(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

mich, actually after subsidy its 300+ lor...but the waiting list irks me out la...my mum didnt give me a time line la...she said better send him when he's 2 and 1/2...i'm juz sourcing so i can send him before 2 and 1/2 so tha my mum can concentrate on taking care of my dad...

sweet, phew...at least the pay cut not across the board lor...

mei, ya man...i'm not in a hurry to get into a CC anyways...oh yah, give ur reviews abt Brightkids ok? i saw their timetable on the website...seems quite comprehensive...

mummy_tang
tink hepA aft 1yr old or sth... my boy took mmr with chic pox heehee pd saz alrite so i took... cos she planned for me d vaccines: MMr with chic pox, last booster with 1st hepA, 2nd hepA with prevanar

sporty, sure

but i doubt they will follow the time table for playgroup haha! got to take 3days leave to monitor hee

sporty, he goin full day.. more worth it :p
but wouldnt be stayin till 7pm coz mil can bring him home 1st for proper dinner

mei, sometimes the childcare centre will request you to leave after 1-2 days. The last time, on the 3rd day morning, they already told me to leave them to settle the child.

sporty, yup, I also don't think I have the patience for waiting lists! Anyway, you still have 1 more year before A turns 2.5 yrs old, so can source for a good CC. So the CC will be nearer to your place or your mum's place?

Mich, ya lor... so i tot i might use the $$ for my kids education..... save the mental stress also...

powerpuffs, oic thanks, will check with my pd again

sporty, 300+ very worth it, but also chk if other activities need to pay.... eg speech and drama, computer etc.... HTH

mei, yes...i agree...full day like more wu hua leh...ya lor, its juz below ur MIL's house, can bring him back anytime...

mich, ya lor...have to slowly source...i'm currently looking for those near my place or my work place lor...so tha i dun have to trouble my mum to pick him up or to go to my mum's place to pick him etc...actually nowadays do kids still go to PAP (now known as PCF) for kindy since there's so many CCs ard...

mummy tang, ya lor...must find out other charges also...nowadays even finding a CC is so headache, can't imagine next time Pri 1 registeration...even more stressful also...

sporty, your workplace is at city hall? My friend send her son to Josiah Montessori at Millenia. But that one really quite expensive. Its like 1k after subsidy *faint*.

Yup, lots of kids still go to PCF. The PCF downstairs my place always full one. Many of them are picked up by either grandmothers or mums after class at 1130am... Usually the SAHMs send their kids to the kindys cos no need to put full day.

mich, ya...planning to pay a visit to Josiah to see how "wonderful" it is to charge those prices...nowadays i dun see many PCF ard like last time leh, most of us grew up attending those kindy, wondering why nowadays pple dun wanna attend PCF anymore...

mich, ya lor.. was told 1 day its enough haha but think better take more to standby

sporty, that time i was considerin the CC @ my office area but i tot he will have to squeeze the bus with me in the morning and when he sick and have to leave early who will bring him home..so i forgo the idea

sporty, dun think will have AWS liao.. your side leh?

mich, wow! this Josiah Montessori so ex!! it's really those true blue montessori school?

sporty, I'm thinking maybe cos the rental very expensive at Millenia so they have to charge high prices to recoup? Like the Learning Vision at my office, think the rental must be free leh, cos its only $400/month.

Heard that some PCF standards not so good. But I heard there are those that are really good. Also, the fees are different for each PCF centre. Some are as cheap as $85/month, others could be $150-200. So I suppose it depends on the programmes offered.

Sweet, I don't know if its really the true blue kind. Nowadays too many centres use the Montessori name, very confusing!

mei, thas true la...my hb kept saying u wanna let him squeeze mrt with u daily meh? so i'm still thinking la...ok, enjoy ur evening...tata

sweet, my side no AWS also...so no news...basically management said bo bonus lor...

mich, how come u never consider learning vision at ur office for serene? actually what does montessori means ah? its like the name got this word, they can charge high fees leh!!

mich, ya man.. all those cc near my dad's place all have "montessori" in them and charges are like $600+ after subsidy but dun think they are the true blue kind..

sporty, so sama sama.. think in this kind of situation, didn lose job already consider very lucky, dun dare to think bout AWS/bonus

sporty, the LV at my office is super cold leh... cos the office has central air con and the temp cannot be changed. When I went to visit, I felt like I was in the antartica. The kids have to wear long sleeves and sweat pants to sleep, so you can imagine how cold it is. And Serene has astham, so she cannot take such cold temperatures.

Think Montessori allows the child to do self directed learning. So the teachers will adapt to the child's ability/interests rather than vice versa. That's probably a simplisic explaination... don't know if completely accurate. Anyway, i read on one of the threads in this forum which was discussing the pros and cons of montessori. Seems that montessori kids are quite advanced cos they the kind of learning environment that is provided. Yet they may not be as sociable cos their learning is individual rather than in a group.

