(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

sweet, hahah...good one !

bear, u very cute leh...say until like tha...tha day we saw the "helmet" thingy at mums and babes to prevent them from kokking their head...so cute, almost wanted to buy but abit bo liao hor...

hi dryperbaby...
ya lor..my MIL also very protective of ken,say we shouldn't let him crawl ard freely etc etc etc... but we just simply boh chap her lor...cos my hb also gt scars here n there mah... so means that he was also crawling ard bt he grew up fine...so we just let her nag nag nag lor...

ken-ma, i think grandparents forgot tt last time they were parents of babies too and i bet they do the same like us ... now they are grandparents, they are protective of the grandchild... last time i was always punished by my dad when i was naughty but when my gal is rude to him, he just smile and said it is alright, ???!!!... weird huh... then i am the one punishing my gal...

Dryper,
agree..last time when am small alwz kanna beat beat by dad for answering back now my young silbling which is pri 3 & 4 answr back they juz laugh..

Bear,
haha!

now they got so many gadgets to protect bb... my hb ask me if wanna buy knee guard to protect the knee when bb crawling, i tell him last time we also never wear anything... nothing happen to the knee also... unless bb is crawling on the road lor... then need to wear the knee guard...

hi dryperbaby,
ya lor... heard from hb n SIL they will kana left right up down if they are disrespectful to their parents...so hb was saying let's wait and see if one day ken is rude to PIL, see how they will reaction... faintz....

tano, actually as long as the railings are at her neck level then its safe, no chance she can topple over. I only lowered to the lowest for my elder one at about 1 yr old. After that I change diaper on a small matress on the floor.

dryper, ya lor, grandparents always double standard one... haiz...

sporty, good to know athan can pull up
just have to keep a closer eye on him from now. How come she is under stress? Hope your mum is ok.

sporty
must do it straight after the knock

understand how ur mum feels.. when my mum take care, ely fell down.. my hb also grumble.. my mum said once she saw my hb's ard.. she feel some stress there as she said my hb had been keepin a close eye on her.. but back home, i'm the one keepin a close eye on my MIL.. haha

btw, anyone can tell me the cost of having a maid nowadays? wish to have some calculations on it..

back from lunch...

ken ma/bear/hui, i also think the helmet will cause ciao tao..kekkeke :p

mich, my mum needs to take care of my dad as well, tha's why she's like taking care of 2 babies

hi sweet, thought of getting a maid to help my mum when my income is more stabalise lor.. dan at least she can go jalan jalan when she wants to...

sweet
thx.. getting maid is scary thing to me.. i dun like indon maid.. scared of the voodoo stuff they'll do etc.. but if philippines or mymmar.. they cant speak chinese.. very hard to communicate with MIL..

Sweet, electricity doubled??? *faint* I thot your maid only comes home to your place in the evening, how come can use so much electricity and water one? now I am getting worried.

sporty, oh dear, got to take of your father as well. Your mum is really capable then. I can hardly take care of one baby already.

ken_ma, its also $700 for me. My maid's salary is $340 + $170 levy + $200 for miscellaneous expenses including food etc. But it also depends on what kind of luxuries you allow your maid. Mine doesn't get to eat out and I buy the not so expensive kind of bread and rice for her cos my rice and bread is organic kind, which I dun let her eat.

sweet, yah...very hard on her...she did say the more tedious part is taking care of my dad rather than the bb...

mich, yes...esp my dad's getting even more senile nowadays...sometimes he needs more attention than athan...wow, u even buy different kind of bread and rice for ur maid...

hi mich...
think its ard the $700 range hor...actually i got bad experience with indo maid... so think will go for filipino or myanmar. but think will only get one ard mar to april time....

sporty, sounds like a tough job for your mum, how about hiring a maid or a part time cleaner for her so it won't be so siong. yup yup have to go through all that trouble to buy different stuff or else my expenses for her is too high. I also buy her separate biscuits and snacks. Cos I don't want her to eat all my kettle chips or favourite cookies.

ken-ma, filipino maid speaks more english so communication may be easier... u want one fresh from Pilippines or with experience in Spore already?

ken-ma, icic getting a maid will also free up your time in doing housework and can spend more time with kendrick

pooh, mine can understand mandarin and can speak abit coz she has 3 yrs exp in taiwan

mich, i also got a shock! dunno wat happened also, but my hb said that coz last time he only mop the floor once a week or once fortnightly, now our floors get vaccum and mopped 3-4 times a week. then now also iron clothes more frequently liao, coz hb last time lazy to iron clothes ;p then other stuff like wipe windows, grills, doors, glass, mirror all get wiped every week, last time i think only 1 yr 2 times.. hahahhaa oops, now u all know how dirty my place is last time.. hahahaha

sporty, my FIL also has dementia but my MIL not so understanding as your mum..

mich, she dun want any help from part time cleaner or maid...tha's why have to hang on lor...if not will see how it goes, maybe will send athan to childcare when he turns 18 mths...have to play by ear...tha's true, no wonder u have to go thru all the trouble...

hui, dunno whether to sign up yet as going for another lesson this sat...but its quite fun for them...and i think it really helped them to crawl and train on their motor skills...why leh? u also wanna sign for tumbletots eh? hehe

sweet, who's taking care of ur FIL now?

