(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

suisui
haven decide which cc to put him. yeah. by the time #2 out, javen will be turning 18th month old. so when he start on cc, will be ard 19 to 20th month. hope the cc will be somewhere my neighbourhood ...walking dist cos when i back to work, my mil will bring him or fetch him back.

intend to put half day only. wonder if its a good idea. cos tot half day then when he back in noon, he will take a nap before dinner so mil whos looking after younger one will not be so shiong.

Janet
we pay for the airport tax for javen when we brought him to perth when hes 9th months old. he sits on our lap n sleep in my arms. bassinet too small for him. i only let him sit n play in it while we having meal.

Janet,
Sorry. Earlier i didn't have time to do a longer post on my travel adventures with Josh. I'm happy to share my experience cos i think it'll be helpful and make travelling with babies less fearful.

When we took Josh to France last month, he was crawling already. He was also on 3 meals and had just self-weaned off BF (me VERY upset over this!). So we had to bring a lot of his food in the luggage. We deliberately arranged to fly at night. I guess we are luckier cos this trip was a partial biz trip for hubby. me and Josh are 'excess luggage' hehehe... and hubby gets to fly biz class. so we book Josh on biz class and i swop seats with hubby.

Josh was quite a good boy on the flights, except for take off and landing cos he hates the seat belt! Who wouldn't actually?? but have to tahan this lor. then he screamed and screamed not because of the pressure but because he was strapped down and cannot sit on the floor! hahaha my boy very farnie hor?! He was given the pacifier to suck, which will help relieve the pressure. if your bb doesn't take the pacifier, then let him/her nurse or give him a bottle.

Aft the seat belt sign is off, i let the rascal off. must follow after. He was crawling along the aisle. but i had to watch out for the carts. he also learned to climb stairs on the plane

food -- must prepare your own. cos even the airline had baby food, it's all like dessert type. and is only suitable for younger babies.

then he slept!
he slept for slightly more than 1/2 the journey. so it was good. I handle him mostly alone in biz class while my hubby was in econ class getting his beauty sleep. The air crew were really helpful. I really appreciated that.

nellu,
thanks for the info. It is really helpful.

So no one in biz class complained about Josh screaming? I also afraid bb will not take the air pressure well. We did not introduce pacifier to her. So I guess may need to let her drink water from the bottle then.

Sibling jealousy is normal but they'll live thru it like we did (we had siblings too)...end of the day, it still boils down to how we as parents behave towards the #1 and #2.

I sent my gal to cc when she turned 20mth...and janet's right abt them developing faster...guess it's peer pressure.

I plan to put my boy in cc once he hits 18mth too. But do be mentally prepared that for the 1st 6mths, they'll keep falling sick. After this trying period, they'll be fine. Part and parcel of CC.

Springdance- just give proper instructions to your caregiver before you leave so that they'll know what to do even if your boy haven't fully recovered by the time you leave. hope the weather gets better in HK...my parents are also going there next weekend.

cheezel - it'll be like Survivor Singapore when my parents are away on holiday. I'll surely miss their help esp over weekends.

Cheezel
Going on a 6 days trip…leaving on Sunday but starting my leave tomorrow to run some personal errands before I go….been so busy at work this week no time to do my things. Remember to miss me when I’m gone yah. :p

Jonas not walking yet…he very “scaredy cat” one lar….refuse to try walking without holding on to something. Hiazz….so bor pianz gotta carry him all the way in bird park since he refuse to sit in his stroller lor.

Janet
Well…different babies have different likings….perhaps your gal may like the outdoors and see animals….but I would say it’ll definitely be better to wait till she can wait then bring her to such places…for us, it’s becoz we won’t be around for him coming this weekend and whole of next week, that’s why want to bring him to somewhere! Hahah…

Sanrio
I share the exact same thoughts with you! Thinking probably wait till Jonas is 18mths (moreover he still dunnoe how to walk now yet) then bring him overseas….and Australia is one of the top choice on my list.

MommyPoh
I heard from my relatives who went HK earlier this month that it was raining in HK…pray hard the weather is fine next week! My MIL is certainly one good caregiver I can trust my boy with during this period ….. I’m really lucky for that.

