(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Springdance

Who knows he might shoot up later? I agree with the girls too, I think it's better not to have overweight tods, coz that means their eating habits are questionable. Harder to lose weight too. Stay happy k? As long as Jonas is healthy, that matters most.

Cheezel

Wow, Javen sure is fast in talking! I'll be thrilled to meet him. Adam can barely say 5 words! He's still babytalking. Very linguistically inclined yr boy. hehe. I agree javen looks older than 18 mths. He's tall and mature! Chebah :p

Btw, I'm ashamed of my poor disciplining of adam on mealtimes. He doesn't even have a high chair to begin with. and recently he wants to feed himself. I just let him coz at least he eats something.

Nellu
I heard my parents & sis had a great time there. They preferred spain to paris (only 2 days there) coz the sights were more breathtaking. U going geneva? Wowee! I was in switzerland 2 yrs ago, but only stopped by 3 days at Zurich. We took a train there from Germany and I could barely keep my eyes open when we went around the mountains there. I so miss Europe. It's truly a gorgeous place!

wonder_baby
u just got it rite, so guess it won't be drying up so soon. get enuf rest k? I hope u have someone to help you around this period. or is it just you & chloe?

btw, if anyone's interested, I've finally uploaded some pics on the zoo, and my older outings with adam on my wordpress blog

springdance,
will let you know whether will go on 8 DEc, because my girl has fever, running nose and cough today. If cant recover in time, will not go and spread virus

wonder_baby,
tofu is a good food to try. I usually give plain tofu. My girl loves it. soft soft, no need to chew, she doesnt like chewing.

smalldreams,
will check out your blog.:)

Smalldreams/ Cheezel/ Janet/ Nellu
Thanks for the kind consoles...well, I should actually be contented that my boy is well & healthy..but of course, it would be ideal of couse if he can grow slightly bigger in size..being a petite mummy, I really hope that my boy will not take after me in terms of size. :p

Moreover, it's good to have a few excess kilos to lose..in preparation for him to shed some weight when he go school in future. Coz I know that most kiddos will bound to fall sick and have bad appetite when they start school. So, if he's alittle on the chubby side now, then it'll be just nice if he loses weight later...otherwise, he'll really be a scrawny kid if he's thin to start off with...Errmm...did I think too far?? :p

That being said, I really salute mummies who are able to discipline their child well in terms of eating and everything else...I think Nellu and Cheezel are such examples. I'm just too soft & lenient.

Parenting is really not easy and I think I have a very long way to learn (guess maybe becoz I never had siblings so dunnoe how to take care and discipline the young ones...)

P.S.
Cheezel, I think Javen is a really cute looking lei...not "chao lao" at all...and he's so intelligent and fast in development. Jonas can't even say a word at this point of time!

smalldreams
it's juz me n chloe. my parents will be coming over during xmas so didnt want to trouble my mum to come.

janet
but plain tofu no taste. chloe doesnt like. ur girl eats it plain?

wonder_baby,
yah, usually i either boil in water or steam the tofu together with frozen mixed vegetables. She loves it.

I tried before, quite plain tasting lei.

springD,

dun think so much lah!
worrying won't help much leh.
and don't be so hard on yourself. It won't make things better, right?

josh isn't chubby either. There are days when he won't eat anything at all as well and preferred to tear through the house and munch on raisins and cheerios... I'll just have to let it go at times and rein him back when I can.

I think being in a school envt will help tremendously. Dun worry too much abt the initial problems, it'll pass v soon. kids pick up really fast.

parenting definitely isn't easy, esp for me who's not the motherly type. But I learn and I think you can too. Up till now, I still think i'm not that great a mum, but hey, this is a process mah right?

