(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

db, bunnybluey, vic ma

Yah. 1st time mum back in 2005. Super the blur and went for total breastfeeding. Plus 1st baby, super overwhelmed with everything. Then super stressed and lack of sleep = dwindling milk supply. Plus I didn't have a CL (by my own choice) and cos I just can't stand a stranger in the house, let alone those old-fashioned Auntie types so seriously was a tough learning curve.

When I gave birth #2 in June 2007, much better already. Just relax and do my own thing so more milk this time but got lazy after a while so stop breastfeeding after about 5 months also.

Now #3 pregnancy even more slack so very very relaxed already. Just can't wait to pop now but still got 4-5 months to go

Hui
congrats on your arrival of baby Noelle.
It seems as if it was yesterday when I wished u congrats for your second pregnancy.
So been months since I went on this thread .....

I hope everyone well

jen/ros, my personal blog lor... was down... now i can get in already... hehheheheh

vendy, added u to my blog

mummyo, i also gave birth to my first one in the year 2005... so our kids same age huh....

jen
me going korea for a week, leaving baby and hubby at home. ;P

rina
you have lots of leave haven't take leh....
after i take this 2 weeks of AL, i'm only left with 3days wor.

hello ladies
great to see the thread so lively today

rina, seems like the response for the gathering's pretty good...maybe we shd change the gathering to 18 mths bb bash instead of xmas gathering!! hehhe...pinkzee, with her creative brains will come up with the tee shirt design...dun worry abt tha...hee hee...think gathering shd be afternoon ba...

ros, good tha ur fil and amadeus's very close...at least there's no prob of ur FIL helping you...

pinkzee, today so happy rite...so many pple rub honey on u :p

hui, jia you with the bfing
agreed with the rest of the gals...latch all the way now...at least for first 4 weeks to establish the supply...its more tiring but its worth it
jia you

jas, how's sahm's life for u? i thot u left for korea already leh...still told the gals u must be enjoying urself liao...

jen, u also very happening today...great to see u ard to jazz up the thread!

sweetbaby, rare to see u here...how's u and luth?

jen ,,
haha u missed the roar .. we can ROAR for u .. keke ..

Sporty ,
teh CC i went to is near the yishun blk 832 .. yishun south CC i think .. under a gp called the talentplus p;aygroup.. still thinking if i want to send zac .. maybe next year feb when i have my maternity leave then i bring zac to experience ..

Gathering ..
me onz ...
Event: Christmas cum CNY Get-Together
Date: 7 Dec / 14 Dec (Pls indicate ya preferred date)

Interested Mummies
1) rina - ok with both dates
2) sporty - ok with both dates
3) cary - ok with both dates
4) j&mum
5) jas - ok with both dates
6) ken-ma
7) xtine
8) irene - prefer 7/12 since next day PH
9) jen - prefer 7/12 as i might hv other plan for 14/12
10) sweet
11) powerpuffs
12) ros_11 - ok with both dates
13) pinkzee - prefer 7/12 since next day PH
14) Lin - 14th Dec(not in sg on 7th Dec)
15) dryper - both dates are ok for now...
16) vendy - ok with both dates (unless I got duty)
17) Qiuling - ok with both dates but not on the afternoons

sporty, yah... glad tt the response is good.. :D so how?? changing the theme? to 18mth bb bash?? y not 18mth bb bash cum christmas.. then we can do gift exchange???

qiuling, where is block 832? near khatib? and how are their fees like?

rina, yup yup think 18 mths bb bash cum xmas party sounds better ! cuz got pple ask me why is it called xmas and CNY gathering...kekkeke :p

sporty, oh.. issit... cos the date if early dec most cannot make it then will be in ard jan le ma.. so must find event tt coincide with the dates... kekekee.. gd reasoning??

Hi rina/db,
Thanks for the blog invites.

Sporty,
Ya ya I agreed 18 mths bb bash cum xmas party sounds better. Hmm "some pple asking"...you talking abt me har? Hahaha!

rina, hahha...no la...most pple will ask why (besides vendy...opps
)... ahhhahah

vendy, i never say anything abt WHO isit hor...u say urself now hor :p

vendy, no meh?? :p

ok gals...anymore ideas for the 18 mths bb bash besides gift exchange, tee shirts?? suggestions suggestions!!

sporty, yah ler.. still in office shaking leg... hahaha.. no leh... must leylong.. see who can help to rent function room... heehee..

irene, no la.. cos hope to accomodate all ma.. heehee..

Rina, its nice to accomodate all but I think difficult lah..coz so many of us. You can just go with majority.

rina/sporty
i going korea with my parents and 3yr old niece.
so far being SAHM is relaxing, but dun think i can do this full time, i'll go mad! LOL!
so pei-fu those full time SAHM.
been going shopping and dinner with hubby and baby the past few days.
but today and tom have course, so hubby will look after baby by himself.

tom nite then leave for korea.
any shopping list for me?

sporty ,
they charge 145 per month for a 3 hrly / 5 days a week .. the enviroment is very clean and i spoke to the teacher .. she is quite good ... hmm but she advised me to send zac in only at 22 mths .. not at 18 mths cos she say too young .. they are closed in dec .. and jan is starting of new term but teacher mentioned that is is better to come in in feb cos a lot of older students will be unsettled in jan cos back from holidays and this might frightened zac .. she suggested feb so that the children are settled and ready for learning and if new student comes, they can concentrate and blend in more readily.. playgp can join till 3 years plus or till K1 ..

rina, wow you work so late huh... geez... i have to zzzz early because the kids wakes up pretty early... so gotta start work early... kekekekeke

jas, no leh.. dunno wat is nice there.. u juz enjoy ya trip wif ya parents n niece..:D

qiuling, the centre u mentioned is not a childcare centre right?

