(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

sweet, my MS was bad... never in my life feel to terrible.. this is my 2nd preggi, doc say normally 2nd preggi will hv MS.. arrggg

sweet, dunno what is it called. But we usually get them from supermarket cos it's cheaper. Market usually sells at 35 bucks per kg while supermarket prices could be as low as 20 bucks per kg. Last weekend, threadfin was selling at 9.90 per kg at giant vivo city. Ops, am turning more and more aunty..

christine, didnt know that 2nd pregnancy will kenna MS.. so your 1st pregnancy is MS free?

nicky's mom.. ok, i go check out supermarkets.. hehe

btw, when can we start exercising?? any idea?
anyone applying any cream on abdomen ? heard muz start applying during early pregnancy...but dun knw wat type of cream/lotion is good.

Hi all, many days never log in already, I was away on a trip with my hubby.

Christine, I think different pregnancies different experience. Coz my first one, very bad MS but second one MS is better don't vomit as violently or as often. MS for us should be gone in about 3-4 weeks so everyone hang on...

lizardess really..haaaa..you heard about this also..haa..i was telling sweet and the rest i bgt 2 bottles to stand by already.

threadfin is "nhog he" in hokkien.....

i think the recipie for cooking green papaya soup is:
green papaya
threadfin fish tail
ginger
peanuts
water

soak peanuts overnight to remove skin.
fyy threadfin tail in a little oil with ginger...
add water, papaya and peanuts.....
slow boil for about 4 hours......
then vola! yummy soup!!

PAPAYA SOUP

1 white fish tail or fish bones or fish meat ~ about 1kg
100g raw peanuts ~ 1 handful?
(I use black beans now because the pediatrician advised me to avoid peanuts due to my baby's mild eczema)
1 raw or half-ripe papaya, about 1kg - cut into cubes/wedges
1 piece tangerine peel
4 slices old ginger
1.5litres boiling water
2 Tablespoons oil

Heat oil & fry ginger slices, then fry fish in oil until brown.

Then put all ingredients into the slow cooker and simmer for about 2 to 3 hrs - generally until the soup smells really fragrant.

Then enjoy the drink!

Another way that my Mother-in-Law swears by - she says that's what the lactating mothers in her Village (in Guangzhou China) cook, is just to put "Bak Zao Yu" (Dried Octopus?) instead of the fish. Then all you need to do is to rinse all ingredients & put in slow cooker. My MIL also says to use really RAW papaya (when the sap is still "dripping" - now where would I find that, huh?).

okie this one is from MIM webbie

han..i calculated, still cheaper to get from airport's DFS.. so after i use this bottle liao.. good then i will buy some more

hiroshi, thanks! then i know wat is threadfin liao.. one of my MIL's fav fish dish, but i m not a big fan of it.. hehe