Nellu
Wow….France! Juz curious, any particular reason why you have selected such a far place to bring your boy for his first trip? Did your family stayed at hotel or service apartment?

Springdance,
my girl also like your boy - 'scaredy cat'. She will stand up, pull my hand or wait for me to hold her, before starting to walk...ai ya...

but i guess they will grow to a stage whereby they will not want us to hold anymore...so be happy that they still want us now...hee hee...
that is what my gynae keeps on saying...'holding on to them now while they still want, for there will be a time whereby they would prefer to be on their own.'

That is i keep telling myself whereby bb is very sticky.

Janet,
you have to be thick-skinned when travelling with baby. Just heck care what other people think as long as you know you are doing your best to make baby comfy.

Which airline will you be flying with? I find that the bigger airlines have better pilots who are good at handling the plane. On our way there, the flight was a bit turbulent, but i didn't find it very disturbing. The take-off and landing was very well handled as well. I'm also sensitive to the changing air pressure but I didn't feel a thing.

Springdance,
hehe no particular reason why i chose to go France. only because hubby was going there for 2 weeks for course. Aft that we went to UK for a week as well.

Actually this is not Josh's first trip. His first trip was in Jan this year to Cambodia.

In France we stayed in a hotel on the campus of the place my hubby was attending his course. in UK, we stayed at my friend's tiny little apartment in London. But we were travelling around as well, so there was one day we stayed in a B&B and the other days at my friend's relatives' holiday home near Brighton.

nellu,
For my trip, I am thinking of two extremes, either SIA, or budget airline.

How was Cambodia? Baby friendly or not? Water and food how?

Janet,
i suggest SIA, if you are travelling for 4hours and above. The crew on SIA are very experienced, esp those on long haul flights. They will really help you handle baby too if you need. They are used to doing this kind of work because a lot of ang mohs just travel with their babies like that. SOmetimes the mummy alone with the child.

When i went to Camobodia, i travelled budget. not very good. I stayed in a resort. Did not go out much to explore on my own. Food and water are ok.

nellu,
Do you need to boil the mineral water for milk, instead of boiling tap water? Food clean enough for baby?

cheezel,

does javen understands that u r pregnant? when do u think he will understand that he is having another sibling? i read abt buying gifts for 1st to give to 2nd... but how to implement if number 1 do not understand?

me same as u that tessa will be 17mths + when my number 2 is due. However, she doesn't understand what is pregnant and what is sibling. she is still kicking and hitting my stomach or stepping on it etc... so i wonder at which age then they can comprehend.

My colleague's son is 2+ and he can even knows whether he wants a sister or brother now that my colleague is preg. But i am unable to ask tessa such question leh..

also, have u heard about the "pantang" that all new borns must have brand new mattress? I dunno how leh coz the cot mattress that tessa is sleeping now is from babysafe. And I plan to let the newborn sleeps on it when i deliver... but if cannot use 2nd hand, then very wasted leh... do u plan to re-use the mattress from Javen for ur newborn?

u know the gender liao?

jeanyard,

if u happen to read, ALL The best for your delivery!

springdance,

enjoy ur vacation! eat more and shop more!

Janet,
it's really up to you ref the water. I'm very bo chap one. But in france i ended up boiling bottled water cos dunno why the hotel tap water got a lot of chalk. But actually chalk is harmless lah..but for babies, i was a bit concerned because babies cannot process the chalk as well as adults.

in UK, it was direct form the tap. UK's tap water is cleaner than spring water. Better than our tap water.

In Cambodia, boiled bottled water.

btw, I might have missed it earlier. Where are you planning to go?

janet
i boil mineral water to milk milk and porridge. The tap water looks yellowish to me. thats in Aust la.

springdance
enjoy ur trip!!

lovedogs
not too sure if javen understand sibling anot. but he do know there s a didi in my tummy. cos i teach him to sayang didi (touching/hugging my tummy) when he sits on my lap. sometime when he "sayang" too hard, i will say didi will feel pain pain....then he will hug my tummy.

i never heard of the new mattress thing le. intend to let #2 sleep on the mattress javen slept too. Even when i just give birth to javen, i also let him sleep on my niece's mattress when we go my mom's place to stay overnight.

not planning for maid. cos stay with in laws (those old 3 room flat). will see how when my new house is ready but that will be abt 2 yrs time ...by then my kids will be big liao. what abt u?? who will help u take care ?

