(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

cheezel,
we thought abt bringing Josh but then it would mean that we can't go to a lot of places. For one we can't go to Great Wall liao...one of the reasons why I really wanted to go BJ is cos of the places to visit (hubby's friends organising some GW tour) and also the night life there. If bring Josh totally cannot do any of this.

...dunno leh...my mum had promised to take care of Josh. Guess now we got maid again so maybe easier for her ba...but still I'm scared lor...scared of her complaints...dunno...i still got 2 weeks more to decide. in the meantime, I'm trying to get her to babysit Josh more often. e.g. tmw nite going out with hubby to celebrate friends bday. hopefully it gets better lor.

hehehe, javen so cute! I've never brought Josh to see gynae/dr with me so dunno how he would react if he saw me being examined. When he goes to PD he's quite garang and would play with everything on the dr's table. Or even rearrange the chairs...

cheezel
javen is so cute! dont think my girl will know it's injection time..hahahah

nellu
what's important is that josh has you to look after him now!

how do you all stop your babies fr scratching? each time there's a mosquito bite, chloe will scratch till her skin bleeds! then the scar takes a very long time to dissappear
..i find that elomet doesnt help

cheezel
javen so cute .. in his heart he's probably screaming, 'daddy, quik help mummy, doc. is going to jab her!!' :p

nellu
I tink great wall still can bring josh, night life, difficult:p Or can compromise and go those Al fresco cafe instead of pubs. The last time my KR frens came, we wented to bring them somewhere for a drink, so we brot them to One fullerton along the river and jboy came along. Last yr new yr eves count down, we brot jboy to K box too :p

nellu
that's what peer support is abt...we listen to each other...i used to "bicker" with my MIL abt the way #1 was being looked after too. This is called generation gap...they don't believe in the new science of nutrients or hygiene. She's also very anti-BF...always bugging me to wean off my kids coz they poo too often. Of course intellectual growth and health benefits outweigh convenience so I learned to ignore her.

The thing that irks me most was that she loved to go to the coffeeshop everyday...at noon time....be it rain or shine. She won't admit that it's her habit but she'll say she's going there coz of us...to do marketing. But we all know she's there to meet up and gossip with her friends...imagine my poor kid...stuck at the place for 2 hrs listening to all the flowery language...everyday!

sad to hear that even your own mom pull such "strategy" on you...perhaps now that ur kid is older...you can put in CC. It's gd for the child (gets to learn things) and for ur family too(dual income is less stressful for hubby).

cheezel
no wonder didn't see you...your dress is here. Do drop by to take a look to see if it fits. Javen's so cute...knows that he must protect mommy from "harm". so sweet...

springdance
Thank God for good caregivers! =o)

smalldreams
haa...already lost counts of the "DUH" moments I experienced with hubby. They can really drive you nutz with their "lack of common sense". It's so interesting how we rank things after we have kids...Indeed kids will always come 1st..but I'm the type who'll always procrastinate when it comes to house chores. haa...it'll be last on my list. I apply the 2D theory for that...Dedicate and Dictate...keke...

Nellu
Hey…am sure the mummies here are more than happy to hear your “rants”…the forum is a place for us to share our inner thoughts (healthy ones of coz..) and an avenue to release out stuff we can’t tell our hubby or mums or MIL in order to make ourselves feel beta…

In fact, my mum also opt out from the start (when I informed her that I was pregnant) that she dunnoe how to take care of her grandchild. Good thing is that my MIL is the traditional woman who dun mind taking care of her son’s son. Yes, my MIL does have one way or another different values of taking care of children…just have to give & take lor…eg. she boils the vege with the porridge (which means all the nutrients in the vege are all gone), but I just leave it as that. It’s hard to argue over such trivial matters and moreover, it is not easy taking care of a baby at her age.

Well, nothing’s perfect. Anyway, I think you do well as a SAHM…can manage Josh alone far all the way in France. W.R.T to Beijing, if you are not planning a hectic on-the-go schedule, think you shouldn’t have too much problem to bring Josh along with your experience … At most take turns with hubby to carry Josh climb up the GW? :p

There’s the mummy in April who travelled almost the whole of USA (some places they go are long walks on hills and gotta climb a lot of steps) and even to Niagara Falls, Canada with her hubby and they seem to do great!