Sweet, ya lor, so many just borrow the name... and I can't figure out which aspect of montessori they adapt.

sweet, ya lor...total agree with you!

mich, icic...i can imagine the coldness cuz i work in a cold cold office as well...i'm basically wrapping a shawl ard me the whole day! haha...thanks for the explaination on Montessori, seems very chim...seems like got pros and cons...i heard the Josiah is very "miltary" style kind...heheh

sporty, yup, me too. I'm always in wind breaker. And some of my meeting rooms are so cold, need a winter jacket kind.

Military style means they really drill the kids? But if the style produces good results, maybe its worth the 1k? Sometimes I wonder I should find one of those brand name CC for the kids or whether I'm short changing them in a normal CC... *confused*

mich, ya lor...thot power bills were ex, why can't they juz tune down the aircon!! i think so cuz my colleague's fren's kids goes to tha skool, heard tha they really law by law kind and really drill the kids, macham in army...i think basically u have to feel comfortable with tha CC lor, no pt paying more juz for the "brand name"...

sporty, wow, sounds like they will train them to learn all the spelling and times table to prepare them for pri school... very stressful leh.

Yup, its more than the CC. Think at the end of the day, I'll have to invest time and effort to teach them myself cos afterall can't count on the school system to do so.

Almost 6pm? Knocking off?

mich, i think they will drill spelling etc cuz on their website they wrote " most of our students attend top 10 skools in singapore and hold leadership roles like monitors, librarians..." haven knock off yet cuz still have some work to do...how abt u?

I'm from the May thread.

Is anyone interested in watching Father, Son & Ox visit the market on 3 Jan @ 4pm?

still have 2 slots (6 tickets) left as we intend to share 3 x package of 4 which means is a total of 12 tickets. Pls let me know asap. thanks.

1. serene (may thread)
2. dlim (april thread)

http://www.sistic.com.sg/portal/dt?dt.isPortletRequest=true&dt.action=process&dt.provider=PortletWindowProcessChannel&dt.windowProvider.targetPortletChannel=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar/Event&dt.containerName=JSPTabContainer/sEventsCalendar&dt.windowProvider.currentChannelMode=VIEW&dt.window.portletAction=RENDER&contentCode=ox0109

mei, morning!! dun worry la...whenever thurs comes, fri comes very fast and its the weekend liao! so what plans u have for the weekend?

Hi Mei, sporty, hahaha am in holiday-weekend mood.... dun feel like doing anything so secretly come here to chi chat.....

"Nua-ing" tat's a forgotten word in my brain liao.....

Happy bashing this weekend!!!

sporty, super no mood to work! haa i really need a good deep sleep... haa

mummy tang, haha! me oso holiday mood keke

mummy tang, i also holiday mood...lol :p think every dec, everyone tends to behave this way :p great tha u can chit chat with us today...hehe

mei, i also feel drowsy...still have after effects from my flu medication!! too bad can't take leave/mc to stay home to koonz...hehe

aiyo sporty take care and chase the flu bug away....

me no mood till keep browsing online stuffs... xmas shopping not done yet.... hahahaha

mei, hahah...then u geng lor...i cannot geng la, my boss will CALL me and ask me whats wrong...hehe

mummy tang, any good deals must share share :p

hui,morning!!its like weekend for u everyday cuz u still on ML :p thanks, i hope by sunday my voice wun be as hoarse...hehe

sporty, wow, no wonder there is a queue of people for the CC. That time, I went to visit another CC and the lady there told me that all the parents of the kids are lawyers, teachers and even a judge and they demand high standards even at kindy level. I hear already feel kinda stressed out kekeke.

Get well soon! Nowadays your boss so particular about staff taking MCs?

mummy tang, me also, I have not done anywork for a few days liao... really no mood! I have surfing internet the whole day.

mich, morning! wahh, which CC is tha? sounds so scary! ya...she's quite particular cuz she herself dun take leave/mc lor, so far this yr she only took 2 days of leave and now its going to end of dec liao...first time in my worklife, my mc days are really minimal...heheh :p

sporty, its this one called PIES school house that is located next to St Nicholas. So all the teachers send their kids there. At first I wanted to send Serene there, but after hearing abt the expectations, I chickened out. I don't want to give her such undue pressure.

Wow... your boss only take 2 days of leave this year? She sounds like slave driver leh.... doesn't she need to clear her leave or it'll be forfeited.

Sweet, ha ha, I also have the same question.

sweet, nope...she's married with a teenager...she's expat mah so her hb dun stay in SG, tha's why whole day in office and dun need to take leave...

mich, PIES school house, think i heard of this name before...ya lor, better dun give serene pressure @ such young age...she have been forfeiting her leave for years, so nothing new to her lor...she's going on leave next week but think this yr she will only clear 7 days of leave ba, plus the 5 days next week...hehe