I just came back from Habourfront Mothercare. A lot of cheap stuff...bought a lot of things. IF anyone near there, can check it out.

Lovedogs,
Is it dangerous for Tessa to sit on your stomach now that you are pregnant? I thought cant even carry heavy stuff right. Pls take care.

Nellu,
I am thinking of BangKok because hubby having D&D there, so thought of tagging along.
Anything nice for bb in Cambodia? If Cambodia is better, may go there instead of BangKok.

Cheezel,
Wow, even Australia's water also yellow ah? I thought there should be quite ok.

Janet,
i went to Siem Reap. Nothing much there except golf, spa and Angkor Wat. If you like visiting the ruins, it's nice. But bringing baby around to visit is a bit challenging. At that time Josh was 8mths. When we went round the ruins, i had to carry him in a sarong sling. He's quite heavy so it was quite taxing for me.

Bangkok might be better. Cos it's a city. you can take stroller along to go places. Besides, can get cheap kids clothes in Bangkok!

I prefer to tag along with hb cos then i get extra help mah... :p

Lovedogs
how have u been? know the sex of ur #2 bb? must be very taxing for u as Tessa still dun understand there's a bb in mummy's tummy. maybe can teach Tess to sayang ur tummy or like what i did i always ask KY to sayang me as i want him to know i sayang him most. i saw in other thread that the mummies also prepare gift to #1 when #2 arrive so they feel that they still important to u.

Janet
I still carry Javen even though he's 11kg plus now. Its diff not to carry him...and my gynae gives the green light. He mention nothing will happen when u carry a child with the correct posture....

i still bring him walk around the neighbourhood for an hour. carry and let him walk by himself.

Me FTWM...so doesnt spend much time with him during the day...so when i'm back, will bring him go out walk walk or stay in our room n play with him...else no bonding time le.

lovedogs
me will prepare a gift for Javen when #2 arrives. hehe.....what abt u? but i can't think of what to give yet.

hi mommies...
long time no come in loh.. have been really really busy...

special hi hi to cheezel, sanrio, lovedogs and springdance, long time no chat ..

have been feeling kind of down recently cos recently when I wanna fetch my boy home, he will cry and reach out to my mum... and when my mum carries him, he will happily wave bye bye to me.. felt so heart-broken..sob...
despite friends and colleagues tell me it is quite common, I still feel very very sad...sigh...

any of u also experience such thing? I feel such a failure...sigh....

cheezel & lovedogs,
when ur baby no.2 due?

jeanyard gave birth liao?

hope to drop by more often to chat..hee..

Woww...travel tales. I miss travelling...sighs...

Janet
Yup, I agree with Nellu! Plenty of baby stuff in BKK. In fact, I think even diapers are mostly made in Thailand! you have to check out this bargain building - its called Bobae Tower. I think at least 1 whole level is dedicated to baby stuff. You know those baby outfits being sold at John Little for $15 a set? I bought a few there at only $8 per set (Exact design)! But that time I still wasn't even pregnant yet. Been yearning to go back to BKK this time to shop to my heart's content on my own baby's stuff.

ziying
Aww~ don't be sad. I guess it's inevitable coz we're all FTWM. For me, I feel quite low when baby cries when I send him there in the morning - he would push my mom away & want to hold on to me. But on good days, he'll happily go inside my mom's place and play with his toys. Spend more time with him on weekends, have fun

anyone bb started to poo more often after changing the next stage of milk powder..

not sure if my son poo dat many times becos of dat leh..i see lioa soo hard pain..n he started to have diaper rashes..

