(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

pinkzee, not full then eat more la...u are "licensed" to do tha now...kekeke :p i had lunch too...hokkien mee but cant really finish tho...not much appetite :p

milky, i weaned mine off the breast when he was abt 8 mths old, when the teeth were growing (dun wanna get bitten!!)...nowadays normally, i'll switch off all lights, give him his last feed and let him dozed off...yes, try pacifier, last time he used to need to suckle to fall asleep, after tha i tried pacifier and it did the job too :p

irene, i'll take tha as a compliment :p

wah. ok
sporty, pacifier will try...
good one problem sorta solved. Now gotta wait for teacher-mummies to come in for their advice, hopefully

milky ,
me a teacher .. what level and subjects are u gg to teach ?? hmm ..u asking a few qns ....

"get burnt out and weekends spent on marking etc. leaving you little energy and time on your kid9s)"

Actually the marking load depends on you .. if u can managed to finish the marking in school .. please dun bring back home ... cos really no time to mark at home if u haev kids .. weekends are luxury and holidays too for teac hers who finish their jobs in school .. depneds on how efficient u are ..
also .. is it tough ?? hmm .. if u enjoy teaching , the work is so much better than office bound job .. interation with the children is the best .. try to enjoy thou they might disappoint u sometimes ... or u might have bad days ...

I am not selling u to teaching .. haha .. since i am leaving the teaching sector for my kids for sometime ... but u must enjoy teching to be in this line else ... everyday will be a dread .. especially if u are bonded .. and cannot break bond .. keke ..

Hi qiuling! thanks! if i take it up, then will be sent to primary school, so that'll be english, maths, science and whatever else i guess?

you're leaving the teaching sector for your kids for sometime? Going back to teaching again after that?

Can you remember how was contract teaching like? Actually, just found out that i'm about 10 weeks preggy so wondering if a new job at this point is sensible. I've tried contacting the MOE HR people, but they seem to be MIA. Need to ask them so many questions before I sign the contract! Eg., Would I be entitled to ML if i start work on 2 Jan..?

Do you feel exhausted at the end of every work day? How's the work load like during sch holz?

Thanks so much!

Hi sporty - yes... still tong .. enuff for her daily feed ,no extra milk yet. hee

rina - understd. I online only when my two gals are zzz .hee

Hi milky, another teacher is here... but now I am on no pay leave. will only be back to work next year Sept... i take no pay leave to be with my kids...

Being a teacher-mummy, can be really tough... before i was a mummy, i will bring my work home and even work on weekends... after i gave birth to my first child, i make sure, i will prepare one week of lesson plans on every friday (usually friday is a short day and not much activities)... that is inclusive of all the worksheets I will need for the classes that I will teach... so weekend is free to be with my gal... marking all is done at work... never bring home any after i have a child...

Contract teaching is usually full load, your hours will be same as trained teachers, u will have cca and all... but much more relaxing because i dun think you will be a form teacher, at most co-form teacher only...

when i was preggy with my second child, it can be quite exhausting walking ard, going up and down the stairs... standing most of the time... and the heat is killing me... i will perspire alot... after a day work, I am usually so tired but when I am back home, after a shower, I will have some energy for my gal...

Now still on npl... next year Jan I will be taking my masters... so hopefully by the time I am back to work, I will be able to cope with my studies and eventually settle into my teaching job back smoothly... now taking one thing at the time...

I dunno if teaching job is suitable for you... because this qn you will need to answer for yourself... for me I am just fated to be a teacher after trying out so many jobs... so I guess I am here to stay...

Good luck on your decision.

milky,

According to Govt IM, a govt servant may qualify for Maternity Leave, if the date of appointment is at least 90 calendar days preceding the date of confinement.

If there are no specific clauses in your contractual terms stating otherwise, and that you enjoy the same benefits as what a full time govt servant gets, then I believe ML is in also. Get it clarified before you sign anything though.

If you are having difficulties getting in touch with the HR people, maybe you will want to try emailing your queries to the moe's general enquiries email address, as i think there's a timeline for service replies.

good morning ladies!!

irene
are u signing up joshua for d act3 class.. sounds fun...

milky
another teacher in this thread... im not a teacher but i tink u gotta try out den u r able to know if u can take d pressure and workload... as different ppl threshold differs... one may feel too pressurise d other may tink its acceptable... most important is urself knowing wat you wana do and believe u r doing for good cause bah...

as for the ML, its better to call up and clarify b4 u sign as mentioned by wee

Dear lovely mummies!
Wow! so many of you here

Dryper baby: thanks so much for sharing your personal experience. Sounds like contract teaching is going to be tough for me, especially since i'll be about 4 months preggy (the symptoms are quite strong with frequent headaches etc.)if i do start in January. I think i need to rethink my priorities. Being a teacher sounds like it's going to both physically and mentally draining, especially for a not exactly very young mum me with an active toddler and baby in utero...

So dryper baby's a mid career switcher too. My job now allows me lots of time with my family cos' it's a 9-5 sorta job with absolutely nothing for me to take home to do but can get a little boring that's why the thought of switching to teaching... What do you say it's fated that you teach? You love the interaction with the kids and derive extreme satisfaction from seeing them learn and blossom?

