(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

oops... wah like that i think my bill not so bad huh... but my hb always complain our bill so high... oh is it your maid overuse the water and electricity? last time without maid your bill lower? because my fren also said after having maid, her bill shoot up, then she got to train the maid how to save and conserve water and electrity...

hi mich...
ya,got more free time but i m new to the industry,so will spend more time learning and going for course,so end upo the same lor.. but i make it a point to play and feed ken ceral before i leave for ofc ard 9plus...

dryper, I actually observe my maid's use of electricity and I think its not too bad. Cos she sleeps at 9pm and only uses the fan on nights its hot. But if I ask her to mop floor and wash toilets or clean stuff then usage of water is expected. My confinement lady was the one who used the most water and electricity. That month when she was here, my bill was $300 *faint*

mich
my MIL speaks abit of melayu but not eng.. if really bo bian, then i'll just have to settle with indon maid..
fresh ones askin for $380 is really alot leh!!

mich, yes once zayhan is 2 yrs old will send my gal and boy to the same cc. at least they got each other. my gal at 2 yrs can speak well so i am hoping my boy will pick up fast in his language ard the same time. once they can converse, send to cc not so bad alr... at least they can ask for help. ya lor that is the bill that we have every months, plus minus. but my hb always think that the bill so high and keep on asking me what i did at home to make it so high... i also dunno...

mich, is it, i didnt know bout the compulsory 1 day off, thot can still pay them $20 off-in-lieu but $380 with 1 off day is super ex for a fresh maid. i think my maid wouldnt want to extend her contract after 2 yrs coz she's planning to get married.. hehe

dryperbaby, ya your bill consider very cheap liao! yup, w/o maid is when the bill was $80 lo, but then the double in bill partly also could be due to the arrival of our bb.. hehe since last time we dun use airpot or on night light ;p

pooh, looks like an indon maid may be better for your MIL. $380 is for the fresh philippines ones... the fresh indon ones should be less than that I think.

dryper, tell your hubby that your bill is very low already
unless you want to not switch on fans or off the TV, or dun use computer, there's probably not much more to do.

mich, wah your confinement lady really use alot of water and electricity hor... $300 is expensive man... cut from her salary lah... kekekkekee

Sweet, I read abt the compulsory off day somewhere leh... meaning if you dun allow off day must compensate $20. Cos I understand some employers dun allow off day and dun compensate lor which is very mean. Yah nowadays new maids are very expensive... cos it seems the maid market is rather tight. So your maid will want to return home? I see, so means u may have to send Trishelle off to childcare, then source a new one for your no. 2

talking about electricity bills... is it true that it will save more electricity if you off the switch at the socket after using?

mich/sweet, yup i will tell my hb tonight when he is back. if want to save some more, just lie down on the bed, do nothing, dun on fan/dun cook/dun bathe/dun go toilet, can save more... kekekekkee

dryper, aiyah cannot cut from her salary lor... but I cut her ang bao a little when I realised she use so much electricity and gas. She kept boiling my bathing water for hours everyday *faint* So I finally told her no need to bath everyday, then I secretly went to shower in my room. But then she is very good, so cannot complain.

ken ma yes it is true... switch off the main switch if you are not using

off days for maid, i think you got to give one off day per week.

dryperbaby, hahahhaa.. if my bill continue to be so high, i will ask my maid not to use vaccum cleaner anymore, use broom much cheaper ;p

hi dryperbaby...
no wonder ur bill can stay so low lah... i avg use $160 to $180 lor!!but my mum cooks lunch n dinner lah... but the bulk of the bills comes fr electricity... must see where i can save more liao...today's newspaper states that electricity tarriff going up again....haiz....

Sweet, yah dun use vacuum cleaner, really takes alot of electricity. Just ask your maid to sweep using broom and then mop. My maid uses the same pail of water to mop the whole house which is fine by me as it saves water.

dyper, ya lor, thank God its only for 1 month.

dryper, yah tell your hubby can hang out in the void deck until midnite everyday so can save the bill for the lighting also kekeke...

dryperbaby, will implement the broom rule soon! hahaha

mich, my maid uses 2 pail of water each time to mop the floor.. no choice coz got to use different detergent for the tiles and laminates leh

hi sweet,
urs is laminates or parquet?if its laminates,u can use the normal detergent that you are using for tiles... but if its parquet, then u have to use the special cleansing for parquet flooring

ken-ma, mine is laminates and we are using the special laminates detergent coz our ID advised that normal tiles detergent might be too harsh on the laminates leh, might cause "pop-up"

aiyah.. sweet... its the same one lah.. as long as ur mop is not too wait and the water dun sip thru the gap can liao... cos i last time also doing ID one....keke...

