(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

mum@work, congrats.

wonder_baby,
how do you use the pc when baby still awake? My girl never allows me to do that...she will come and want to climb onto my lap, and then starts banging the keyboard...ie, dont allow me to use

smalldreams
it's one of the kiddie shows. blue is a puppy

janet
hehe. my girl needs to comfort latch to sleep. but till now still hvnt slept. she has not started walking yet so nvr make noise and walk away. but she keeps sitting and standing and lying on my lap..hehehe. as for banging on the keyboard, she knows i will tell her 'no' and i'm also sitting further away and her short arms cant reach..waahahahah

smalldreams
is adam still comfort latching to sleep?
i'm chloe's pacifier

re: air asia
has anyone taken air asia to msia before? wonder how it is.do u all let ur kids drink water/milk during take off/landing?

thanks for the well wishes. me bz ah...lack of sleep n rest. express BM every 3 hrly even at night. then Jaren feeding is longer as his suckling still not so good and he want to sleep all the time. feeding time can be as long as 17 mins to 1hr. u all can imagine by the time i finsih feeding him at night, express bm, finally can lie on the bed, my elder one make noise. he dun wan daddy and wan me to pacify him. by the time i lie on the bed again, only prob half n hr sleep. i only slept 1.5 hrs last night. during the day only man age to get a wink here n there.

SD
when u wanna go for trial lesson? oct 11 i finish confinement. can go together!! sms me.

mommypoh
will update the blog when i'm free. luckly i didnt go work. heng!! but my boss still sms abt work the day after i give birth.....haiz.....

this is taken when Jaren is still in TMC.
1725687.jpg

mummiesss
Thks mummiesssss. Janet, bbK oso does tat often, banging on my keyboard!! I gave her 1 extra keyboard to bang but she refused, juz wanna have the keyboard attached to the computer...heehee...

cheezel
wow, Jaren looks cute doesnt he? Can feel the tiredness for u...is ter any1 helping u out? i.e confinement lady or parents. Guess u hv to rest well during ur confinement. Im nw training bbK to slp wif my parents to prepare myself for the coming bb.

Janet, mum@work

same lah. Adam just cant stand me being on the computer. surely climb, sit on my lap, and fiddle with keyboard. at times he even shuts down my work laptop by pressing the off button.Grrr.

Chloe
yah when i'm around of coz he needs me to sleep. And i also very lazy to train him so just latch lor. but when i'm at work, my mom will have to rock him to sleep. my mom her heart damn tough - adam crying and yelling away also she won't budge. just rock him till he sleeps!

Cheezel,
Jaren looks so cute. Yes, must rest ah...i think i will encounter teh same thing as you, because already now #1 prefers me to pat her to sleep...

Smalldream,
then how do you work from home with adam as distraction.?

SD,
What time are you gals going for the trial? any earlier time like 11am +? If still originial time like 1pm+, will you gals grabbing any bites after the trial? I am thinking of joining.

janet

tats a great question! of coz i'm more effective in office lor. can only do work when adam's playing with someone else, or when he's sleeping when i work from home. become like cartoon sometimes when i work from home.

cheezel

take care and rest whenever you can. that's one of the challenges i fear... juggling between 2 babies. but i think youre doing fine

m@w,
congrats! this is wonderful news! do take care.

cheezel,
poor you...take care and rest whenever you can!
Jaren looks so cute sleeping!

smalldreams,
how i prepare the fish for porridge is that I steam the fish with some ginger separately. Aft that then I combine the porridge and the fish together. I did this aft I found that Josh doesn't like to eat the porridge with the fish cooked in it.

one other thing i add into fish porridge is either i use fish stock to cook the porridge or I add toasted and ground ikan bilis to add flavour.

it's quite a bit of work but it's definitely worth it when you see the kid lapping everything up!

fish by the way is Josh's favourite food.

nellu
sound scary that my ky also can't walk very well, keep falling down. u want to go kkwch n seek specialist for further assessment? i have a friend working in kk specialist clinic i can ask her for advice if u keen.

cheezel
hey Jaren looks like his elder brother hor.
did u get any confinement lady to help? like what smalldreams said i also worry how to juggle between 2 kids when the 2nd one comes along. choi choi choi... i wish i can give all my attention to my ky only hee hee.....

mum@work
wow congrats u got a 'hao' already!!!

cheezel
Newborns always looked so cute...pink puffy face. He seemed to be of good size despite the early arrival. BM will make up for all the weight gain later on so don't worry too much.

