(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

rina, hb used to give my ILs 1/3 or more of his salary b4 we got married. then his unmarried sis aso gave $1K+, can u imagine 2 old folks need to spend $2K+ a mth & still not enugh? so when we planned to get married, i told hb needs to cut down his contributions since he's going to hv his own family & hse. tink my ILs really tink their son earns a lot since we can own a car & go for tours, but in actual fact, i was e 1 paying, fr hse utilities bills to car loan to travelling. then when we planned for a bb, told hb need to cut down & stop paying e variable component - FIL's CC bills, his 2nd sis insisted to carry on give FIL e CC, so i told hb then let her pays. surprisingly when hb cuts down e contributions by more than half, they still can manage, so aren't they being pampered BIG TIME back then. i told hb since his parents don know how to save $ & dun hv any insurance, he & his sis shd help them save $ for rainy days. i tink my ILs old tinking, heavily rely on their children to support them. for me, i told hb we hv to plan more & save more for our future as i don wan to be our children's liability as i tink e living standards in future wld be even higher tha our children may even hv prob trying to feed themselves & their family.

hello

ohh jen, i totally agreed with you!!! my mum too, totally depends on us for her everything... and she dont save at all... if she has extra money, she rather go for tour or buy skin care product!!! she will spend every single cent that we give her... me too, told hb that we need to save for our future, i dont want to be our children's liability too

pooh, i dun use nursing wear because I find that the hole for the breast is always not at the right position and end up really messy... hahahaha... i wear normal clothes and nursing bra and I have a nursing shawl. the shawl really helps alot when there is no nursing room ard. now when i am out, i will carry my boy in ergo, put on my nursing shawl and I will bf him while I am walking about. but this is not advisable for younger babies... for younger babies best to sit down to nurse using the nursing shawl if no nursing room is available...

sweet, dun worry too much lah... just prepare for the worse and when it turn out alright, it will be a breeze. like tt time my gal wakes up every hr for 3 months... when i preggy with my boy, i tell myself he could be worse, tt means wake up every 1/2 hr or the same... when he was born he wakes up every 2 hrs... i am so delighted... so prepare for the worse but hope for the best... :)

caitlyn, yah lor.. hee.. 40% leh.. and she dun earn much also.. gross is 1.6k..

jen, yah mann.. i totally agreed with u.. tt y we dun wanna let them know we went hols and have a car.. more headache.. hb was giving his mom 1/3 of his pay last time before we got married then on top of tt.. if she need to see doc, she will ask him for more.. thus hb no saving at all.. then when we wanna get married, she onli give us prob.. nv help at all.. no tea ceremony.. then on the day of our customery wedding still turn up late at my new hse.. she is lucky i still call her 'mother'.. give hb face onli...

pooh, cant advise much.. i fail terribly for breast-feeding.. hee

hi sweet and caitlyn, yes yes bukit timah plaza not far from my place. near my school i used to teach,wat's the name of clinic?
thanks so much. i hope his condition becomes better, if not, will bring him there in future. wat time does it open? do pple go earlier to take number>

jen, hmmm... you brought up a good point! I guess when I want them together, I'll just have to ease them in somehow. They'll get used to it I'm sure

caitlyn, my ILs also got some financial problems cos have to finance their flat with cash due to bad planning... so now my hubby have to give them quite alot of money monthly. But since she look after Joy for me, we just take it as if they are "earning" the money lor.

pooh, I would use the sling and cover when bf in public... if not hide inside the nursing room, then can just lift up the whole top.

jen, I also use same strategy as you. Before we got married, hubby used to give 1k+ to his parents every month and he got zero savings. Then his bonus time, he will give them 1 extra month of allowance. Then I made him cut cut cut till now its 30% less monthly and dun have the 1 extra month. I told him the extra month put in my pocket better lor...

sweet/caitlyn/rina
hee.. no prob.. din manage to latch trimelle on myself earlier on.. that's why now i got to ask

jen/db/mich
thanks. i think i'll get myself a nursing shawl then.. saw some of the nursing wears, their holes is really out of way..
btw, ur kids normally nurse for how long? now each feed, kieran took 10mins only leh and the time interval is abt 1 1/2hr to 2hr.. the 1st 3-4days, he took 20 mins but 3hrly.. i scared he only drinkin the foremilk.. i tried to burp and wake him up to feed longer but he seems more interested in meeting "zhou gong"

Rina
How come I see my MIL shadow when u mention ur MIL...
My mil lagi best la...will tell hb..her sis (hb aunt) need to go here and there..and tell hb to send...

