(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

YoYo!! ME also missing for awhile. Been bz with Javen birthday celebration and also which actually went for job interviews etc.

Anyone going for thre barney show in June? I have booked the Gingerbread man show ....going to book the barney show as well since its in june n holiday...

SD,
Good that Jonas is taking the school well...but half an hour walk is really long...your MIL will be using stroller right?

Cheezel,
thinking of changing jobs ah?

SD
Wow! Jonas seems to be adjusting well in CC. So happy to hear tat! Now I do wonder how Adam would be like...while my heart wants to keep him at home longer, I think i'll have to place him in some playgroup in about 6 months' time...

cheezel,
you changing job again? (or not yet since you last mentioned? sorry, i lost track cos I kept dreaming I changed job but never).

mummies, me quite upset cos a colleague got promoted to another department (which she has no experience in) but I never got promoted but got to take over her job.
don't know when will be my turn.
I don't know how to ask for promotion. anyone ever done this before?

Janet/Jeanyard
I have been with the company for quite a while liao….Jeanyard, i didn’t change job the last that I told you. This time round am more actively looking ard. In fact I was been offered a job…..sort of a level above my position now but then as it require me to go US for training for 9 months….i still thinking if I really want as both my boys still so young. Now, it’s a shift position which I dun really look forward to although the job scope is what I wan. Abit wasted when I came to think abt it…..its a gd opportunity.

SD
good to hear jonas doing well. dun worry. who knows very soon, he starts to socialise more

cheezel

i read in yr blog before that u're a chemist. sounds very interesting! that's the last thing i'd be coz chemistry was my worst subject in school.

cheezel,
yah loh...sound like a good opportunity to be missed right...maybe discuss with your hubby and see how...9 months is really a long time. if only it is 9 days right, then at least not so bad.

jeanyard,
my workplace here also a lot of this kind of thing...'unfair' promotion.
I am also quite fedup too...

jeanyard,
yes i asked my ex boss for pay increase n 'due promotion' cos i completed a big 'xiong' project n tink i did quite a gd job. hahhahahaha, me super thick skin :p.

sanrio,
so did you get it (ie the promotion)?
but i guess one would only get a promotion only if did a 'big' project loh

springdance,
how did you do it? I think if I put Cookie in school, I will cry cos he will cry too....

cheezel,
I think overseas training more than 2 mths I won't take esp now kids so small. my hubby is away for 6 mths, and he misses them. for the mother, I think the separation is worst. I'mm willing to sacrifice career cos no more 2nd chance to see kids grow up.

smalldreams, janet,
promo in my company is based on whoever wants to leave and they want to keep the staff.
me so loyal nver get anything.
increment never get above 10%.

sanrio,
the last time I asked for promo, the big boss said, our current senior staff not up to standard, so cannot give me any. wah lao, I think I was better than them.
pregnant still bao kar leow.

Today is Shyanne's 2nd birthday! Happy birthday to my little princess!

Am gonna to put her into CC. My mum can't handle her with 2 babies at home. She keeps disturbing the babies. Heh..

Am considering putting her into The Little Skool House - new outlet at Jurong Safra opening only end of May. Any comment on this CC? I find the fees quite ex. though - $950 for full day CC.

Initially wanna put her in a NTUC CC near my mum's place, but no slot. The class is full with 16 kids now. I asked if can put on waiting list and guess wat, there's 30 kids in the waiting list. Pengz! Mean I will NEBER get a place one lah.

jeanyard
For me...in my co..the only to get promoted is to be mobile...so all those who promoted are mainly singles who can move to other part of the world to work...

My increment also never above 10%..infact if I can get 5% increment..its consider a big deal lor..

I think if you felt that u deserved the promotion..just sound out to ur boss lor..asked and you will get..

Cheezel
though the new job offers a great opportunity..but at this point..u just have to decided if family comes before career lor..

Jeanyard/ZhuZhu
i couldnt bear the thoughts of leaving my 2 kids behind. Not to say for 9 months....i may have to go for a conference coming june for a wk and i really drag the day when it comes...keep hoping the trip will be cancelled due to the swine flu. Even when go for holiday, i always bring them along. Family come first....i lost out alot of opportunities in terms of big projects cos i couldnt afford the time to work real late n on weekends. anyway dun care now....i just do my part at work and leave on the dot.

Cheezel,
me doing clinical/medical projects n adhoc projects related to medical data. n it was the 'Sars' tat i got promoted cos 'Sars' was really a 'big' project.
i was offered a job in hk b4 ash came along. i din go then cos hb dun wan let me go. hb said, u sure u wan to work in hk healthcare line... must think properly.
like u, my family comes 1st n tats why i became a sahm loh. but i m seriously tinkg of returning to d workforce mayb next yr, hopefully part tx.

