(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

lovedogs,
for my no1, he's taken care by my mum's maid, i pay her $550 per mth, i'll fetch him daily after i off work, nite time i take care myself.

as for milk powder, as he's not breastfeed, he's formula cost about $28/can, and each can can last only 1 wk. diapers, each day he used up to 10~12pcs when new born...
for jab, i took the 5-in-1 package from polyclinic, i paid about $280(that time dont have pneumococcal & rotavirus vaccine).
i know that, now all baby is advised to take the pneumococcal vaccine(ard $168 per jab), and new born need at least 3 jabs.

lovedogs,
just rough estimates for ur reference.

milk powder:
i breastfeed my first kid but now she is on formula. each tin costs around $25 and can last around 3 weeks because she doesn't drink a lot. so each month around $33.

diapers:
the diaper i use costs around $0.20 per piece. i use around 5pcs a day. so the monthly cost is around $30 (0.20 * 5 * 30days).

jab:
i took the 6-in-1 vaccination package from PD clinic. cost $400 (inclusive of consultation).

wet tissue:
each pc is around $0.05. i use about 10pcs a day so the monthly cost is $15 (0.05 * 10 * 30days).

diaper cream:
i use drapolene which is quite cheap, around $5 a tube and can last a month. other cream like desitin is more ex, around $15-20 a tube.

clothes:
this is hard to resist especially if u have a gal but like what cheetos said, babies outgrow clothes very fast. i try to get bigger sizes so that she can wear for a longer time.

nanny fee:
i give my mom $500 for taking care of my kid. for baby sitter, it costs around $500-$800. there will be increment of around $50 once the baby starts taking solids.

lovedogs,

milk powder:
i breastfeed my first kid but now she is on formula. each tin costs around $25 and can last around 3 weeks because she doesn't drink a lot. so each month around $33.

diapers:
the diaper i use costs around $0.20 per piece. i use around 5pcs a day. so the monthly cost is around $30 (0.20 * 5 * 30days).

jab:
i took the 6-in-1 vaccination package from PD clinic. cost $400 (inclusive of consultation).

wet tissue:
each pc is around $0.05. i use about 10pcs a day so the monthly cost is $15 (0.05 * 10 * 30days).

diaper cream:
i use drapolene which is quite cheap, around $5 a tube and can last a month. other cream like desitin is more ex, around $15-20 a tube.

clothes:
this is hard to resist especially if u have a gal but like what cheetos said, babies outgrow clothes very fast. i try to get bigger sizes so that she can wear for a longer time.

nanny fee:
i give my mom $500 for taking care of my kid. for baby sitter, it costs around $500-$800. there will be increment of around $50 once the baby starts taking solids.

lovedogs,

milk powder:

diapers:

jab:

wet tissue:

diaper cream:

clothes:

nanny fee:

lovedogs,

milk powder:

diapers:

jab:

wet tissue:

diaper cream:

clothes:

nanny fee:

Welcome meow....

Have anyone of you started applying stretchmark cream? I just bought one and apply on tummy...instruction stated can apply on breast, thigh and waist as well...anyone apply on breast?

Welcome meow....

Have anyone of you started applying stretchmark cream? I just bought one and apply on tummy...instruction stated can apply on breast, thigh and waist as well...anyone apply on breast?

Welcome meow....

meow, congrats.

jesmine,
i also stay in mil place for few days, and stay my own place few days. actually, it is quite troublesome as u have to prepare 2 sets of stuffs to cater for that.

ezann,
u've to take care. if cannot eat much, just drink the milk, fruit juice or cook chic soup.

icequeen,
may be u can request to work from home. i think, i will request that next month.

lovedogs,
mine one is 10mm last fri, so giving 1mm grow per day, it should be 14mm yesterday, guess i have an earlier EDD. dr. said everything is ok, so she scheduled me to go back on Oct 27.

cheetos,
haha... yeah, i understand. nowadays, everything is expensive, it is not easy to raise up a kid.

karen,
this round, your mum will take care for you as well?

meow, congrats.

jesmine,
i also stay in mil place for few days, and stay my own place few days. actually, it is quite troublesome as u have to prepare 2 sets of stuffs to cater for that.

ezann,
u've to take care. if cannot eat much, just drink the milk, fruit juice or cook chic soup.

icequeen,
may be u can request to work from home. i think, i will request that next month.

lovedogs,
mine one is 10mm last fri, so giving 1mm grow per day, it should be 14mm yesterday, guess i have an earlier EDD. dr. said everything is ok, so she scheduled me to go back on Oct 27.

