(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

springdance
don't mind. let me know how much and when.

janet
which shop?? i was there today but no time to shop. will go on fri.

cheezel
Congrats! Hope Jaren is back home with you now. Good thing you didn't come work else imagine all these happening in the shuttle bus...probably the whole bus load of ppl will have to detour to TMC. keke...plenty of supporters to welcome Jaren's arrival.

Reichel also arrived in a similar manner (stupid traffic jams always seemed to happen when you're in intense pain) but her birth process was slightly longer coz I didn't know how to push back then and had severe clogged nose. But 2nd birth is indeed faster right...few pushes and pop comes the baby. Can't imagine how much faster will the 3rd one be....argh!

Rest well..looking forward to seeing Jaren's pics in your blog!

nellu
ha ha i had been using spoon for feeding ky hou ning n he likes it wonder it's the taste or the fun of using spoon.

mum@work
hey my cousin also having her edd 1 feb. for her it's her 1st delivery.
my the another cousin had just delivered on 14sept. so excited to see newborn.
maybe u should change ur nick to mum@home lor, hee hee hee....

Smalldreams
Think photo with “Peace” sign will be cute…but my boy dunnoe how to do it lei…I realised last nite, there’s one photo which I took with him at the park, he stick up his second finger…Phew…lucky it’s not middle finger!

Nellu / Sgn
I also use spoon to feed Jonas medicine….maybe he thinks it’s some sweet drink….except for ‘Actifed’, he HATES it…will cry very angrily for quite some time when he is “cheated” into drinking it.

Nellu
Does Josh sounds like he got phlegm & high fever? If no, then it shouldn’t be bronchitis from my experience….Dun forget my boy just recover from it not too long ….. :p

Lynn
Okie …will sms you when I get the details.

Mum@Work
Got a colleague whose EDD is end Dec this year...so likelihood, during CNY, she will be on confinement...will be so sianzzz & boring for her. Also, she probably will not throw 1st month party since everyone is busy with CNY visits.

m@w
cny baby! wow! so lucky not to hv ms!

re: bottles
any mummies weaning their kiddos off bottles and using training cups/cups to drink milk? i;ve tried dr brown's training cup a few times but she rejected after a few sips..or should i let her use straw cup?

re: potty training
any mummies potty training their kiddos? how do we get them to pee/urine in the potty? i know sgn's ky already potty train, right?

springD
toking abt finger ..jus to share. i had taught jboy to show his index finger when we ask him hw old is he. Tis morning i took e lift, rch ground fl lift will says' storey 1' rite? Than jboy shows his 'no. 1' finger

M@w
i used to watch more last time. But nw wif bb ard, not much time. Tis jia hao yue yuen is coz my fren n bro all says nice, so i watch. Anyway, e speed i m at, by e time i rch e end, all episodes shld be out le.

springdance
aiya kid can't cheat them next time they dun buy ur tricks anymore.

cool duagther
hee hee my boy only know 'shi ju'means 19th floor when i ask him which level we stay.
my boy got mood sometimes when we pee him he dun want or maybe he already pee into the diaper. my 23 months old niece had off diaper since 20 months, she will say 'she she' then we bring her to toilet, but there are times when she play untill she forgot to tell n pee into her pants.
can try pee ur boy when he wakes up from nap usu they have urine by that time. do it a few times they will know.

we skipped Josh's med dose last nite as he slept past the time and we didn't want to wake him up for that. kekeke...still fine leh...

no fever at all. only loads of thick mucus clogging up his nose and coughing. mainly nose problem lah..

i used a regular metal teaspoon to feed Josh the meds. I think it's the novelty of the spoon that made him open his mouth real wide. hahaha

re: training cup.
Josh only drinks water/juice/smoothie from his straw cup but wouldn't drink his milk from it. still trying to get him to do it.

re: potty
i started abt 1 mth ago but had to stop for a while when josh started crying at the potty. Now looking for books to show him abt potty and get him started again.

my first step is to take diapers away and to use training pants/cloth nappies for him.

re: finger
josh can show '3' with his fingers. and yday started to 'bargain' with me the no of biscuits he wanted. I said "1" he showed me "3"...*faintz* dunno whether to laugh or cry.

nellu
glad that joah is ok. u can use illiadin for his nose.

re:finger
chloe can count from 1-10 except 7. but showing numbers thru finger, to her whatever number also can only show 1.hahaha

wonderbaby, CD, sgn & nellu

wah,yr babies so clever! Can count liao! My Adam can only say a few words, get excited when he sees buses & trains, climbs all over...he imitates actions too, such as our prayer actions.

