(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

hi Jane,
welcome and congrats. CANNOT eat beef? I always eat beef. Thought it's good cause got iron and red meat is good.
But can't take mutton. I don't know why can't.

hi Jane,
my mum told me not to eat beef and mutton but dunno leh.. think Malay pregnant ladies also got eat mutton leh? *wondering*

jane, we can only eat steak well done, cant eat anythin raw. me been cravin for steak n aglio-olio too...so jack's place and swensen are my favorite hangout nowadays.

ziying,
u have got the point lor. i think 'ang mo' also eat steak right? hmmm...i also dunno. hiyoh, that day i ate a litle beef...how ah? hmmmm...

hey kris,
i also love jack's place. heh. whenever i think of steak, i think of jack's...yimmy!!! so u eat beef well done only isit? hmmm...thanks for the advise!

Hi YY,

Ya, will try some gassy drink next time. I think it helps with the burping too? Sometimes I don't vomit, but I will burp very loudly. So paiseh sometimes when I burp in the toilet. PPl must be wondering what is this gal doing....

Hi lovedogs, no, the new med din work either...make me very uncomfortable cos I cannot vomit out. All the food like stuck in the throat. So end up I gave up on the new med too....

Hi Jane, welcome. Which week are you in now? Me also have bad nausea too....so u r not alone....so dun worry.

I've just checked with my friend re: FAVE fruits & nuts. He said it's difficult to amalgamate as the delivery will be to different places. What you can do is go to the website & download the order form then fax to them directly and quote my name. He'll give you additional sample packs in addition to your orders. Shouldn't be a problem too if you dont meet the minimum order for free delivery.

jkids,

for me, when i had my boy, totally no change. actually, it depends on family genes lar.
for this one, nose broader and physical changes, eg bust size, rather apparent at this stage. So, everyone's putting their bet that it's a girl. furthermore, the gender chart i got from this thread, oso says it's a girl... hehehe... hope so!

Yy,

for your backaches. make sure u do some stretching after seating for a while. Must also maintain good posture lorz. Although, only at later months, our spine wld curve to accomodate the bb, and may contribute to aches.

ziying,

beef is good leh. got iron. and we need it.

For mutton, coz it's 'Yang' rou, older folks say eat liao, bb will get 'Yang' dian feng- elipsey.
Dunno how true. But this one very common taboo food during pregnancy. So, better to be safe.

Tink c/n compare to other races. Coz our body structure and food consumption is different from theirs.

On maternity clothes, i oso dunno leh. That's why din't buy many maternity clothes for the first one. Wore only for the last 4 months.

From first to five months, barely got bludge. But later, and esp 8th mth, the stomach had growth spurge. Overnight, can see the difference... Hb oso amazed...

jkids,
I can't remember when tummy started to bulge for the prev. preg, but certainly not as soon as this one. I think the tummy muscles are not as strong liao...so already bulging and clothes getting tighter :-(

hi cheetos,
Can I ask if we are allow to take nuts? Heard that if we take too much nuts, bb might have nuts allergy when they are born. It can be deadly if bb (when he is born)accidentally taken some nuts. Until now, I dare not even take peanuts butter because of this.

eh.... just wondering. nuts are known to cause bloatedness. and esp for us, will it be worse?

gal,

believe one of the test dur preg tests for such deficiency. can ask ur gynae abt it...

no need to avoid peanut butter larz...

Er, actually I'm not sure what we can take/don't take. I read earlier in the thread that it was high fibre and worked for some to ease constipation, so me just helping those who want to order since it's free delivery and there's no preservatives.

cheetos, no stress lar.
believe we shld take a balanced diet. Too much of anything is bad.

Thanks for the nuts-lobang! Will give it a try.

Those interested in the Chinese Medical Hall can call their number at 62884652 to ask for the address.
It is called Chong Hoe Medical Store.

hi knottsy,

i think thats the case in most companies. also, new employer may feel that preg ladies are not 100% up for new and challenging jobs... TIMING ah...

i dun mind no maternity claim in terms of $ but i will not join if no 12 wk maternity leave.

thanks for the contact belle.

I juz visit GP and she gave me some med for constipation. hope it works...

briget, lovedogs,
I don't know leh , that's why want to ask if anyone taking.

lovedogs,
what medication GP gave u?

hello everyone, Im just back from lunch. Ate Fried Fish Soup wz Yi-Mee... Feel so full, stomach v bloated...

IcyQueen, I also take abit of Pink Dolphin, but not cold ones lah. I also burp leh. Even without gassy drinks, I also burp esp after eating and then sometimes in the nite...

Issit true that we cannot take Cold Drinks and Ice-Cream at all? Im craving for it leh. Too cold for the bb?

