(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

cheezel,
yea..keep going and keep trying with Jaren. Some BM better than no BM!

sgn,
josh long ago got his molar liao. Now he got 13 scary teeth!!

cheezel
dun stress urself, ky also on half BM n half FM during his 1st month CL helped to feed him while i can rest. i only direct latch on when ky is 2 months old heng he still ok with my breast. now thinking of the process of BF a bit scary.... =sleepless night!

nellu
ky got 8 teeth n 2 molars only. about the trial class i'm interested but can only take leave after confirmation which is about mid nov. can't join u all ler.

cheezel
lucky javen can sleep soundly..dont stress and rest well

re: ikea chairs and table
anyone bought this? thought of getting it. but the chair with the backing looks unstabil so think will get the stools instead

re: gerber gummies
saw this in carrefour. anyone tried? wonder whether it is easy for my girl to chew.. she has no molars yet

talking abt teeth, i'm also scared each time i clean her teeth and tongue coz she really bites my finger really hard and she has only 8 now. just started using toothbrush but not easy to brush so hv to use hankie also

wonder baby
i tried using tooth brush for my boy but he keep biting until it came off the brush. i think more safe to use towel or finger brush.

sgn, wonderbb,
talking abt brushing teeth, i've been having a lot of problems with Josh brushing teeth now. He used to like to brush his teeth a lot. But since we changed toothbrush (to Pigeon step 3) he refused to open his mouth. I tried to use towel to clean for him. He also refused to open his mouth. If he does, i'll get bitten!

sian leh...any ideas or not??

wonderbb,
which kind of chair and table you talking abt? The plastic cartoon looking type? or the wooden ones??

i'm also thinking abt buying a set for Josh but haven't got down to shopping. The last time I saw Toyogo selling also. and it's quite cheap but can't remember the exact price...

congrats to cheezel !!!

Wonder baby
I got the gerber gummies..yet to let markus try leh..worry that he will get choke..he dun have any molars growing out yet

zhu zhu/nellu
i normally clean the front part of her teeth. the bck part depends on her mood. this is when i normally get bitten..hahahah.. as for her tongue, i'll ask her to stick out the quickly swipe coz she always gag.

zhuzhu
ok when u let markus try then u let me know, okay?

nellu
yup those plastic cartoon looking type. either blue round table or red rectangle one. those wooden types, some are very heavy. my girl is very rough. i'm scared the chair will land on her. then those chairs with the back kind(either plastic or wooden), some not stabile. so thought of getting stools. but scared she lean back and fall also..hahaha

nellu/sgn
Jaren is on TBM. Just tat i express out for him. if latch on, its no BM at all...cos his suckling nto strong.

nellu
when i switch to pigeon stage 3 toothbrush, javen also refuse to open his mouth to brush. nw use hanky and spiffies to clean his teeth.

Cheezel

wow now you have 2 boys to update us on

zhuzhu

welcome back! Where have you been?

wonder_baby

Adam has yet to have any molars too. Only 8 tiny teeth. Usually I just use my own fingers to clean. He hates toothwipes too.

nellu
I'd love to get a table-chair set too but worried adam will climb on it instead. And also, that'll add to my already cluttered house!

cheezel,
so it seems like it's the toothbrush that's the problem? kids dun seem to like the more regular toothbrush. hmm...maybe let them play with it? What do you think? I probably will try and see if Josh will become more receptive.

wonderbb/smalldreams,
ya..that's the same concerns I have with the furniture. I think for us, it isn't the right time now to get them cos Josh still isn't walking independently. I don't think he can sit on a chair by himself. I'll wait till he walks more stably then consider.

re: teeth.
just spotted another canine coming out in josh's mouth! By the end of Oct I reckon he'll have 14 teeth!!

wbaby
e gerber gummies is very soft. . not like our adult gummies.

sanrio
ya, cher really knw how to siam e boys. She muz b tinking .. 'aiyo, those boys' :p

teeth
jboy has 14 teeth (last chk). 6 top, 6 bottom, and right top n bottom molar. my brushing so far is like play .. anyhow brush a few strokes consider done .. haha :p I m more like teaching e concept, not really brushing.

so mummies, wats e correct way of brushing bb's teeth har?

ikea:
I bought both the plastic chair with back support, and also the round colour stool. The back support for adults is too weak, but for kids, still ok. I usually sit on the stool instead. I feel in term of height, the chair with back support is better. I guess, you can try at ikea first before buying.

brushing:
I will let my girl watch me when i brush, and I will sing the brush teeth song to her whenever we brush her teeth. So far so good. but i also anyhow brush here, brush there lah. Brush front more frequent, brush back only when she bites the toothbrush. I usually let her hold the brush and i guide her hand.

Cheezel,
good that javen slept so well. I hope my #2 and #1 can also all sleep in one room. My breastfeeding experience is aldo like sgn, first month, confinement lady help, second month then on full breastfeeding. But the feeding was really long, like an hour, like yours...

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
these are the items that are said to be recalled in Singapore by the AVA.