thanks for the recipe! i have copied it down

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>Baby's Name</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Actual</TD><TD>Gyne</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jam</TD><TD></TD><TD>1/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Teo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Char5105</TD><TD></TD><TD>3/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD>ES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Caitlyn</TD><TD></TD><TD>4/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chua Yang</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jellybeans</TD><TD></TD><TD>6/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Loke</TD><TD>ES </TD></TR><TR><TD>PingPing</TD><TD></TD><TD>6/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Kee Wei Heong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Redrain</TD><TD></TD><TD>6/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Qiuling</TD><TD></TD><TD>6/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Wei Lin</TD><TD>MA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nana</TD><TD></TD><TD>7/6</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mich</TD><TD></TD><TD>8/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>MA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Elizabeth</TD><TD></TD><TD>8/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>sun moon</TD><TD></TD><TD>10/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>JT</TD><TD></TD><TD>10/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ann</TD><TD></TD><TD>11/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sharon Tan</TD><TD></TD><TD>12/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Cathryn Chan</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lizardessss</TD><TD></TD><TD>12/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Ann Tan</TD><TD>ME </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xtine_k</TD><TD></TD><TD>12/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee</TD><TD>ME </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cary</TD><TD></TD><TD>13/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Heng</TD><TD>ES </TD></TR><TR><TD>Twiggy</TD><TD></TD><TD>14/6</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hiroshima</TD><TD></TD><TD>15/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chris Chong</TD><TD>GlenE </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janice</TD><TD></TD><TD>15/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Ting Hua Sieng</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celtricia</TD><TD></TD><TD>16/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Yeo</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lin</TD><TD></TD><TD>17/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr E Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>June</TD><TD></TD><TD>18/6</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ojx</TD><TD></TD><TD>22/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Lee</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bear</TD><TD></TD><TD>22/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>tanzz</TD><TD></TD><TD>22/6</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Glayz</TD><TD></TD><TD>24/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>sweetbaby</TD><TD></TD><TD>25/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr John Tee</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinkzebra</TD><TD></TD><TD>27/6</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Kenneth E Lee</TD><TD>MA </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moomoo</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vivien</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cynthia Lee</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>yypp</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Minne</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Blueblue</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christine</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>phy_*o*</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Nicky's mom</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Tham</TD><TD>KKH </TD></TR><TR><TD>sweet</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></td></tr></table>

Those who want to be included in June MTB list..... please PM me.

Hi Cary,

I'm between 8-9 weeks now, I think. My EDD date has been revised to 14 June. Yours? Do you know what RH hospital charges are like for delivery etc?

Sweet, you're with Dr thong too right? My appt is 440 pm.

Can I ask how much weight have you gals put on so far? I'm afriad I'm putting on too much weight too quickly. So far 8-9 weeks only, already put on almost 3kg leh! Tummy a bit bulgy already. Dunno if it's just bloated.

Sorry, got gross question: Anyone got constipation? Any solution?

twiggy, nope i m not seeing Dr Thong.. mine is Dr Wong from TMC

i m about 6.5 weeks now.. put on 300g... hehe.. my tummy also abit bulging out...

no leh, dun have constipation problems.. bowels still quite smooth, anyway i have more of a LS problem.. hahaha

twiggy.. i only started having constipation when i was in my 2nd trimester.. u can try to eat prunes or take prune juice.. it helps.. n take more fruits n veg..

Twiggy, same here. I think by the time I am at the 12 week mark, I would have put on 4-5kg already. But that's what happened with my first pregnancy. Total weight gain 21kg started at 44kg ended up at 65kg but lost it all within one year. So I don't think you should worry too much. I was quite concerned at first as well but I asked the nutritionist at the hospital and she still told me to eat what I want. And my gynae never once said anything about my weight. I concluded that if you start off thin, then you gotta pile on some fats for the baby to grow

I also got some constipation - coz never eat enough fruits and vegetables at times. Yup agree with celtricia, think prune juice really helps. Or my doctor told me before, eat a few dried prunes aday also can.

twiggy - Am 8 weeks 5 days. My EDD is 13 June, one day before yours
not sure what is the delivery charges at RH leh, maybe you can check when you are there for your next c/up? As of last week, I have put on 0.3kg. but now maybe more but should be less than 1 kg cos still got bad MS

hi lizardess,

any idea where to get this?

Clarins Huile "Tonic" BOdy Treatment Oil
Is is oily anot? can apply anytime lar.

hi twiggy

totally agree with u tt vivo city is super crowded and being in a crowded place makes me nauseous. I think its a psychological problem :p

thanks bandtz for idea on ikan bilis

take care janice!

hi hiroshi thanks for recipe!

nicky's mom: thats healthy! only steamed fish.

HI all , the tread s=is moving real fast.
Elizabeth : My gynae also ask me to come back three weeks later instead of two weeks .. Last scan on 9th week shows baby is 2.9cm. stomach is not bulging yet but a lot of clothes are becoming tigher.
Mich , can i ask about Dr Ho and wha are his charges like, Thinking of switching my gynae .. not so comfortable now ..