Ziqing/Yoji/Kris, I also like BEEF Hor fun leh. I everytime see my hubby eat (he dun let me eat) - my saliva drooling oni. I thought I cant eat beef. So maybe now can start liao.... I heard eat beef liao, bb come out very strong like ang-moh size like that leh... I also dun dare to eat Mutton leh. U know one of my Indian colleague's wife made some tarts - some they use the Ghee ah, heard is made from Mutton Oil, so hubby refrain me from eating some of the tarts... Sobz..

LittleDan/Cheetos,

I also eat peanut butter with butter spread on bread every morning leh. I read from somewhere that it is ok to take leh. Suppose to hv some form of fibre or wat leh... Urgh, the backaches sometimes can be so bad. But its on and off one leh. Strange, my symptoms all come and go everytime one leh. Then all of a sudden will come back again. Stomach Oni showed from 5th month onwards? Some said cos the bb knows how to hide here and there in the stomach leh... Hee, so cute hor.

as far as i can gather from the article, with compliments from gal:

think if u hv been taking nuts on a regular basis, but do experience runny stomach or bloatedness, and coupled with these symptoms:

the skin in the form of red, bumpy rashes (hives), eczema, or redness and swelling around the mouth

the gastrointestinal tract in the form of belly cramps, diarrhea, nausea, or vomiting

the respiratory tract symptoms can range from a runny nose, itchy, watery eyes, and sneezing to the triggering of asthma with coughing and wheezing

it's possible to hv nuts allergy. More so, if there's a family history of it.

But for the majority of it, unless u consume over-amounts, nuts do present minerals and oils that are beneficial to us. Might be worth eating the 'more' expensive ones, like walnuts or cashew or macadamia nuts. Think, these were said to hv higher amts of some minerals good for the brain.

And in all, remember the word Moderation.

LittleDan,

Yeah lor. I took quite alot of prata leh. How ah... Except I took with sugar lah. I didnt take the mutton/fish curry. I oni eat chinese chic/fish curry once awhile oni.

My skin got some irritation leh. But oni on my laps oni. SOme kind of small pimple rashes. Dunno why will appear leh.... But b4 Im preggy, Im not allergy to anything leh. Except I cant eat alot of crabs oni.

yy,

same as me lorz. lucky the face is spared. but my chest and back now has a number of little spots. Dun think its any effect from the food consumed. More so our hormones at play...

Yeah... actually crabs gotta be careful. Coz these are scavengers. If the crabs are already dead before cooking, they'll present certain toxins that's bad for health. Best to avoid lorz.

Anyway, a hundred and million other food we can feast on. No loss larz...

LittleDan,

The area below my neck started to have a few red spots, not v obvious but noticeable leh. My Back also got abit pimples leh. I apply some calamine lotion on my laps, it helped on the itch lah. Our Hormones crazy liao....

Old PPle said better cut down crabs cos wait later bb like to touch this and that...

Can we take Ice-Cream anot huh? I missed Swenson Ice-Cream leh...

Hehe, I think I may oni pamper myself in 2nd Tri lah. I abit kiasu... Are you working now? Im so sleepy in office now. Worst part is nothing to do, and then also cant sleep. Feel like snacking sth but scared later bloated again.

lovedogs,

sigh dun think my company got any maternity claims, just the 12 week maternity leave i think....maternity claim (keep all ur gynae consultation receipts, delivery, hospitalisation etc) heard from my colleague can claim from our medisave i think

yah i would prefer the 12-week maternity leave than money...spend more time with bb more impt

yoyo,

oops i just took icecream yesterday :p
i read from one thread before, that there is raw egg in making icecream...that's why cannot take? ....but i think since ice cream already frozen to 0 degrees, bacteria should not be so bad? i just have cravings for ice cream, so i took loh....

actually can take icecream anot ah ???

yah... working. still in PH mood larz.

drink more warm water if feel like snacking... hopefully it fills the emptiness.

it's raining here... such a beautiful *yawn* weather.

knottsy,

a scoop or two shld be fine larz, if mommy is healthy. though, i no longer buy from those pushcarts. Tot new zealand ice cream shld be good, coz made from pure dairy milk...

Im everyday having PH Mood. Everyday very sleepy leh. I drink until I keep going pee huh.. Like v bland like that. How I wish can hv a cup of rootbeer or Pepsi Twist... Where is your working location? Mine in Changi, not raining leh... I like rainy days... Uhmmm now all of a sudden so quiet? Everybody else bz at work?

mebbe everyone oso as tired... switch off liaoz.
I'm at CBD area, rain juz stopped.

harlow, better dun drink gassy drinks. wait cannot burp then merlion liaoz. Discipline, lady.

