(2007/06) June 2007 MTB

hi divamama...oic...i heard about wheat,but didnt know oats and barley is also an allergen...opps...have to be more careful in what i give liao..

Glayz, the gap one is 50% only for 2nd item. I went in too, and drooled but really too ex. Saw a pair of jeans, my hubby flipped the price tag, he almost fainted, $85! He asked me, got people in the right mind will buy meh? Then i told him,"then you think why i always spree?"

Ken-ma, anyway, whatever u give must apply the 4 day wait rule. Observe for signs of allergy during these 4 days before u continue or introduce a new food.

Divamama
Is for 2nd item meh???
i tot is storewide.... onli the new arrivals no discount...

Wahahahahahahha...
My hb also flip when he saw this skirt I bought , price tagged at $59.90... i was telling him 30% discount... item sold out on web before any price drop
But he dun register the discount leh...u imagine he keep going $59.90, $59.90.....
I almost flipped lor

Hui
FUNNY???
i almost want to strangle him lor

hb: wat u buy a $59.90 skirt for mei mei...
me: No got 30% discount...
hb: I cannot believe U buy such an ex skirt

5minutes later
hb: why u buy so ex skirt
me: got DISCOUNT....
hb: $59.90!!!!

at home
hb: the skirt ok onli mah... cost $59.90!!!!
me: GOT DISCOUNT!!!

Glayz, ur hubby must be thinking he need to cover how many trips for that $59.90 lor..u stressed him up..
Dun know leh, i thot i saw the poster put 2nd item only.

Diva
No lor...
My hb SUPER cat one...he dun spend on his children lor... is always mama spending my own $$$ lor

Peck
Chey...
I already chip in half of the household expenses liao... what else does he expect????
(this half does not include the CPF deduction for the housing loan...FYI...CPF onli deduct from my acct as he is self emplyed lor)

lizard & on cereal (Save $ version)

I rather actually get rice & grind myself make my own cereal - but have been asking hb if i can get some formula - cos FM will mean cover the bases of nutrition while the grains, etc take care of the rest & fribre as well.

I am grinding normal family eat white rice 70%, 20% organic brown rice & 10% millet grains. weekly for vicky - brown rice can cost $3-8/kg while millet is about $3-4 for 300g, Our normal rice say better kind $2/kg around $15-20 i can have weeks worth of porridge for baby. then once a week i go buy a pc of pumpkin, or sweet potato or leafy greens cook puree & freeze so alternate days as i intro more foods to her - she will have 1 cub of these puree frozen food + 1-2 teaspoon of the mixed ground rice.

The FM comes in when you cook only say rice cereal + prepared FM or even oats + FM, fruit/veg puree optional.

peck
Aiyo...I see the way he gamble then pinching lor
To him losing $$$ over mahjong and 4D is NOTHING lor...
So I told him..U spend hundreds of $$ on gambling a month as a hobby?? for me spending a few hundreds a month on spreeing is also a hobby
the diff is...at the end of the day..I can see my rewards...and u had none

elaine re food portions for our babies

i read wholesomebaby foods while some take 8-9 oz of food a day, some only take 3-4 oz (roughly 1 oz = 1 cube).

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/babymenua.htm
u might want to print out the no advert file at the bottom of the page - its really up to baby - there are signs of baby has enough, & when he still wants more -so have to play by ear.

same theory as bf babies - healthy well fed babies should be 1-2 poos a day & wetting diapers regularily.

I roughly ok been giving vicky 2 teaspoon of rice cereal cooked = 2-3 cubs of food + 1/2 a cube of veg or carrot or sweet potato, to total about 2.5-3.5 cubes lunch time.

Evening i give her 2 tspoon of oats + 1/2 cube of again some veg/fruit also about 3 cubes say. (by the end of the feed she's quite full liao - feed is over within 10 mins)

so roughly Vicky eats about 6 oz of food a day - she been pooing 1-2 times a day - someitmes misses one day, but she been sleeping better thru-out the nite.

but i am scared that its too much for her - but i do try to make abit more incase she screams for more.

But i think need a change they recommend 1-2 cubes 3 times a day - i could be expanding her appetite abit too much - k will plan again.

but need to ask maid to up one more feeding round soon.

Lizardess, now Amadeus eating Bellamy's Organic White rice cereal, after this will intro HT brown rice cereal and Earth Best brown rice cereal...

glayz, the way u put it very funni leh...

glayz, ya i see my male colleague hor... spent on 4d like nothing, i say he work for singaporepools... he can spent 1k+ per month on betting 4d leh

vic_ma, if u grind own rice for vicky, then like that got no fortified iron lor...now at this stage, bb need to have more iron, tat y it is gd to buy commercialised organic cereal with iron fortified...

lizard dear

i store ground grains & 1 week's worth portion of oats as well into 2 separate containers in fridge.

