(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

Crystal

very good le your boy - my niece is 2 but she doesnt know how to be gentle to Vicky - only the 4 yr old one is ok. but your boy is only 1+ he knows such things already.

I heard horror stories of elder child pushing or pulling the smaller one off the bed & stuff usually out of jealousy especially between siblings.

I think you & your hb taught him well! usually when a child feels loved, & secure - they will be able to demonstrate this kind of affection too!

wahh...so happening here eh...
isaiah vs gabriel??!! :p

lin, great tha gabriel's well...seems like a long 3 days for him and u...and gabriel's really bright, can do so many things! envy envy

crystal, agreed with everyone one, ur isaiah always surprises us with his words!!

irene, dun worry la...i'm sure ur sahm's efforts will pay off also...joshua's bright in other ways

hui, good to kno tha ur blood test's cleared!

FYI: This prom is really gd, too bad we won't be in sg, else would defn bring Gabriel there. Tics are hot, and they're on sale now but need to be friend of sso to purchase, public sales start on 15th.....but if i am not wrong, i think i saw a thread on some mummies buyings tics from a member on this forum.....

Babies Prom is held at the Victoria Concert Hall. www.sso.org.sg. Back for the 7th yr, it gives children an early start in classical music as a fun and interactive event with the conductor, Peter Moore and orchestra. It is suitable for children 6 yrs and below. Tickets are required for children 2 yrs and above. It's an hour without intermission. Tickets are $19 and $24 excluding booking fees from sistic.tel: 63485555 or www.sistic.com

sweet, got 10% disc for 1st term of enrolment? but wat if i cld oni start nxt term?

every baby is special in their own ways. most importantly is they are healthy.

hi hi ladies

y m i posting at this hour hahahaha

wow looks like most kids are progressing very well with their motor skills as well as comm skills... with our love and constant caring for them im sure they will grow to become someone of great compassion and with bright future... esp those whose mum become sahm to look aft them...

hui great tt ur health is good... bb due soon? take care ya...

powerpuffs, not only sahm's kids lah...I am sure all the grandparents or whichever in laws will shower our kids with lots of love.

Healthy and happy still the most important!

#2 on the way
my SIL's #3 on the way her #2 getting more & more whiney le - everylittle thing cry - maybe also cos mummy so tired doing housework & cooking & caring for everyone + physically carrying the ball - + now no maid also - i think #2 feels neglected (this one bf for nearly 2 yrs! maybe that's why so sticky).

I think its in these times staying with inlaws & having my younger unmarried SIL around really will help - more people to give the child attention as well.

When i was young i didnt even bother about my younger brother - i lived with my granny & my aunties & uncles there were like 8 over adults in the house - I had no lack of attention - became quite a rascal even cos i was BOSS haha!

irene
definitely our kids r showered with lotsa love from ppl ard them... yes totally agree healthy n happy...

vic
i oso tot u got drumroll... hahahahha

i lonely at work - busy interviewing staff bored & sian. alot of work to do la but so distracted cos HR always get disturbed fo this & that - lose concentration liao

Powerpuff, what u doing at 4++ am? BFing uh?

I've sent out my first resume of after 6 years.
A little stressed. Afraid of the unknown too. Wonder what's going to be like. Sigh ... Oops, sorry I'm off topic.

By the way, congrates to all who are drum-rolling.

Read that most babies here can talk? Mine only is good with papa and maa. The rest is glibberish. Teaching her xiexie for weeks still no sound. Sigh ... Am too lazy and tired to do flashcards, she's also not interested. Dunno how.

By the way, I've read some of you are with Growing Up Gifted. Is it good? Thinking of sending her there after her gym lessons end. Any comments?

gd morning everyone!

phy_o, so funny that i was going to send my gal to gym lessons after her GUG ends while u r thinking of the opposite.

anyway on GUG, personally i think my gal doesn't really response well to the class, but 2 of friends swear by GUG,they said that their kids response very well...
In arielle's class i do see kids who response to the teachers , i also see kids who cry throughout the whole class..so i guess every kid is diff, the class appeals to some but not all.

