(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

thanks janet.

Hi mummies, did you let your kid try drinking packet milo? The smaller packet ones? Reason because my ds dont like or can't concentrate drinking milk from milk bottle when we are outside. So now i need to resort to this. Do you think is ok if he finish the whole I think 125 ml by himself? All along I gave bottle food and drink plain water only if desperate situation. So now I find him older in age, so maybe can try milo? Or apple juice? Any advice? We are going to celebrate their 2 year old birthday soon, I am getting excited!

hello mummies

haben come in for few days...thread not so active le!! Wheres all the mommies? busy?

Javen started his playgrp last fri. so far still ok cos parent allow for the 1st 3 days....i tried to stand at the door but he alwasy follow me when he sees me...have to leave him there on wed liao. hope he wont cry so badly.....

ris
i let Javen drink packet milo at times. when i drink, i just let him sip. he can drink half packet. he do drink water too....now he dun really wan milk at times only before bedtime then he wanna drink. my mil bought a tin of milo (Australia brand) n mix with milk. he do drink that too. else he also like cheese. u can try cheese with ur ds??

i starting work next week liao. haiz...wanna go back work cos rested too long but at the same time, missed my boys....haiz...

ris, cheezel
i dun like the packet cos very high sugar content.
usu i will mix packet juice with water (dilute) then give ky.

cheezel
rest too long dun feel like working?
why did't u take 3 months and the last month keep till later?

ris,
so how are u going to celebrate 2nd birthday?

cheezel,
I remember that feeling of going back to work but still miss your kids. how times flies right..back to the 9to5 again.

BTW, I went fidgets that weekend after our gathering. really a lot of ang mos. but my girl has fun there, though she knocked her head there while playing the slide

anyone knows where to buy scissor (for cutting food) that has a cover, so that it is safer when we bring the scissor outside

Sanrio
Cher is such a clever darling....I wonder when my boy will start to talk or show signs of wanting to use the toilet bowl.....so slow....should I consult a specialist regarding his "not talking" situation?

Nellu
Do share with us on how Josh did on this 1st day of school when you've got the time.

Hey, where's you workplace? Maybe we could catch up for lunch of of these days.

Ris
Wow...you planning for 2nd year birthday for your little one? What you have in mind? My hubby very bad...banned me from doing parties anymore coz we had a so-called big one already for 1st year...

Cheezel
I called up Grace Kids liao...it seems that they need one month notice for withdrawal... looks like I can't get back my 100bucks oledi... BOO HOO HOO!!! SOBzzzzzzz

Janet
Did you went for the Ox play on Saturday? Like never see you & family lei....

Hope everyone is doing well. And HAPPY 2009!!

I've been so busy.. with work, tod and at the same time, the little one in the tummy has been doing a lot of kickings.. now into 3rd tri already.. then it was x'mas.. ny.. and CNY soon! and my EDD is 6 weeks after CNY.. so many things happening!

Re: Potty training
I've been trying to get shyanne to be potty trained. She will auto take and sit on the potty before her bath.. but no biz too.. She will only tell you after she did her big/ small biz.. won't tell u before that..

Guess have to go slow.. tat's y not been pushing her hard on it.. just hoping that one day she will really do her biz in the potty and not just sit for show only..

springdance,
I was looking out for you too. also didnt see you. Saw mum@work, didnt realise that I sat next to her until i saw her girl.

did jonas enjoy the show? my girl didnt, infact I also felt it was a bit boring.

JG,
My girl also sits on the potty for show only. But think on the positive side, at least we accomplished the first step, ie. kids willing to sit on a potty.

Ris
I ever gave my boy the small packet of milo..will drink abit 1st..cos i worry he will squeeze all the milo out..even sometimes when we eat Mac breakfast..will oso let him drink the milo..