it'll be like that for a while. My record was 2hrs plus of breastfeeding and when I finished feeding, it's almost time to feed again...haa. 24hrs milk vending machine...practically just sat in the bedroom most of the time for the 1st 2 weeks. Are you at your mom's or in-laws'?
To make things easier for yourself, get your family to take care of Javen for now during daytime so that you can sleep with Jaren while he sleeps. Javen will come disturb for sure so you'll have to hide in your room. Out of sight, out of mind.

mum@work
it's shopping time...hee...but not much variety for boy's wear though.

nellu,
good that Josh like fish. I hope my girl likes fish..fish is so good...but she dislikes fish. Her favourite is egg..all forms, steamed, hard boil, fried..

smalldreams
yes yes. I rmbr. actually I did went back chk jboy was ok. I din really dare tell u in case u worry :p wanted to googled for more info but 4got abt it. Anyway, glad dat it's actually 'nothin'

Re porridge
I used to cook wif slow cooker. In fact, i cooked e nite b4 and leave it to cook till next day :p But now, I tried e thermal cooker. I thot it's a better choice. Save some electricity too

SpringD
I oso will not let jboy playwif e cane. If he touch, I will straight away take it away. So far, he din try to snatch when i m canning him. I guess e key is, dun use it to scare them only. hehe:p

m@w
congrats .. so happy for u

Mum@Work
Gong Xi Gong Xi! You’ve got a pair of “Hao”…you must be super happy.

Cheezel
Poor gal….I hope this difficult stage gets over for you very soon… Do seriously consider to put Javen at CC….it’s really very tiring to manage two kids.

Smalldreams
Instead of getting a slow cooker, I think it might be more practical for you to get the “shuttle chef” (magic pot) for your Japan trip with Adam. So you need not depend on electrical supply at the hotel and can simply cook the porridge on the go when touring Japan.

Cheezel / Janet
Apparently, this busy buddies only has trial classes as & when…so there is no confirmed date in Oct/Nov on whether there are any trial class. Tentatively, they only have one which is tomorrow at 11.15am….. Probably we can ring them up say, middle of next month to find out ba…..

Janet
Your gal finish GUG classes already? Not continuing anymore?

springD
toking abt CC. .. u knw i oredi reg jboy for next yr class. But yday during e playdate, he slap another gal. Now I am so worried he will be e lil' terror at cc. Hiaz.

janet,
cher dislikes fish too. so i resort to cooking fish soup n she wld take d soup.

nellu,
can share with me where n who is d PD2?, near our place? i go to d PD1 oso n ok lah but i mus agree tat they alwy evytg 'ok ok, nvrmind, is like that'. like ash has respiratory, skin allergies, weak stomach but they alwy say ok ok, he wld outgrow n ended up he 'suffered' so much till we brought him to other who at least give us some advice/guidance n w proper care of his diet etc, his condition improves n din hv to suffer...

SD,
but magic pot, u still hv to boil over d stove for a while b4 putting into d magic pot right? i oso tot of getg one.

SD,
I still continue GUG. but thought you all trying another class, and I thought of meeting up, so said I will join loh...

CoolD,
So funny your jboy also slapped people ah? My girl also...so painful some more...

sanrio,
what kind of ingredients do you put in fish soup? only fish bones, or with the meat as well..is it very fishy?

Cool_D
Oh you confirmed on sending Jboy to CC next year? Half or full day? What’s the fee like?

Dun worry lar…there will be teachers there to look after the kiddos…they will “discipline” Jordan….

Hey, yesterday’s gathering sure looks fun. Juz KPO….who did Jboy slap? Not Caitlyn I believe….Hahahah!

Sanrio
Probably can boil the water in the thermal flask first before transferring to the magic pot to cook? Hmmmm…but Cher is eating rice now rite? U still find the pot useful?

How much usually does a toddler hair cut cost you? I usually cut my girl hair myself. But it has growth a bit out of shape now, so is thinking of going to a hair salon

SD,
i tot of buying the pot more to cook soup. cos can boil over stove a while, put inside n i can leave d hse.
yes, cher eatg rice now. she v funny, porridge for lunch still ok, if i give porridge for dinner, she wld protest!
many mummies who met her are surprised by d amt she can eat vs her size :p

Janet:
my frd taught me n i tired.
threadfin bones
yam
celery
tomatoe
ginger
papaya
fresh fig
wolfberries
red dates

'mummy, d soup v yummy' my son said one :p

Janet,
the few slices of ginger wld 'remove' d fishy taste. is very sweet the soup n i eat it with noodle. noon cher wld take d fish soup w pasta. nite i wld use the fish soup to replace d water n steam rice for my kids. n they wld oso drk a bowl of soup. so both kiddos who hate fish get to hv d gd nutrients of fish + others loh.

