(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

cheezel, sgn,
i had short-sightedness that remain at about 100-125 for many years. i dun need glasses on normal days, put on only when i am driving. crazy me was once so tempted to correct to perfect eyesight then the eye surgeon told me it is good that my myopia remains stable for all these years n most likely i would not develop long sightedness when i grow old.
don't know whether looking at greenery helps, i hv been staying in places where there is always a large far unblocked view of greenery n i like 'stareing' at it evyday when i m free, bored or moody (more so when i was single n before i hv kids, too free :p).

lynn,
oh oh, i nvr tot of gettg d kids eyes checked..

any mommies bought the nestle instant porridge b4? i bought those when i bring Javen to perth last yr. but cant seems to find it in NTUC nw.

cheezel
this product had been taken off shelves since the milk scandal if i'm not wrong.

sanrio
so i can console myself with that and save some money. staff got discount and i even ask for instament hee hee....

cheezel, janet
yes i went to pediaoptix. need to call and make appt. the uncle that pics up the phone doesn't sound professional, but the lady that does the check-up is the one that has the qualifications.

sanrio
i dun think you need to worry abt their eyesight unless you suspect they have some problem. ash will have his checkup in school when he reaches 5yr. it's free. then if any problem they will refer. i dun see cher having any problems. sophie squints a bit here and there (esp when watching tv, the optomologist said it happens when they learn something new), and there's that issue of light sensitivity. which they advise to wear hat and sunglasses when outdoors. not much they can do also.

and she recommend bringing the kid outdoors will be good for the eyes. not whole day at home (which my mum prefers!)

unfortunately i think sophie caught some bug outside. she's got fever and threw up (maybe overeat. hahah. that morning she had raisin bread, cheese, yogurt for breakfast, and half avocado and a bowl of pasta for lunch) but the fever only comes on at night. ?? otherwise she's not lethargic or anything. but she has a bit of gas in stomach.

cheezel
e nestle instant porridge is off e shelve le. I called them, they said stop due to inconsistent supply of a certain ingredient/ sauce. Dun tink it's e milk thingy coz dun remember got milk in the porridge. I used to love this pdt, so convenient, especially when travelling.

sgn
when i did lasik, doc told me it's like 'resetting' ur eyesight. No guarantee it wun come back, especially if u dun take care .. like watch TV near near, reading while lying down etc. Anyway, for my case, doc told me my super high astig can neva be cured by lasik but i still do. At least now i wake up morning, juz look up I can see the time. Last time, i can't even see e clock . haha :p

Blueblue
u stay in Punggol? Can try those Punggol forum for comments on Dayspring. I read some b4.

Hi CD
Yes, I stay in punggol. U? Ok, will check punggol forum. I called up Dayspring, fulled le. Hv to try on 1st day of school for registering next yr.

Hi serene
How r u? Ur gal getting cuter each day. Saw the blog...

sanrio

yeah, i've been so exhausted lately! Coz been spending long hours at work, and also maybe it's due to my pregnancy too. I'm hoping all's OK with baby. Going for my 2nd check up next Monday - will be 12 weeks then, hope all's good....

As for you, I can understand too, children's energy - infinite!! haha! 1 1/2 weeks left rite...hold on there.

U noe, sometimes I read the blog of Cher's friend - the one she always goes out with. Such a happy blog, I like reading it. hehe.

CD, cheezel
I agree those instant porridge are so convenient. I brought my last few packs to japan the other time. Alternatively we can grind the porridge till verrrry fine, so it won't take so long to cook in a portable cooker.

Cheezel
where u heading to?

blueblue,
i stay PG too

cheezel
u can oso soak e rice overnite .. easier to cook into porridge next day. That's what i did for my vietnam trip.

CD/Smalldreams
yes. its convenient when u go on trip. me just heading to malacca for a night stay only. Dont wanna cook intially but my mom wanna bring traveller cooker. So tot of buying the instant porridge. I can only find the Quaker Instant Oatmeal Porridge. I have grinded rice but cos tot if Javen take then must add some ingredient else too plain le.

CD
what u add to the porridge?

cheezel
can add those jarred baby food, borvil, canned tuna, canned peanut :p

Dinno blue stay in PG too. But neva met, so even meet on e rd oso wun know. hehe.

cheezel
I am putting him to playgroup. Morning session hopefully.
Do u give Javen the Scott Emulsion?

CD
We can meet up sometimes. I like to let the kids play together especially he is the oni kid at home.

Serene
he is attending the weekly GUG, already for almost 9 mths. Going to stop this Aug...break for awhile before playgroup.

cheezel
another holiday?? so nice! I wished I could go too, but frankly I dont think I'll have the energy.

Javen still eating porridge? Can he take the hotel food already? Sure a lot of variety
But yr 2nd one must still eat porridge lah I guess?

smalldreams
Javen will have porridge, noodles, rice etc for his meal. When we travel, i do cook porridge/noodles for him but we do let him have outside food at times like for dinner etc. but cos sometime we adult dun have our meal at regular time...sometime lunch at 2 plus, so if thats the case, i will feed him first.

blue
yup. Javen taking the scott emulsion n multivit alt days.

hi CD
My boy also active. hee. Let them fight. haha. His attention is v short span. I read story books to him and less than 3 mins, he just run away.

Do u ladies apply for childcare leave? Do u utilise all? So far, I oni used 1 day for this yr. Haha. Going to apply for childcare leave to register ryan for playgrp.

CD
I am at 180+...U?

blue
i m 600+ . cheezel said u near mah, thot u oso ard here:p

i apply childcare leave like annual leave. .. here, no nid to give specific childcare related reason.

