(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Janet,
yeah i agree. So i usually dun let jboy wear for long .. juz awhile especially sometimes outside he wanna come down walk walk. No shoe very dirty leh :p

Kris
u brot kelly along too? Shiok hor .. hb work work work, u can shop shop shop mah

halo..

can any1 tell me whether the BP for california baby products closed liao ? do you guys have the contact for the organiser ?

janet,
i only let cher wear soft sole shoes n not too tight. like wat cool daughter said, somtx she wan to cum down n stand, 'walk' so wo shoes, dirty n 'not safe'..

apple red,

yes, BP for the california products closed already. Apparently the previous website also removed.

but there will be a new one coming up on 31 Mar. You can look out for that.

Anyone delivered at TMC? any good gynea from there?

sanrio,

I remember last time you said you bring your girl out alone, like shopping, lunch, etc. How do you do it? Drive or taxi? Pram or carrier?
I am also thinking of doing this lei...but dont know whether I can handle

Anyone delivered at TMC? any good gynea from there?

sanrio,

I remember last time you said you bring your girl out alone, like shopping, lunch, etc. How do you do it? Drive or taxi? Pram or carrier?
I am also thinking of doing this lei...but dont know whether I can handle

sanrio, cool daughter,

thanks for sharing. i am still applying twice a day leh...now find it very irritating coz i applied liao, she will immediately scratch her tummy or rub etc.... then later, maybe go rub her eyes...thats why i headache. maybe i juz apply at nite can liao...

sgn,

been letting bb wear shoes when going out... more for fun lah...

janet,

i delivered in Gleneagles... very good there... r u expecting? heehee... why ask abt TMC?

lovedogs,

no lah...not expecting. But my colleague has been asking around for referral in TMC. I delivered in SGH.

So how much did you pay for your Gleneagles? I know the carpark there is terrible. You can never find a lot.

janet
how did u know i delivered in sgh?

btw i prefer female gynae so i was seening Tan whee ching, she is another younger version of Ann Tan acc to the clinic staffs.

lovedog/ sanrio/ kris
i wanted to put on shoes for my boy but always in a hurry when going out then forgot.
btw saw bp for combi shoes so aiming for it ha ha.

Lovedogs / Cool_D / ZhuZhu
Dun know why Jonas LOVES putting Ruyi oil on his tummy recently...he will giggle & smile when I put my warm palms on his tummy (I normally rub the ruyi oil on my palms first b4 applying on him).

Naqia
My boy also dun like the Mag Mag training cup. I try to let him drink water from the spout. But he refuse to drink. Then I change back to his pigeon bottle with water..he starts drinking.

BUT he like to play with the Mag2 cup by holding the handle & hit on the floor!

Kris
Your hubby often overseas for work? QUite fun lei can always travel....So you got bring Kelly along or just you go only?

springdance
Markus loves the ruyi oil bottle..i always used dat to distract him when I changed his diapers..but sometimes the cap open..and he go lick the oil..see the change in his face very funny..

zhuzhu
Same here, bbK loves the ruyi oil bottle too. Same tactics too, use to distract her when changing diapers.

Jeanyard
bbK like to stand on her own when in playpen too, somehow she is lazy to walk. When I hold her hands n let her walk, she juz walk a few steps and sit down. So I tried 2 pple holding each hand and she walk alittle bit further and after she's tired, she juz curled up her 2 legs.....

Springdance

it's OK, one day babies will learn how to drink from a cup too..it's part of socialisation skills :p And I agree with you, babies, they simply love tapping EVERYTHING on the floor! Wonder why huh!

Jeanyard
My baby is only learning to stand. He'll let go of his hands from table etc & stand for a few seconds then whoever witnessed it would get so excited. hehe. U noe my dad would actually encourage him to stand, then hold both his hands, and baby would actually walk! But then again if baby is not strong enuff to stand yet, maybe shouldn't force, coz afraid legs won't be too strong yet.