Though i have a younger bro, i dun really know how to discipline or take care of him. I only know how to play along with him and be in cahoots with him for all the naughty things we did together all these years...Hahahaha! :p

smalldreams,
of course spain is nicer than paris lah! paris is over hype lah...it's really an adults' place and one for city lovers for that matter!

yes Europe's really nice.
and i really can't wait for next May to come! hehehe!

on the other hand, I'm hoping we can go to NZ next year too.. see LOTR before it's too late! and perhaps visit my best friend there!

janet,
Briana likes tofu! so good...next time skin will be nice and smooth.

Josh doesn't like it at all! spits it out everytime i try to feed him.

wonderbb,
back then josh was still small. so we made him wear mittens! i dunno....put socks over her hands??!

Nellu
Ya I guess there's a time we just have to let it be "shun qi zhi ran"...otherwise, I'll have to worry non-stop and get lotsa of white hair...hahah...oh ya, I am giving my boy multi-vit with lysine...but so far have not see any effect yet. If you come across more "magic formula" to improve appetite and love for food, let me know ya.

Eh...your holiday plans next year like very exciting...you starting work next year rite? Can take leave so soon?

Janet
Yupz that's rite...Hmm...tot I mentioned to you before over lunch?

By the way, dun give 'tofu' to Briana everyday...coz inside got "Shi Gao"..a kind of preservative chemical. According to my MIL, it's not good to consume too much.

springdance,
no, i dont give briana tofu everyday. only during weekends. I guess all foods too much also not good, though tofu is a good source of calcium

SpringD,
i think a lot goes into feeding/eating habits of kids. Must look at things holistically i feel. I always advocate that a structured routine and clear boundaries are the most impt things. Other things include things like whether they are getting enough rest, whether they are getting enough active play (to burn off the calories), whether you are attuned to their preferences and temperaments.

I used to not know how to tackle all these things and get frustrated too when Josh doesn't 'conform'. But I slowly learn that everything has a part of play. Eg, there are days (like yday!) when josh refuses to go down for a nap. I analyse it and would find that it's cos he didn't have much physical activity to tire him out. Similarly, his appetite would be affected too if there is insufficient activity for him.

if i tend to let loose and let him munch on snacks in between stipulated feed times, then he'll also not eat well when it's time to really eat. Or if he drinks too much fluids close to meal times. or if he's too tired already (usually this happens on thurs aft BB if we come home for lunch!)...or sometimes things can be as simple as that the food is just not nice enough for him.

and Josh can really be quite problematic. He's impatient so I have to rush to prepare his meals properly before i start his 'meal cue' (i.e. put toys away, go to bathroom to wash hands). When he's done with washing his hands, he'll have to see that his food is already on his high chair tray waiting for him....

..these are some of the quirks i notice and I try to use them to my advantage lor...

hope this gives you some idea on how to get Jonas to eat...

as for my holidays..hehehe..geneva is sort of planned cos my fren already told us abt the wedding this yr when we met up in UK. NZ..is just wishful thinking on my part...as for leave...see how lor...maybe can take leh? or maybe i won't stay long in the job leh...future's hard to tell...

wonderbaby
just give plain tofu n meat....if u want. can marinate the meat with alittle bit of soy sauce.

Smalldreams
Javen is very talkative...esp at home. even when he sleep, he also can mumble things like...see cow cow etc...prob dreaming..hahaha
but then, he also quite timid lo......only when he warm up with someone not familiar then he play and speak as usual...else he normally will hide behind me or just keep quiet.

SD
i think jonas cute also le...hehe...i like his air....i never failed to observe his hair during the class. hehe.....

Morning mommies!

Re : mealtimes

just like other aspects of babies' lives (eg sleeping, playing, crying), I guess different babies are different. Some are easier to handle, some arent. Just got to see their patterns & do accordingly. I've also resigned to the fact that adam is a small eater and cant finish a proper meal unless my sister is eating it. He would want to eat anything his aunt wants to eat! And also if he sees his cousins eating, he tends to eat more.

cheezel

u like Jonas' hair? why? Uber cute is it? I think Jonas is a really cute boy! hehe.

