(2007/08) August 2007 MTBs

micSarSam
my boy had the jab at the PD too. took the jab after 6 mths so gotta take 3 jabs in total. 1st and 2nd one were onli 1 month apart at abt 8-9 mths coz i needed to let him take the jabs before going to US. the last and 3rd jab was taken just after he turned one. i remember that the last one costs abt 180 nett in total.

MicSarSam: I attended a talk by Wyeth (drug company which makes the pneumococcol jab / Prevenar)in Nov 07. Babies take 2 dozes of the jab in the first year of life (anytime from 2 months to 12 months) and 1 booster jab in the 2nd year of life. Babies 12 months and above are already in their 2nd year of life. Here's more information:

http://www.prevenar.co.uk/immunisation-schedule/default.aspx

I honestly can't remember how much I paid, coz he was taking the pneumococcol together with other jabs (prob the 5-in-1) all at the same time, so it was one bill for all the jabs. I do know that it was over $200 each visit, but that was for multiple vaccinations. Maybe you could call my son's pd at:

DR ONG WOON HONG
AGLOW BABY & CHILD SPECIALIST CLINIC 101, Thomson Rd, #02-09,
United Sq, S(307591).

He's an excellent pd, and he always takes the time to explain things and clarify any doubts we may have. He's also a lot cheaper than many other pds in the town area.

MicSarSam,
my son who jus turned 1 in Jul had his prevenar jab. 2 jabs required in total if jab after 1yr old. I went to GP and is $150 per jab.

chatty,
tot polyclinice do not offer pneumococcol jab

miaon,
my gal also celebrated 1st yr last sunday

goldenpiggy,
saw ur bp on tw website, how u manage to get the goods to s'pore?

Micmarsam: Prevanar is the trade name for the pneumococcol vaccine. Pneumococcol is a flu-like disease which is often fatal. I cut this from the site:

"Pneumococcal (pronounced new-mo-cockle) infections are often serious and sometimes fatal medical conditions caused by the bacterium Streptococcus pneumoniae, or the 'pneumo bug'."

The schedule as listed on the site:

Childs Age The New Schedule
2 Months DTaP-Hib-IPV Pneumococcal conjugate
3 Months DTaP-Hib-IPV Men C conjugate
4 Months DTaP-Hib-IPV Pneumococcal conjugate Men C conjugate
12 Months Hib/Men C conjugate
13 Months MMR Pneumococcal conjugate

crystalgal: Oh! I didn't know that. I thought that polyclinics offer it but you have to pay full price. I'm doing all of James' vaccinations at Aglow, coz its better if he follows through with 1 doctor all the way, esp. if there are reactions to the jabs.

For the Pneumococcol jabs, my PD advice was to get the jab before sending my gals for schooling. meaning if intend to put childcare around 2yrs old, then take the jab - at 2 yrs only 1 jab needed.

Crystal_gal - my friend is also helping with this BP and she is able to arrange for the clothes to be send to Singapore thus we started this BP.

For the Pneumoccol jab, does it mean that if we are not sending our child to childcare yet, we can let them take at 2 years old? Cos what if they come into contact with other child during play areas, etc?

sarahng,
yah.wanted to get the PJs from the $5 BP but wanna see if the mickey look ok or fake 1st..haha!

xman,
U looked at plain ones or those w designs at mothercare? Plain white ones had 30% disc leh..but comes in 3pc pack lah..

xman,chatty,choco,
I got the iron-ons...spent 1 hour in the shop trying to match the colours! hah! HUbby was wondering if Lil'M and I had gotten lost..and Mathias destroyed the iron-ons that were hanging on the rack!*oh my* it was so embarassing.. Think I was taking too long so he was getting cranky.is it ok if I mail it out when I get to work on Monday? Or if u all need it urgently let me know k?

Angeline,
I guess u would rather collect it then I mail out right? SO u let me know when u wanna collect ok?

Hi, Mel,

which mothercare u went?I went to the PS one, I tried the plain one and also with simple design one but didnt see 30% leh, it's stated buy 2 20% off buy 3 get 25% buy 4 get 30%. so at the end didnt buy. also I was quite rush so only spent about 10 mins there, maybe I overlook.

for the iron-ons, it's ok to mail out later, I'm in no hurry since not even got the tshirts yet.pls PM me yr a/c# for funds transfer and I will PM u my home address later. thanks a lot for your help.

