to bf him and u did ur best.. hugz...

Choco,

My advise is dun take medicine...I hope U continue to BF, as some people die hard to BF also cant, why U want to stop? I know BF is not easy as I myself have suffer thru the hard period for 2 kids...

For me initially I pump every 3hrs, cos of coming back to work, I adjust my pumping schedule a 1.5mths before I start work...U hv to adjust like that...example...today U pump at 3pm thn the nxt pump shld be 6pm(if its 3hrly) U drag to 6.15-6.20pm...thn tmrow u adjust another 15-20mins further say 6.30-6.40pm and so on, day by day U add on a little +/-, thn u dun suffer so much, try not to drag suddenly like 1-2hrs, yr breast cant take the drastic changes.And if U have engorgement or block ducts, use a 4oz milk bottle and cover with caps, apply on yr lumps area while U pump, u will hv yr lumps cleared...thn after each session, apply cold cabbage for 15mins. slowly U will feel better. I also hv infected breast at the beginning and almost dry up leh, but I fight cos I wnt my gal to hv EBM leh...its gd for their health. Think about it and look at yr baby whn u thinking to stop BF, she will gv U the courage to fight on de... Jia You...!!

choco, sorry to kaypo here....in a way i do envy you tat u have so much milk. I wanted to TBF my son 4yrs ago, but couldn catch up with his demand for milk as my SS very low.I supplemented him thruout and I stopped expressing at 6mths cos anyway the amt was pathetic, so might as well give up. I nvr suffered from engorgement even when i left my breast 'untouched' for 5-6 hrs, and only dragged the pumping interval for abt 8hrs over 3 days and my milk all dry up.

This time my 2nd bb i hope to do better. I hope you will keep up your determination to BF too..so sayang to give up when u have so much milk. A few more weeks or so when ur ss stabilised then u might nt feel the discomfort.

Cola,

We can meet one of these days for lunch, just now I was ard yr plc..wnt to opp Hong Lim to eat the chicken noodles leh.

An-gal,

Yeah, lucky once niah..if not I die ahh. My shoulder will break for sure.

garfield, adeline, S@L, an_gal

thanks for the encouragement, really feel motivated to continude..
will preserve...
today seeing my gynae thats y wan to take the med, now can save money liao

adeline
i will try to use the bottle to ease the lump. y i nv think of tat. whenever i use hot towel, i scald my hand if not by the time i bring to my room, cold liao.

i will also try the cabbage method.

Choco, u start work already? it'll be a pity if u stop coz ur supply sooo good ah! But if that is ur decision, dun be sad, u hv done ur best liao. The engorgement pain is unbearable. U must hv suffered alot to have made dat decision. Before u stop, try to stock up enough milk coz u may need to gradually wean bb to full FM.

Inu, supply most likely will drop unless u can stick closely to the pumping schedule but then there's work stress too. PD advised it's time to start FM now, otherwise, if they are so used to bm, then tough to introduce FM. Nic has started this wk on 1FM everyday, he's ok. Last time for my gal, i oso did the same.

An gal, haven't been to Anthony bb clinic but called before to chk rates. his consultation v v cheap, 1st consultation $45, subsequent $35. Usual ones all ranging $50-80