It's a long weekend for ya all! so fun rite. For me gotta celebrate hari raya haji, so will be a busy one.

It's friday and I don't think i started the day well. Fed up with some stuff. Grr.

Nellu
Thanks for sharing so many ideas..appreciate that.

Agree that a structured routine is important...but unfortunately, I would not be the one to be able to set this since I am not the main caregiver. Sad to say, I cannot have the "luxury" to be a SAHM.

Anyway, I think my MIL does try to set specific timings to feed Jonas as well as nap timings. She also forbid him from snacking in-between meals. Only thing she could not do is to engage him in activities since she is old (no energy to run around) and she is not educated (so no books reading either).

Smalldreams / Cheezel
Think at this toddler age, all kids are cute...your boys got nice hair too! And Javen got natural curls somemore...

Springdance

hey, me too lah, can't have luxury to be SAHM. I feel that the more I save, the more I spend. My wish is to save enough money then take NPL during formative years. What to do...just make the best. I think u make a lot of effort to spend time with Jonas during yr weekends, so well done!

Recently also i've been so busy at work, i have to come into office even on the days i'm supposed to work from home. less time with adam. but what to do, duty calls too.

I just got back from TPY central for lunch. Did so much shopping - bought home clothes for Adam - 1 set for $5. Cheap & nice quality!

springD,

erm..of course if can be SAHM and do everything on your own that would be good but also v tiring and siong... but not being the main caregiver doesn't mean you resign to that 'fate' mah right? I suppose if you sit with Mil and discuss abt these things (no need to have sky-high expectations of mil lah), even the simplest of setting certain routines, and make sure everyone at home who handles jonas is consistent, then it'll help to improve things tremendously. Of course this will have to depend on how open your mil is. sometimes they tend to take offense thinking that you are criticizing them...but i do believe it can be worked out.

smalldreams,
do you have your meals together with Adam or you feed him first then you eat? since he tends to eat more when he sees others eating, you can try eating together! see whether that works.

josh tends to not want his food but our food if we eat together..but he's really silly, cos the food's the same! just put in different cutlery. still he wants to eat off our plates! silly boy!

springd/cheezel/smalldreams,
dunno what's better..got hair or no hair...josh still v botak and this makes pple think that he's just a big-sized baby (less than 12mths old)! HUH??!?

went for taka sales yesterday and wanted to buy pigeon scissor set for triming ky's hair but it cost $85. prob is he very scary whenever we bring him for hair cut. he would cry out his lungs each time. alt way was thinking of buying the set to cut myself. well i'm not trained so worry i can't cope with this job!

sgn,
i got the same set too at home. cos josh got v little hair but when it gets long I'll need to trim it.

so far have only done it when he's fallen asleep for nap.

sgn

$85 for a hair cutting set? Gosh, very ex ! My mom usually trims Adam's hair when it gets a bit long. Dont know how she does it, tho.

nellu

Nevermind abt the hair & what pple say. People can really find things to say lor!

smalldreams,
my mum always says that babies/kiddos born with v little hair will have good life later. she insists it's true because she says I was really botak as a baby (kena mistaken to be a boy a lot back then!) and now my life is good, according to her.. haha...

aiya...watever lah!

nellu

all kinds of beliefs huh! Then those babies born with lotsa hair (until their mommies' tummies super itchy) how? Haha! O well whatever makes them happy!

nellu
tho i haven heard of dat myth, but i like .. coz boy oso little hair :p

Btw, i juz brot him to trim his very little hair last wk .. $7 at those barber shop. was expecting cheaper.. hehe.

cool D,

i like also heheh :p....i spent that $85 buying the pigeon hair trimming set cos I know for sure, josh won't let us bring him to the barber shop at all. later just $7 for 3 snips (2 abv the ears and one at the back)!!! $85 can trim myself many times, and trim for future kids also..hahaha!

nellu
y wud u feel dat josh wun like e barber? jboy very ok wif e barber leh .. so far he went 3 times .. since 4mths old. and twice, my bro use shaver n shave him bald

i hv a clips of him at e barber .. when i free i upload into his blog and show u.

nellu

u've never heard of that is it? some pple, if they have itchy tummies when they're preggy, old folks will say that they're carrying babies with lotsa hair.