But to count? Fwah...really way beyond him for now... :p

lynn,
it is the shop opposite GUG at united square.
No blister according to my mum. my girl likes the shoes so much that even sleeps also want to wear...

Janet,
can tell me more abt GUG? I recall you bring bb to GUG right?

we are thinking of starting Josh on GUG next year as he starts childcare. By then he'll quit his Grace Kids classes liao. so thought GUG would be a good one to supplement.

lemme know how it's like..

abt the shoes you bought, you think it motivates your girl to walk?? I'm thinking of buying squeaky shoes too to get Josh to walk more!

smalldreams,
not really count lah. just that they can express the numbers. Josh recently became very excited over buses, lions and tigers! He'll say "bus" everytime he sees one on the road. also he'll say "bubbles"..kekeke

actually ah...if Adam can imitate your praying actions, then it's a good chance to get his religious education started. I'm wishing Josh would be more in tune to that in church!

wonderbb,
We cannot put anything near Josh's nostrils. Totally NOT allowed!

smalldreams
not consider counting la .. its always the 1 and only 'one':p Btw, jboy prays too. In fact, every figurine he sees, he will pray. **faint**

but my girl very scaredy cat..till now cannot walk on her own..but she likes to walk holding on to both my hands. tried to get her to walk holding on to only one hand but she protested and insisted wanted to hold both hands.

nellu,
I bought shoes only after my girl knows how to walk. I didnt want to buy for her before she knows how to walk, because shoes will restrict growth.

For the squeaky shoes, dont know whether it motivated my girl to walk, but she knows that it makes sound, so sometime if she wants to hear the sound, she will stamp even more just to listen.

You can go for the GUG trial - $45. IF on term, it will be $42 per lesson. Each term has 8 lessons.

GUG's component includes sing songs, project work, story reading and phonics. A lot of sing song lah...if your boy like songs, then it is very suitable

cool_daughter

HAHA! So cute of jboy. Adam also will utter something (like a prayer) when he sees someone wearing the "songkok" (headgear worn by muslim men) or when he sees a mosque (or anything that looked like that). So funny! Never fails to crack me up.

My mom also got him a mini prayer mat for him to pray on. hehehehe...

wonder_baby
nevermind...let nature take its course :p But she can talk, and adam still can't!

Do you mummies think it's true that boys are faster physically but gals are faster in terms of language development?

Sometimes can't really tell lor...all over the place :p

Nellu
Why can't put illadin? Due to eczema ? something else, or Josh simply doesn't allow anything near his nose?

wonder_baby,
your girl will pass that stage soon. My girl was through that stage too...from two hands to one hand, then finally no hand. and now running already. although at times will still fall down.

smalldreams
illadin is a nose drop, i usu drop into ky's nose when he sleeping.

ris
i find if to let ky self feed rice is easier cos can be easily clean up not like porridge.

smalldreams
mini mat for mini adam! so cute!

janet
yup so now can only encourage her to walk. she was a late crawler also. started at 8 mths.

ris
i've been letting my girl self feed dry stuff like gerber stars, biscuits with hand. i still dare not let her try wet stuff with spoon coz i can imagine food on my walls and floor..hahaha

Cool_D
Envy envy… Jboy is a fast learner & active boy ….whereas, my boy in comparison is really kinda lazy and simply can’t be bothered…Haizzz.

WonderBaby
Chloe is so clever in speech….another envy!

My boy only know how to “Mama..Papa…”, nothing else….and still must hold on to at least one of our hand before he dares to walk.