1. M&Ms
2. Snickers
3. Mento's yogurt bottle
4. Dove Cho
5. Oreo wafer sticks
6. Monmilk
7. Dutch lady sterilised milk
8. Wall's all natural mango
9. Mini poppers ice cream
10. Magnum ice cream
11. Moo sandwich ice cream
12. Mini cornetto ice cream
13. youcan ice cream

cool daughter
thx. will buy the gummies for chloe then. jboy has a lot of teeth!

oh! i juz bought mini poppers yesterday! hvnt open yet. will throw away

nellu
chloe cant walk too but she loves sitting on ikea's step on stool. she even overturned it and sat inside.wahahaha

hi ice queen,
havnt heard for u for so long
towns for kids in jur east complex? i hv visited d place n quite like it but in d end chose d one tat my boy is currently in becos of convenience (for my hb to send n pick) n d environment.

nellu/ sanrio/ janet
i do brush my teeth with ky n he likes to play with toothbrush but when come to brusing i find it faster to brush by me rather then let him play. he enjoin when he do burshing for me so i will ask him to brush himself. i think playing helps to educate brushing. btw i bought pigeon step 3 brush too n ky keep biting the brush instead he prefers the adult brush.

cheezel
jia you BF is always not easy.

Nellu

Wow, 14 teeth!? So many! he must be able to chew very well! Makes eating much more fun!

Tub

Thanks for the info. Hubby also got the info via SMS. Sighs... I think to be safe, avoid all food products from china for now. sometimes I really wonder what's wrong with some people - where are their ethics & conscience? I really feel sooo sorry for the babies who suffer from liver malfunction, and their poor mums who must be so worried. No thanks to the contaminated formula

Re: brushing teeth
Forget it. I just let him play with it but I use my fingers to clean it.

sgn
totally agree. BF is not easy all the time (except the times where you can just go out without lugging bottles & powder). But stopping BF also isn't easy, hor? My milk so little liao, yet that adam still want to latch... sighhh... wonder_baby, we share the same fate, don't we?

<font color="0000ff">Cheezel</font>
Went through the same experience with Jonas last time...his sucking is super no strength...I can be latching for one hour and he still dun get his BM...end up, my nipples were sore with blisters and bleed some more....so I've got to express out and feed with bottle. But he take very long to drink his milk and is still the same now.

But I can imagine your situation is even more tiring coz you've still got Javen to handle...U must really take care okie...I know you dun wanna tired out your MIL but you gotta rest too...so maybe can alternate the feedings job for Jaren if possible.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Teeth &amp; Brush Teeth</font>
Jonas has got 12 teeth now...I use finger brush to brush teeth for him. And Yes, my fingers are quite often biten by him. And when I pull out my finger and scream "pain" at him, he threw temper and throw the toothpaste on the floor. That's how bad tempered he can be when at home!

But when outside, he is so scared and starts crying when people say "hello" to him. Signzzz....

<font color="0000ff">Re: Items recalled by AVA</font>
Faintz....Dun know how much M&amp;Ms and Magnum ice-cream I have eaten on &amp; off in the past. Let Jonas tried Magnum before too....

Hope our livers are OK....

springd,
dun worry too much abt the M&amp;Ms and Magnum lah..it's in small amts, compared to the babies being fed the formula in China.

smalldreams,
yes..he'll even chew on his stroller seatbelt if he has nothing to do and he'll start taking things to chew on.. sigh... i stopped trying to stop him already..too tiring.

smalldreams
ya..and doesnt help that hubby keeps asking ' you still hv milk meh?'then i'll reply 'you open your mouth i squirt and see'. wahahaha.then yesterday he commented again that chloe is now big enough to stop latching. i know that but i'm so tired each day, i cant imagine how the period of training her not to latch will be

springdance/nellu
wow! jonas and josh have a lot of teeth too

Hi Sanrio,

Yup, @JE swimming complex. Ya, I quite like the place too and considering putting my gal there. Can share with me where ur boy is now? Can email me.

Long time no log in here cos so bz with my gal!!! Shes so active! Btw, were u at robinson 2 sat back? Cos my hubby says he tot he saw ur hubby at the nursing room? Kekeke....hows cher?

hi ice queen,
yes yes, i went for haircut n my hb did brg cher to nursery rm to change her diaper. ur hb can recognise my hb?? wah!
cher is gd, active too.
i've emailed u

smalldreams
ya agreeded with u latching difficult too. a bit sore whenever thinking of stop bf my kid. anyway better for ky lah, ppl had been saying that why he so skinny, asking what did i feed him? i had been giving ky food even when he's not asking n he eats whatever u gave him, FM should be better for the child when they grow bigger.
btw ky is now 10.2kg.
now i express 2-3oz per day just to relief.

sgn,
I learnt to be more relax about the weight issue. I guess how heavy the baby, will depend on how heavy the parents are. I am so thin, of course cannot expect the child to be fat...anyway, we try to make them fat, and when they grow older, they will want to loose weight. how ironic...no wonder, there is age gap...haha

sgn

U STILL PUMP??! Apologies for the caps, but that really takes me by surprise! I've stopped pumping since Adam was about 11 mths old. Now i simply have no time to pump! And no milk also I think. Pump 20 minutes, probably only get 10 ml. And I'm never that full except when i return home in the evening, even then, adam will quickly usher me to the Breastfeeding spot on the sofa, then happily latch on till he empties me quite abit.