When I was preggy, my tummy was also itchy thanks to stretch marks, but when adam came out, hair not so much leh..i've seen babies with really bushy hair lor!

CD
I think the $18 kids barber can do magic - at that price they better do! I'll ask hubby to bring adam to his barber. I think kids haircut more ex coz hard to deal with lah hehe.

CD,
josh is the kind of kid who's v slow to adapt. He'll cry bloody murder if you bring him to a new place, except restaurants! *faint* shows how 'tum jiat' this boy is... rather make things as painless for me as possible.. v problematic one when we are outside and he does this, then we invite a lot of unwanted stares though most of the time i dun care about other pple lah...but still some pple quite kay poh will come a kachau and all...

smalldreams,
my hubby thinking of setting up his own kids haircut chain...me still waiting to see what happens...

Nellu
Errmmm... talk it out with my MIL? Well, easier said than done to be honest...there's a few occasions I tried to give my opinions in "passing remarks" manner but I can see that she's not too happy about it. I guess becoz she felt that since she has took care of 3 children before, she definitely has more experience and know much more than me ..so, I need to "keep quiet" about certain things in order to maintain "good family relations". Anyway, she also has outrightly commented that my son eat slow and little is because he takes after my habit.. wat can I say? Argue with her?

If the caregiver is my mum, then it'll be much easier for me to "talk it out" lar...I'm afraid that I am not one of those DIL who is close to MIL. Are you? :p

Smalldreams
Really? I gave you the impression that I made alot of effort in spending time with Jonas on wkend? hehehe....think you over-flattered me oledi.

Sgn/ Nellu
$85 for the pigeon cutting set? That's really pricey...how different is it from the normal scissors? Maybe can get the electricial hair shaver gadget instead?

springd,
sounds like your mil and mil the same lah! if i'm close to my mil you think i'll be a sahm?!

i can understand what you mean. I've been there myself. I guess if your hubby can be on your side and help you out on this, it may help.

my mil also at that pt in time when things happen always say a lot of things. now she sees how well behaved and happy josh is, then she relented on her comments and stance.

in my case, even my mum also is difficult for me. In fact, comparatively it was easier to talk to my mil abt childcare issues cos she tends to agree with me more (only in principle but not in practice). my mum on the other hand, disagrees with me a lot on everything.

recently she can even comment that I didn't teach Josh properly cos he's putting a lot of things in his mouth. and she also made a comment saying dunno where this trait came from, last time we (i.e. my bro and i) never did such things. Can you imagine how i feel hearing this from my own mum?? well, I've learnt to disregard all these comments. In fact, i told my mum str in the face that these 'bad habits' that kids do at this age are just a passing phase and it's purely exploratory. And we probably did it too when we were that age, just that she had forgotten abt it!

anyway on hindsight now, I would put my kids into infantcare and/or cc now. I'm no longer going to rely on family relations cos there are just too many 'faces' to see..know what i mean??

abt the pigeon scissors, it's round tip so it won't hurt in case you accidentally jab the kid. I bought it cos i think it's most useful for us since we got fidgety, squirmy squirm squirm in our hands, plus he's botak mah..

electric shaver may not be used too if the kid's too squirmy right??

sgn
I got those electric shaver for triming markus' hair..but do it at the side..I will hold on to him while HB do the triming..

springdance,
can PM me your contact hp and name?
will gate-crash your party this monday if can make it. but maybe bring Cabbage Doll (new nick for my girl) along. Cookie likes the slides.