Re: Ru Yi oil
I like the smell too! I smelt it before at Guardian. Yup, they actually sell it there. But I use a different type of oil - Telon Oil. used by most indonesians & malays. quite a nice smell too, wonderful on babies...

sgn,

I had Dr Yong tze tian the previous time. Who is more senior ? yours or mine eh? I feel mine is so-so only lei.

Janet,
stroller mostly. hb wld send me cos he travels ard in his job so i pre-arrange w him. else my dad if he is free. or i take cab. cab driver wld help. if go nearby for a short while n i can take bus, i wld jus use sling.

i m really a lousy mummy n m feeling terribly guilty. ydy noon, cher fell fr her COT af she woke up fr nap. d cot barrier is a bit faulty n all along i hv taken it for granted tat she wld not climb over it. imagine she fell fr so high.
wen i heard a loud scream (nvr b4), i dash into d rm. i din c her in d cot. my heart almost stop beating. she was caught in btw our bed (my bed frame is hard solid wood type) n cot floor, face down. i wen hysterical, scream n cried. i cant save her out as her arm was stuck at d cot rail n there was no space in btw, i hv to push d super heavy wooden bed frame away. i dun noe where i got d strength cos is a king size bed. as her arm was trapped, her face did not hit d floor but was very closed. b4 i save her out, i cant c her expression/face so i was crying n crying n said 'God, pls help n save her'. finally i took her out, hug n comfort her. she stop crying but i cld not. i call hubbby n he said 'call ambulance'. i finally calm down, check her. there was no bruise n no cut. i gently touch her head, joints, arms, legs, spine n she seem ok. hb came hm n cher hvnt had lunch so i quicky cook but i was so shocked tat i dun noe how to cook. anyway, she had her lunch n af tat playing happily agn...
if anytg happen to cher, i wld not forgive myself. ydy nite, i cant slp but watch her n kip saying sorry to her.
m feeling really really lousy..
i m a terrible mummy.. how can i b so negligent.

Sanrio,

My girl also fell from the bed twice..both also due to my mistake. I put her too close to the edge and with no barrier...I understand how you feel...it is like totally the mother's fault.

but look on the bright side, cher is ok now. though like you said she fell, but she didnt really hit her face. I read a book before, kids would tend to learn faster if they experience the process. My girl now always acts with caution when she reaches the edge of the bed.

I believe Cher will also learn from this experience, next time, she may not climb over the cot.

After my girl fell twice, I made a drastic change to the bed. now everybody sleeps on the floor...no way my girl will fall.

You may wish to see how you can childproof your bedroom.

Dont be too hard on yourself. both mother and child will learn from this experience.

Sanrio

Oh my...I had some tears in my eyes when I read about Cher falling!! Can imagine the anguish & shock you felt all at one time. But luckily she didn't hit the floor though must've been rather odd for her to be stuck there.

So now really must go fix the cot okie, or put the cot at it's lowest level already.

I agree with Janet, baby's fine, she's one strong gal. So don't be too hard to yourself okie?

Take care

Hi Sanrio,

Don't be too hard on yourself. I think at some point in time all our babies will fall one. They're probably more hardy than we think.

I understand how scary it is at the time of fall when they wail for a long long time and we don't know where they're hurt.

Come to think of it, my elder one has fallen abt 3 times to date (twice from my bed and once from the cot). My younger one also fell once already. Just have to remind ourselves to be more careful each time and thank God our bbs are ok.

sanrio
oh dear, my eyes wet with tears when reading your post. can understand your fear.....but i'm glad cher is ok now. last time you comfort me, now my turn....dun worry too much, just monitor these few days, good thing she din knock her head on the floor. i know cannot help feeling guilty. i really felt like a bad mummy too, and sophie did fall head first on the floor.

Naqia, Cheetos, Lynn, Janet,
tks..... i really dun noe whether her head or back hit unto my hard wooden bed frame. can only trust tat God has protected her n she is fine. she is happy, active, eating well tdy. is really a 'hard' reminder tat i mus b watchful at all tx..
we are all trying our best to b d best mummy hoh..