Nellu
Think GUG is rather similar to Busy Buddies……I attended GUG trial class before.

springD
gd n bad .. i wun mind if he is active, learn fast n listen to me as well. But alot of times, he dun n will throw tantrum when i go against him. Btw, I oredi started canning him .. yes, at tis age. No choice ah .. i use my hand to beat him, he is not afraid at all.

smalldreams,
you'll be met with super violent objections if you try to go near Josh with any apparatus that goes near his nose.

springD,
don't hurry Jonas lah. let him learn at his own pace. As long as you keep on providing the right guidance and stimuli should be fine i guess. I'm frustrated too that Josh had been cruising for nearly 3mths now and still show no sign/interest of wanting to walk independently. Josh is also not making much progress with his speech. It's very frustrating for us cos he's assertive, yet doesn't know how to express himself. so I have a lot of tantrums to deal with.

at least Jonas calls Mama liao...Josh only knows Papa..and everything is Papa or ba ba..

ris,
josh can self feed porridge. the trick here is not the make the porridge too watery so he can do it.

just want to check with you gals, typically if your kiddos got cold/flu, how long did it take for the nose and/or cough to clear up? I'm very concerned now cos Josh's nose seems to be getting worse, not better. The cough comes and goes.

wondering if I should bring him to PD? Last sunday we could only see GP because PD's clinic is closed on sunday. sigh..

sorry ah..sound suaku here..cos Josh doesn't really get sick so I have no experience with this at all...appreciate your sharing...thanks!

nellu,
usually flu will be at most 7 days, follow by cough, which has no definite time. It could be a few days or could be weeks.

When my girl coughs, I will make those chinese soup for her to drink...zi ke soup...can get those package herbs from chinese medicinal shop...

Cool_D
I am a soft mummy...so Jonas is "climbing all over my head"...but he is afraid of daddy's scoldings...just a little raise of voice and he will freeze there.

Oh ya...but I know some naughty kids are so daring...will snatch the cane away from the parent. Omigosh...

Nellu
We usually bring Jonas to PD coz we think they are more specialised in Children's medicine...but the other time when Jonas's ailment didn't recover after seeing the PD for 2 times, we brot him to GP for a second opinion. The medicine we got is quite similar to what we got from GP though....

For cough, it might take 1-2 weeks to fully recover.

springdance,
not dat i like genting but its the nearest plc dat has got nice weather. i tot of gg HK and China in Oct and Nov but looks like pao4 tang1 liaoz...sianz

thanks for the info.

just brought Josh to see PD. Sigh..GP we saw on Sunday misdiagnosed. She said it was bacteria infection, but PD said it's viral. I suspected not right cos aft taking meds, Josh seemed to be worse. on top of that, got light diarrhoea yday. Now PD gave other meds and nurse at clinic helped to put nose drops for me. Immediately much better now.

I also checked with PD abt Josh's walking. Seems it's bad news and we may have to let him see a physiotherapist. PD said his muscles, esp ankle muscles are not strong. Sigh...

btw, PD mentioned that generally by 16-18mths most kids should be able to walk independently. If not, parents should try to seek professional help. just thought you gals might want to know.

kris,
how far along are you now? going to China/HK shouldn't be big prob if you are in 2nd tri..

how abt going to Cameron Highlands? quite nice also what. and air is really fresh and nice. Last year we brought Josh there. He loved it!

nellu
gp misdiagnose? poor josh.
oh no, if not walking by now it might be the ankle muscles? but chloe's pd was saying not to worry as some take up till 2 yrs to start walking

wonderbb,
it's cause for concern because josh's feet tend to slant inward a lot. if he is standing or walking with his feet flat on the ground then i guess it's ok ba..but the thing is he's not lor. he use the inside of his feet to walk. that's why not stable.

nellu,
cough/cold is very common in young kids. they can get it, recover, get it agn, recover.... like a cycle. they get tougher af they pass 3 or 4yrs old. there are many many strains of flu virus n medicine can only relieve symptoms but not cure. d body needs to fight n develop antibodies agst d virus.
it usually takes 1 to 2 wks to fully recover. some cough can even take longer like 1mth or more.
hope josh gets well soon.

nellu,
for me, i prefer to seek professional help or advice early if possible n if pd suggested so. somtx jus a little help or assstance, d problem wld b overcome easily.

nellu,
my trip to China and HK is always eat and shop non-stop, so i tot if i feel nausea over the oily food den will b terrible and if go HK cant shop till drop, not shiok oso. HB say wait till mid oct den decide whether i wanna go anot.

i dun like the road up cameron n its too far away.