Qiuling
Aiyo... tooth will come out one la..
U just need to wait... think Sky also pop out his first pearly after he was 1..or turning 1...

CAitlyn
Shane is still the SEE NO TOUCH
ytd..my aunt reach my grandma house... tot Shane din see her..so carry her from behind...and Shane wail the moment she was lifted..
and the rest of the day...any SIGHT of that aunt will make Shane cry BUCKETS lor

Sweet
For Sat..it was a SECOND time that we sleep together as a family...
Sky actually protest in his sleep when we move him from the master bed to the mattress on the floor
When morning...Shane woke up first...make a lot of noise....
Then she went to wake gor gor up...the next thing we knew...BOTH ARE OUT!!! and they left the bedroom door BIG BIG even tho me and hb are still sleeping in aircon lor

Aiyo... Shane also cry by screaming la...but gor gor immune liao.... din hear lor

Mich
Take 1 each is not tiring la...
But Sweet hou mia lor...at least her hb OFFER to take #2 if on FM....
Mine...Sky sleep till morning one...so hb GLADLY co-sleep with him...
But now we are changing our sleeping arrangement...so I can have my bed back... (sky think the master bed is his)

Jen
Wah ur ILs...really RICH sia..IF they know how to plan
My MIL also mah...onli herself..NO HOUSE... NO CPF...no BANK ACCT...each month few hundred $$$ and can claim $$$ not enough
But she no need to pay utilities mah!!!! and she will ask hb for $$$ from time to time...(beside the monthly fixed amt)

Rina, I see...I think what Mich suggested is good. Just give fixed allowance and ask her to spend within her means.
Aiyo...your MIL don't sound very nice to get along with. She very close to your mum ah? Still will call her and scold. And, you actually allowed your MIL to scold your mum? I think your hb must 'discipline' your MIL already.

Qiuling,oh...I didn't know Zac still toothless. Anyway there's really nothing we can do but wait. Yes, I think PD will do some assessment if he is still toothless at 1 year old. Hahaha...I can feel the sharp edges of Joshua's 2 bottom teeth already.
There are condo with 4 rooms.
Woo...seems like everyone wants to buy a condo. Good leh, next time we can have swimming bash at different condo pools.

Caitlyn, my hubby's nephew is also the kind who don't dare to step on grass. He is 6 years old already and still dare not leh. Hopefully Isaiah can outgrow this later on.
Why not ask your ILs to sell their house? Your BIL working now? Did he help with the household expenses?

Elaine, aiyo...poor Dylan. Hope he recovers soon. Maybe you can boil some barley water for him.

Jen, I have to agree on the part which you say MIL always think their son makes alot of money. Hahaha...so next time we will think our son makes alot too.

hello ladies

so much talk abt house, sleeping arrangement eh...

lin, next week is a short week indeed for me...will be on leave for 2 days...hahahha

hui, yes...had an enjoyable mother's day...makan the whole day...hahha

rina, ya...maybe u dun drive when u go back mil's place since its in JW mah, nearby nia...

irene/caitlyn, u two so cute...kept praising each other's son...hahha

caitlyn, i also think isaiah very smart, knos he's called isaiah...i'm impressed
if ur ILs's rental cannot support the loan, why not they sell tha place since the market's quite ok now...at least no need to pay for the loan mah

db, its a resale unit, not new one...cannot wait for new one if not i will be homeless...hahah

mich, how big is ur current house now? in sq m? ya la...u shd consider a 2nd place for investment...of cuz when the market's down la...

qiuling, is block 300+ nearby? think mich answered ur qn, its close to 600k...can can...can bring zac for a swim...at first i was looking at mansionette at ur area also, in the end gave up...hahah

rina, seems like u really angry with ur MIL...cool it...

elaine, hope dylan gets well soon..