MicSarSam/an_gal,

ya, money not enough2 quite touching, go to watch it when u free, and got lucky draw at the end.haha, so keep yr tickets after watch, dont somehow throw away.

Goldpiggy, If you're sending Samuel to enrichment classes etc., you might want to consider giving him the pneumococcol jab early. Babies tend to fall sick very easily once they start mixing with other kids, and their immune system weakens once they've had a major illness like HFMD.

Mel: Thanks so much for taking the time : ). Do let me know how much in total and I will trf money to your account asap.

Share with u some pics from Javier BD bash!

1639611.jpg

Angeline,

Javier wear sunglasses is cool, and I like the second pic he take with chloe, they are like shen1 qing2 look at each other.haha.

Mel: which shop u bought the alphabet iron on patch? I saw it selling at the gift shop at tg. pagar xchange, wll go check out next week. Think it's $1.50 per patch, cheap?

xman,
I also went to the one at PS leh..haha! But plain white t-shirts no disc and only very small sizes...only the plain white rompers have discount.

Tinyvoice,
$1.50 for alphabets not cheap. I bought from chinatown. only 80cts per alphabet..but depends lah..maybe ur alphabet more fanciful...cos for those that I bought the bear ones are $1.20 but still cheaper than the ones u saw at TGP exchange..

Angeline..
I really love Javier's cake leh..so colourful..and the big no.1 looks so yummy..so u finally managed to get new CD from your photographer...hehe!

Mel,

Thanks thanks

Yup, finally got the CD from my photographer!

Your creation is nice!!!
Huh, i regret not getting more bears liao!! sob sob!
I sms u to check if u at home before collecting from u, okie? Perhaps this weekend or next week ya!

Mel,
Hahaha...cute pics!
My boi also limbs everywhere when sleeping with us!!!If devide the bed space among us, we got to give up 50% central space for him to swim around!

BTW,
Where is the shop that you buy the alphabets in China Town har? Any address?

Loh,
U give up 50% of bedspace..my hubby and I are usually only left with the edge of the left and right side..we cant even lie flat..have to sleep sideways some more..*faint* Address of the shop..hahah! I dun have leh..maybe next time I go I get the address for u k? I only know how to go there..the building names there confuse me lah..all sound the same to me...Oh I know liao..its the building opposite chinatown point! there are alot of craft shops there...there are 2 shops selling
actually my friends told me that jln besar there also have one place that sells these kind of things and quite cheap but I dunno how to get there..

Thanks Glee

Mel,
Same lor, we both almost to the edge also. My hb asked this morning whether we shd buy more pillows, seems Ivan likes to sleep wif things touching his head and toes (he always head put on my body, legs put on my hb body and sleep side way...3 of us forming a 'H' word).

Ohh, u meant the craft center which got a McDonald and either a starbuck or coffee Bean in front of the building?

twinkle2,
u interested to start a BP or to buy from BP, haha

miaon,
*hi5* 10/08? which hospital were u at?

goldenpiggy,
ooo, ur friend stays in tw?

angeline,
cute photos... u have such big poster...

Mel!!!! I love the pix of ur boy, sooo cute, the way he sleeps also cute! The alphabets rompers also cute. I know where's the shop that you bought from, opp. chinatown point is people's park centre i think. The one that sells, yards and cross stitch stuff, "Jin Long", golden dragon i think.

Heck, i going to buy a set only so maybe i will go check out tg. pagar xchange again and find out exactly how much, cos' that day only had a glance.

Mel,

the rompers are so lovely,mmh,maybe I put all the 5 bear one may a bit messy, will see how it come out later.so excited. and the way yr boy sleep soooo cute.

I just ibanking to u the $$ and email u my home address liao, pls check.thanks

crystal gal,
no la no time to start a BP. only interested in buying. cos not much chance to go shopping in the real world , haha!
anyone know where can find BP other than in SMH ?
bought at 2 diff BPs previously, so abit addicted le!

heh, maybe start another survey.
what did you & your hubby gave up on after the birth of your kids? (eg.hobbies,jobs...etc)