Cheezel
Javen is such a sweet boy! So heartwarming…..think with such a good-natured & kind character, he will treat his Di Di really nice too.

mommypoh,
ya..i'm waiting for Josh to grow up. Planning to put him at cc starting this dec when he turns 18mths. Sounds cruel but I think it'll be good for all of us, for me as well as for him. He'll have friends and learn to be independent while i'll get some of my own free time and freedom back too. The only good thing abt my situation now is that my hubby doesn't mind being the sole breadwinner. In fact, he doesn't mind even if i decide to stay a SAHM for the rest of my life. But I'm not really cut out for that kind of life.

ya...unfortunately it's my mum who does this to me. If it is my MiL, maybe i won't feel so sad...

smalldreams,
my hubby also got a lot of DUH stuff too. Very often, he'll go "how will i know??!" ..

cooldaughter,
i guess i'm abit different from you. When Josh was younger i thought it was ok for him to go out with us at night and all. But then i realised that it's really tough to settle him after that. Last time i didn't feel the difficulty cos while i was at work, my Mil would do the tough job. But now that I'm SAHM and i'm the one taking care of Josh, I know more abt my own son, his temperament, his likes and dislikes and his little idiosyncrasies. So our approach is different now. I avoid doing things with him which will cause any overstimulation and any disruption to his routine. Cos once there is a disruption and if I do not address and correct it, it'll be hell for me after that.

of course once in a while I screw the routine. This usually happens when it's festive season, or when there's a family gathering, that sort of stuff...or sometimes when i'm just tired and need to break the routine a little.

But with travelling it's very difficult. as i've experienced with our last trip to Europe, we took 1-2weeks to get Josh back on his usual routine again..and that 1-2weeks was bad enough with him waking 10 over times at night (previously he either sleeps thru the night or wake only 1-2times for 2-3mins each time), him refusing to eat, and me falling sick...

SpringD,
hahaha let us go to a developed western country anytime! I'll be happy to get Josh to go along. It's very different travelling to a developed country like US, France, England, etc. The people there are more open. The facilities there are more baby friendly.

But BJ isn't really that nice and babe friendly. Even my hubby's classmates who live and work in BJ and with kids tell me so. They like SGP more.

if i bring Josh I've got to do a lot of things alone again like wat i did in France. I can't imagine handling that in crowded, noisy and dusty BJ! France was ok cos pple and facilities are helpful.

cannot GW with v small kid lah...wind very strong up there. It's not the problem with carrying him and climbing. I'm more worried that he'll get ill!

Springdance

We went very late - at 6.15 pm! Lucky still can get admitted. We were outta there by 6.45 pm. Don't mind going there again with you gals, but Sundays are rather tight for us...coz MIL visit & swimming day...Whose hubbies will be going along too?

MummyPoh, Nellu
I guess guys being guys, there are quite "Duh" sometimes. But I try to think of his strengths too...which is..erm, his diligence in sending me anywhere I wanna go, hehe..

cheezel
I can imagine Javen, cuteness!

With regard to our own mums as caregivers, I feel bad abt ranting but I sometimes feel like i'm made to feel guilty when i need my mom's help to take care of my kid - sighs, but the demands of my job are such that, I may have to go into office even on days i'm scheduled to work from home. guess that ruins some of her plans to go out. Grrr, wish I could be a SAHM, but of course hub isn't earning big bux !

smalldreams
yap my last wk of shift work, starting my new job on 11 Aug. wonder still can chat with u all during off hrs.

smalldreams
actually wif jboy, i had learnt to appreciate my mum more. I start to realise there are alot of things that I used to take for granted. Also, I am beginning to understand why my mum can do those things that she did for me n my bro w/o complaints. Sometimes I even wonder if I can ever be as great a mum as her

smalldreams,
it's really funny how FTWMs want to be SAHM and vice versa... quite frankly, i prefer to work than to stay home full time. though my previous job can be quite challenging and frustrating, but nothing is more difficult than trying to take care of a super active and assertive boy and running the household.

nellu
why not just try out for the 1st time since your mom has offer to help. maybe josh is older now...so easier to take care than baby. n definitely more fun to play with...so prob ur mom dun mind looking after.

smalldreams
if i went, my hubby will be there too. dun worry....daddy can go ard chasing the little ones while we chat chat....

mommies
just now evening bought Javen for a hair cut. thought this time rd he's older n will not cry.....but who knows the moment the lady touch his head...he scream n scream...no choice ...since already half way done, have to bear with his screaming n struggling. me n hubby sweat n the whole body all his hair....eveyrday ask him if he wan cut hair, he say yes..even till the last min when ask him if wan cut hair, he nod his head. my hubby even cut his hair first so that he can see....but haiz...as usual....cry. when we cut his hair for him at hm, hes ok le. dunno is it he scare of the hairdresser. after everything is done, he stop and seems to forget everything....aiyo....i so scare he scream till no voice. heart almost break

CD

Adam won't just wear his swimming diaper lah...too cold lah..I'll put on for him a swimming suit too - hand me down from his cousin, hehe..