Springdance

Sometimes MIL issues, just gotta sweep under the carpet, just like how u've done. I think as long as they don't do things that harm the child's health, it shud be ok. after all they're old folks, sure got their own way of doing things one.

Nellu

My mom also something like yrs lah.

When Adam whines, throws a tantrum when I'm with him, my mom would remark that I was unable to handle Adam, and said she has never seen me scold Adam! She's so not right - of course I've scolded Adam. It's just that I don't wish to aggravate the sleepy child, plus I prefer the method of just saying "No" firmly and not giving in to his whines. But guess my mom thinks that's not being firm enough.

Oh well, just go in one ear, out the other.

Jeanyard

Wow, must be fun with little cabbage doll around!

springdance,
now that I work, I can close both eyes when my mil handles Cookie. and I will give him snack only when she goes to bed. Heh.

smalldreams,
Cabbage Doll is really cute cos she will "sing" every time after milk. she's not staying with me this week.

nellu,
cher has super little hair even till now.

jeanyard,
cant wait to c cabbage doll agn. does she look like cookie now?

has been a v busy n tiring week. withdrew boy fr cc n both kids full tx w me now, v bo eng but i enjoy their company.
but few thgs happened:
1) cher is on food strike, still is but i m takg thgs easy, hopefully is a phase n wld pass soon.
2) her finger got caught by d door, she cried buckets. i m d one who close d door on her, haiz... middle finger badly swollen, she cant stop crying so panic n brought her to kk for x-ray. phew, finger ok
3) ash was 'diagnosed' to b asthmatic. haiz.. all along, he has v sensitive airway n now he started to hv symptoms like v bad cough till breathless/vomit if laugh too much, jump too much, cry or if stay in too cold air-con rm. only d preventor drugs work.
anyway, is great tat d 3 of us (excpet daddy evyday v v busy at work) are spending so much tx playing n 'growing' 2gter. but is super tiring for me.

zhuzhu/ smalldreams/ nellu
well used to bring ky to market salon for hair cut just $5 but he will struggle ++, so thought of doing it myself, so need the shaver and scissor for layering his hair. quite ex lor if to buy both $99 + $85 = $184!

smalldreams
my MIL also passes the same remarks that ky whine and throw tantrum when i'm around! surprisingly he behaves very well when i'm not around he can just play himself.

sgn

eh seems we have exactly the same experience. Wonder why KY & adam become like that when we're back. attention seeking?

smalldreams/sgn,

i'm with Josh whole day he also gives me the same treatment...MANJA only!!

sanrio,
heheh cher and josh can be heads of the botak babies club! ..but it's good also, easy to maintain.

guess what? Josh was also on food strike but that was last week. nearly drove me nuts. now he's off rice. refused to eat a single grain of it. so he's eating pasta and bread a lot! not to my delight though...

and then he got trapped in the lift that day i took him to meet Janet. cos he was fooling around with the 'doors open' and 'doors close' buttons in the lift. I tried to get him out but before he could walk out the door closed and he was inside and me outside... luckily there were 'windows' in the lift door so he could see me and i shouted to him to press the door open button. aft a few presses then he was 'released'...taught him a lesson not to fool around with the lift buttons...but he was quite calm and brave, surprisingly...

as for ash, sorry to hear this. This is the thing that I'm really worried abt and hope josh won't get it. Have you thought about getting ash started on some sports? some serious systematic exercise? some aerobic exercise might help to strengthen him.

sanrio

i hope ash gets better. does anyone in yr family have asthma too? guess there'll be restrictions on the foods he can eat too from now onwards...

nellu
adam is forever on food strike but yesterday he started his milk strike! Don't want formula. Only want to latch on! I feel so tired! Plus my milk is not infinite rite - after suckling sure finish what! Aiyoh this boy. he'd clamour on me every few minutes

nellu

nah, don't think so. No fever, and I think his teething stage is not causing it too. Perhaps it's milk preference - maybe he's tired of Enfagrow. Mornings he usually drinks milk - no prob. But afternoon & night time, he'd want to latch. Just this evening, I didn't give in and just let him hold the bottle. Eventually he drank up. But this time it's pediasure in it..hehe..