Gd moring !

phy
vicky's interested only in humans & children - thus one of the sets has eyes ears mouth & nose & head & boy girl - maybe get baby started. a quiet no distraction place like in your own room no tv on, & the child is not distracted nor wanting to play with something else more interesting - happy & calm then its the best time for flashing & at 1 second a card - its just a 2 min thing lor. ya have to sound exciting too la - else cannot interest the child too. Sometimes its very hard - i am like so freaking exciting liao but she is busy playing with a cup or something she jsut picked up! must be very patient too.

sometimes i also have to fight with daddy who wants to watch tv even with the tv sound off & the screen flashing not good enough - she could be distracted with teh lights or want to latch! I ahve already "trained" daddy to switch off tv for 2 mins when i need & sometimes - he does the flashing himself to vicky while i am doing my stuff! its a nice thing to see hb picking this flashing up too.

Now on transportation - vicky's typical girl - not interested in cars, trucks or buses la - only aeroplane then she is interested.

We dont know if the flashing works or not - just trying now to see - since alot of parents are doing it - should be some basis on its effectiveness? Vicky will surprise us with some words sometimes on off here & there. I hope its because we are talking & flashing at her lor. Its like dont do now then do later not so effective? KS or what its just parent's individual decisions too.

i come home 8-9pm at nite & leave the house around 8+ i can only flash at nite - I was told actually children are fresher in the morning - i do try to flash on sat mornings la if i wake earlier haha!

i got smitten by the Flashing la thanks to SNGma now i am a flashy mum. to me i just do 2 sets a week flash once a day after one week retire the set of cards.

I see it also as a way to increase baby's attention span which will be useful later for kindergarten or reading books ba - the slowly increasing of the number of sets too hopefully.
but i dont go for classes for now - hb said too early + my schedule doesnt work around classes - so maybe this is why i am more interested in flashing.

how Heavy is your pig?

Vicky's 9kg is everyone else much heavier already? I am getting paranoid seeing her bones alittle. But as long as they are healthy its fine - just hope MMR no fever or what - just scared she sick lose 500gm i heart pain haha

just got this slimming health challenge - wondering if i should keke!
http://yourtotalhealth.ivillage.com/walkforweightloss.open.html?nlcid=h1|09-03-2008|

vic_ma, what flash cards are u using? got any recommendations? i bought this baby eistein ABC flash card but i find that the pics not very friendly leh..as in the cat dun look like a cat, it's a oil painting of a cat, can see cannot see like dat...

phy,
me just brought my boy for GUG trial on Sunday, and he's enjoying lots. perhaps u wanna go for the trial class before u decide to sign up for your gal

yuppers, agree with you that not all tods will respond as good, one of the kiddo cried almost throughout the class... also sometimes we may think it's fun but our kiddo just dun think the same haha...

phy, it's a good idea to go for trial class, like wat pinkzee suggested...dun be lazy like me...coz i just sign arielle up straight away coz lazy to wait for trial class.

so pinkzee, i guess u r signing up GUG? ha..i will miss u...coz u will prob start when i stopped

baby enstien not bad for starters too.

i bot the set sporty helped us to buy its $7.90 at popular now 2 for $12 same price as our BP price - think most of us bot the whole set of 9 topics. Besides that i go anywhere - popular, even longpang buy shisida methods few sets to try out.

got some BPs around too in forum.

i was told it better to get picture of the real animal, as in photo so that child will not get a funny idea that a cat looks like some artist's drawing lor - but the real thing. ( i didnt know i always felt the photos ugly le prefer paints more artistic i tot - but ya photos is better - wait vicky one day see real tiger dont run faints!)

