(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

Sporty, think one of the toughest thing to manage when our kid is taken care by our parents is managing our spouse's expectations. My elder girl was taken care by my parents when she was a bb. But my hubby was so upset with the way they handle her (she kept falling sick then) & always complaining. It came to a point that i think i almost went into depression. That's when i decided to call it quits & get a maid to handle when she turned 2. Ever since, my life is good. No more constant nagging. I guess it's always give & take. If we want our kids to be taken care by family, then cannot ask for too much. It's not easy to handle young kids, esp for our parents who are getting old.

hiroshima, haven't seen u in here for quite some time. buy fresh silver fish fr fish mongers? hee... tink i need to enlist my mum's help, at least for e 1st time.

kc, hrd del monte type of banana liang, not gd wor. btw, hv u sms me ur POSB acct details?

yoz ladies...
juz finished feeding him with pumpkin and porridge...he finished 1/3 bowl and down 100ml...now he's in lala land...

dryper, i guess the "restriction" of feeding certain foods at certain mths is mainly becuz of allergy concerns? does it mean tha if bb dun have any allergy for a particular food, we dun have to wait till he/she turns 8 mths old, etc??

jen, so far i also never really puree anything for him...juz porridge...anyways, the HT food jars, i bought quite a few bottles but so far only fed the banana one...

sweet, even trishelle dun like bananas, she can still eat 10 mouthfuls...tha's not bad leh...hehhe

kc, thanks for sharing ur experience...i guess i have to adopt a take things as it comes attitude...

jen, you can get fresh ones. otherwise soak the dried silver fish for 1 hr or so before using.

sporty, yes mainly it is for allergy concerns. because if you add too many ingredients at one go, and if bb got allergy, you will not know which food causes it. some allergy is minor but some can cause death (touchwood), so better be safe than sorry. some people wanna intro fish/meat earlier, it is ok, but you need to do allergy test, feed bb the same fish/meat for 4 days, if ok, go ahead. some vege got nitrates, that can cause baby blue syndrome, again you gotta test for it, some bb already have mature digestive system at 6 months, so got no prob but others may not, so they are at risk. so sometimes certain foods are best to wait till bb is much older... because we never know if bb digestive system is ready or not...

kc, get the small kind from market. del monte as jen said is cooling... in fact for us woman, also not so good to eat del monte banana too much... too cooling for our body.

kc, i bought organic small type of bananas for my girl to try.. yup heard tat del monte kind very cooling

sporty, is it? ok, at least u give me some motivation, i was quite disappointed tat the 1st fruit that i intro her, she dun like! but i will still continue to give her tmr and the day after for the sake of doing the allergy test

Sweet, bananas was the first fruit/veg I gave Joy and she didn't like it too. But I kept giving it to her daily, so now she is ok with it. If not, try something different like pumpkin.

dryper, seems like it's not easy to intro food to bbs, need to read more to find out more abt feeding bbs, u hv any books or website to recommend?

just fed Jerald fish porridge.
Guess it wasn't tasty enough.
after a few mouths, he cried big time cos he was hungry.
had to feed him milk instead.
sigh....
maybe should add chix soup to the porridge in future.
his tastebuds as fussy as his daddy's.

lizardess y dun you add dried scallops for taste?

Jen---dryper has a website of her own, and i think there is this book FIRST FOOD local recipes....quite good..

jen, books I like to read is super baby food by ruth yaron and for asian author will be first foods. the website mich recommend is useful, go take a look.

re: PUB bill
think my electricity bill is the highest la among u all...my range from 150 to 200 lor every mth even though only 3 of us, including amadeus...

re: intro solids
I havent intro new food to amadeus yet..he is still on rice cereal...will let him try apple tomolo...check wif u all: when u all feed cereal to baby, is it cold? cos after I fee amadeus for a while the cereal turns very cold leh...so if cereal turns cold, u all still carry on feeding or warm it b4 feeding again?

Ros, I want to ask you what you feed Amadeus leh coz he looks bui bui. Hahaha...
You are so steady to bring Amadeus all the way to Orchard for the eye checkup!

I mix the cereal with BM so the cereal isn't even warm to start with. Then with the fan blowing, it turn cooler and yes, I still continue feeding.

Oh, and regarding PUB bill...I think mine was pretty low at $50 before Joshua comes along. We do on aircon when the weather is hot.