Yeah I know what you mean about our own mums. Just that my mom never really took care of us as babies, toddlers lah..it was my grandma that did... but I do admit, she's quite a great mom, easy to talk to :p

Cheezel
OK, will consider !

Did you bring him to the expensive barber? That one got balloons & Barney! $18!! I only brought him there once, after that, we trimmed his hair ourselves. Cheaper lah..hehe!

Nellu
It's like that lah, the grass is always greener on the other side. But no matter how tiring it is, it sure feels fulfilling to raise your own kid right? That's really priceless ! (but erm..at the price of shopping sprees I guess :p)

Smalldreams
I bought him to normal hair salon and also junior league (where theres toys, sweets, cartoons to watch etc) b4…he also struggle and scream no matter how we coax him. Other than that we also trim his hair ourselves and hes ok with it. Guess next time I just trim his hair myself or just use a shaver and shave his hair botak or shave off those long ends...hehe

Nellu
Oh yah…Now that you mentioned, I forgot that the air in BJ is really bad….even athletes decide to come Singapore for training before the Olympics rather than go direct to BJ to stay. The public facilities-wise, I guess they probably upgraded quite a fair bit due to this major event…maybe their attitudes towards tourists have also improved? But of course, to be on the safe side and for you to enjoy the trip better, it’s definitely beta for you to leave Josh in Singapore…. Hmm…But you’ll have to convince yourself to do that and have a good & honest discussion with your mom about taking care of Josh.

Smalldreams
My hubby is definitely gng…well, I guess majority of the hubbies are since we are likely to do a family picnic thingy…..

The swimming is your own leisure swim? Can skip for one weekend anytime rite? As for MIL, invite her to go to JCB with your all lar! Kekek….

Cheezel
Jonas will cry loudly & struggle all the way throughout his haircut……no improvement at all for the many haircuts he has gone through. Signzzz….

cheezel
talking about cutting hair my boy was crying n struggling the last time i bought him for a hair cut, he only stop when the lady gave him a sweet!

hair cut
i juz shaved jboy botak again .. haha. But tis time, its the #2 level of the shaver, so not the totally botak kind. his hair really thin, so am trying to see if shaving can make them grow thicker

cheezel,

I have an extra tube of brand new Pureen Nappy Rash Cream. Do u need it since u are pregnant with your second child?

If yes, please email me here for further discussion.

!

cool_daughter,
I am still using nappy rash cream too. because dont use, sure have rash, although a lot lesser now compared to younger.

Serene,
have you gone to the fair already? anything good?

janet
ya, actually me too. Using less, and occasionally, forget to bring out neva use :p But at hm, or at nite, will still continue.

Btw, bb fair starts 07 Aug only .. today's 01 Aug.

Hungry ghost Festival starts today !!

How about the toys fair at Taka? Anybody gone there?

yee, hungry ghost starts today ah? ok, cannot go swimming...amazing that SK swimming pool still choose to open today...hmm

re : nappy rash cream

haven't used it since the first month when he got a case of bad rash! i don't even put powder there. been using huggies ultra - and the new version comes with some kind of anti-rash formula or something...haha all kinds of features on a diaper these days :p

Toys
Now our babies already know how to play with toys right? so cute. Unlike when they were 6-10 mths, only know how to throw and eat the toys. hehe!

re : nappy rash cream

i'm also still using nappy rash cream on javen. using avent one. no nappy rash since birth. not too sure when to stop butthink will still use as long as he still wearing diaper ba.

janet
hungry ghost festival cannot go swim?

yah, same here...will still use nappy rash cream as long as wearing diaper.

my hubby a bit superstitious, so he usually says cannot swim during that month

cheezel
some older folks dun like kids to go swimming during 7th month..i think sometimes it just good to play safe lar..

janet/Zhuzhu
didnt heard of tat b4. i know try not to go to beach to swim only.....but like tat can go beach to play sand? go in the day time ok?

springD,
i think i'll take the plunge w.r.t BJ trip. Aft all it's just gonna be 4 days. meals can be planned. Activities wise, i'm not worried cos my mum's got a lot of ideas to play! Plus my current maid is pretty good so I think I can trust them..

smalldreams,
hahaha I'd rather SHOP! *self-confessed shopaholic* now ZERO income still shop...sigh...if i go on like that sure die lah... :p

RE: Hair cut.
anyone can share how you trip your kiddo's hair on your own? not that i need to cut Josh's hair now but i think it's good for me to sort of visualise the situation so that I'll know what to do when i have to do it.