I bot some from popular as long as price is right, some from SM, some just words which i yet to start flashing, some maths dots which some mummies here said the classes their children go to flash also. - i got the ppt for maths dots 1-100 can print ourselves - just abit lechey - i bot the 1-50 dots liao so just printed the rest.

http://www.first-school.ws/theme/printables/flash-cards/numbers-shapes.htm cel gave me this link - think its only 2 sets i printed myself at work ahha!

http://www.mylittleones.com.sg/products_flashcards_customisedcards.htm there was a BP on this each card abtou 30 cents with the BP was 20% off - i was thinking of asking her privately for discounts. BUt not all her topics very useful - you need to go in & check the listing (http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1618070.html?1217953227) this is the closed BP url for viewing the cards.

I just buy when i see them - but after a while need to be picky about the topics & dont repurchase similar topics - its when you start to explore printing yourself as well.

I also went bras basah to see there's one shop with cheap children's books & simplier cheaper kind of flash cards (but material very thin) & there's 30% off too on top of their already cheap prices - but some of the books they have quite old condition but for the price i dont mind lor.

any FC lobang let me in also - i slowly buy few sets each mth - i dont fix weekly too sometimes i flash 8 days instead of 7 then rest 1-2 days, depending - sometimes lazy la keke!

I am still a shopper by nature - must keep telling myself buy already must flash - so just slowly buy slowly flash. alot of thigns to keep up man - still got food menu to read up & change every few mths else the pig will get unhappy complain & the zoo keeper takes a while to feedback to me (zoo mgt). By the time i realised hor the pig lost weight liao!

Must ask Sngma la she FC queen le.

hi vic ma, thanks thanks! ur info on the FC very detailed leh
the website is good ! so do u stick the printout on cardboard to flash to vicky?

vicky_ma, me not flashy mama hor.. nothing to flash to her.. grace see liao also run cos no nei nei to drink!.. hahaha..

BTW, it's 200 cards a day, not 2 sets a week leh... haha.. do once in the am b4 u leave for work and once in the evening when u are home lah.. haha

Mummies next gathering...

Date: 17 Sept 2008
Time: 7.00pm
Places:
1. orchard hotel (1 for 1 international buffet, w standchart card)
2. drinks (tbc on venue)

Confirmed parties:
J&Mum
irene
sporty
xtine
pinkZee
cary
ros
rina
powerpuffs
Glayz
ken-ma

TBC parties:
crystal
hui

anymore ladies joining?

915 sorry i didnt congratulate u!

ya i print colour at work then cut & stick on thicker paper like card board style to flash.

sngma correct me its 200 flashcards a day according to SM i think.

I do my own method just 2 sets a day. not enough time or $$ to flash so much! 2 times a day? faints!

hi ladies, anyone using avent bottles? i'm tinking of spreeing e 9oz bpa free bottles fr drugstore.com as spore dun hv, it's US$18.99 for 2 bottles, got a US$10 off orders >= US$100, so abt 5% disc if cap at 10 sets, ea set wld be US$18 (before adding intl shipping fees). wld be trying out HSBC iDEALS, so got shipping rebates for that.

Your 915,

You drum rolls? Congrates!
Ya maybe I should send her to trail class to check for her interest.

Pinkzee,

You sending your boi for lessons? What time trail class did you go and what day?

Everyone else seems to be on no#2 hor? So many drum rolls! All going for little ox?

Vicma,

Aiya, my pig is 10.5kg at last count (abt 2 weeks ago). My MIL says shes too skinny! Sigh ... She gave me a damn hard time last week, kept saying she's too thin and cos of her medication, she (baby) must now poh (take tonic). In my heart, I was thinking wat tonic to take? Baby so small? Kept telling me I am not feeding her enough. I guess we all know, baby doesn't want means wasted milk right? Furthermore milk isn't cheap. Sigh ... my maid and I kept telling her we will be wasting food, she refuses to listen.

Now we feed her rice. Our normal rice with soup fish and veg, she says rice too hard, baby cannot digest. Anyone can tell me is it true? Really very vexed, having a MIL too hovers over my every move.