cheetos,
haha... yeah, i understand. nowadays, everything is expensive, it is not easy to raise up a kid.

karen,

meow, congrats.

jesmine,

ezann,

icequeen,

lovedogs,

cheetos,

karen,

meow, congrats.

jesmine,

ezann,

icequeen,

lovedogs,

cheetos,

karen,

Wah, looking at the monthly cost of the baby, and not even include the toys and misc stuff you buy for the baby. This is really alot of money....sigh....really must start saving now.

lovedogs, hey, dr chan also says i have a very low placenta. In fact covering the whole cervix. Thats why I am worried I may need to go for c-serian if end of the day the placenta do not move up. Praying hard it will though cos I really wanna have a natural birth. Found something to read abt the placenta.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Placenta

Hi bridgets,

I dont think my boss will allow me to work from home. I have to take MC today to rest. I mean, how do you tell your boss you want to work from home? She will prob tell you alot of preggie woman also working in the office. Why do you need to work from home? I guess I just have to take MC on and off to rest. But really seldom do that lah. Not good you know. So weekend become the days I really full force sleeping at home. I dont have the energy to go shopping for any maternity stuff at all. Only time I do walk abit is when I schedule to see my doc. Anyway its at gleaneagles, so might as well go town to get the nec stuff. Think the next appointment I really need to do so. Sigh...

Wah, looking at the monthly cost of the baby, and not even include the toys and misc stuff you buy for the baby. This is really alot of money....sigh....really must start saving now.

lovedogs, hey, dr chan also says i have a very low placenta. In fact covering the whole cervix. Thats why I am worried I may need to go for c-serian if end of the day the placenta do not move up. Praying hard it will though cos I really wanna have a natural birth. Found something to read abt the placenta.

Hi bridgets,

I dont think my boss will allow me to work from home. I have to take MC today to rest. I mean, how do you tell your boss you want to work from home? She will prob tell you alot of preggie woman also working in the office. Why do you need to work from home? I guess I just have to take MC on and off to rest. But really seldom do that lah. Not good you know. So weekend become the days I really full force sleeping at home. I dont have the energy to go shopping for any maternity stuff at all. Only time I do walk abit is when I schedule to see my doc. Anyway its at gleaneagles, so might as well go town to get the nec stuff. Think the next appointment I really need to do so. Sigh...

Hi bridgets,

thanks Karen. Awaiting the price range from you.

I am looking for tops with "cat" sleeve, instead of sleeveless. Cant seem to find any of these....anyone can advise where do buy them?

Bridget, i agree... i think by staying 2 places. our hse like chalet like that. fri night check in then sun evening check out. haiz.

Thanks mummies for the welcome.

Lovedogs,
By the 5th month when we did the detail scan can determine the sex of BB liao. Even if you go for the nuchal test some can roughly guess the sex of bb liao. But they wont gurantee 100% accurate.
I jus bought some NB Carters rompers for this little one at 90baht which is about $4 or so. Things there are not as cheap as you expect, but the pigeon food container that has a spoon and puree at the other side is cheaper there. I bought some milk bottles back too.

As for expenses, i have many many packs left over of pigeon wipes from the first gal. Still got at least 4packs...even got to give some away. Else expire liao. Hee...We can stock up these when there is sale. Diapers and FM is also stock them up when there is sale. I can't really BF much so got to depend on FM

Lovedogs,
By the 5th month when we did the detail scan can determine the sex of BB liao. Even if you go for the nuchal test some can roughly guess the sex of bb liao. But they wont gurantee 100% accurate.
I jus bought some NB Carters rompers for this little one at 90baht which is about $4 or so. Things there are not as cheap as you expect, but the pigeon food container that has a spoon and puree at the other side is cheaper there. I bought some milk bottles back too.

As for expenses, i have many many packs left over of pigeon wipes from the first gal. Still got at least 4packs...even got to give some away. Else expire liao. Hee...We can stock up these when there is sale. Diapers and FM is also stock them up when there is sale. I can't really BF much so got to depend on FM

Lovedogs,

Lovedogs,

Lovedogs
Congrats on hearing the heartbeat.
Ya, tks, I hv stopped carrying other than to cross the road illegally and up the bus coz its dangerous for him to work. So far, ok, he understands he will hurt baby if I carry him for too long and automatically come down after we cross the road.
Ya, I do count my blessings tt I can stay at hm with my boy, it has been the happiest 2 yrs ++ in my life with him. I always tell hubby I am going to miss the happy times a lot when my boy grows up, But hor, not everyone likes to stay at hm, I know quite a few who can afford to stay at hm but prefer to work.