JG
The sch teacher ever told me..dun force the kid on potty...let them take their time..when they decide they wan to do their biz in the potty..they will do it..no hurry..

sgn
no. in fact i look forward to going back work...just that will miss my boys. will be handling a major proj for the company comp system when i go back and i know my boss too well....it will not be so easy for me to apply for leave. so i prefer to take one shot instead of staggered.

janet
i saw u, mom@work n SD on sat for the show. only manage to talk to mom@work n SD. i saw u walking towards the entrance.....no chance to call u cos was waiting for blueblue fren to pass the tics to her. i find the show boring but javen likes the cows and animals though he didnt understand what the show is abt. he even asked me to go on stage to take the cow for him. towards the end of show, he already bugging me to leave cos he hungry and keep telling me "porridge porridge, milk milk" no choice lo....when the show end, i'm one of the few who chiong to the entrance to take shoes....hahaha...

SD
really? the lady didnt tell me one month grace le. i haben submit the letter also le.....alamak!!!

just finished my dinner and gone through my emails. It's been a really tiring day today. We were up early so that we can go to sch by 830am and let Josh have breakfast there. He's been generally good today at school. Very few tantrums, but very dogged in wanting to climb up and down the stairs in the school. He ate all his food, drink directly from an open cup (totally surprised me! he's never done it before at home!), participated in the lessons, played at the playground. BUT he didn't nap and screamed bloody murder when the teacher showered him (He hates the shower!). By the time it was 4pm, we called it a day and headed home. The moment the car engine started, he fell asleep, but only catnap for abt 10mins or so...so he's gone to bed at 630pm just now!! Overall, he's been quite good. He didn't really cling on to me all the time.

SD, Cheezel,
just email Grace Kids abt the withdrawal. Speaking of this, i'll need to call them up to ask them for my money too! I've given them notice but haven't gotten the cheque yet.

SD,
my ofc is at Robinson Rd...but I won't be in ofc all the time for now. I'm on flexi basis for now.

SpringDance,
heehee...sawing u carrying Jonas to take a sit at the start of the play...
Cheezel,Janet
Tot the play was abit boring too...bbK oso enjoyed the ox story oni, after tat she is running all around liao...
nellu
wow, I shd said Josh done well!!! Impressive.
JG
Hapi NY. Oh...u r due in mid march? Congrats. Me will be due in 22feb... nw hving bkaches, cant wait for the bb to be out.

re:milo
my girl only tried mine once. she took a sip. then after her 2nd sip she juz spit out onto her white dress! so that's the end of her milo drinking in public for now..hahaha..will try again next time

cheezel
who will be taking care of your boys when u're working?
how do you get your boys to sleep at nite? you and hubby each handle 1 boy? was wondering the other day and asking my hubby coz he comes bck late at nite and i will hv to handle 2 myself next time. while trying to get 1 to sleep, what abt the other one?

nellu
glad to know josh did so well at school! went to jujube website to see. not bad

smalldreams
didnt manage to see the jujube pouch though

Mum at Work
I saw you too but you didn't notice me when I saw you.. hehe. :p

Janet
You sitting beside Mum@Work? Me only saw her at the end of the show whilst walking out but didn't see you lei.

My boy didn't enjoy the show one bit I think...LOLzz...my hubby was lamenting during the show "See...waste money!"....as we were late, when we entered the room, it was dim so Jonas was kinda afraid...we went all the way to the back to sit so as not to disturb others in case Jonas fussed...all the way he was clinging on to me or dad like Koala...until last 15minutes he warmed up then came down to play (but still not watching the show). I felt the show was quite interesting though...hehehe.

Cheezel / Nellu
Ya when I called GK yesterday, the lady specified that one month's notice is necessary...she said it's stated in the receipt and also when we register...she said I can still write in for refund but will be subject to approval...she dun sound positive though.

Nellu
Sounds like Josh did rather well for 1st day of school...until how many days can you accompany him at school?

Well well...we are working in the same area in that case...perhaps when you decide to lunch around your work place one of these days...can give me a ring. Are you still doing PR line of work?

Springdance

You've been banned from parties for Jonas? haha! I didn't have one for Adam's 1st - just gave away goodie bags to his kiddy cousins. Thinking of having a party for his 2nd, but now economy not so good, can't spend too much lah. See how lah. most likely only giving goodie packs again.

Nellu

Good for ya that Josh seems alrite. I can't imagine Adam going to sch. Already he's so attached to me & hubby after spending 2 weeks in Japan & on leave with him. THis morning he clung to my knees when we reached my mom's place coz he knew he'd be deposited there.