Cheezel,
yes, I also feel that our time spend with the kid really little...especially weekdays. Bring bb back from mum place, then play for awhile, maybe two hours at most, then it is her bedtime already. In short, it is only 2 hours for monday to friday...SO usually i would still love to play with her no matter how tiring I am. IT is this little time spent with bb that my hubby wonders whether we should have no 2. because then the time spent will be even lesser.

naqia,
ok, maybe will go BKK then. But now the airport tax more expensive than the air ticket. ai ya

Ziying,
my bb was like that previously. but now better, I think it is because when she is with me, i always play with her, and make her laugh, or enjoy herself. now she will miss both of us (my mother and me). In morning, she looks sad when i leave, in the evening, she looks sad when we leave my mother's place. Yes, like what naqia said, play with your bb more.:p

cheezel,

okie, thanks for reassuring, i will use back the mattress also then...else very very wasted as the mattress is so expensive... oh, u tell javen inside got didi? i tried to tell tessa inside got baby but she doesn't seem to register. I told her to sayang my tummy she does it when i asked to but i doubt she understnads why coz we did teach her to sayang us and sayang our dog...

oh, u got inlaws to help u wif the housework so shd be ok. does ur in laws look after javen now? for me i got no one to help with housework... i pick up tessa direct from my mum's place after work. When we reached home, hb will do her laundry, pack up abit and watch after her while i shower. After I shower i will then give tessa her night time bath. I still insist on bathing her at night coz i want to bond with her until my tummy becomes too huge then i will stop.

so i am contemplating to get a maid. but really HATE the idea to have a live in maid

janet,

i still carry tessa and heavy weight stuff. 2nd pregnancy u will be more bo chap one... no time coz the 1st one is still not old enuff.

sgn,

thanks. i am expecting a boy. so now shopping ard for new boys clothes... waste money again... hahahaa...

ziying,

aiyoh, i can imagine that. it happened once this week to tessa. SHe did not cry when i carry her juz that when we walked to the door, she wanted to go back in again. and when my hb and me left without her at the gate, she still very happy... hiaz... however, at times in the morning, when i pass her to my mum, she doesn't want to let go of me... so..thats why i insist i want to give her the night time bath instead... else bond too close to my mum then cham....

ziying
my jboy got mood. Some morning i sent him to IL hse, he will wanna follow me when i leave for work. But some evenings, he will clinged onto ah gong n dun wan to follow me hm .. For me, i usually juz try n make it snap. If he wanna follow in e morn, i juz say mummy go work later come n bring u, bye n go. Evening, i juz snatch him over, say bye bye to ah gong n go. Than try n distract him other things

lovedogs
wow u got a girl n a boy can close shop lor.
well up to i usu buy neutral colour eg. white so both boy or girl also can wear.

ziying
long time no see. i'm now thinking of switching job to off hr, worry dun have time for my boy as now i can bathe him n cook for him if i start work late.

Janet

awww, I surely hope our babies are healthily attached to us & their caregivers too. Working mom's dilemma.

sgn
Has yr Coach loot arrived? Btw, your job isn't office hrs huh? U work at night too?

lovedogs
congrats on yr pregnancy! I hate the idea of a live in maid too, and also no space for the maid. And I can't imagine my kid getting too attached to the maid. But sometimes no choice lah. Thinking of a part-time maid. Yesterday at ST (Home) got an article on part-time babysitters etc. Can explore that. $15 /hr!

ziying

really long time no see u liao. hows life le?

actually i always have this concern abt bb too close with the main caregiver be it mil or nanny or maid or own mom. Thats y i insist of taking care of javen when i'm back home from work or during the weekends. sometime hubby will ask me to take a rest and let my mil take care of him but i refuse. I rather sacrifice the 1-2 hrs of rest and spend with my boy and when he sleep, i will then turn in early if i'm tired.

Theres 2 occasions when Javen fell and cry, my mil immediately came over and carry him away from me to pacify him......understand her concerns cos she also dotes on him...but i hate this....n cant help having sore feeling cos i'm so heartpain when he fell and the 1st thing i wanna do is to sayang him but yet cant. not too sure if its my preg hormone tat i feel this way.

but lucky my boy fr start also close to me....so at least i dun feel tat bad when he's aso close to my mil. this cant be help cos she's his main care giver during the day.

lovedogs
yeah. b4 preg, i always show javen those baby posters and ask him where's baby, then he will point to the poster. now i teach him baby didi in my tummy, so he knows theres a baby didi.

sgn
me both boys but i also close factory after tat liao. we want 2 kids so also discuss with hubby b4 hand that regardless of the gender, we will stop at 2.