Now with Joshua, our bill is around $100. Seldom on aircon now. I was still complaining why $100 so high till I see all your bills.

elaine/dryper, oh... i hv e first foods book, roughly browse thru, will try to read more thoroughly.

mich, ok, will check out tt website.

ros, i mix cereal w BM, i do warm up e BM as tt was pumped beforehand & placed in e fridge. i tink mine din turn v.cold, just room temp, which is ok cos anyway, i fed banana/carrot/sweet potato at room temp aso.

bear, hahaha...i jus feed him FM lor n now i use organic rice cereal leh...nothing special...like wat alot of anutie say, he 'han ni'(hokkien)...

with car, it is easy mah...hb needs to be at home to wait for the technician to look at our cooker hood so i say i bring him myself...hahaha...u wan also can la...

his eye checkup is ok but his long-sightedness for both eyes a bit out of the 300 range but the doc say still ok n overall pass...wat abt joshua?

i tink my bill so ex is cos i on the aircon everynite lor...

bear, your part-cleaner will still accept jobs one rite? if yes, can sms me her no? I cannot stand my dirty window liao...

Ros, Joshua pass his test too...everything within normal range.

Okie, I sms you her no. Should hire lah coz your hb can spend weekend with Amadeus instead of busy with housework.

sweet, sporty,
yup yup, i've tried X with quite a variety of food, he loves it
now i try to give him the food in chunkier bite size -- i diced it and cooked it longer to soften it; instead of puree it. He's so far taking it well and he seems to enjoy biting it.. can see him chomping haa.. so cute! like a bo-gay ah pek eating *LOL*

sporty,
hee u like the earrings too? go try it, u'll be tempted for sure
the damage ah.. hmm... can get another exersaucer lah hahaha... *LOL*

mich, yup i am just going to continue feeding her the bananas, hope that she will like it better today

ros, i only warm up the milk and mix with cereal. i dun warm up the cereal in case she gets used to it, next time go outside also need to warm up cereal, i will faint!

bear, PUB bill of $100 for 3 person is very good already esp if u stay at home with joshua during weekdays too! my latest bill was $127, hopefully it will stay this way

pinkzebra, wow xaiver started on chunkier bite size food liao, very advance

Sweet, yah lor, I used to think my bill very high till now. I can see that our usage is below national average. I do mop very often. Sometimes everyday and sometimes alternate days. I bathe Joshua twice a day somemore.

Xavier is much older than our bb leh...

dryper, thanks for ur advice...got it
oh isit, cannot eat del monte bananas too much ah? opps...i eat one everyday leh as my office provides them...then i better cut down and eat other fruits instead...

lizardess, sometimes my mum let my boy drinks abt 10 to 20ml of milk before she starts feeding cereal or porridge...so tha he will have more "patience" for the porridge or cereal tha's coming up...if not he will cry loudly if he's hungry and cannot wait...

ros, think ur PUB bill really the highest...hehhe...like what u say u on the aircon every nite...

bear, wow...ur PUB bill was below 50 bucks last time ... tha's very low...great tha ur boy passed the eyesight test...

pinkzebra, i like ur description of bo gay ah pek...kekkke :p yeah, love ur earrings...i'm already tempted w/o stepping into the shop...ohh, price of exersaucer, got it
kkekekke...maybe can consider after i get my bonus...kekkeke :p

sporty
i tried that before.
but if he dun get enough milk, and i take away the milk bottle and start feeding him the cereal, he'll cry even louder wor!

i'm down with cold and sore throat.
MIL scared until ask me not to look after Jerald, put him in her room.
hubby also sneezing, and she went "yah lor, you spread to him lor!"
*roll eyes*
yah lah yah lah.... all my fault lor.
all my fault for falling sick lor.

lizardess, tink weather nowadays not v.gd, my whole family aso sick. u take care. anyway, just ignore wat ur MIL said.

sporty no prob... as for the del monte banana, my mum told me no good for woman's body... so i nvr eat lah, just eat the small bananas... :)

lizardess, ignore ur mil... we not machine mah, sure sick what even machine also kena 'virus'... you take care and rest well... :)

jen,
yes.. the whites are cutting his gums already, can see 10% of it now hee
and yeah lor, he got so many presents till i so jealous hahaha... ;p

sweet, bear,
hee... yeah if i'm not wrong, Xavier is 2wks+ older than Trishelle and Joshua. I think babies all grow the same, just a matter of how adaptable are they with new things introduced to them. Also depend on individual...my boy prefer thick gooey cereal/porridge, a little bit more runny in texture, he dun like, and will take eons to finish.

sporty,
hehe.. there are a few more on the tray that I like but hor... I control *LOL* the design I got, has it in studs, that one also nice but hor it look big on me.

bear, then i dunno why my bill so high.. coz even if compare on couple alone, our usage is also higher than yours at $80+.. now with bb, sometimes we on 2 fans in our room plus the mosquitoes killer electric thing is on for the whole nite, i guess tat's why it's more ex

xaiver not alot older than our babies, at most 3 weeks? dun think trishelle will be ready for chunkier bite size food in 3 weeks' time.. hehehe

pinkzebra, so far trishelle not much preference for runny or thicker mix of cereal, takes bout the same time to finish. guess she only has an opinon on the food served! haha

Asweet, yup.. i think robinson previously also have the same offer.. juz buy and try whether it height suit my bed height or not.. :D

mich, wow... $100/mth is alot sia.. bb's food is no joke mann..

kc, by then u leve ya 2yr old kid wif ya maid at hm or u still bring them over to ya parent's pl?? cos we are thinkg of getg a maid to look after jerral but not confortable in leaving him wif the maid alone at hm... :D

re electricity bill, i think they tried and tie to the type of flat we are staying...

