(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

lizardesss, I use the HT cereal also... broccoli I steam one stalk, then mash it up very finely before mixing into cereal. Now no choice but to steam softer but later on can be less soft when they can chew better.

sporty, yah been adding broccoli, apples, pumpkin, sweet potato etc to cereal with BM... so far so good
later on the cereal will just become brown rice porridge. athan's porridge sounds very delicious.

hi sporty...
dun frighten me leh!! climb window grilles ah!!ken already climbing out from the cane chair liao... almost fell that day lor.. cant imagine he has more stunts...

anybody let baby tried 'ma you' fish(i think it is called thread fish)? my mum say its very ex leh.. one small pc can cost $7.... faintz....

mich, oh...can add those ah? ok...will try...i always have a perception tha cereal can only add milk like what i usually eat it with,....hahha...his porridge sounds delicious but i'm concerned abt what my mum adds sometimes...the small silver fish is abit too saltish i think and yesterday she added pork liver for the taste, i dunno whether can bb take tha...

sweet, but he have yet to try other meat leh...i kno this gal at the nursing room, her bb tried all kinds of meat liao, like pork, chicken, beef and fish...very adventurous...

ken ma, never frighten u la...its true la...my house dun even have grilles lor...hahhaha...think must install soon...

peck, TGIF= thank god its friday

lizardess, think ma you fish is cantonese name for threadfin...hahah

sporty, ya your mum really adventurous lor..
hmm... friday for me also no use, i burn my weekend doing stocktake

mich
how long you steam the broccoli?
i'm going to buy tonite and let my boy try tom.
only feed the stalk rite?
the flower cannot hor?
kekkekee....
good also.
i like the flower dun like stalk.
so baby eat stalk i eat flower. ;P

lizardess, i dunno is fresh silver fish or what...maybe i will ask her tonite...

peck, so u working late today eh? cheer up...tom can rest liao

sporty, her bb also ard our babies' age? wa, pork liver, really adventurous!

hehe, my place also no grills yet.. will only install when she can walk bah, i will miss the view from my living room!

lizardess, raw apples abit too hard for baby even after mash up. scared can cause choking. broccoli give when bb is 8 months. because broccoli also contains nitrates. yes you can serve toufu, just steam it and serve. or you can cook with porriadge too. dried silver fish is salty, so have to soak for awhile before using.

peck, wah...then weekend really burnt liao lor...is ur company giving you back any off days to compensate?

sweet, yeah, her bb's born early may...yes, gonna miss the view from my living room if the grills are to be installed...which floor u staying on?

ken-ma, yup yup ma you yu and cod fish are the top 2 fish for babies to eat it seems. My elder one still eats half a piece a day! *faint* Her fish costs me $100/month.

sporty, hmm... if u can talk to ur mum nicely about this would be good cos liver isn't a very clean organ... I read it is the main organ in the body that is used for detoxification. I used to eat pig's liver also cos it tastes good but after i read all my health books, I didn't dare to touch anymore.

lizardesss, I feed the flower not the stalk... actually can feed both if you steam it till its soft... think I must have steamed 10-15 mins cos now I'm worried that if its not soft enough it won't be mashy and she may choke on it.

dryper, broccoli also got nitrates ah? I thot its just carrots and spinach according to this website I read... haiz...

peck, sporty answered for me wat's TGIF liao.

sporty, can intro small silver fish & meat so early? i thot can oni intro when it's like 1yo.

those vegetables that contains nitrates are the following:

spinach
beets
cabbage
broccoli
carrots
kale

the vegetable that contains most nitrates are the leafy vege such as cabbage, spinach and kale(kai lan). broccoli and carrots not so much, so can intro during 7 months earliest otherwise better 8 months. :)

dryper, my girl is turning 7 months old in a few days so I guess the broccoli is safe afterall
Will hold the carrots/spinach for another month. thanks for the info.

hi gals.. finally got time to come in..

lizardess, u still manage to get something for yaself ar.. i went there only buy the safety first bed guard.. hahah..

sweet, u 'full victory' at IPS ya.. spent 400+..

sporty, i agreed wif bear that we will tend to comment on each other MIL.. its like tt one la.. tt time jerral's arm fractured also quite straining on my mom.. its not possible to fix ya eyes 100% on bb one.. try n tk it easy.. tomolo will be better!

re: cereal and porridge

I've so far let Xavier tried these combi:
> pumpkin w/ cereal
> carrot w/ cereal
> sweet potato w/ cereal
> spinach w/ cereal
> apple w/ cereal
> bosc pear w/ cereal
> banana w/ cereal
> carrot + threadfin fish w/ porridge cooked with minced meat broth (latest)
> mashed potatoes w/ FM

and this boy loves everything and anything that's served, except for potato and carrot, but now he seems to be growing a liking for carrot. His favourites are pumpkin, spinach and bosc pear.