JG,
Happy birthday to Shyanne!

Happy Mothers' Day to all!

Cheezel
My work attitude rite now, is exactly like yours. Haha! Family first, work is just another dimension of my life.

<font color="aa00aa">Happy Mother's Day to all mummies</font>
ky was born on mother's day 2yrs ago, we are celebrating today!

cheezel
my mentality oso the same as ur..family comes 1st..even if we just go out for a meal..i would oso bring my boy along..

me too. family comes first. a few days conference still can bear with it...but if a few months, i think i will also give it a miss...even last time, 7 days in Japan, already very nights looked at family photos...
But I do understand Jeanyard's feeling...at least must also be appreciated in workplace.

My previous boss is very good...she plans for every staff under her...in term of career progress. now, she promoted already...the new boss not so good...that is why a bit sian here...

Sanrio,
yes, me in healthcare...i am a nutritionist.
wow, opportunity overseas quite good lei...guess you have such good name at workplace, your boss will surely take you back.

Janet
Nope she doesn't..grandma and little boy walks together..coz my boy very long time never sit in stroller liao so my MIL worry if halfway he doesn't wanna sit, she gotta hold my boy PLUS stroller! So they just walk slowly lor...although my boy will request to be carried for some small parts of the journey.

Smalldream
Why dun you consider weekend 2hrs playgroup classes for Adam to start off with first? Parent can accompany one...can be quite fun.

Sanrio
Thanks for the encouragement...The centre is at Tower 4, level 4...you got in touch with your ex boss already? He has vacancy available?

Jeanyard
I never did anything..in fact, my mindset was that Jonas will cry throughout the class..that's why I mentioned I was miraculously surprised...anyway, I think it still waits to be seen, some kids I heard only started crying after a week, when they realise this is a permanent thing and they will be kept enclosed in the school for a few hours... I still keeping my fingers crossed! :p

SD
Yups, that's what I'm thinking too. now keeping my eyes open for good ones near my place.

Re : child dentist
I think I really gotta bring adam to a dentist soon. I feel so terrible for him. I think his front teeth is discoloured coz he latches to sleep
Sighs...maybe I shud bring him today, later..

Smalldreams
U may wanna consider weaning him off fr ur breast. He sucks for comfort to sleep? I just taught Javen to say breast. Hehe…cos every time he will say neh neh when he point to my breasts. So I teach him to say breast instead of neh neh. But I dun think latch on will cause discoloration.

Y not try 2 hrs playground like Javen? Everyday 2 hrs only.

SD
Javen started crying on n off for 1-2 weeks after a month in sch. He cry when he 1st strated out…but that’s ony for 1-2 days. After which he stopped….then start again a month later….the teacher mention its normal. U just monitor ba….prob he dun even cry at all….hehe. u put him full or half day ?

cheezel
I've been wanting to wean him off, but it's so hard coz latching is the easiest way to get him to sleep. It's my fault lah. Maybe tonight I try...again.

Smalldreams
I always keep Javen in the bedroom when its near bedtimeeven though at times he didn’t want to go into the room and my in laws will do their part not to play with him outside at that time. Eg, Javen normally sleep at 8.30 to 9pm. So after dinner ard 7 plus, I will wash him up n then bring him to the room. Let him finish his milk, have some light snack (cos his dinner is ard 5 plus), read some books, do some puzzles, or watch barney or high 5 show. When its time, I just off the light and he will know its time to sleep. Sometime he will keep on talking to me…I entertain him for a while and then ask him to sleep n will stop talking to hm. He will then talk to himself, sing songs etc and then doze off….. I keep to the same routine everynight without fail. And it works….now I intro the young one in the bedroom also…..sometime Jaren sleep earlier in my in laws room, then Javen will ask me where is didi and will ask me to bring him into the room to sleep with him.

Now starting to train him to tell us when he pee….nowadays let him wear underwear only…no diapers…he pee everywhere for the 1st 2 days…..i also want to wean him off fr his pacificer….hehhe….he still have one more molar for each side …sometime vcan see him drooling and putting his fingers into the mouth.