sweet, er, last time my hubby also used to mop once a week also and the last time I cleaned the windows before my maid came was 2 years ago!! ha ha ha. So my place must be even worse than yours. how much is your normal electricity bill before the maid came? I always make my maid save water by recycling all babies' bath water and clothes water for flushing toilets. Then I also cut out the use of aircon to try and save electricity. But I can imagine my gas bill shooting up cos my maid cooks lunch and dinner. Suppose I save on eating out to make up for the extra gas charges.

sporty, now day time he goes to a daycare centre for dementia senior citizens, then nite time he will go home. but half the time, he will kick up a fuss and refuse to go to the centre, then no choice he will stay at home. my MIL basically already wash her hands off my FIL

mich, hahahhaa... my windows only see "light" just before CNY ;p yours 2 yrs somemore!

our normal bill is ard $80+ per mth. trishelle's clothes, she will use machine to wash (i dun trust her to rinse the clothes properly) but bathing water, we didnt ask her to recycle coz trishelle only bath at our place on weekends but at my parents' place, my dad will ask her to recycle the water ;p

aircon, we rarely on coz both trishelle & i suffer from blocked nose when we sleep in aircon rooms

pooh, yes u can state your requirements to the maid agency.. but u have to give advance notice to them to search for u.. coz fresh unexperienced ones alot, but experienced ones who will speak mandarin not easy to find..

hi mich..
mayb look for fresh from philipines gua...

hi sweet
ya lor.. cos i have a part time maid who only comes by bi monthly, for the rest of the time, i will be doing most of the chores as my mum is fully occupied by kendrick.. dan nw doing real estate,lagi no time lor...sometimes i can only start mopping the floor at 1am leh...

ken-ma, wow 1am?! must be very tiring. hope that your income will stabilise soon and u can get in a maid to help u with the household chores
property market now blooming, my cousin also made the career switch like 3 mths back ;p

ken_ma, thot you will have more time now compared to your old job?

Sweet, $80 is very little probably cos you and hubby not usually at home in the day. Mine is around $150 usually. But we managed to cut down some by switching Serene from aircon to fan. Now expecting it to become $200 or so with the maid. I also use machine for Joy's clothes but her bumwear diapers I use the maid to handwash and scrub and then spin dry.

Pooh, its not that easy to find one who can speak mandarin, like sweet said, will take a long time to find and then may have to pay a premium. By the way, the maid salary have gone up already it seems. My friend just hired a fresh maid from Philippines, starting pay $380!!! Can your MIL speak some English? My MIL speakes her broken english to the maid and they get along fine. Last time my grandma actually learned english to speak to the maid also.

mich, yalo last time before we have trishelle we are out on most weekends plus his previous job very hectic, he doesnt come home till 9 plus 10pm like tat so i also return home at 9 plus on weekdays.

wow, fresh one asking for $380!? any off days? your grandma also very steady, learn english!

mich, wow...u really conserve electricity leh...my utilties bill is already at least 100 bucks every month and its only 2 of us and athan on weekends...well well, will have to play by ear lor, cuz have to see how circumstances are when he turns 18 mths old...

sweet, icic...who will fetch him to the daycare centre? think maybe ur MIL too bz with her work ba...

hui, mine's FOC for 2 classes...but i think one class is abt 23 bucks...

ken ma, we can shake hands...i always do my laundry at wee hrs also...mop floor haven tried to do at wee hrs cuz i dun wanna wake up middle of the nite to close the windows after the floor's dry...

sweet, ur bill so little huh. tt time $80 was when me and hb only. now with two kids, on aircon everynight, vacuum & mop everyday, wash clothes alternate days, shoot up to $130, but tt time we service our aircon, now went down to $110.

sporty, the centre provides transportation to and fro.. yes, she can be busy during weekdays, what bout weekends leh? she's busy playing mahjong lo

dryperbaby, the $80 bill was when there are only the 2 of us lo.. hehe coz trishelle our 1st kid mah. wah, how come on aircon everynite, vaccum & mop everyday only $110 per mth?! mine already $160 now liao

sporty, ur mum must be tired taking care of bb and ur father... i find tt sending kids to childcare at 18 months still too young, they still cannot really talk. but if no choice then bo pian lor...

i think i hv to take another yr leave so tt i can send both kids to childcare the moment i go back to work... my mum health not so good and mil busy with my sil son so I think tt is the best solution i can come up with...

dryperbaby, err we eat dinner at my parents' place on weekdays and weekends, dun cook we ask the maid to tapao back and i havent even start cooking for my bb yet! she's still on milk & cereals so far *faint*

dryper wow how come mop floor everyday with air con can be $130 only? very cheap leh... so means when zayhan is 2 yrs old, you will send both your girl and him to cc together? that's a good idea. my elder one entered cc at 2 yrs old, I think its quite ok already. Her language abilities grew by leaps and bounds since she went to cc. After 8 months there, she now speaks in full sentences.

sweet, I think now regulation is that one off day is a must? But I still think $380 is super expensive right? So if our existing maids are good, then we should not let them go. I'd rather up my maid's salary if she is good then go and hire a new one which I have to train all over again!

Yah my grandma very steady, learn english when she was 60+ yrs old

sporty, yah now with 2 kids, everything must save $$$. I keep nagging at hubby to switch off the lights when he leaves the room... I told him I will bill him $20 for electricity if he keeps doing it!