RE: Taka toy fair
any good?? Got those wooden puzzles or not??

RE: Nappy Rash cream
I'm also still using it religiously on Josh, daily use drapolene. If he gets a rash, I'll put the avent one for him. But now hardly any rash, not even redness, unlike when he was younger.

RE: JBCG
My hubby is definitely coming! heehehe he got no choice...hahahaha

Nellu
you mean planning for hair cut on your own? Just need a pair of haircut scissor, comb, and if you wan can get those hair shaver like those used in hair salon. normally i cut javen hair b4 wash up, so will remove his shirt and let him sit on the floor to play with toys and water while i cut his hair. Hes ok with it. bring him to salon will be a "little" bit more challenging. hehe

http://www.peanutgallery.com.au/catalogue/blocks_and_building/Alex_Toys_Wooden_Vehicle_Lacing_Beads

I bought above toy for my boy. He knows how to thread all of them now, at 14 months old! I am so surprised.

Wonderbaby, there’s one insect patch from Hansaplast, bought from pharmacy. You can paste this (like scotchtape) and kid can't scratch their skin anymore. Also will soothe and help heal the insect bite scar there. I find it rather effective, and used it for myself too.

Sgn, what golf toy did you buy? Where did you buy it from? My son the same, likes broom, mop, umbrella. Give him toy one he don't want, only want real.

cheezel,
want to meet up before you pop? I will organise a Jwest mummy gathering this month but must wait until my son not staying with me. I don't have confidence bringing him out on my own, esp take public transport.

Re: bringing your toddler out
as I had been preggie when Cookie starts to walk, I didn't gain much experience bringing him out on my own. usually my hb carries him or my parents put him in stroller. I don't like the stroller but no strength to carry him all the time. Can bb sling be used? what do you do?

springdance,
luckily didn't arrange to meet you cos I had to rush back to express. wah lao, the buayah bus driver was staring at my cleavage when I asked for directions! I was wearing this nursing top, with loose fitting at tummy, so still look a bit preggie. anyway, he kept staring that he didn't know the place I was asking about. so pissed man.

small dreams,
want to keep this list and add on in this thread:

1. Gallop stable / Pasir Ris Park
2. East Coast park
3. Jacob Ballas (thanks to this thread!)
4. Goat farm or farms at kranji(wonder if it's safe for babies tho due to the goat's smell, animal germs etc
5. Discovery Centre
6. Chek Jawa (never been there but seen a lot of good reviews esp on the corals and starfish)

Ris,
where you got the threading toy from? your boy's motor skills is really good lei

Jeanyard,
I'm still using my sling to hip carry YX. Very handy and he's super ok with it. The other day after his class, I sling carry him but he's sleepy. So I try to position him into cradle position and is really surprised I can still do it with him at least 20cm longer than when he's 50cm

Nellu
Way to go Gal....good choice! Have some confident in your mum yah..afterall, she brought you up nice and healthy rite.

Must share with us photos of your GW conquer after you are back (maybe some shots of the clubbing scene there too?

JeanYard
Aiyooo....Uncle "eating ice-cream" while working. You should him tell him off in an angry tone! Make him embarassed....

ris
i bought from Daiso just $2 ha ha ha.... just a simple plastic stick with ball but saw isetan selling the proper set ? $49.

TAKA sale: wah time to spent money!!!!

Jeanyard

have to depend whens the gathering. cos i'm still working and weekends r out as i will be at my mom's place.

i didnt bring stroller or carrier anymore. now i just let Javen walk on his own or carry him when crossing the road or when he's tired. normally i will bring some biscuits along just in case he gets grumpy on bus or train or taxi. n there will be 1-2 toys which he likes to play with.

where is Chek Jawa ?

cool_daughter,

I have stopped for a few months already coz it is quite oily. Anyway, I have a couple of opened tubes to apply on and off when BabyG has rashes but he hardly has rashes nowadays. Therefore, I am planning to let go my spare brand new Pureen nappy rash cream as I foresee I won't be using it
!