Sanrio

Yes, I believe God will protect our innocent babies at all times. Sometimes if you notice, the baby may fall, but he/she learns to tilt her head to break the fall. Sometimes, there's cushion where he/she falls.

Well, just gotta be careful and pray our kids will be sheltered always. Of course we try to be best mummy. Who wants to be bad mummy? Don't think anyone would raise their hand.

Yesterday also my baby, from sitting position, lost his balance and fell, head missing the floor by less than 1 inch! He landed on the bumper mat. I thought he was already stable coz he's been sitting and standing for some time..but babies..you never know... :p

Lynn

my Adam fell on his head before too, i'm sure! He fell off the bed twice when both his parents were snoozing and he decided to have a little exploration. That was when he was young...around 4-5 mths.

Once he also fell when he was abt 2 mths from the bed. I was so annoyed with myself and also wondered how he could fall off when he couldn't even move

Hi, i am 1st time here

any comment on hw to teach a 9+months baby to crawl. cos my baby girl only learn hw to sit when she is 8months.... i see every baby can sit at 7 months and crawl at 8 months..... dunno y my baby so slow....

Esther,

I read some where. Crawling is not a milestone. Some babies may even skip crawling, and go from sitting, snopping their backside on the floor and finally to standing. So dont worry.

Esther, Janet,
yup my cher dun 'crawl'. she can do commando crawl but she dun like. she is happily cruising ard w support.

Naqia,
u're right. cos she landed in a wierd position such tat her head/face is tilted towards 1 side leh, somtg liek to 'cushion' d floor.

janet, esther,
i din know crawling is not milestone, cuz my bb also took a while to crawl, and my mil refuse to let her use the walker first, in case she skip the crawling stage. said it promotes some motor skill. anyway esther, dun worry cuz they will pick up eventually. and i agree with janet that it doesn't mean there's anything wrong. you can consider getting a toy that promotes crawling. i got a few of those.

sanrio
i was shocked when i read ur post. i understand the kind of feeling lost n guilty when my boy fell from bed 2 months ago.
most important is cher did not suffer any injuries.

for mummies n care giver must really on 24hrs alert when looking after bb rite?

janet
yong t t very famous too n her clinic always long waiting time.
my gynae more junior compared to Yong T T.

sanrio
I can understand how u feel. Shyanne fell off our bed twice, once when i doze off, the other time when hubby doze off. I really hate myself to death for allowing that to happen, and was so glad she's ok. Nowadays my heart will stop beating whenever i heard anything falling onto the floor..

But don't put too much blame on urself lah. Guess we just have to be more careful.

Sanrio
Oh my my...my eyes juz teared when I saw ur post. Sad to hear tat....I believed Cher is a strong gal, she'll be alrite. I understand how u feel too as a mummie. My gal crawled and fell forward in the afternoon against the cupboard!! Her ear was abit swollen n cried like hell!! I tink she cried so hard cos tis is her 1st hard knock (I would say) n she's abit 'man ja' (if I get the spelling correct??) Tink we mummies muz be super cautious nw as bbs are now all super active. Though I lower her cot to the lowest, I donno when'll she start climbing out so I nv leave her in her cot for too long, I would rather put her in her playpen.

Esther
Don wori abt crawling, eventually they will de la. I have a few friends' bbs learn how to walk rather den crawling....(cos was thrown in the walker most of the time.

sanrio
when i read ur post..can totally felt how u feel..really sayang Cher

Markus oso fell thrice off our bed..only the last time he was cushioned becos i put a mattress on the floor..all the time it was mid of the nite when he goes "bom" on the floor..wah i jump up from my sleep...really sayang him...now my bed had is surrounded by 2 mattress on the floor..the other side is the bed cot..I oso had a bed rail just in case..

naqia
The telon oil is the green in color rite? My maid using tat and oso told me they use on bbs. Smell quite nice oso. Hmmmm....maybe I try some on her tmr....heehee....

tks so much for all d comforting words.. i supposed it was very very tramatic for me (even till now wen i look at d cot n d place where she fell into, i kind of 'shivered'). i was feeling helpless n hopeless tat moment wen she was trapped n crying badly yet i could not c her face nor saved her out immediately. hb oso wondered how i got d strength to push tat super heavy bed. cos af d incident, i jus dun hv strength to push it back. even hb got no strength n had to sit down n use his legs to push...
at tat momet, d only thg in my mind was 'i mus save my baby'..
wen i typed my previous post, i oso teared..