It's fun to prepare the food, and even more so, to see that he enjoys his meal
Now, he's taking cereal during the mid-morning and porridge ard 5ish.

bear,
yup yup
i switch to new food after every trial period for 3-5 days and he enjoys chomping it all

start with a few spoons (the munchkin feeding spoon) then increase the amt gradually.

Pinkzee, I have no patient to wait for 5 days. Hahaha...I usually try for 3 days only. Can't wait to let Joshua try everything.

Its good that Xavier is willing to eat everything and anything.

hi lizardess...
ma you fish is ngor he ah??dun noe leh.. i am very poor at identifying what fish is what name one..kekek....

hi mich,
$100/mth for fish!!! faintz man!!my mum say the $7 can only prepare about 3 meals lor...

hi bear, i also no patience to wait 5 days lah.. usually 3 days dan i change food liao...

bear,
the daddy call him the "food processor" anything goes! hahaha...

peck,
that's one of the template from LiveJournal, I just pluck and plonk, hee

ken-ma, yah $7 is good for 3 meals for baby, but my girl is now 2.5 yrs old and if I allow it, she will eat up the entire piece of $7 fish ha ha... so must limit her intake.

sporty, i stay on the 17th floor

rina, i saw alot of ppl grabbing the safety first bed guard too! is it a very good deal?

mich, wow $100/mth just on fish is no joke!

pinkzebra, wow xavier also tried alot of food liao!

peck, bo bian lor...if they only give u one day off...bonus coming mah, have to work ur butt off lor

mich, yeah...am aware, but my mum didnt feed him the liver...juz cooked it for taste i think...cuz she cooked the same porridge for my dad and athan...

jen, i dunno whether can or not...so far i have frens who have bb ard the same age as our babies...they started on minced meat or some already used meat to cook porridge...

rina, thks

pinkzebra, i love ur earrings
what is the damage?? kkeke...wow, ur xavier really tried alot of food already...heheh

sweet, icic...then our "view" are similar cuz i stay on 20th floor...hahha

Sweet, yah really no joke leh... but her milk intake these days is very low already so actually save alot of milk powder liao. One tin can last one month.

wah today's topic on bb's menu/... so far ive oni tried carrots and sweet potato for my boy... morning he will have his cereal (currently mth HT brown rice cereal)... lunch n dnr porridge...

tt day my mil dun ve vege so cook xiao bai cai (d leaves oni) for his porridge... tt nite he develope tt red blood spots again... now he is cleared... thk god.... guess its his body reaction to new food... but he juz tried sweet potato dun ve leh... n he tried carrots again tis time ok liao...

jen, silver fish can intro 8 months old... some people give meat earlier some after 1 yr old... so it is all depends on you... no fix rule... :) it only depends if baby can take it or not... meaning got allergy or not...

morning ladies!

sporty, oh... forgot hrd fr where not to intro meat too early. actually, i aso dunno... FTM, so here to learn fr those who hv 2nd or 3rd kid liao, like mich or dryper. so far, me intro e HT apple & carrot food jar, jake gave me e disgusted look, then my mum nagged at me for not giving fresh food. so when she came to stay w us during hari raya, she prepared carrot & last weekend, she prepared sweet potato, at least jake din give us e disgusted look but not tt keen to eat. ytd nite when we went her plc for dinner, my mum fed him w banana, he liked it a lot! haha... so tis lazy mummy had yet cooked anything for him.

dryper, i c... can intro silver fish fr 8mths, but wun it be salty?

sporty, wow u stay even higher floor than me! hehe

mich, icic yalo milk powder nowadays also very ex!

anyway, just now fed trishelle with bananas, she doesnt like it. after bout 10 mouthful, she gave a "want-to-vomit" face

hi ladies!
Been a while since i come in cos really busy at work.
Fed Ariel quite a few things as well. Is it normal for bb to have red rashes ard the mouth after eating? Ariel has that everytime after feed. Initially i tot it's allergic but seems like she has that reaction on everything she ate. So tot it might not be food allergic cos there is no rashes on the body except mouth/ face.

For those feeding bananas, do we give the very ripe ones? Can give the Del Monte type?