Sanrio
U are very slim...envy. I was nvr so slim b4, best only 45kg during sec, jc days. After tt, hv been ard 48 to 50kg.
HeheI hv not tot how I would cope with 2. Dun intend to send my oldest to cc if possible, only to 3 hrs nursery next yr.
Me ok with either boy or gal for 2nd one. Gal will be fun to doll up. Boy also good coz good co for my boy and also can save $$. Going to stop at 2 too.

Karen
Ya, my boy also used to ask to be carried quite often. If hubby is ard, its always hubby carrying. But on wkdays when I bring him out, he also asked to be carried on and off. After I know I am preggy, he is ok with me for not carrying him after I told him will hurt bb. I told him hv to wait till baby out then can carry him again.
Heheya they are quite good at making up excuses. My boy also comes up with all sorts of excuses to make me stay in class with himhand painfull, stomachache,etc

Lovedogs
Ya, tks, I hv stopped carrying other than to cross the road illegally and up the bus coz its dangerous for him to work. So far, ok, he understands he will hurt baby if I carry him for too long and automatically come down after we cross the road.
Ya, I do count my blessings tt I can stay at hm with my boy, it has been the happiest 2 yrs ++ in my life with him. I always tell hubby I am going to miss the happy times a lot when my boy grows up, But hor, not everyone likes to stay at hm, I know quite a few who can afford to stay at hm but prefer to work.

Sanrio
U are very slim...envy. I was nvr so slim b4, best only 45kg during sec, jc days. After tt, hv been ard 48 to 50kg.
HeheI hv not tot how I would cope with 2. Dun intend to send my oldest to cc if possible, only to 3 hrs nursery next yr.
Me ok with either boy or gal for 2nd one. Gal will be fun to doll up. Boy also good coz good co for my boy and also can save $$. Going to stop at 2 too.

Karen
Ya, my boy also used to ask to be carried quite often. If hubby is ard, its always hubby carrying. But on wkdays when I bring him out, he also asked to be carried on and off. After I know I am preggy, he is ok with me for not carrying him after I told him will hurt bb. I told him hv to wait till baby out then can carry him again.
Heheya they are quite good at making up excuses. My boy also comes up with all sorts of excuses to make me stay in class with himhand painfull, stomachache,etc

Lovedogs

Sanrio

Karen

Lovedogs

Sanrio

Karen

hello ladies,
has been at my parent's place these few days so didnt log in.

blueblue,
i also bought the stretch mark cream last sat and has started applying liao. i bought the olive oil wheat germ fr Guardian. i also apply on tummy, thigh and breast area but i avoid the nipple.

evann,
i think u better rest at hm?.....my spotting has since stopped after i stop work and rest at home for abt a week now. will be going to see dr adrian tomor...if no prob think should be able to go work next wk ba.

karen,
i went tpy last sat...bought 2 maternity tops at the shop block 183 there......each pc ard 30 bucks. didnt buy the bottoms cos dun really like the design and colour....i end up buying 2 cappri pants at kiddy palace for 90 bucks....quite exp hor....think not going there to buy anymore....will try metro and tpy next time.

jesmine,
me stay with in laws now.....at times will go back my parents' place. haben buy a new flat yet. now preggie so dunno if should buy anot....else will stay with in laws 1st. understand not easy staying at 2 places.....all ur clothes and baby stuff all 2 sets??

hello ladies,

blueblue,
i also bought the stretch mark cream last sat and has started applying liao. i bought the olive oil wheat germ fr Guardian. i also apply on tummy, thigh and breast area but i avoid the nipple.

evann,
i think u better rest at hm?.....my spotting has since stopped after i stop work and rest at home for abt a week now. will be going to see dr adrian tomor...if no prob think should be able to go work next wk ba.

karen,
i went tpy last sat...bought 2 maternity tops at the shop block 183 there......each pc ard 30 bucks. didnt buy the bottoms cos dun really like the design and colour....i end up buying 2 cappri pants at kiddy palace for 90 bucks....quite exp hor....think not going there to buy anymore....will try metro and tpy next time.

jesmine,
me stay with in laws now.....at times will go back my parents' place. haben buy a new flat yet. now preggie so dunno if should buy anot....else will stay with in laws 1st. understand not easy staying at 2 places.....all ur clothes and baby stuff all 2 sets??