Hello wee and powerpuff mummies
Emailed the MOE general addy twice- 4 days ago and on friday but the general email people have not replied. Called the general line and requested for the HR people to call me back but have not heard from them... Called the personal lines toom but no one's ever there. Goodness. Stranded.

Thanks, lovely mummies.

hi milky,

yup it can be physically, mentally and emotionally draining... physically because you will need to walk and stand most of the time... mentally because you gotta think on your feet and make decisions in a split seconds in classrooms if things does not goes as what you plan and emotionally because sometimes, your students just dun wanna listen and when you scold them and tell them what is right, they blame you for that, it is kind of sad... so usually i will not be too emotionally attached like I used to... it is a baggage for me...

I am fated to teach because everytime I applied for different type of jobs, the job that respond to my application will always be teaching jobs... I have taught in private schools... one for little children and another to conduct enrichments classes for schools... but the workloads are crazee and the hours are crazee and the people are horrible so I surrender and applied to MOE and I got the job... so i think it is really fated somehow... i love to interact with the students, definitely when they excel in their work I am so happy for them...

why dun you stay in your current job... sounds relaxing especially since you are preggy... maybe you stick around till you gave birth and rethink again about switching.... because it can be stressful to switch jobs when you are preggy... u dun want the stress to affect ur baby...

milky, if you wanna HR email, I have one HR person that I always email too... I can pm you her email address...

Hi dryperbabe!
So nice to hear from you again
I think the HR people are in charge of different areas and the one you always email might not respond or get pissed off.. i'll try calling them again later. The dateline to reply 'Vital' is tomorrow :p Maybe i'm not fated to teach afterall. The timing's just so wrong, somehow... Thanks, dryperbaby for your advice and all. Your students are indeed lucky to have you as their teacher. Maybe I should just stay on in my current job afterall. hmmm...

milky, not a problem... if you really need the email address just let me know... I dun think she will be pissed off... if she is not in charge of your area, at least she can refer you to the correct person in charge... :)

Powerpuffs,nope...not signing Joshua up for act3. The location is not convenient.

Where's mummies like crystal, j&mum, hui, quiling and lin huh? Their toddler attented act3 leh...but they didn't give their comments.

hihi... long time no chat ladies...
so long didn't come to forum le, and here seems quieter wor...

yup, ACT3 - don't think Javier will enjoy... infact can see he's abit frighten of the teacher... after awhile, he ran ard the class and keep banging on the door... i think he can't wait to get out! :p

morning ladies!
back @ work and i'm here again!! *happy*
back from bkk...luckily came back on mon nite, if not i'll be stucked in bkk...

milky, good to see tha the teachers here replied u on ur query...congrats on ur pregnancy

spin, good tha u can tbf here now on daily feed...can work on the extra milk slowly...good job

pinkzee, how are u? any MS?

Greetings from Manila!!!

sporty, welcome back! how's your trip? Had fun? Shop a lot? Ya man ... heng you come back liao

cary, i come back...u go overseas...LOL...trip was ok la...didnt shop as much as last time cuz brought 2 "excess baggage" with us...so abit troublesome lor...LOL...how's Manila? heard the shopping there buay pai also...

haha ya man!

ahwhhahah ... so did the 2 "excess baggage" behave well? Manila is alright ... much better than the last time I was here in 2005. Yes, shopping is buay pai
bought 2 pairs of shoes last night and more shopping tonight keke ... also bought clothes for Ian from Gingersnaps (one of my fav brands) - Gingersnaps is a Manila brand and it's so much cheaper here!!!

cary, the older one kept asking when are we going back and kept pestering my mum at nite and dun let her sleep...younger one was ok, super friendly to everyone, kept smiling to strangers lor...but he cried buckets on the flight back as he was sleepy and the ear pressure kept irritating him! hehe... wahhh, sounds like great shopping...envy envy

Sporty, you are damn heng lor...back on time!!! Or is it better to kana stucked there so you can shop more??? Hehehe...

sporty, your mum didn't sleep well then ... but glad that the younger one was ok
(minus the flight back)

irene, very funny hor! whahahhaha

irene, dun want to kena stucked there la...so troublesome leh with the "excess baggages"...

cary, my mum didnt sleep well for first nite...2nd day she very clever liao, made my dad walk walk walk the whole day till he KOed immediately after he showered when we reached the hotel...hehe

Sporty, wahaha...sounds like looking after your dad is the same as looking after Athan. Just make them damn tired in the day and they will sleep well at nite!!!

sporty, your mum is very clever! aiyoh, watching channel newsasia now and saw the scenes of the chaos at the BKK airport.

hehe maybe will join her later in the late afternoons for appts then evening continue shopping kekeke ...

cary, wahhh...sounds like shopping trip leh...kekek :p any good buys must share share :p
ur abish reminds me of someone...she very long never log in liao...kekkeke :p

sporty, work so hard so must pamper oneself in the evening mah kekeke ... hahahaha yes yes ... she very long time never log in liao

Now I see Sporty and Cary chatting away here hor, reminds me of the preggie days when I just come in here and read then I keep seeing that few names posting!!! Wahahaha...

cary, fun leh...i also wanna go...next time u biz trip, must let us kno where, then we go and bunk in with you...heheh

irene, hahha...the good old times...but all those few names...now dunno go where liao hor... (GLAYZ, WRU??? come out!! )...