CD
also quite near la...just 1-2 bus stop away nia. its along the stretch of road in front of ur block.

me also apply like annual leave...now i left 2 days only cos going to utilise those leave with expiry 1st then clear my AL

blueblue
my policy is to utilised childcare leave 1st..then u start ur annual leave..

I just finished all my 6 days of cc leave..

@@ Where's everybody??

I'm back from Malacca. Body muscle aching all over. Been carry Jaren most of the time as he refuse to sit in his stroller/car seat n only demand to be carried by me. The weather is hot and humid. At night, the night market is crowded with people. Very humid!! Been sweating away 98% of the time there. Hahaha....but ok la...quite fun for the trip but its REAL tiring even though its only a night stay. Prob cos the weather is too hot/.

hallo everyone,

better come in here and say hi a bit...Janet was wondering what happened to me :p

v busy. with maid issues and also work. things picked up a lot on my end so now handling a crisis for a client....like time bomb liddat...hahahaha

hope all of you are well.

All the kiddos are getting nottier? at least i know mine is. he's driving us up the wall lah!!!

nellu,
haha...I really made u come in and say hi ah? Good to know that you are enjoying life...

yes, B is becoming like a cry baby...every single thing also wants to cry...at first i thought she is just pretending, but apparently, she can force some tears out...amazing.

Smalldreams,
I remember last time, I also gagged alot..some time also gagged even when in shower.

any tips for me? Every morning, my ds more and more clingy to me. He will take away my shoes don't let me wear...or he will jsut cling on my clothes, or when I carry, like a koala, he won't come down.

Usually take some toys, eat snacks to distract him. But I ran out of ideas already. He wakes up very early at 7 am. I leave house 8 am.

Ris
I think this is a stage lah. Some toddlers also regress and go back to babyhood stage. Perhaps you could assure yr DS that you'll be back to play with him in the evening?

For Adam, he'll happily toddle into my mom's place when I drop him off - he can say Bye Bye Ibu! But then, at night, sometimes he wants to play still, so he refuses to go home. When I put on my headscarf as a signal to go home, he once pulled it off so that we won't need to go home.

ris
Javen wakes up early in the morn too. normally 7 plus...but sometime 6 plus ewake up liao.

1) i will tell him i go work, no work no $$, no $$ cannot buy thomas train/mcQueen car for him...most of the time he ok.

2)or sometime he will say follow me to work, i will tell him, mommy go Uncle/Auntie there to work...n ask if he want to see them, 100% he will say no, so i will ask him to stay at home n play with didi....

3) Sometime will tell him mommy work there dirty, many cockroaches/lizards/ant.....if Javen go, ants/insects will come n eat his sweets/biscuits. Hehehehe.....very bad hor...but at least he wont fuss to follow me.

Ris
my boy oso the same recently...clingy to me...even if I bring him to my PIL plc every morning..he will cling on to me..n refused to go into the hse..

cheezel, Ris,
I also use your method no 1. And I will also tell her that I need to go to work the night before. So sort of like setting her expectation. Of course, when I tell her, she will immediately say dont want...but the next morning, she will say bye bye to me.

mummies mummies
wanna ask .. any of ur kids start to reject milk? 2 days ago, Jboy refused to drink his nite feed and morn feed. So dat nite, i bo bian added milo into it and tell him its choc milk. Now, every milk oso he wan 'choc milk'. I worried too much milo is heaty (tho i added each time abt 1 big teaspoon). Any of ur kids reject milk? wat other ways is there to get them to drink milk?

CD
Javen long time reject milk. So every time when its milk time, have to hold his straw bottle n make him drink till finish. else he can jolly leave it there standing for dunno how long. sometime got to follow him everywhere he go to make sure he finish up his milk. if at night, If at night, I will play hi5, Mickeymouse cartoon, barney show etc, pour some biscuits in a bowl n give it to him. When he eating, will let him drink milk from straw bottle at the same time. Hehe....he long time reject milk in milk bottle. He associate milk bottle to his baby bro. hehe….i give him milo at times, give him those vanilla/choc milk fr those packet one too….cos the packing is nicer with prints which he like so when I pour out, he will know its “slightly” diff from his normal powder milk n he will be more willingly to drink

CD
That's so so cute of Jboy :p
Think shouldn't be worried too much coz at this age, they can get calcium from other sources rite?

how about cheese etc if he consistently doesn't like it? Or get him to eat cereal with milk?

Or he can start drinking pasterized milk too, like what cheezel gives to Javen.

cheezel/ smalldreams
jboy ah .. if he dun wan drink, u force, use cane, talk nicely to him all wun work :S he will juz cough n cough n pretend he wanna vomit. Hiaz.

actually, i m more worried abt 'heaty' than the calcium intake.

CD
Normally I wont tell Javen its milk time though prob he knows its milk when he wakes up in the morn n nap n also before bedtime at night. So when he’s playing with his toy, I just let him sip here n there….can finish his milk 180ml in 15 mins….very long lo. but at least he drink ba. I think its already ba…as long as not giving the whole milo should be alright ba…not too sure also le. Let him drink more water?

CD
then give Jboy more cooling stuff...! Hehe :p

Cheezel
Adam drinks about 190ml in less than 5 minutes! Then off to play after showing off that he has finished his milk. But then again Adam is not much of an eater compared to Javen, that's fer sure.

smalldreams
tats fast. He drink fr bottle right? Javen refuse to drink fr bottle n so start him on straw bottle for milk quite sometime back.

CD
my boy oso not taking his nite feed recently...sometime i no choice..give him cheese lor...

same as Jboy..he dun take soft or hard approach..he will jsut cry if u force him..i give up on him..

Today I just tried to make pediasure ice cream..duno if he likes it o not..tonite i going to let him try..