Heee, Yeah lor. My ALL-TIME FAV man!!! And Ice-Cream. Ice-Cream Cake......

Knottsy, I agree wz you. Spending Time wz b is more impt than anything else leh.

aiya... i tink hor. prata not eat everyday, so shld be ok lar. but tonite, will go check the ghee ingredients.

hehe... i found a vegetarian- prata shop in Hougang area. Shld be safe.

Btw, mummies, try not to take too much sugary stuff when preggie. I had quite a bit of ice cream the last time (I love ice cream). Anyway, was tested to have gestational diabetes, so had to go on very restrictive diet and had to use test strips to measure the sugar level which was very leh cheh (not to mention painful too to prick the fingers). Hope it doesnt happen for this pregnancy, otherwise will be xx sian

Hee, no la. LittleDan. I oni think oni. I dun dare to touch leh... Haz, so strange. Last time where got such cravings for all these. Now all of a sudden got so much cravings for this and that. Maybe cos our mentality know we cant take, so the more we wanna take...

yy, well said.
the more cannot take, the more u crave.
so definitive of the female gender.

cheetos,

thks for advice. so, u must be a healthy mommie for this bb then. how u fight off cravings?

yoyo,

haa come to think of it, i have been eating icecreams and birthday cakes.....recently 2 of my colleagues early week of oct birthdays....ate 1 piece of banana cake (hope the banana not those forbidden ones), then another colleague bought hagan diaz icecream cake....becos never eat before hagan diaz icecream cake, so took one piece again...yummy!!! :p

yah loh, i wanted to quit my job if got bb, but my husband insisted i worked
, he says he also wants to be house-husband if i be housewife ......., see how loh....hope bb will be good good....then no need to worry so much....
i got one ex-colleague thinking of quiting her job, becos her boy very naughty.......

does that mean roti prata also cannot eat?

wah now we only at 1st trimester to 2nd trimester and so many things cannot eat liao?

i'm also in the east area,...dun think here is raining also
but my office aircon very cold ....

this links seems quite accurate in weather http://app.nea.gov.sg/cms/htdocs/mss3.asp

littledan,
for the sake of the baby, had no choice but to fight off cravings...
this time round, i'm just having things in moderation, not exactly being super healthy ;-) If really kena ges. diab. again, then have to make sacrifices again lor

hi cheetos,

can i know at which trimester that u were tested to have gestational diabetes? becos right now i am in first trimester i thought can eat any sugar stuff as long i have cravings? hee :p

I only know that by 3rd trimeter, have to cut down on sugar stuff, as my gynae mentioned to me by 3rd trimester very high chance of getting diabetes or high blood pressure and if family history got too........

Knottsy, LittleDan, Cheetos

Yeah, I heard cant take too sweet or salty stuff lah. Too salty will hv swell legs later in 2nd tri. I also love cakes leh. Then that day my sister brought Mango Cake for me, my hubby dun allow me to eat the mango, so I oni eat the cake and whipped cream... Uhmmmm, Like my hubby preg like that. He dun let me eat tis and that leh. Then he will nag at me if I wanna eat.

I heard 2nd Tri can eat alot of things liao leh. And can even take Durians. Good for bb wor.

My fren asked me to eat cooked salmon one/twice weekly. Cos v good for bb's brain.

Waaah, cannot stopped talking abt food. Help, start to feel hungry liao. Aircon here also rather cold.

Knottsy,
The test is sometime in 2nd trimester or late 2nd trimester (cant remember when exactly). Usually the gynae will send you for one if there's family history or if your normal urine tests shows that there's sugar.

hi yoyo,

why ur husband dun allow u to eat mango? i tot can eat??? oops i ate mangoes quite a few times liao.........
my husband dun care what i eat...i just told him what i cannot take instead....

yah heard tat salmon high in omega-3, which is good? hmm where to find cooked salmon outside? my mom and mil dun cook salmon at all....

I heard 1st Tri cannot take cooling stuffs. But 2nd Tri can start to take abit of cooling stuffs liao, cos scared the bb too heaty inside. Then 3rd Tri must take more durians and drink young coconut near your due date - to wash yr bb or sth like that.

Hi knottsy, uhmmm the hawker near my wkplace got sell Salmon Fish (Wz black Pepper Sauce) wz Rice. I think some hawker centres where those western stalls maybe sell. Where you staying and working? I check for you? Heeee....

Yeah lor, I thot Mango is heaty mah, should can take leh. He like scare this and that. Anyway, maybe to him, he juz wanna take precautions lah. Dunno abt him lah. Haz....