Janet,
my boy cut his hair at Fantastic Sam (now called little red dot) at Forum. per haircut is $18, the 6th haircut is free.

springdance

tx for the suggestion! Ya hor why didn't I think of that. But it's rather ex, i'm sure! So "chim". Apart from porridge, what else can be cooked in there huh? Rice? Dishes? Pretty useful gadget if other stuff can be cooked in there.

CD
Thanks for being so thoughtful! But then again I also observed other toddlers myself and some were rather bow-legged, but others not. Anyway both the PD & Poly doc said it was alrite and now since it's straight, I don't really worry lah

Just now I left something at my mom's place so returned to get it. Adam was playing but the moment he saw me, he asked me to go the sofa (the spot where I always BF him). After that he happy already but when I had to return to work, he cried bloody murder man. I could even hear his cries when i reached the 1st floor landing. I sure hope he would recover from that & wouldn't give my mom much trouble later...

TOday is such a blur day for me..also left my handphone at home !

Nellu

oh that's what I do to..steam the first separately. But i think the fish I bot was rather fishy smelling. Hmm, nevermind, a scoop or two is better than none when it comes to fussy-eater adam-boy.

sanrio,
the papaya in the soup, must it also be those raw type? u know like for milk production kind of soup...hi, are u also drinking that soup for ur milk production?

sanrio
we can start giving them yam already? how many teeth does cher hv? chloe has 8 and doesnt seem to want to eat rice.
btw, where did you get the 'vest'?
seems like a good idea

smalldreams,
what fish did you use? try ikan kurau/threadfin. it tastes nice. or you try sanrio's fish soup recipe lor. sounds really yummy.

sanrio,
thanks for sharing the recipe. I'll try that. sounds really yummy..like those fish steamboat! :p

pple are also amazed at the amt Josh can ingest vs his size! and he'll really go on and on and on..

I'll email you abt the PD.

SD, cheezel, janet,
busybuddies can do a trial if you three go together. They just need 2 kids to start one. next term is in Nov. The present term is ending 25 oct and there is a term break.

you want me to help you gals check with them when I go for class next week?

Josh will be continuing until end of this year cos we are going to put him in cc next year.

Sanrio
Cher probably got high metabolism rate...eat alot but dun put on weight much...Just like her mummy...envy!

Smalldreams
Guess the magic pot is probably more for just porridge or soup stuff only....

If you wanna steam dishes at home for Adam, maybe can consider the Tefal multi-layer steamer..can steam a few dishes at the same time.

Nellu
Actaully, I am quite interested to sign up for the new term (although I have not been to their trial class) which I know is starting in Nov...but have got no idea what are the timings like....important factor for me to know b4 I can decide coz ya know I can only go for Sat classes... and no mornings pls. hahahah!:p

springD
ya, cmf le. Starting in Jan'09 and will start wif 1/2 day 1st .. maybe for 1-2 mths n when he gets used to the teachers, will put him full day there. After subsidy is $450 (1/2day), $550 (full day). Jboy slapped Jo
So sad .. Jo is 1 of the kiddo he met e most n yet .. Hiaz ..

SpringD,
i think the timings will more or less be the same.

This week didn't go for any classes. Probably we'll resume attendance next week. Then I can check for you.

CD

Hey is Jo any of the May 07 mummies' kid? Don't be sad lah...children when they play, sure slap here and there. As adults, we just gotta take the opportunity to educate them lor...

Quite cute also huh Jboy going to CC

A friend of mine, her mother runs a child care centre. I was sharing with her that I didnt think Adam could behave himself there. But the lady told me that most kids learn the rules when they're in the CC. They conform and behave. Even kids of parents who warned the CC that their sons like to slap other kids. She also said that at times it's the parents who're unwilling to let go of their kids...

so, let's hope for the best! Jia you Jboy!

smalldreams
ya i knw .. but than, it's kinda like first time he really hit another kiddo, somemore some1 he shld be familiar wif. After he hit e ger, I pulled him aside n beat his hands, and explained to him it's not correct to hit another person. Hopefully he understands.

Actually the cc principle also told me something similar, but I am juz worried. I felt bad when he hit some1 .. and I will feel bad if some1 hit him too ..hehe :p

wonder_baby,
I saw the BP yesterday. But just now went in, tried to search for you but couldnt find already.
sorry. If see it again, will let you know

coold,
this kind of kiddo 'disputes' are common. I think the most impt thing is that parents must take the opportunity and make the effort to educate the kids. And I think the education will take some time. We probably have to do it over and over again. Some kids take longer than others, i guess.