Adam's not well too - he got a minor eye infection (got discharge once in a while) and also down with bad cough & runny nose. saw his PD yesterday. Now I'm going to be down too.

Cheezel
Aww, I know that feeling. But what to do, dual income is almost necessary in S'pore. well, just look forward to work, and hope the boys do well!

Wonder_baby
Think there is an online site that sells Ju Ju Be stuff in this forum. business threads.. but don't worry ah, any bag will do as a diaper bag / pouch. It's not anything magical, it's just a bag. hehe

wonderbaby
my mil helping me to take care of the boys. she will use carrier to carry the small one and then bring Javen to n fro sch. when my hubby is on noon shift, then he can help to look after the younger one when my mil bring Javen to sch or vice versa.
my 2 boys sleep thru the night now. the initital stage, younger one still wake up every 2 hrs for milk n i have to pump milk in the night too...very tiring n plus javen still wake up for milk at that time. hmm....they wake up different timing so still not too bad. i just handle one at a time. theres a few occasion when 2 cry at the same time, i just carry the small one and then pat the elder one to sleep. but thats very sledom n in fact no more now. when the younger one begin to sleep thru, i train the elder one not to wake up for milk too....hehe...told him to wait...then he doze off while waiting...few days later, he sleep thru liao.
normally i will make the elder sleep 1st. ard 8pm. n my mil help me take care younger one. after elder one sleep, then i bring in young one. when my pil not at home, n hubby also working, i will make the small one sleep 1st in the other room. then i will make the elder one sleep. when elder sleep liao, then carry the small one into the room.

my hubby work shift so there alt week, he will work late n sometime thru the night if theres OT.

I am still thinking how to celebrate birthday. I think 2 year old still too young for theme, eg Disney Cars, etc.

smalldreams
quick! tell me where to get nice bags..esp those tote kind

zhuzhu
hubby seldom carry for me coz my wallet, hp, etc are all inside. but once in a while when my shoulders cannot take it (esp when i put in a portable dvd player for my girl) then i'll pass the bag to him for a while. and it's a pink stripes tote kind of diaper bag..wahahahaha

cheezel
i'm alone with my girl most of the time so was wondering how to handle a 2nd child as well. think maybe i'll wait for chloe to be bigger.hubby doesnt help much even when he's at home. dunno why he prefers to watch dvds till early morning then wake up late the next day during the weekends when he's not working even after i sound him so many times to wake up earlier to spend time with his daughter. and he can still say can hv #2. he prefers to employ maid. but i dont feel comfortable with one

smalldreams,
tks for leaving comments on my blog but i just deactivated the comments cos there are so many spam n they posted comments like, 'can i get to know u, tell me more abt urself' etc... terrible!
pls feel free to share comments abt my posts here

tks for compliment on cher. no wori abt toilet training. for ash, i only started when he was 'obviously' ready. n in 1 week tx, he was toilet trained n soon he was fully toliet trained including night tx. i din even put him on training pants at hm, straight away on brief (except in the start, i put him on pull-ups when outside) my experience w ash was tat if i put him on diaper or training pants at hm, is harder to train cos he kind of thought tat is ok to somtx tell mommy, somtx jus pee in d diaper/training pants.

A small tip: when ur kid is READY, n u embark on training, be consistent. 1st few days, there might b incidents but by abt 3rd or 4th day, it shd improve. kip reminding/asking them whether there is a need to pee after short intervals.
if u more determined to oso go diaperless outside quickly,
1) ask kid to pee before leaving d hse
2) even if kid is on pull-up, when he/she indicates d need to go toilet, brg them to d toilet thou mayb false alarm somtx. i hv frds who find it troublesome to brg kid to toilet when outside so d kids still put on diaper n being 'encouraged' to pee/poo in diaper even up to 4/5/6 yrs old.