Bear, condo with 4 rooms probably cost 1 million *faint* Does your hubby tell your MIL how much he makes? I dun let my hubby divulge this kind of thing to his mother cos we don't want her to think we have money kekeke...

Glayz, I think having to care for a baby for months on end at night is very tiring leh... After 2 months of nite feeds, I almost gone case liao and my hubby had to step in to feed EBM instead.

Pooh, I used to make Joy nurse for about 20 mins each side if possible. But if really cannot then dun force it. A little while later, he won't be so sleepy anymore. I'm also very bad at using the nursing tops, like dun know how to position the holes like that hee hee.

sporty, my flat is 128 sq m. How about your new place? Yah gotta wait for prices to go down first... in no hurry cos CPF has almost no money after 2 yrs haitus from full time work.

mich, condo with 4 bedrooms wun cost 1 million la...have 800k+ one...heheh...128 sq m is big! my new place's abt 111 sq m...abt the same size as my current place...yes, prices are abit steep now, thas why we decided to go for low end ones, at least not as ex as compared to the others...hehhe

sporty, I see, but 800k like alot of money still. I only paid half that for my HDB flat leh... yes agree low end ones are a good idea, think if I buy a condo, I'll also look for the lower end ones... cannot buy a condo in places like Newton or Mt Sophia kind.

mich, how much was ur hdb? my hdb was half of ur hdb leh..hehhehe :p think condo in newton or town areas more for investment la...its so cramped and packed...how to stay?? at the outskirts, there's more space and greenery...

glayz, tha one forest la...hahhaha...i even asked my hb...dunno whether got snake or not leh...hahhaha...so damn ulu...

sporty, my flat was 390k, minus 40k of rebate. yah your flat is a good deal leh, now can make quite a bit of profit
i would love to have a condo overlooking the golf course or something... maybe even in lakeside cos got lake hee hee..

mich, my flat's at the end of singapore la...so was pretty cheap, will miss the small small city view n view of bukit timah from my living room...hee hee...nowadays got the word LAKE sure ex one...every developer wanna build reservoir/lake view units....lol

sporty, oh yah, even if the condo is in the boondocks like lakeside it'll probably be expensive! Actually my dream home is to live near the beach... like Bayshore overlooking ECP. But its just a dream cos its kinda expensive.

sporty, yah, for now, can only dream
tonite I shall dream about it kekeke

catch you ladies tomorrow, gonna log off. Good night!

Bikini
I still haben found a bikini that caught my eye...
saw 1 that seem ok..but amy close spree liao...
and saw 1 I like..but too ex... wahhahahahahahahaha

Sporty

Shane la...
Me too FLABBY liao...cannot wear la..
later even u need to rescue the lifeguard... vomit..faint and drop in the water

Sporty
But I scare...TOO SEXY later she cold cold lor...
Thinking to buy another tankini....
But hor... must buy 6-12mths la...
The current 12-18...a bit BIG la...
and when we get her out of water..will need to hold on the the bottom..in case it was drag down by gravity

glayz, think shd be ok la...if quickly wrap her up after she gets out of the water...u sure 6 to 12 mths ok bo? ur shane's size quite power one leh...

Sporty
I also dunno leh
the current bottom...we need to use strength to pull it up(thighs too bak la)... but once it was up..it machiam a bit LOOSE lor....

Aiya...save $$$ la...let her wear the tankini la

Glayz, should get bright colour for Shane. Usually bb looks nicer in bright colour. The dark colour one save for yourself lah.