Mebbe I give pediasure for sometime before switching to enfagrow again. The thing i don't like abt pediasure is that it's sweet, and it's not milk at all - more like a food supplement.

my girl is getting better, so will be joining the lunch gathering on monday.

Sanrio,
glad that cher's finger is ok. you can try swimming for ash, ie real training, or crocodile meat. Last time when young, my cousin also like that. But tried these two and also other sports, and he recovered.

nellu,
I always feed my girl first then I eat. when i eat, my hubby will take turn. I feel like that faster lei...I will only let her self feed when she has finished her proper meal. But now that she learnt the skills quite well, she doesnt want to self feed already. but she has a bad habit. She always like to turn the bowl to look underneath. then the food will be poured out. So I must be really fast when she lifts up the bowl each time...haha

sanrio
javen's finger aso got caught by the door 3 weeks ago n its my hubby who close vthe door. now his fingernail has dropped off....not too sure if new one will grow...i hope it will.

very qiao hor...we meet again today...hehe.....actually didnot notice untill i saw cher sitting just slightly in front of me. brought javen to play with the water outside after the lunch. he likes the cows outside marche...keep saying sit cowcow....see cow cow

janet
i aso always feed javen 1st. make sure he has proper meal 1st then let him self dfeed with whatever adult food we having. he aso very messy...the food will be everywhere his face hair clothing floor...etc.

talking abt self feeding..now Markus dun let us feed him..he wans to feed himself..the teacher oso said he dun let them feed...make abit of messy..but still pretty okie..

zhuzhu
yeah. think they now wanna feed themselves liao. always make a big mess.....but then proper meal i still feed cos i scare if he self feed, he will only consume 1/3 of it n the rest will be everywhere but his mouth. so sometime even when he dun wan me to feed him, i will coax n distract him....feed n talk to him n then he will forget abt self feeding ...or i will put extra porridge or rice in a bowl n let him self feed while i feed him the main bulk....hehhe

sanrio
oh, my heartpain for cher! sophie also got her finger caught in the door when my mum was closing it. it swelled and had some skin cuts and bruising. lucky was all ok. now she dun dare to put her finger there.

i'm a bit apprehensive about sending my dd to childcare next month. although we made the decision some time back, it seems much harder now that she's going to go there.

zhuzhu , glad markus has stated to take his nap at cc. really dunno how sophie will go to bed since only my mum and i can put her to bed. i guess if they're tired they will sleep but she's got a stubbon streak and gets cranky when tired. so i have no doubt it will be hard for the teachers.

also i'm so used to bathing, feeding and playing with her that it seems quite hard to imagine teachers doing all that, esp the bathing since it's our bonding time.

sorry abt the ranting and raving. wondering if any mummies have the same reservations.

abt self feeding
i've been trying to encourage her to self feed, at least with food that will not "fly" as much. it's not as messy as i thought but the feeding takes so much longer. and my girl loves to watch her videos while eating too. dunno how to cut that habit now. :p

springdance (and the rest going for brunch later)
i will try to pop by for brunch, enough highchairs? would be good to meet up since i haven't met some of you. have not been able to log in as often now.

so heartpain to hear abt the toddlers getting their fingers caught in the door
. hope wont happen to mine

smalldreams
selamat hari raya haji
chloe has milk strikes too every once in a while and will only latch..she rejected pediasure

hv fun during the gathering! and post photos!

lynn
i oso felt very guilty when I leave him in CC..buy i think its a gd learning ground for him..i am sure the teacher will have a way to coax them to sleep..when I was there for the 1st 2 days..not all the kids will sleep at that timing...