SD,
tink i alwy write this to u :p not to wori unless u do notice anything not too right n feel that there is a need to intervene. can jonas say some simple words? did d pd say anytg?
as for ash, becos he was born w a special 'birthmark' (not d common bluish or redish type) on his face, n medically this may hv some link to speech development or autisim, we were worried as he was refered to see a genetic specialist in kkh. to cut d story short, in d end, we decided to put him on speech therapy 1st n c how.
u saw ash right? very chatty nowadys.

nellu,
ya lor, tats why we took ash out, d place ah, haiz... lots of staff issue.
gd to hear tat josh is doing well on d 1st day. how's ur new job?

smalldreams
Ya lor...when I try to casually raise the party idea to my hubby...he was like "NO..not again..keep it simple plese!". :p

Hmmm....Adam has got so many young cousins...think it'll be fun even if it's just a gathering cum cake blowing session at one of the relative's place.

Sanrio
Yesh...this is not the 1st time you've shared with me about Ash's experience...I know I am being very "lor soh"..hahah...but each time I see other kids the same age develop much faster than my boy, I can't help to get paranoid....PLUS he's always so shy & afraid of unfamilar faces..so I am thinking he might have autism?

Problem is we didn't check about Jonas's speech during the last visit to PD for his final jab...

Jonas is not saying any words at all still...just babbling sounds. But he can understand some simple oral instructions from us.

Hmm..based on the above, would you think we should bring him to genetic specialist to confirm?

sanrio, wonder baby
i used nike tote bag and backpac still find tote bag easy to reach for things while carrying the kid.
backpac a bit difficult as can't reach all the way till the back.

SD,
i din find u lor soh lah :p i undstd. can jonas say eg: 'papa'? ash was born in kkh and his follow-ups all there. yes they can b detailed but i dun noe whether somtx they 'overdo' it? if u do visit a pte pd, ask d pd for his/her views? which pd does jonas go to? if u walk in (must make appt) to kkh child development clinic, wld b pte patient n somtx d wait is terrible. but is quite thorough (but some pple find it ma fan), ash was 1st send for hearing test. i told them phone ring, door etc, he can respond but they say tat by such 'gauge' is not accurate.
1 more thg, i was told by d speech therapist tat somtx becos they cant speak or 'communicate', they tend to b more shy. is not becos they're autistic. is not easy to clearly identify autisim in very young children unless d signs are very obvious. jonas does play w familar pple/kids n not alwy in his own 'world' w total no eye contact all d tx right?

sgn,
i prefer tote too. i dun use backpac.

sanrio
i find it difficult to reach for things esp pacifing a crying kid ha ha. packpac will be good if hubby helps to carry cos they dun find it 'aunty'!

sanrio

Wow, you're a "chio" mommy that's why mebbe got pple wanna get to know you...! haha, how come I never get such comments on my blog? Heheh...

SD

Yeah, that happens most of the time. My hubby's family (as in all his immediate aunts, close cousins) meet almost once monthly, and there's ALWAYS a birthday cake! haha! I wasn't used to it at first coz my family is not as big and "ONZ".

wonder_baby, sanrio
LV a bit too "atas" for me, hehe. I like Lesportsac too, but I regret buying the smaller, compact ones. Should've gotten the bigger tote bags. I like Rootote as well - it's canvas & rather durable, but the handle a bit too short lah.

I find that any of my handbags can double up as a diaper bag as long as I have space to stuff in what I need...

I also don't quite prefer backpacks as gotta dig deep into it.

SD

Hey don't worry too much k? but then again, I also sometimes wonder if Adam has ADHD ...coz he's just too super active lor. Many who has seen him said has compared him to other kids, or even to me, or my hubby. Plus he really screams at times when he doesn't get what he wants. I blame myself at times, coz in my line of work, i do meet some notty kids, and when i was preggy, i often complained abt them. Sighs...

Adam also can't talk much (compared to Javen & Cher he's wayyyy far). He can say "Us!" for "Bus"
"Ti" for "MRT", "Abu" for Ibu (that's mummy), and of course his clearest word is "AYAH" (daddy) & some other words. Other than that, he can't say much. Let's wait till our boys are about 2-ish and see how... but of course if it puts yr mind at ease, u can ask yr PD

SD, Sanrio,
Talking abt speech development, I must tell you abt Josh. Today is only the 2nd day of sch, he's been really surprising. All this while I thought his vocalised vocab had been really limited to abt 10-12words thereabouts (the list is on my blog btw.). And I had thought that he probably understood very little instructions in Mandarin cos I spoke very little Mandarin with him ( i tried but gave up after I didn't get much response from him). He's surprised me completely aft today.