Mum@work,
oh, hope ur girl is ok. sayang sayang her a lot. cher is 'manja' too. but somtx they manja at mummy, we jus feel like hugging them more

gacc, lynn, janet
Thank you for all your comment;
on her 9 months checking, the PD tell me dun let Jovian sit on the walker 2 long, this will cos her leg to become weak. cos wen Jovian at hm or at my mil hse we alway let her sit on walker, n do housework. nw i dun dare to let her sit too much... really her leg is more weak but she also very lazy... at first, i let her stand she dun 1,i let her sit she will fall behind... so nw i let her sit on the floor everyday aft work n stable her, nw more stable. i will also try to crawl infront of her n let her learn... hehe...

Esther,

babies love it when we crawl behind them right... like so much more fun for them!

Mum@work
The telon oil i'm using is erm...yellow? Like oil colour lah...hehe u talking abt packaging is it? if yes, then got plenty of brands and one of them is green in packaging. Whatever it is, they smell so nice...!

Zhuzhu / mum@work
About funny incidents on ruyi oil & baby…I use the “kon kong” sound of the oil in the bottle to ditract my boy too…when he hold the can & shake on his own, the bottle of oil will sometimes fall out & land on his face/forehead...then he will change his face and cry loudly… “Buay Tahan” him really!

Esther
Our situation very similar! My boy also a very very slow learner….everyone has already started crawling but he still dunnoe how…finally he know how to crawl liao recently…but everyone else is learning to stand and walk with support already.

Like your case, he is on the walker everyday…MIL who is taking care of him alone has no choice to put him there when she is doing housework or cooking….I also can’t say anything coz there’s really NO CHOICE!

SpringDance
Ya lor, see other baby can learn things fast but my baby so slow, so worry....
nw my MIL din let her sit on walker but on the floor. at first, i tell MIL to teach baby to sit n crawl but she say baby dun 1, hw to teach so everytime i need to teach her sit, crawl, stand on wkend....
working mommy no choice

sanrio,
my heart missed a beat when I saw your ordeal.
can you lower the cot somemore?
Cookie can't sleep in the cot since he started standing and he sleeps in the playpen since then. I want to move him out from playpen cos the 2nd one will need it later but he will throw himself to the sides of the playpen, no control.

springD,
Maybe can consider playyard or something? Coz i feel dat walker is still abit constraint, but in play yard, bb can 'roam' freely and MIL can continue her chores.

Esther,
I think best method is still to use toys (or hp for my case) to encourage bb to crawl. For stand, mayb can try plc toys on table, encourage them to stand & get it.

Btw ladies, in no time u will be so bz running after your babies, you wished they wud sometimes juz sit still :p

SpringDance, Esther,

Worry not, babies have their own stages right? Within no time, they'll be so active, climbing all over the place...hehee then like what CD said, you'll wish they sat still.

Jeanyard,
hey how's yr pregnancy?

Sanrio,
I was shocked to read about the incident. Hope you have recovered from the trauma. I think Cher should be fine. Don't worry and don't think too much.

sanrio
was reading your post abt Cher's fall. my heart skipped a beat when u described the fall in detail. my baby also fell in fact and i can totally relate to you. once when he was learning to flip & suddently flipped off the bed. another time was when i turned to get a nappy & he crawled off the bed real fast! i was very upset when it happened. furthermore cant forgive myself for being so careless for having let baby fall twice! these days i even have nightmares sometimes when i sleep of the incidents and i still hear that thud sound when i think about the incident. sigh. anyhow somehow i must be blessed nothing major happened. we must all learn from all these experiences. i have now let baby sleep on mattress on the floor