Cheezel,
2 boys good mah...can share clothes..and would have good relationship when they grow up, more things to talk about in comparison of different genders.

I really need to learn from my sis. Dont know why her kids not very close to mil even though mil is their caregiver. My sis's daughters all very close to my sis instead...mmmmh, have to learn..

cheezel, lovedogs

re: no of kids
think i'll stop at 2 too in regardless of the gender. will wait till chloe is older and understands before planning for the 2nd one.

naqia
how's adam?

springdance
hope jonas is better. Enjoy hk!

m@w
the pediasure can only lasts 3 weeks after opening. think i'll juz stick to feeding my girl enfapro and ask hubby to drink the pediasure.wahahahaha

janet
its not a bad thing to let kids close to their caregiver...at least they will be happy with them when we r working. my colleague mention that when bb reach a certain age when they understand "mommy" n "daddy", the bondfeeling they have can never be replaced by anyone else.

u ask ur sis whats her secret la. hahaha....then share with us here.

hehehe, janet, maybe your sis' mil is not a kid-friendly woman. Maybe she's very fierce and very strict with your nieces...

chezel,
i think what your colleague say is right. I'm surprised that my boy now at 13mths can actually differentiate the different people around him. He's quite affectionate also and he would display affections for people that he is close and comfy with. and so far it is only me and hubby the most. followed by my mum next. other than that, he'll 'bo hew' other people. Very farnie isn't it?

nellu
yeah! i do agree too. they know whos Daddy, Mommy, Ah Gong, Ah ma etc....my boy likes to look at other people, sometime will play with them ..but when they tried to carry him, he will refuse...even when toys or sweets r offered to him....he take them and turn his back to them n hug me or hubby whos carrying him.

rather amaze at the speed they learning n picking up things

Janet
ya got better post in NHG n office hour.

cheezel
well i love kids planned to have 3 but now 1 already worn me out. maybe waiting till ky older then have #2.

care giver: my boy still sticky to me even his stays over nite at bb sitter's hse. now i got to 'run' each time i place him at nanny's hse, if not he will cry for me! i think it's the BF bonding bah.

cheezel
ha ha my boy too, love to 'play' with anyone at the lift even he dun know them as long as ppl interact with him, he will smiles or play with them.

even nanny told me she beat him when he refused to wear diaper, then she ask him how aunty beat beat he will show u with a cheeky smile!!!

wonder baby

adam's OK now, thanks for asking. Hope Chloe's alright too
Adam's Getting naughtier than ever too. can't sit still! When out shopping, he'd want out of his stroller to "window shop" on his own. Sighs... I feel like a bad parent letting him roam on his own. What do you mummies say, let babies roam and supervise or let them yell in the stroller?

cheezel, nellu
Cute right! I think by abt 6-7 mths they already know who is who. When you mention "daddy" they'll find "daddy".

Cheezel
I guess this is the time they pick up things very rapidly, so gotta be careful what we do infront of them :p

something to share... my daughter also used to cries every night when I carry her back from my MIL place which made me very sad too...
But she stop crying ever after I took 2 weeks leave to take care of her full time.
Now, she look sad when I go to work and evening when she saw me she will crawl to me ask me carry her. Hence, I really think that it is important to spend time with them.

lovedogs
Care to share abt the 'pantang' stuff abt new born muz slp on new mattress? Nv heard of this b4 wor.

Preggie mummiessss
Preggie mummiess, do take care.

naqia
hahaha....bbK oso don like to be strapped in stroller nw, I guess once they hv their new found independence, tat's it!!! I would let bbK roamed ard...but muz realli keep ours eyes on them!

I feel like the cobwebs and dust have piled on me so much! How's everyone! Been so busy lately, adjusting to new job, coping with Kae that I hvn had time to come here to poke my nose in.
How's everyone been? Miss talking to all of you, lovedogs, cheezel, springdance, sgn, zhuzhu, sanrio and I see many new names too!