From yesterday to today, he started to confidently say and read BALL. He can now say OK, HELP, PLEASE, ROAR. Just over the weekend, he started to say the end words of each line of Twinkle Twinkle Little Stars.

The school environment had been really fantastic towards his speech development. He's been babbling nonstop since yday!

As for understanding Mandarin, he really showed he could understand what his Chinese teachers said to him and followed their instructions! FOr this I was totally surprised!! I even told my hb last nite over Skype call this. He didn't believe me. I told him to go and fetch Josh tomorrow and see for himself.

School had been really great so far. I'm really happy to see Josh enjoying himself. And it's been a long journey for me cos he started out being the shy baby who refused to leave my lap and participate in GK's lessons to what he is today, leaving to go with his teachers to do his activities. I'm really proud of him!

smalldreams,
abt ADHD. THere is a K2 boy with ADHD in Josh's CC. And he comes to the tod's class a lot cos he's v attached to Josh's teacher. He's a really smart kid. He's not totally hyperactive. But he does get very demanding and aggressive. He's an unfortunate case where his parents are separated and he and his father has yet to see and know each other. I heard from the teacher and the principal that his mother is bent on pushing him to his father after singlehandedly caring for him for the past 6 years... very sad. I reckon he got ADHD because he's kinda neglected.

When I was working in the education industry many years ago, I did encounter a lot of ADHD cases too. Most of them have a real history of parental neglect. I think this could be the main factor for ADHD. SO I doubt Adam has it. He's probably just a really regular extroverted high energy BOY!

sanrio,
new job's got loads to do..grand plans and tall orders...

SD,
hehe great..See how...if i commute into town I'll let you know..I still need sometime to settle in at the new place. Next Monday I'll be in HK for meeting with my chairman...probably aft that then will regularly go into ofc...

wonderbaby,
would you consider putting Chloe to CC if you wanna try for 2nd kid? We are sending Josh to sch because of this. Cos you know, he takes a long time to 'get the groove' so I need to prepare him early and very ahead of time so that when I actually do get pregnant, it will be easier for me to handle.

cheezel,SD,
GK said 'subject to approval'??? what rubbish is that?? I haven't had time to call them up...but when i do I'll speak to them. Also will speak to Grace if necessary (i'm getting Grace engaged in some church activities...hehehe..). Did you ask for the name of the person you spoke to?? If so, perhaps can PM me??

nellu, SD,
yes school does makes a difference, ash was last tx quite a shy boy too but af attending cc, he became so chatty n friendly.

nellu,
well done josh! yes is gd to plan ahead. jia you!

smalldreams,
hahahahaha! i tot i m so 'aunty'. dun noe how cum i got all those silly comments. it probably started w 1 then d spam link to another spam....

ADHD:
previously ash cc has a ADHD boy (who is abt 6mths younger than ash). oh, his activeness n behaviour is just much more extreme than a 'normal' active kid. so by just observing him, most pple can tell that this is likely a ADHD case.

Speech:
i suppose cher speaks more because she is a chatty girl (generally girls speech development are faster) n oso under the influence of her korkor who talks non-stop at hm.

Sanrio / Smalldreams
Well...Jonas does say "baba" to his dad...but he sometimes also say "bababababa" for no reason to no one???

Well, he does play with us (parents & gramps) but when some unfamilar person says "hi" or looks at him, he will quickly turn away or hide behind us. Tis not consider as "autism" hor??

Oh...So PD can conduct test to check if he has speech problems? Coz I was thinking whether I should deliberately find and consult a speech pathologist specialist about this... Just to set my mind at ease.... But I wonder how much it will cost $$$$. :p

Nellu
Am sure you must be really proud to see Josh do well at school. Least you can go to work at ease.

You started to drop him off at the school door step already? He's ok about it?

Wow...going to HK? Good food & shopping awaits you. Maybe we can catch up for lunch when you are back..before CNY.