My pump is now somewhere in storage. Hehe... no time to breathe these days...let alone pump. Salute u, !

janet
Aiyah, pple will always comment on our babies. i guess they do so for conversational topic sake lah. As long as they're of OK weight, we shouldn't worry rite? But for me, I'm not that thin, and his dad is far from thin! But then adam's so active and a small eater at that, so naturally he won't put on much weight... think at max 11 kg now.

Sgn / Janet / Smalldreams
Jonas is still less than 10kg lei...think he super light weight and petite boy...my mum will comment "why you so skinny" when she sees him...well, wat to do...he dun eat much. Hopefully, his appetite will be better when he is older lor...

smalldreams
not that i want to pump, i also wanted to stop. just kiasu worry will be engorge when working so just pump to relief during at night will try not to pump by this wk. u got adam to hlep to relief mah for my boy can't latch if not he will bite!

janet
agreed with u can't conmpare with other kids just very stressed up when ppl ask this and that.

CD

I guess still not as bad as the poor babies who drink the formula many times a day... so sad.... my colleague also just said she drank 2 bottles of dutch lady strawberry milk as it was on special offer - super cheap at 2 for $1.90!! Gahhhh so fed up thinking about this.

cool_daughter,

I never heard of sunflower babies. Where is it and does it has other branches as well? Confirm seating for January '09 already?

Just to share with all of u on those who have Passion Cards. They are having a promotion with the Underwater World at Sentosa till around end of October this year. It is 25% off the ticket face value. Therefore, please consider this if u are still wondering where to bring your babies

Springdance,
if your son is eating little, maybe can try building on his bone...i gave my girl the cowhead small cube cheese. She likes it. Some more I let her self feed...so she likes it even more.
since jonas is ok with cod liver oil, i suppose cheese should be ok for him.

wonderbb,
yes the take one baby bites is one of the prdts recalled.. sigh..yday i threw away all our stocks at home. It happens to be josh's favourite snack. aiyo...god knows how much of it has he eaten in the past few months!

smalldreams,
baby bites contains skim milk powder in it. since it is made in china, AVA has taken the precaution to have it recalled.

nellu

it contains skimmed milk? Aiyo! Yeah that snack keeps adam quite too...when i eat it, i wonder what's so delicious.

actually i was weary abt buying the baby bites since its made in china, but i tot, aiyah just buy lah... well as long as they don't finish one whole box a day, guess shud be OK.

I ate it too...to finish up when adam plays with the crumbs.

sanrio,
ya lor. josh ate a lot of it in the past few months. but i think should be ok lah...perhaps the effect of the poisoning is worse if the tainted milk is consumed directly?

smalldreams,
btw, this morning was at cold storage, they have taken a lot of stuff off the shelves liao.

ice queen
i thinking of asking if theres a trial class for zoophonics at JE swimming complex. wanna start bringing javen to classes liao to learn how to make friends. else alwasy stay at home also sien.

SD
u interested in zoophonic?

smalldreams
i still have a box of baby bites. notice its made in china long ago....think i not going to buy any more food thats made in china liao...but then its diff to trace the source of raw material too....food can be made in other countries but the raw materials can be from china!

nellu/smalldreams/sanrio
ya that's chloe's fav too. and she has eaten a lot. now have to source for another safer brand. think pigeon has this too. should be safe i think

cheezel,
i m keen w zoo phonics. let me noe. tks..

nellu, wonderbb,
pigeon hv. there is 1 jap brand tat isetan carries too. but hoh.... nvr know where their milk source is fr... it cld b made in japan but ingredients imported???? totally lost confidence in any china pdt liao.. they are forever having problem, fr luncheon meat to now milk to anytg n evytg.....

Oh no, I also have a lot of baby bites at home...pigeon's is more expensive and sodium content is much higher...
ai ya...so sian with all these food scare./danger

Janet
Tried given Jonas cream cheese with bread and Kraft cheese before…both he dun like lei…. I suppose it’s the same case for cowhead cheese cube?

Cheezel
Zoophonics sounds interesting…. JE Swimming complex is at Jurong West?

Nellu
By the way, how's Josh? Has he recovered?

SpringD,
Josh has recovered abt 70-80%. Today didn't hear him cough. but still got a bit of phlegm.

abt cheese. last time josh also didn't really like it, but now he does. It's weird. Like how he didn't like to eat chicken before but now he loves it. just keep offering to Jonas and see how.

anyone here bought clarks' first shoes for your kiddos? if so where did you get them? I went to Robinsons last friday but they didn't have leh.