Celt, Mich, thanks, will try prune juice.

Sweet/Cary, 300 g only! My god, so I've put on 10 times as much. :p But Mich, at least now I know can not worry so much. Ya, I was very puzzled why most people say their pregnancy dont show in first 3 months and they dont put on weight, but mine has.

Nicky's mum, I keep some biscuits in my office so I can snack when I'm hungry. And will have some cheese and high-calcium crackers. Quite yummy. Or fruits. I try to bring a fruit to work every day in case hungry.

Qiuling, Dr Ho's charges are a little on the high side. First consult at $80, subsequent at $50. Scans at $50. Package at $600 but starts only at week 20. Detailed scan at $100 but done personally by Dr Ho himself. He is a careful and very detailed doctor. He will not take unnecessary risks and will do everything to ensure you are ok. There is a thread on Dr Ho in the forum and all the mummies there find him good so many stay with him even if he costs more because he gives us the peace of mind.

Twiggy, ya lor, it makes me worried why only I put on weight while some other mummies dont at all. But from experience, its ok lah, besides no one believed I put on 21kg. Everything says I actually look better with the weight coz I'm quite skin and bones before preggy. My colleague once told me "pregnancy looks good on you"

Haiz.. i've got food in my drawers.. but not appealing for me to eat leh.. buy tat time haf.. buy liao dun feel like eating.. sianz..

I went to visit the gynea at TMC last fri... I am 6wks pregnant alreodi... due on 25 June 07.. so exciting... kekekee... wah.. the tips tat you have been sharing does help me in anticipating wat is to come...

maternity dress are pretty ex huh.. borrowing some from my coll... kekeke.. luckily... :p u all very active hor... alot of posting.. hope to be able to keep up with u gals... :D

last time before i'm pregnant, i can go into giant and stock up close to 50 bucks of snacks each week. now, 10bucks and below..

Glayz, my hb told me better to eat liao, if stomach cannot, then puke. better then want to puke and yet nothing to puke, feel even worse..

Welcome rina.

Nicky's mom, I agree, better to puke out something than nothing at all coz the nothing kind of vomiting makes me feel like my stomach is gonna come out also... very horrible...

welcome rina!

hmmm.. puke nothing still not tat bad.. wait till u ladies puke out those yellow substance.. i duno wat issit.. but it taste acidic to me n its awful..

Celtricia....
the green stuff then worse... bitter taste one.... I puke that during my 1st preggie... *crossing my finger that i dun haf that in this preggie*

Nicky's mom
I agree... having something is puke is better than nothing... Ah-ha... i found a food that will make me puke liao... is sourplums.... so cannot eat that anymore....

its my 1st pregnancy leh... i can only see the flashing. does tt consider heartbeat?

see tt u all hv experience MS.. I still di get mine... dunno when it will come... Juz tt can feel the mouth veri blend... yucky taste.. but still must eat... cos veri hungry... cannot tahan..

oh... btw, u can call me rina (my christain name)..

Hi Rina, I have the same problem as you. Everything I eat taste so bland and if I don't add some chilli or more light soya sauce to it, I really can't bear to put the food in my mouth leh.

morning all!

celtricia - I puke out quite a lot of those yellow substance yesterday morning (on an empty stomach) and it is really awful!!! Very acidic ... was so worried and was wondering what are those.

Glayz - I can't imagine green ones *roll eyes*

Rina - yup! the flashing is your bb's heartbeat

morning Lin!

Hehehe... yes, we are always anxious in looking forward to our next appt
what time is your appt?

good morning mommies

let's think abt stuff that wont make us puke

1)i like a good fruitty shake - strawberry, kiwis, orange juice blended together!!

2) soupy food..beef noodles soup, mee sua soup, kway teoh soup...yummy

3)ice-cream!! unfortunately can only take in moderation