DB ,
thanX for the advice on time arrangement .. but u are still super la ... can finish the chores in such a short time .. 1.5 hrs .. then the kids run around the house the whoel day ?? My zac is super active .. he only needs a 30 mins to recharge and i cannot make him sit down to do things ..

qiuling, no prob. 1.5 hrs I will only manage to cook their lunch, vacuum and mop the floor. once done, I will teach show them flash cards/teach my gal some stuffs... by then the lunch should be ready. I will feed their lunch. after lunch usually my boy will have his first nap. so i will on some vcd for my gal to watch for that 1 hr... after my boy wakes up, I will bring them out to walk walk or play downstairs or bring them to do my errands or if I need to iron the clothes I will do it at this time because my boy will be able to play on his own for while since he just woke up and more fresh. at 3pm is my gal and boy nap time... also my free time... HURRAY... once they wake up, i will need to prepare their dinner, feed them dinner and bathe them again... while waiting for daddy, I will read to them or play with them... then it will be my dinner time (usually i dun cook, hubby will buy back, so not so bad). once i finish eating my dinner it is their sleeping time, that will be around 8 to 8.30pm. then it is time to spend the rest of the nite with hubby like watching movies on the laptop or have some conversations, updates on what is going on during the day etc... everyday is like that except weekends... after while you will get used to it...

Here is the recipe if you wanna try out:

Blueberry Muffins
From Williams-Sonoma Muffins

For the topping:
¼ cup (1½ oz/ 45g) all-purpose (plain) flour
2 tablespoons each granulated sugar and firmly packed light brown sugar
¼ teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 tablespoons cold unsalted butter, cut into small pieces.

For the muffins:
7 tablespoons (3½ oz/ 105g) unsalted butter, at room temperature
¾ cup (6oz/185g) granulated sugar
2 large eggs
2¼ cups (11½ oz/ 360g) all-purpose (plain)flour
4 teaspoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
1 cup (8 fl oz/ 250ml) milk
1½ teaspoons vanilla extract (essence)
1½ cups (6 oz/ 185g) fresh blueberries or frozen unsweetened blueberries, unthawed.

Preheat the oven to 375 Fahrenheit (190 degree celcius) . Grease 12 standard muffin cups with butter or butter-flavoured nonstick cooking spray

To make the topping, stir together the flour, granulated sugar, brown sugar, and cinnamon in a small bowl. Using a pastry cutter or your fingers, cut or rub the butter into the dry ingredients just until coarse crumbs form. Alternatively, combine the dry ingredients and the butter in a food processor and pulse just until coarse crumbs form.

To make the muffins, in a bowl, using an electric mixer on medium speed, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each edition until blended into the butter mixture.

In another bowl, stir together the flour, baking powder, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the butter mixture in 2 increments, alternating with the milk and vanilla. Stir just until evenly moistened. The batter will be slightly lumpy. Using a large rubber spatula, gently fold in the blueberries just until evenly distributed, no more than a few strokes. Take care not to break up the fruit. Do not overmix.
Spoon the batter into each muffin cup, filling it level with the rim of the cup. Sprinkle each muffin with some topping.

Bake until golden, dry, and springy to the touch, 20-25 minutes. A toothpick inserted into the center of a muffin should come out clean. Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let cool for 5 minutes. Unmold the muffins. Serve warm or at room temperature.

wah db laggi drool! was about to buy new muffin trays cos mine too big (12 pcs) for my new oven. heng! my SIL already bot i just saw haha!

can save $ with cheaper paper cups lor with the muffin tray, my MIL bot those firmer muffin cups - i heart pain.

DB i have seen canned blueberries would those do too? found them at phoon huat last time but i was buying muffin cups for my MIL.

db,
I really take my hats off you! you're really wonder woman leh .. hee
looking after 2 kids is already quite a handful + housework... and still can BAKE! WOW! Btw, the blueberry muffins look really delish!

vicma,
u can consider Cherie Hearts... think that one very near your place rite?

HELP

Need ppl to suggest venue for the bash cum christmas gathering.... please state ya suggestions

1)my hse at boon lay...

vicma,
no intention to put my boy at CC at the moment. tot it was really near you so just throwing some suggestions

rina,
can be somewhere more central? hehe...
public places also good yeah? maybe can go gymboree free play session or something? haha.. some random suggestions..

thanks PZ, me is maid looking after la - CC is more to free up her time to do housework while my girl gets some 'formal' entertainment cum education. ! I print flash cards until very tired liao.

pinkzee, wah... was being 'questioned' le... can we suggest ya parent's pl if we have alot of participant.. alot of them still like ya parent's condo function rm.. heehee... or not alot then sporty has volunteered her pl.. :p

rina,
my bro gonna book the function room in dec, too bad lah only one booking per unit. perhaps u can check with others who are available

Long time no login.

Hui,
Congrates to your baby! Glad to receive such good news!

DP,
Wow, muffins again! You're really a happy mummy!

Sorry, can't be there for the bash, will be in Aussie till 15 dec. My first time travelling with the little one.