I put 4 portions of froxen EBM in a container in fridge for maid & ground rice powder on an open container (in lower fridge compartment)- & 1 pc of food cube into a glass bottle in freezer section - she will know k , today 4 portions of milk, 1 portion of rice cereal add in the cube of what ever.

have to plan lor cos mine is maid - if relative then just tell can liao lor.

ross i hear u - its why i want to intro FM into baby's diet - to cover such things like this iron deficiency - also told my hb last nite i want to read up which veg is higher in iron want to buy more for baby to eat too.

found this on the wholesome baby website

Iron
Needed for healthy red blood cells and immune function.

Found in: green leafy vegetables, kelp, beets, asparagus, carrots, cucumbers, watercress, parsley, grapes, bananas, figs, raisins, dried fruits, cherry juice, soybeans, sunflower seeds, meats, organ meats, fish and poultry, blackstrap molasses

http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/vita_min.htm

from qty as on teh website
carrot Iron - .48 mg
Peas Iron - 2.5 mg
Sweet potato Iron - .55 mg
avacado Iron - 2 mg

now its like i have to find out how much iron baby needs in a day - can anyone go to their FM tins & tell me 7-8mth old need how much iron RDA a day?

K here
http://www.anyvitamins.com/rda.htm#Minerals and others* (but should also cross ref to what PDs recommend la & other websites

Age 4-6 only le RDA 10 g dont have younger child - later i go search wait kena fired by boss.

ross
multi taking la
when i am in kitchen - best not to stand near me kind. keke!

ya + give & take vit & minerals lost from puree & freezing hor must also agar agar.

vic ma, peifu you.
lizardess/sha, hehe, i lazy too but still insist on fresh food. So my solution is to get my mum to do it...freshly prepared everyday, wahahaha....

vic-ma,u are real HARDWORKING!

Divamama, hee hee me too...I get my mum to do it
for weekends, its just jar foor, instant cereal or only milk...

Mummy_tang
Last time Sky also on MILK onli... weekends la
Lazy mummy...
Shane better...at least have cereal...

As Shane will eat more EAGARLY than Sky

no pei fu la maybe is just 1st child then got tihs FIRE, wait later #2 #3 liao maybe fire die down liao haha!

My MIL very thrifty & likes the idea of home cooked goodness - but unfortunately she's still working - already freezing food she is blinking like mad wondering what on earth i am doing ar - i have to tell her -, i am doing this for baby's benefit & for the benefit of the family. - faster for maid to cook - she also take care of household chores mah - so wait must spend hours cooking hor - i will get burnt at the stake le for taking up the maids' time.

- worse still - wait they ask me to pay for the maid solely - i will turn turtle cos hb & i already contributing to about 70% of the household expenses including house mortgage - up our contribution - gosh I must start to sell backside liao.(dunno who wants to buy some more)

+ maid more free time can rest well & soend more time with vicky - improved safety also for bb ba - its the same reason why u all get commercial cereal, we all want more time which also translates to more time spent with baby too!

<font size="+2">Baby is KING!</font>

see ya divamama me going to pump too &amp; dream up something for my new chart of accounts &amp; new report for the accpac software.

anyone around?
me back from pump.

i bot tofu this morning &amp; xiao bai cai &amp; long beans.

I know tofu is ok - anyone knows if xiao bai cai or long beans ok? else i just pass to my MIL to cook for the adults.

i am shoeless in office my colleague shoes broke &amp; borrowed mine &amp; went into meeting now i cannot go toilet! arrgh.

3D i tot Angie the choice is nice but i a sure the rest have recommendations too.

There is one in AMK, Ave 8 or seomthing quote famous just forgot the name suddenly - they are a neighbourhood cake shop &amp; if dont like meatier cakes like from Secret Recepie - this shop's one has good sponge based cakes lor.

Pine Garden or something. not too creamy too* http://www.pgcake.com/

vic ma,
yup, it's pine gardens @ AMK.

leobaby,
there's some others like eCreative, the pattisier, just google it and u can find more

looks very exciting le - my poor baby my 2 nieces came last nite &amp; all she could do was watch them have fun! She was so intridged that i fed her without any fuss cos she too distracted watching the other 2 until just kept opening mouth for me hah!

leobaby - use cup! (no la just smsed him hope he comes out soon!) Lun lor.

sha,
ya lor i like this 1 too.
jayda crawl so fast! ash sit there blurblur. dunno how to crawl.

vic_ma,
Ya it was very fun. see so many bb crawling