Congrats to Jeanyard, lovedogs and Cheezel on #2! so excited for you leh! How was your first trimester coping with #1 and then with MS, if any? Care to share?? I always wonder how such ladies cope.

lovedogs
I have also nvr heard of using new mattress for newborn. What's the rationale? Bacteria? My mattress, though not from Babysafe, also cost a bomb and would be really sayang if cannot use for #2 leh!

springdance
Enjoy every minute of your HK trip and shop till u drop yah!! Dunch worry about Jonas not wokking lah. Kae also super lazy and timid to walk unaided lor. Worse is when he's not walking, we've to carry a good 12 plus kg around cos he hates the stroller too! I got 3 strollers down there bai swee! hahaha! You're not alone!!

sgn
You now in NHG? I have couple of friends there as well, working as polyclinic ops mgr. Or some thing to that effect. Have you settled down in ur new place?

12 mths jab
I assume all mumsies already brot their LOs for the 12 mth jab + chix pox?
I haven leh. Shortly after Kae turned one, he fell quite ill. I'm beginning to suspect it's cos of the dips in the pool that cause his major illnesses. My boy doesn't wear thermal swimwear and heard from my SIL that her boys also always fell sick after dipping in the pool. Funny thing is they don't fall ill the next day, but about 5 to 7 days later. That's why we nvr got the connection until now. So dumb dumb right?

tofu
i haven tender cos waiting for bonus 1st then chao!

i just brought ky for pneumococal jab 2 days ago, developed slight fever.

tofu
i was just thinking that I never heard from u a long time the other day..)
I going to bring bb for chix pox jab next wk...oso just bought bb for pneumococal jab...

lovedogs
i think hor those pantang saying of using new mattress is rubbish lar...maybe its spread by those shops..hopping to get more biz..

tofu, lovedogs, ziying,
me too lazy to log in nowadays. haven't popped yet.
hope to give birth tomorrow cos it's my BD! now at 38th week.

I never had MS or vomit during preggie first terms. think I try to control my diet and eat porridge, less acidic and spicy food. must drink milk before sleep, then won't feel hungry and puke in the day.

sgn,
you also quitting job?

cheezel,
when my mil carries Cookie after he falls, I will insist on hugging and carrying him, no matter how pregnant I am. so it's really difficult.

naqia
my girl is still not walking yet so i guess next time will juz let her roam then monitor her coz she wont sit still in the stroller. now she will want us to carry her. stroller is only for sleeping..hahahaah

tofu
my girl also fell quite ill till hv to be hospitalised after turning 1 yr old. a week after her first dip in a pool. she had cough and fever then became bronchiolitis. but her pd said it was viral infection and not because of swimming or bathing to long

talk abt pneumococal jab...i paid for it when my #1 turned 1 year old...she's 2.5 yr now..and the jab is still waiting for her in the clinic. why? coz whenever i make an appt or talk abt going for the jab...she'll fall sick...fever, flu, cough..all sorts.

so when my #2 came along...I bought another jab thinking that maybe they can go together. tat resulted in #1 catching conjunctivitis...followed by #2. my hubby even suggested that next time we don't make appt, just go. eversince that, the "curse" of the jab evolved. now the meer tot of bringing them for jab can cause the same result.

my #2 just turned 1yr old recently, and I'm like...ok fine...will see how things go...

in case you're thinking if anything will happen after this post...no worries coz my #1 just started her chickenpox 3 days ago (no prize for guessing why that happened...)

if your bb are drinkin Friso 3 or u know someone whose bb are drinking Friso 3, pls let me know...cos I am selling away my stocks...think bb is not suitable for Friso 3 now..sad..cos I greedy n stock up alot..

lovedogs, actually i would prefer to get new mattress for new baby...cos they are so young and fragile, I am sure the 17 month old mattress has some dust or dust mites etc.

BTW, I just read your blog and really loved it, and BIG CONGRATS to you having a boy for second child. Time to do shopping for boy's clothes and stuff! I have been through that stage so I completely understand. Time to get cars, balls, toy for the boy.

Jeanyard,
<font color="ff0000">HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO U</font>
!!

I felt so excited for u coz you are in your 38 weeks of pregnancy already

Btw, how much weight gain do u have for this second pregnancy? I am quite kaypoh about it ;p