Bear
I saw one brighter colour one..i like..but price is DOUBLE...

wahahahahahahaha
Decided that since we dun really swim much..so save the $$ la

sporty, i don mind going to Yishun...quite near to my place...hee hee...jus find tat it will be fun for them to play together...hee hee...

sweet/powerpuffs/mich, tks..will surely enjoy my trip...tink it will be quite fun if Amadeus is not cranky...

glayz, yes, buy a bikini for shane..will be very cute n sexy leh...hahaha...

irene/sporty, the photo of athan so cute
but for a moment, i thought who is tat? hahaha...athan looks a bit different from the pic..tink due to the way he pout his lips..hee hee...irene, u become athan's photographer liao huh? hee hee

sweet, seems u n your hb are very gd at managing your finance...also gd to clear the loan 1st so tat no need to keep worrying abt it...

jen, when i go bintan, i hardly go to the beach...i jus stayed in the resort to rest n relax...hee hee..so if your hb don like going to beach, can jus rest in the resort...when u going to Tioman?

phy, my hb never celebrate lor cos he say shld be amadeus to celebrate for me..he jus wish me 'happy mother's day' nia lor...

rina, y cannot let your PIL know tat u bought a car?

hello gals!

wow! all getting ready to attend swimming bash at sporty's new place?

jen/rina, totally agree with you abt the ILs' thing...i am also in the same boat!

rina, saw your explanation to irene liao why u don wanna let your mil know tat u got a car...tink your mil loves your hb too much liao...hee hee

quiling, i guess there is nothing much the pd can do rite...but i guess tat the teeth will come soon lor...don worry too much...

db, gd leh, both your kids can sleep so well...

elaine, hope dylan gets well soon...

sweet, u shld train your 2nd one to sleep in his/her own room and maybe u can sleep wif your 2nd one then gradually let hm/her sleep alone lor..u can buy a baby monitor if u worry abt your baby sleeping alone..this is wat i do lor for amadeus..

pooh, jia you in your bf...guess those experienced mummies answer your qn..so u really named your boy, kieran? your hb never protest?

mich, bayshore's flats very small one...i also like to live near the beach...my dream home is to have a house by the beach...tink will never come true lor...hee hee

glayz, the bikini looks nice but look more for adult leh...tink amadeus will drool big times if he see shane wearing tat...hahaha...

morning all...

elaine - the clinic at bukit timah plaza is called dorothy baby and child clinic. i dun have e no with me leh.. maybe can ask sweet if she has when she logs in.. can call n make appt..

mich + irene - my ILs not selling their flat as they may want to move back in once my BIL starts working.. but hb n i think it'll be silly coz my BIL will be drained financiallly.. but it's their own call.. my stand is v clear.. if they want to move back, by all means, but we're NOT increasing our allowance to them.. then bil wld prob have to cover the cas portion of the flat repayments (abt 500+) and the elec bills as my ILs wun have e ability to do so.. no pt in our view esp since bil wld only have just started work..

irene - frm e above post, wld hv answereed ur qn.. hee..BIL not working yet.. tt's y can bring isaiah to gymboree with me mah! haha.. but he quite sweet.. nice BIL to have most of e time.. he bot carnations for me on Mother's Day.. and made isaiah give them to me.. wat worried hb n i was, isaiah LUFFS flowers.. hahahha..

ros, yah bayshore quite small... but cosy to have a studio unit by the sea leh... romantic hee hee.

caitlyn, must be firm about the money thing. If you're firm, your inlaws will just back down... better if they move out anyway, so you can have your house and your rooms back for the 2 kids!

mich - hb n i got same stand so tt's good.. i dun mind them moving out of coz.. but i dun want them to do it then move back if they can't cope.. u noe wat i mean? also, think my BIL a bit naive abt money matters coz he not working yet.. plus no family.. it's my bil tt feels v guilty he's taking up one room n wants to mvoe back or rent a room (no way my PILs will agree to tt!).. but hb n i advised him to work longer first.. no pt getting in to debts or not being able to save at all e min he starts work.. next time his wife suffer also.. i told him straight.. one wife sufer can liao.. no need TWO wifes to suffer! haha

glayz, wah... so bad ar... i hate it.. the sis no bf meh? ask the bf to send la.. if not tk cab lor.. like wat my mil always say.. hahah...is it because its like tt in their times??? my mil is i think 55/56yrs old.. born int he yr of dragon... i agree wif sporty tt bb looks better wif colors.. dun buy black la....