Kris
If your appetite gets better later, can still go ahead to HK…weather will be more cooling during year-end which is what you like.

Nellu
Viral flu has been getting very aggressive since few months back…believe Josh will recover soon with the medicine….by the way, if you see some rashes, dun worry…it means he’s recovering.

By the way, did your PD saw with his eyes on how Josh walk and came to the conclusion? Did he say how long Josh need to undergo the therapy?

Wonder_BB
Same situation as you…my boy refuse to walk by himself….but PD say it’s not a cause for concern….think our babies are just more lack of confidence.

Nellu

Good to know Josh is getting better! I guess that's why PD charge so much... they're more in tune with the young ones...their medication also is much better too.

With regard to walking, if you sense something's not quite rite, go ahead and see the physio. But I agree too, some kids prefer to cruise as they're not confident enough to walk at first.

CD
remember I said previously that adam's legs appeared slightly bow-legged? after googling it seemed like tat could happen to some babies who were just learning to walk. thank goodness now his legs seemed straighter, phew..

springdance
i think i'm soft too. but sometimes i can be qutie fierce too!guess must toughen up lor..parenting is not easy at all...

oh ya mummies

I'd like yr advice..

Adam the small eater, recently have been eating the porridge I've been cooking for him. He took rice previously but now since its the fasting month, there's no rice at my mom's place in the day, so I took the initiative to cook porridge instead lah..and he's been eating too..

do you think i shud get a small slow cooker? How long would it take for the porridge to be ready? if travelling, handy or not to bring the slow cooker? thinking of going japan this dec...but plans still in pipeline..

thanks for your concern for Josh. He's better already.

ref the walking, yes agree that we need to seek professional help. PD did check quite thoroughly and said that Josh has a bit of "knock knees" which is sort of inherited from me. We were also advised by the PD to get baby sports shoes with good ankle support for him to use.

ref PD. This PD that I brought Josh to see is not his original PD. The original one is at SBCC in Gleneagles. The last visit to PD#1 was few weeks ago for MMR. I mentioned to him abt the walking. He didn't bother to check.

PD#2 -- We saw her when Josh's eczema broke out major in May. Thought she was good. besides, her clinic is nearer and convenient for me. So yday went back to her. When I mentioned abt the walking, she immediately told me to put Josh on the floor and get him to take a few steps. She also check his legs. That's how she reached her conclusion.

we've also made our own conclusions abt the PDs. PD#2 is really better. fees wise not much of diff but definitely more comforting and more convenient to use PD#2.

Smalldreams,
good to hear that Adam's picking up on the eating.

abt slow cooker, it'll take abt 1-2hrs to cook the rice. I have not taken the slow cooker with me for travelling cos it's really heavy and fragile. In my case, if i'm planning another trip with Josh, i'll try to get him to eat as much adult food as possible. so that i can bring less luggage! :p

Nellu

yeah adam can eat adult food too, in fact he prefers that to baby food anytime!

just that i tot, if food is rather hard to find in japan (halal food that is), might as well i consider bringing a slow cooker. But then again, i know it's gonna be heavy..with the glass & all. so seems i'll give it a pass. thanks nellu!

with regard to knock knees...i'm sure you are walking fine now as an adult rite? so guess josh should snap out of it too soon

smalldreams,
ya getting halal food in Japan could be an issue. how abt getting the travel cooker that we were talking abt previously? I think coold pasted a link for it? I used that on our last trip. it's lighter than the slower cooker and it's more compact.

ref to knock knees. hur hur! I didn't even know I had it until the PD checked for me yday!

we'll heed the PD's advice and get the sport shoes first.

smalldreams
Glad to hear tat adam is eating much more nw.

Mummiesss
Yesterday went for chkup n scanning. Gender: BOY. In-law so happy....hahahaha....

adam today so mischievious. Didn't want to sleep...till about 2.30 pm. now still sleeping. my mom's place v noisy too with lift works...sighs..hope he won't get up too soon...

blue's clues? what's that? I'm clueless... hehe