sweet, no wonder lah... i only use 1/2 pail of water to mop the whole house... maybe you wanna implement, use half pail for laminates and another half pail for normal flooring, then you actually only use 1 pail of water.

ken-ma, hahahah is it! ok, will use your method after we finish the current bottle *shucks* just bought and open niah

dryperbaby, yup wat i mean is half pail each for the 2 different type of detergent, not 2 full pails.. hehehe but then water is not the killer leh, it's electricity

sweet, maybe ur MIL plays mahjong to "destress"?? kekeke... athan's still on milk and cereal most of the time on weekends...dun *faint* la...hahha...cuz becuz most of the time we are out on weekends so its milk and cereals are the easiest...anyways, my house also have laminate and we use the same detergent also...never use diff one

dryper, i guessed so la...but dun think i can be a sahm to take care lor as need to earn $$...so will see how it goes la when the time comes...

mich, wow...u very strict on ur hb leh, will even bill him for wasting electricity,..

ken ma, tumbletots quite fun la...think athan started his more "dangerous" stunts after going to the class last sat...hahha...dunno whether its coincidence or what...but i like the equipment time...i may wanna try the gymboree level 2 and see how diff is it from tumbletots...u keen to go together?

dryper/mich, ohh...use vaccum cleaner will cause more expensive bills ah? didnt kno tha...no wonder my bill's not very cheap cuz i use vaccum cleaner every week...

dryper, u use 1/2 pail to mop whole house?? i use 1/2 pail for 2 rooms leh...so in total is 2 and 1/2 pails for whole house...now i see where the $$ goes to...haiz...

sweet, oh i see... then you wanna try to off all the main switch if you are not using the equipment.

sporty, yup 1/2 to 3/4 pail to mop the whole house. since i have vacuum the house, the floor is not so dusty already so i can mop the whole hse with just 1/2 pail only... if dun vaccum then need to use more water... because the water gets really dirty...

hi sweet,
think ususlly its the electricity that kills ...water n gas only stand a small percentage in the bill ....

hi sporty, i dun mind trying tumbletots/gymboree..... just pray hard ken dun start to do dangerous stunts after that...

sporty, hehe.. u didnt puree any fruits or vegs for athan to try ah? what does your mum prepare for him during weekdays? we are trying bananas on trishelle tmr ;p

dryperbaby, yup will do that coz we usually just leave all the main switches on even though we are not using them

ken-ma, hahahha kendrick already consider one of the most advanced baby in this thread liao!

ok ladies, thanks for the info on your electricity bills, now i can share with my hb... hehehehe.... gotta go now and cook dinner for my gal... talk to you all soon. :)

ken ma, cary going for the gymboree level 2 trial this sun...lets see what comments she have first...if its good, we can go for the trial class...think they will learn the "stunt" from the class la...cuz i have frens whose bbs went to these play gyms...came home and started climbing the window grilles...hahhaa

sweet, nope...i dun puree any fruits or veg...i dun even have any grinder or blender for tha (lazy me!)...haha...so far only cooked porridge...my mum cooks porridge for him on weekdays...sometimes we juz feed the banana to him while we are eating...never really puree or what...

sporty, u mean just feed athan the plain cereal? yah bananas are the easiest. If not just steam half an apple or a piece of broccoli to mix into cereal, very easy too
wow, you really use alot of water to mop floor. My maid uses half a pail for the whole house.

Have to be strict with my hubby cos he can walk out of the room for 2 hours and leave the light and fan on!!! ha ha... I keep telling him to save the planet by conserving water and electricity but he doesn't seem to get it

peck, wow, sleep with tv soon? like that definitely waste electricity.

lizardesss, I guess can scrap and feed raw but I steam and mash into cereal together to feed.

mich
what cereal you buy?
i'm just feeding him with the HT brown rice cereal.
everyday just that.
last week still give him pumpkin.
This week too lazy, MIL also lazy, so nothing other then HT cereal.
haha....

dryperbaby
huh? cannot serve raw ah?
alamak!
dunno how often my MIL has been doing that already.
any reason why?
then i can go tell my MIL.

sweet, not zai la...cuz really have no time...my mum so far added dried scallops, pork, small silver fish, carrots, potatoes to the porridge...last weekend i cooked potato and carrot...think this week i wanna try sweet potato or pumpkin with porridge, but must find time to go supermarket to buy...

mich, ya lor...juz plain cereal with bm...but he's ok leh...u mean add broccoli to cereal and bm? can meh? i guess bo bian as i mop my place once a week and there's constructions going on in front of my house and its very dusty...

peck, sama sama la..my hb now likes to on the tv in living room while he go play game in the study room...cuz he wanna "hear" the tv...hahhaha

peck, think guys behave all the same way la...tha's why all can shake hands...hahha

sweet, aiyo gal...not all the ingredients at one time la...hahhaa...everytime is abt 2 types of ingredients....