hello ladies,

blueblue,

evann,

karen,

jesmine,

hello ladies,

blueblue,

evann,

karen,

jesmine,

hello cheetos, karen, ezann,

thanks for sharing with me some of the expenses required. I guess if we have to pay parents/nanny to look after baby, the cost will perhaps be abt $800 per month ++?

i think with 2nd child, financial burden will even be higher. Btw, did you all buy insurance for your 1st child? if yes, must start from how many months/years?

hi ice queen,

many thanks for sharing with me the url. aiyoh, that picture looks scary leh... i hope for both of us, the placenta will move to the normal position soon...

hi bridget,

yah, next appt can double check with your gynae your EDD. Good to know coz got a date to look forward to

hi meow,

what's Nuchal test huh? what are the tests needed to be done and when will we have to do them? so far, i have not done any test...not even blood test.

wats rompers har? pai seh, i really know almost Zero on baby stuff as I hardly mix with babies or children. 5th month should be safe to travel hor? if yes, think will try to go BKK...too bad will not be able to go for my favourite thai massage
pregnant lady cannot go for massage right?

hi moomoo,

thank you
your boy is so clever hor...can understand that mummy has a bb inside... so smart
I think i will enjoy to be SAHM. Even without a kid, I believe i can enjoy to be staying at home coz i hate working. heehee... but if i am not working, i will sign myself up to volunteer in SPCA or ASD to be a foster to an abandon dog loh.. but now cannot coz need $$ so have to drag myself to office everyday... really envy you...

thanks for sharing with me some of the expenses required. I guess if we have to pay parents/nanny to look after baby, the cost will perhaps be abt $800 per month ++?

i think with 2nd child, financial burden will even be higher. Btw, did you all buy insurance for your 1st child? if yes, must start from how many months/years?

hi ice queen,

many thanks for sharing with me the url. aiyoh, that picture looks scary leh... i hope for both of us, the placenta will move to the normal position soon...

hi bridget,

yah, next appt can double check with your gynae your EDD. Good to know coz got a date to look forward to

hi meow,

what's Nuchal test huh? what are the tests needed to be done and when will we have to do them? so far, i have not done any test...not even blood test.

wats rompers har? pai seh, i really know almost Zero on baby stuff as I hardly mix with babies or children. 5th month should be safe to travel hor? if yes, think will try to go BKK...too bad will not be able to go for my favourite thai massage

hi moomoo,

thank you
your boy is so clever hor...can understand that mummy has a bb inside... so smart
I think i will enjoy to be SAHM. Even without a kid, I believe i can enjoy to be staying at home coz i hate working. heehee... but if i am not working, i will sign myself up to volunteer in SPCA or ASD to be a foster to an abandon dog loh.. but now cannot coz need $$ so have to drag myself to office everyday... really envy you...

hi ice queen,

hi bridget,

hi meow,

hi moomoo,

thank you

hi ice queen,

hi bridget,

hi meow,

hi moomoo,

thank you

hi blueblue,

as i am already getting fat at such early stage, i started applying stretch mark cream. I bought Clarins Body treatment oil. its very good so far and i like the aroma scent. but i am not applyg at the breast..dun like "oily breast" feeling leh...

hi blueblue,

as i am already getting fat at such early stage, i started applying stretch mark cream. I bought Clarins Body treatment oil. its very good so far and i like the aroma scent. but i am not applyg at the breast..dun like "oily breast" feeling leh...

hi blueblue,

lovedog,
normally i know the charges for baby sitting is abt $500 for nanny.....not too sure abt parents....i wonder if parents or pil elp to look after, how much should we give also....then what abt the monthly allowance we give parents??

prob those 2nd time moms can give some comments

lovedog,
normally i know the charges for baby sitting is abt $500 for nanny.....not too sure abt parents....i wonder if parents or pil elp to look after, how much should we give also....then what abt the monthly allowance we give parents??

lovedog,

lovedog,

Hi Bridget,
for no2, maybe will get a maid... cause my sister and her 2 kids staying at my mum's place, the maid wont be able to cope with 3 kids.

cheezel,
yup, kiddy palace stuffs are abit ex. u have the member card? entitled to 10% off.

lovedogs,
i buy life insurances & saving plan for my son only when he's 2yrs old. as from born, he's weak, and has undergo a major operation @15mths, so no insurances wants to cover him. only managed to get him a life insurance & saving plans when he gets the all clears from hospital. the life insurance is about $44 per mth, the saving plan is about $81 per mth.
romper is something like this, with snap closure at the crotch area for easy diaper change.

534368.jpg