Anyone interested in my spare brand new Pureen nappy rash cream? U can PM me ya
!

me pop in to say "hi" again..

mommyPoh,
Was browsing thru the posting..
ur posting really caught my attention..
Quoted: " have to constantly remind myself that one day the kids will grow up and have their own life. When that time comes ,it'll just be me and hubby alone. So he's also equally impt and shldn't neglect him either"
This is really enlightening.. heehee
think I shld learn to let go a bit... After having baby has really make me like no personal time, even if go out shopping a bit w/o baby also make me so so so guilty...sigh..

jeanyard,
ur girl girl cute cute..

Must be real tough taking care of 2 kids..

will pop by again..
take care ladies..hee.

PG
me not using pureen brand. is it oily? Avent one not oily and easy to apply thru. thats y have been using avent brand till now.

ziying
dun feel guilty. hubby and kids r equally impt. when u all spend time with kids, hubby is also ard to share the joy and laughter and fun, which is another diff set of feeing when u spend time with hubby.
i'm sure he feels the diff too. after all, having kids is not just one sided decision. its u n hubby. when u r out alone with hubby, then just enjoy the moments no doubt ur baby will always be constantly on ur mind...i'm sure he thinks the same too. sometime when my hubby n i out, he will ask me if i miss javen cos he does tat too.
when ur kids grow up, they have their own thinking and activities and life, but what makes a diff in their childhood is still u n ur hubby. and who knows what they r in furture and how they think and behave is how u actually spend ur time to guide them along when they are young.
Cheers!!

Cheezel,

Pureen brand is not really oily lah but just a bit greasy loh after applying on his backside. Anyway, my baby doesn't have much rashes nowadays. Therefore, I didn't want to apply to much stuff on his skin unnecessary.

Do u want to try? I can pass it to you during our Jacob Ballas gathering on the 17 August with exchange token like 1 big pack of baby wipes (any brand also can lah)
!! If not, the brand new Pureen nappy rash cream will gather dust leh ;p

U let me know ya coz I am still using baby wipes for my baby
!

ziying
guess most of the mommies here wld agree that lack of personal time is the norm. It really depends on how individuals cope with that..some mommies and daddies have higher threshold. I do agree with cheezel abt sharing of joy and fun as a family...we just had that today (been out shopping/eating the whole day). =o)

Of course, it's nice to have some "ME TIME" once in a while esp when my "battery" is going flat. haahaa..really feels "recharged" after that and i seemed to have more patience towards my kids. (not the usual frustrated, short-fused mommy)

The key is to recognize and acknowledge our "alarm limits". Everyone has a self-set limit to everything...if one of our limits is "screaming" HIGH HIGH ALARM hit...don't ignore that coz it'll most probably result in "serious issues" later. People always say "Prevention is better than cure"!

Mommypoh
u r rite! Well said.

Ziying
I feel like you too but last week after a short date with hubby i felt quite revitalised, but of course we immediately went home to take baby out for a family outing.

cheezel
so did you manage to visit gallop stable? How was it? I hope you weren't disappointed with it! :p

small dreams
were u at Tampinese Courts today>? Me and hubby was Q-ing up to pay at the cashier when i heard a toddler crying. Saw a guy carrying a toddler who like like Adam, waiting for his mommy to finish with the lucky draw entry....

we went there but Javen fell asleep so decided to go Courts to buy some stuff while my mom keep Javen's accompany in the car. when we done n walked back to car, Javen woke up....so we proceed there. quite a nice place...Javen looks amaze when he saw the horses n pony. he had fun running ard the grass patches......didnt even wanna go back when we ask him too.......

PG
Thanks for offering. but cos Javen's skin quite sensitive so dun think will wanna change brand just in case la.

Mommypoh

i do agree. Once you hit the alarm..its always good to get some help with the kids and regeneratey your energy level. hehe....

hey...where u go today? had great fun wor!!

Taro, currently I am rather obsessed with ALEX toys brand. Bought from Jolly Party Great World City. Or tokomama.com also selling. Or Motherworks also sell ALEX toys.

Today I first time tried my boy at My Gym. Arh...he wanders around, not really paying attention to "class". I think this age they rather like free play. But my boy is rather fascinated to see so many ride on toys etc and he likes the big balls.

Mummy here, I find my boy likes dolls leh. How? And he likes soft toy, and usually chooses pink ones. eeeee, do I need to worry? Think I am going to buy more car/trucks books for him to read more.

ris
Javen also has many softtoy...from winnie the pooh to mickey mouse to barney to doremom.....hehe...dun worry la....but he also like car/trucks/bus/motorbike etc. think can let them play freely....let them play with whatever toys they wan...now they like bright bright colours....i think still ok la. if he only like black n blue then i will think its abit boring and dull. hehe.....sometime i even let Javen wear pink, red, orange, yellow etc...