..at least you teach him..better than some other mummies/parents that I have encountered who did not make any effort to teach the kid. They only say sorry to the victim and the victim's parent, but didn't teach their own kid.

nellu
can help us check out the trial class when u bring josh for lesson? prefer to be after 11 oct cos thats after my confinement

i didnt really follow the confinement rules la...i still bath more than once per day (once with herbal bath and the rest will be just normal shower) cos too sweating. i still go out to run some errands....i still carry Javen despite my mom instructing me not to.....

my mil is helping me to look after Javen during the day. but he always like to come disturb me. even when i close the door he also keep knocking and fuss....i can only rest when he's not ard at hm n when he's napping. tired....but now like used to it liao.....

mommypoh
if Jaren can latch, i dun mind the frequent feeding...but then he still cant...and i have to bottle feed him. imagine sitting there to feed him and sometime for an hr...plus, i have to keep an eye on him to make sure he dun choke himself as instructed by the PD. have to constantly make sure he dun turn purplish.

Janet
Javen seldom fuss at night liao. just that when he sleep, he prefer me to pat him or stay with him in the room....and during the night when he happen to wake up, he will insist of me pacifiying him.

mom@work
i prefer Javen to sleep with us rather than my in laws. my mil helping out with confinement plus need to do all hsework, cook, look after jvaen for me during the day....she also very bz and tired. so i prefer her to rest well at night.

cheezel
try to rest more dun stand n carry heavy stuff. not good for ur back and womb. will have back prob if never take care during confinement.

hi janet,
i din drk it specifically for milk production cos cher not drkg tat much nowady. papaya add to d sweetness n fragrance of d soup. i use semi-riped papaya.

hi wonderbaby,
i bought d vest direct fr d supplier somtx bk, i din join d bp. let me go look tru my archive email n send u contact of d supplier (hope hope i can find).
cher has 10 teeth. she can bite/chew fairly well. yes i let her eat yam. but she dun take much.

nellu,
i remb josh is quite tall. cher is v petite. if u cld let me noe of d busybuddies trial class too? tks. is it at UE sq?

CD,
ur Jboy is so active but so cute w all his different expressions. really like a 'lee xiaolong' (i saw ur blog) :p
my cher is v gd in 'siaming' d boys, she just squat at 1 corner to observe them n din wan to 'play' w them, keke....

cheezel,
i oso bathe evyday. but i do agree w sgn abt takg care of ur back. cos i personally feel tat af gg tru 2 preg n 2 labour, my back seems much 'weaker'. do give ur body somtx to 'recuperate' fr childbirth.. n remb to take ur calcium supplement n rest more (can unstd is not easy w 2 young kids but try to).

cheezel,
do take care of your back.

actually ah, if Jaren doesn't latch on well, all the more you should try not to bottle feed him leh. I remember last time Josh also for the first 2 weeks dun latch on well. I just ngeh ngeh latch him. a lot of pain and tears and all..but then he learned and aft that could suck really well.

but of course for you maybe cos need to pay attention to Javen also so may not have the time and patience to do. But do try to latch Jaren on as much as possible now lor... just my view lah

for trial class at busy buddies, I'll check for you and let you know.

sanrio,
now the classes are at GWC liao. no more UE Sq.

keke josh is tall but skinny mah..not round round...cher not very small lah..I think she's just nice. cute cute!

anyone of your kiddos got canine yet?? Josh's upper left one started to sprout out while I was in Beijing. Now can see the tip liao...

I scared to put my finger into his mouth now..sure bite really hard!

Halo mommies,

Haven been in here for a long time. My gal is going to child care ctr soon in nov. Seems like a couple of you are also sending ur kids to child care? Anybody has been to towns for kid?
Any feedbacks of this child care?

nellu
ky have 2 molar coming on it's way out and he LOVES to bite me when ever i clean his teeth or i put my finger in to feel for his molar! very very painful when he bites, i always scream and he quickly let go, ouch....
i had losted my voice for the pass 2 days so i can't scold him when he is getting naughty.

sgn/sanrio
yeah i know. have to watch my back. i remember the 1st time, while washing Javen up or changing diaper for him, my back super aching. hmm...this time round still ok. i change everything while sitting on the bed.

nellu. i'm aware that n i pointed this out to pd too. but was advise to give him more time not tat he csnt suckle...just tat his suckling still not strong enuff n he gets tired out easily. u can see he suckling but sometime prob only abt 10-20ml after 20 or 30 mins of suckling. if start latching on now, its going to affect my milk supply so he advise me to express out now instead of latching on.

janet
Javen still sleep soundly even when jaren is crying.....sometime when i change his diaper at night i also scar ehe will wake the elder one up cos he always make noise when i change his diaper. but his elde brother sleep soundly....heheh....

ok ladies
log off liao. going to rest a while.