Rina, by then i sent her to childcare for full day. My maid will bring her back at abt 6 every weekday. My hubby will reach home at abt 7+ & so my elder is alone with my maid for abt an hour plus. I have also placed cameras at home to track her daily activities.

re electricity bill, think mine is the highest. Abt $250 per month. Think also bec we cook dinner everyday & on the masterbedroom aircon everynite. During confinement, it went up to almost $400+. ALmost flipped when i saw the bill.

rina, yah baby's food is expensive! But when they are younger, dun eat so much but at toddler age really can eat. I think better not hire a new maid to look after jerral unless u have someone to supervise as one never knows how a new maid is like... unless she is a trusted maid who has been around for a while.

KC, I think aircon bills are the killer. I stopped using aircon for my girl and bill dropped by at least $30. But cooking dinner everynite means saving on eating out also so the savings are there plus its more healthy too.

Pinkzee, think Xavier is 19days older than Joshua and 14 days older than Trishelle.

Xavier is really a very good eater. Good food processor. Hahaha...

Sweet
My electric bill also high lor...
Me also on the fan for our room onli...
heard others comment that as I vaccum the floor almost every nite so the bill is high...

my is around $80 to $120+ (if I on air con on weekends..for 2 rooms)

its been a loong time since i log in.. just a short update on my life..

Suppose to meet some of the girls here for
Aquamarine on 14 Dec but managed to get booked
on a holiday to Bali last minute and flew off on
15 Dec morning :eek:) ... yoohoo! it was a great
holiday.. 5 days 4 nites in spa resort.. 2 nites
near the mountains (central of Bali- a place
call Ubud) and another 2 nites near the sea -
the eastern coast of Bali. Had two sessions of
massage, visited Uluwatu - a temple, watched the
kecat dance and had a lobster seafood dinner. It
was a good break for me.. haven't been on a
holiday for almost two years!!! Didn't really
shop alot coz most stuff in Bali can find in
Singapore. We bought some paintings and bath
soap tats all....

Tomolo is new yr eve liao, tink most of u shld be working 1/2 day hor?

I will be a student again soon...so excited..hee hee...will be starting class on 10 Jan...tink by then I shld be quite busy n will not be able to login as frequent as now...

bear, when u sms me at 10am plus this morning, i was still sleeping as weekend is my hb's duty to take care of amadeus so only c your msg at 2pm plus...

Lizardess, tink all old folks are like tat one la...jus gnore her...u takce care n rest well

Jang, wow! shiok leh! must be feeling very energised now la after the trip to Bali
I also wanna go to Bali one of these days...

Jang, yah man...damn shiok to be able to go Bali to relax and rejuvenate. I am so envious you can leave your bb with someone to care for and go enjoy.

Ros, wow...so good life leh can sleep till 2pm. So your hb will take care of Amadeus for both Sat and Sun or just one of the weekday?
I also wish to have this kind of luxury too.

re: electricity bill
I'm staying with ILs and heard from them the bill comes up to about $500 plus a month. Total 6 people living under one roof including baby.
2-3 aircons are switched on every nite. We've got 3 fridges.. hehehe.. yes, 3 fridges.. no kidding.. a deep freezer, a normal fridge & a wine cooler. The maid does loads of ironing.. even underwear also iron :p maybe tats why electricity bill quite high..

re: Weaning baby

Mich,
thanks for sharing the website.. very informative. So much better than the book i bought - Feed Your Child Right :p

I've intro my baby the following foods liao:
1) Rice Cereal from Heinz
2) Scraped banana
3) Grine Red Pear
4) Sieved Papaya (today is the first day i intro her)

So far, she is ok with all the foods above.
Noted that she doesn't seem too interested in rice cereal after tasting banana and pear :p
Maybe she find it bland after tasting the sweet fruits.. hehhehe..
Her poop seems ok.
I feed about 2 tablespoons of fruit each time (for 4 days).. wonder if the quantity is ok?
Feed her once a day in the morning ard 9.30am between her milk feeds.. wonder if this is ok as well?
Noticed that her appetite for milk has decreased alittle - by about 30ml.. not sure why.. could it be teething or because of the sweet fruits?

Ros/Bear..
ya.. i really thank my ILs for helping me and hubby.. the holiday really help take away the stresses of motherhood.. temporarily.. hehehe..