irene, no la.. cos tt time over the hse at cck crescent, my hb cannot convince his mom so thot get my mom to help convince her cos ard the same age ma and same level.. who know she so ye man... no.. but i keep complaining to him abt his mom.. nw he seldom talk to the mom much... onli she talk.. he listen nia.. and i wont give them face one lor... she comment something i not happy, i will give her a buay song face and dun respond when she talk to me...

ros, she relied too much on him.... she dotes on the younger son.. :D

sporty, we thot of getg one for investment but i think by the time we are financially lighter, cost of condo wld hv escalated by dunno hw much le..

caitlyn, yah.. must be firm abt money thing.. dun let them drain u up..

caitlyn, can see tt u are pretty close with ya bil..hw old is he? yah.. nd to hv some financial planning.. dun rush into things to please ppl.. cos if in the end cannot manage, will also create headaches for close ones..

rina - no lah.. i not close to him.. dun really tok much.. he v quiet one.. haha.. but we're on okie terms lah.. he's 2 yrs younger.. this yr 25..

caitlyn, at least your BIL is quite zi dong - feel bad about taking up the room. Hopefully next time he can have a good job, so he can share the burden of caring for your ILs. So when will he be starting work?

caitlyn, ic.. but can see he is nice as in accompanying u to bring isaiah to the class when ya hb is not in Singapore.. ohhh... he is same age as my younger sis..

morning all

jen, yup i felt very blessed to have my family & hb

elaine, the addy for Dorothy's Baby & Child Clinic is at Bt Timah Plaza #02-20. Tel No : 64689803.

Opening Hrs :
Mon - Fri 9.30am to 12.30pm
2.00pm to 5pm (except thurs)
Mon & Thurs 5.00pm to 7.00pm
Sat : 9.30am to 12.30pm
Closed on Sun & PH. No need to go down to take Q no, just need to call up to make appt.

db, wow your gal very tek gong, wake up every hr for 3 mths! zayhan must have been a relatively much easier bb to take care of hehe

glayz, it has to be EBM that hb is feeding #2 before he will agree to bunk in with him/her hor.. if feed FM, he will ask me to rotate nite feeds liao hahahaha

ros, we belong to the low risk category so we dun do much investments, our main aim is just to pay off loans ;p

since how young did amadeus sleep by himself in his own room?

mich, its romantic wif there r only the two of u but wif 2 kids might not be so romantic liao...hee hee...

caitlyn, gd tat your BIL feel guilty abt tat, maybe tat y he try to make it up by some other ways by helping wif isaiah etc...but really no pt to rent a room lor if he don have the means...when will he graduate?

sweet, ever since he is born but there will be somebody wif him in his room...the 1st mth, he sleep wif the confinment lady n after tat i will bunk in wif him in his room until abt 8-9mths like tat, we got the baby monitor, n let him sleep alone but hor, he will cry a few times at nite so very tirin to walk here n there to pacify him..so now one of us will still sleep wif him in his room but separately like he in his own bed n one of us will sleep on a mattress on the floor...like tat at least when he is older, he will be ok abt sleeping alone...

Ros/Mich, you two don't look like the beach girls type but dream of staying near the beach. Abit wasted leh...hahaha...

But I think with kids, studio is too cramp and not so romantic already.

Caitlyn, I think your BIL is very nice! His gf is so lucky.

Ask your ILs to sell their place then buy a slightly bigger place lah. What for keep the house when they can't afford it?

Your ILs are damn lucky to have a DIL like you!

Rina, you wanna intro your sis to Caitlyn's BIL ah???