Janet,
nutritionist, wah.. i hv alwy wanted to b 1 cos i like to 'experiment' w food. u w HPB? i hope there is vacany shd i wan to go bk :p

SD,
tks for d cc info. did u visit LV in tower 1 i think? i hvnt visited both, wanted to go but recently swine flu, they din allow visitors. i 'visit' my boss once a while n told him i hope to come bk. wld talk to him mayb in aug/sep. but i dun noe whether there is vacany for me...

smalldreams,
cher front teeth is discoloured too :p but my frd's daughter latches on to slp but her teeth are very white leh... i oso dun noe how to wean cher off, very tough...

cheezel
hee i was toilet training ky during last wk end. now he can tell me 'she she' whenever he wants to pee. only put on diapers at night. every 1/2hr i would ask him want to pee and remind him to tell me when he wants to pee.

smalldreams
ky's upper teeth also yellowish even i make him bursh his teeth. i think nothing to do with latching. usu i will use wash cloth to clean his teeth when i bath him. try to give water after milk feed.

gacc
I'm so sad looking at Adam's teeth. At first PD said it was normal, but now I don't think so lei... I'll bring him to thekidsdentist after his birthday....

Does cher latch to sleep?

Cheezel
I tried doing what you did to Javen, but no matter what when it comes to sleeping, he'll surely want to latch on to me. Sighs...

sgn
It's not just discoloured, there's like indentations on his teeth too. So to be safe, I better bring him down to the dentist soon.

smalldreams
i think take times too...after all he has been latching on for 2 yrs and now all of sudden cannot, he prob dun understand. You may want to tell him why cannot etc. Sometime Javen likes to pull my blouse up or touch/poke my breast n i will tell him no and explain to him. Surprisingly, he listen and then still repeat what i told him back to him. Machiam he really understand....or prob he really underdstand.

sgn
KY so smart!! 1 weekends he knows how to say she she liao. Javen still dunno...keep asking him he will say no n then next momment she she on the floor.....

For those that have already sent your kids to school, what are the things you look out for when deciding whether that school is the right place for your kids?

I am 'shopping' for a pre-nursery now. So is wondering what to look out for besides the usual cleanliness, location. what else eh?

Janet
Pre-nursery meaning playground? Cleanliness, location, fee, course provided (meaning what the kiddos going to do n learn), qualification of teacher (as well as race), no of teacher per class, the size of the class, if it is not a new sch – can ask any cases of HFMD ….if new place set up for the class like the one Javen attendin now then I didn’t ask.

Any other more???.....

samlldreams
keep me update on adam's visit to the dentist ya i may want to bring ky ha ha KS!

cheezel
ky also have some 'accidents' when he was so engross playing with his cousin, forgot to tell me he want to she she.
worst thing was he so used to poo in the diaper, so he did not open his bowel for 2 days.

talking about working overseas, my company also planning to send me to overseas traning for 4-8 wks. i keep telling my boss my kid needs me, and wait till next Finncial Year. even now he still cry whenever i bath or just leave the hse for a while. worst come to worse i plan to bring ky along and a bb sitter if i can affort or wait till ky is 3.5-4yrs old.

sgn
I was thinking of bringing him on friday as I'm on leave. however that's also his birthday. So evil rite, to bring him to dentist on his birthday. and what if it hurts and he can't enjoy himself during his little party on saturday evening. Hee! Don't worry, I'll surely update you girls about his dentist visit!

cheezel, sgn
my cousin in law is in US now. She's been there for about 3 months already. Her 4 yr old boy, still looks for her every morning when he wakes up. No matter what, kids sure look for their mummies one. And poor boy, he had a bad fall, hurting his lips last week. Lucky got his grandmother - at least can comfort him like his mother.

Thanks cheezel and cool_daughter for your advice.

Smalldreams,
cannot talk, send to school to develope the talking skills mah...

yesterday, B said something rude to a stranger. There was a bald man with us in the lift. I could see the word is already on B's mouth, because she kept pointing to the man. Finally the words came out not once but twice...'botak'. Then I controlled myself from laughing, covered her mouth and said, 'dont be rude'. Lucky, the man also not too angry..a bit smiling lah.

smalldreams
nothing is greater then mother's love!
tomorrow is ky's birthday i'm taking leave too but dun know where to go?

sgn,
you taking leave ah? next time, maybe we can do it together since we are of the same day...haha.
I am just ordering another smaller cake to let her blow the candle. I already have a bigger cake last weekend.

Janet
ya was thinking of getting another ice cream cake for ky to blow candle but he is coughing so cancel the plan.
we celebrated with our family on sun too. the kids keep wanting to blow candle, so we keep lighting up for them to blow ha ha ha.....

maybe we can celebrate together next yr. i was thinking where got ppl to celebrate with as it's a wk day!