SD,
i dun tink pd can conduct any special tests but if u go to a gd pd, they may ask u some specific questions n give u some valuable advice. being more reserved does not equal autism.

talking abt speech..yday was watching the 7pm Ch 8 show..then the gal in the show was shouting "mama"...and my boy follow suit..so funny..was telling hb can I consider that as him calling me mama

mommies
today, Javen had to attend class without me after 3 days of orientation. He was ok when i told him to sit and play toys with the others while i wait outside. When i was abt to reach the dooor, i saw him runnning towards me and the teacher quickly close the door. Can hear him crying and shouting for me for the next 20 mins. After which he finally settle down. As its a new class, most of the kiddos cry....i pity the kiddos as well as the 2 teachers who had a hard time pacifying all of them. but 45 mins later, they manage to calm the kiddos down cos no crying sound liao. i saw one mommy standing on a chair n peep in fr the top window to see the kiddos and i follow suit. hehehe....saw Javen sitting quietly on the chair with the teacher looking at thiose kiddos who are still crying. The next time i peep at him, he was drinking water fr his bottle and playing with another boy. The last time i saw him, they were all playing together with the teachers. He didnt cry when he came out from the classroom ....abit blur looking....so i give him a hug n carry him. when i ask him if he like teacher and wanna go sch tomor, he say ÿes. phew!......

SD
dun worry. i have fren whos kiddo doesnt speak till 2plus. only say dad dad...other then that, she seldom talk. try to talk to Jonas more?? prob it helps? cos i realise the reason y my fren kiddo doesnt talk much is cos he alwasy watch tv at home most of the time when they were out at work.....

cheezel

heee, soo cutee of javen! and you so cute also, standing on chair to peep ahha! well good to know javen is coping well.

CD,

Jordan's turning coming soon...hehe..

As for me, I think I shall start him on baby ..whoops..toddler classes first before going to Child care. still no heart to send him for now. There's little skoolhouse in the building where i work, but i can't bear to see those tiny tots being carried by the teachers...all so blur looking..hehe maybe it's just me...sighs..

Nellu

Yeah it makes sense that a kid develops ADHD coz he lacked parental attention. As for adam, my mom always says he has TOO much attention!

nellu, cheezel,
your boys are so good. like school so much. I hope the next time i send my girl to toddler class, she will be good too.

even now, going into weekend class with her together, she also would stick to me for the first 10 minutes, before warming up. imagine toddler class, i wouldnt be there, maybe she will cry alot. ai yah

CD

peeping mum is OK, as long as not peeping Tom. haha, just kidding :p

janet

which class does yr gal go to? i'm searching for one for adam. most likely somewhere in the east.

Hi Cheezel
How's the show? Javen enjoyed it?

Hi SD
Dun worry abt the speech. They will start talking non stop soon when u wan them to stop. hee.

I agree with Cheezel..talk more to him. I find them when I talk alot to Ryan in expressional manner, they tend to be more open. just my view.

cheezel
Javen is soooo brave, i can't image my ky goes to school! he can't do without me even if i just
take a shower! everytime he will hit my bathroom door and shout ' ma ma, ma ma'....and even cry if i dun answer.

springdance
like what blue blue and cheezel says, my mil also encourged us to talk to the
kiddo cos she finds my boy like to sticks onto the pacifier!

nellu
i still dont hv the heart to send her to CC yet. thought that since i'm not working, i might as well spend more time with her

cheezel
glad that javen did well too. hope my girl will also be brave when her time comes

smalldreams,
my girl goes GUG on sunday.

sgn,
ur boy knocked on the door when you bathe? just like mine too...no private time right?!

wonder_baby

hey babe why would you want to send chloe to CC since u're a sahm rite? U also won't get subsidies as much as ftwms.u're so lucky to be able to spend lots of time with chloe during her formative years

sgn

hey long time no see. u still at the same place?

Janet & sgn

same lah, adam will also knock on the door when i'm bathing. sometimes i even have to leave the door ajar if only me & him alone, and then he'll be notty & want to put his feet into the bathroom. of course i'll say no & tell him i'll hit his tiny legs. Grr...