(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Sanrio,

The siblings really get on well with each other...u have done a good job...i hope when i have my second one, he/or she will also get along well with my 1st...:)

Janet
u preg again? when r u due?

sanrio
at least cher knows how to kiss! ky only stick out his tongue whenever i tell him to kiss me.

sgn, janet, zhuzhu,
ash termed cher's kiss as 'O kiss' cos her mouth is O shape wen she wan to kiss us. n ash said his kiss is 'P kiss'??? tink his logic is d alphabet 'P' comes after 'O'. tats a kid's creativity/logic i suppose :p

janet,
ash did get jealous wen meimei 1st came along. it took us a while to teach n explain to him. cher absolutley adores d korkor. korkor enjoys her presence too but somtx he does get a bit rough. they do 'fight' too :p
yes our wish si that they grow up to b very close to each other n to love n take care of each other.
sure, dun wori, sibling hood is fun and i m sure ur no.1 n no. 2 wld love each other.

zhuzhu,
ai ya, shd i order d calendula or aloe vera leh? u order fr where? i tot of letting ash try. is more for his dry/sensitive skin, somtx got irritation/ezcema...

Sorry to intrude. I am planning to buy a 6-panel play yard with 2 activities for my child. So need someone to share (meaning to buy the other 6-panel play yard with 2 doors).

Total Cost will be $180

If you are interested please call cheong Choon at 6532 3855.

sgn,

no, not expecting lah...but will definitely have a 2nd. Felt that if 1, she will be quite lonely when she grows up...

Lynn
No problem on the cakes contacts.

Initially I tot of doing the birthday at home coz my boy very scared of new places & crowds. But since 1st mth already do at home, I think would be good for a change to rent a function room outside …to be confirmed yet.

The mums in the April thread did a BP with discount for Ecreative and their prices quite competitive & designs not bad…. There’s quite a number of raves over Pine Garden from what I see coz it’s gourmet cakes at more economical prices…so also can’t say which is better. :p

Hey ladies, sorry to interrupt since you ladies are on sensitive skin and irrations, anyone has any experience with BBs kept scratching their heads? Mine does, esp when she is sleepy... sometimes she scratches so hard I am worried that she will cut herself with her nails (though I have cut them short). Tried GAIA shower lotion also like that, anyone can help?

SL,

My gal also like that...nothing to do with the shampoo...
I read some where that this is their way of reducing stress. other ways besides scratching head, it could also be grinding teeth, pulling ears or even rocking their heads...
Nothing to be too concern about...but my gal will usually pull until her ears red...so what i will do is allow her to pull once or twice, then intervene by pulling her hands away, cover all head or ear with my hand (so she is pulling my hand instead of ear), or rock her to distract her..
hope the above helps

Hi mommies, need your advice. My gal always scratching her head, esp when she is sleepy. But when I checked, there isn't any irritation or rashes. Sometimes, she scratches so head I am concerned that she cuts herself with her nails. Saw the doctor who said that she is alright and asked us to keep her cool. Tried to relieve her by caressing her head when she is trying to sleep but to no avail. Tried using GAIA show lotion but no improvement. Any body with similar experience?

Hi Janet, thanks for your advice. any imrpovement from your gal so far, mine seems to be scratching more and more. When I tried to intervene, she got frustrated and cried... 8-(

omg Janet .. looks like my bbJ quite stressful coz he scratches his head, pull his ear & also like to rock himself side to side :p

SL,
bbJ also scratches his head & ear till there's bruises. but what to do??

Ter's some BB contest gg on, maybe u gals out ter might be interested....juz join in the fun.

30March08 - Nanyang C.C tel: 67910395
Zhenghua C.C tel: 63106702
Siglap C.C tel: 64495462

06April08 - Braddell Heights C.C tel: 62881258
Ang Mo Kio C.C tel: 64566536

18May08 - Tampines Central C.C tel: 67858292

Registration fees : $15.00

SL
my boy likes to scratch his head when sleepy too. always see scratch marks over the head.

mum@work
where is nanyang cc? i'm free on 30th but amk is nearer for me. want tojoin the fun too.

My gal also got frustrated and cried when I intervened...I will quickly rock her to distract her....

If her ear is red from the pulling and scratching, I will apply cream/lotion when she falls alseep. I guess we can only do so much...:-(

sgn
I tink nanyang c.c. is at west area ba, not very sure. KK, u sign up amk la, juz join in the fun lor. amk is healthy baby, photogenic baby & best dad wif bb chemisty (so rem to drag the dad along too) hahaha..... they oso hv baby massage, edu talk etc etc.

SL, my baby doesn't really scratch his head, but he pulls his hair so hard when he's abt to drift off to sleep that I wonder if it's painful!

Anyway mummies would you know if there are any weekday baby classes at any centre?? I'm off tomorrow so thinking of bringing baby to a one-off class, if any. The ones I know off are all on weekends. No walk-in ones?

naqia
kindermusik got wkday classes, u can call them to see if they hv slot for village class(for our bb age group de). Fees is $25.50. Fidgets & bambini u pay an amt of $8 & $6 for unlimited time for bb free play.

zhuzhu,
tks. then when shd i use d aloe vera cream or calendula cream?

SL,
i suppose is due to baby feeling tired n is a form/way to relieve their 'frustrations'. my older boy (wen he was a bb) wld pull his ears real hard till skin behind ears tear when he is too sleepy or did not get a good nap or enough sleep due to whatever reasons. i tink it oso depend on d bb's character. as for my girl, she is more 'easy going' type so if she wan to slp, she dun fuss tat much n wld jus sleep.

Thanks for sharing. My gal scratches her head and pulls her hair too! But I guess like wat Janet said, we can only do so much... 8-( Hopefully the situation will get better...

gacc
calendula u can use it for ur bb enzema/irritation. As for aloe vera, u can use it on rash, mozzies bites or cuts & scars. It reallis helps. To me, the aloe vera is juz like our adult zambak, very gd.
Other then tat, I oso use these cream on my face....

Mum@work

Thanks for info! You are very resourceful! But blur me, where is fidgets & bambini? is that 1 play centre or 2? hehe..sorry!

My baby got a scratch on his chin, mysteriously coz no one seemed to recall where he got it. So I applied calendula cream just now when he was sleeping. Hope it'll heal faster. I use the calendula cream very sparingly, and only occasionally when there's a need. I love its fluffy feel :p

naqia
These are 2 play ctr. Fidgets at turf city #04-05, bambini is at Blk 8 dempsey rd(this can be quite troublesome if u don drive cos its right inside some uloooo colonial hses) Hmmmm.....scratch I tink u try to use aloe vera ba, guess it'll heal faster for calendula is more for rashes & sensitive skin ba.... Anyway, maybe I'll be gg kindermusik for their 11:30am class.

Mum@work

I guess you live in the western areas huh? I'm in the east..so parkway gymboree is the closest to me.

Guess CB's Aloevera is good for healing cuts. But I dn't have that lah..I only have calendula..so just use that.

Zhuzhu I wonder if it's cheaper to buy from the BP than to buy thru sprees? Guess for BP dont need to worry about shipping costs anymore.

I like CB range - spent $100 plus at a previous BP. But it's so ex lah..so now I just use whatever's left & just use Kodomo baby bath. nice smelling & cheap !

naqia
I had check the sprees prices..when u convert..its abt S$11++..then plus shipping & postage..also abt the same price...

Hi...sorry to jump in here. I have a 10 month old boy and REALLY need to ask some questions about sleeping pattern:

1) Do you still give night feed to your bb? I feed my boy 7pm, 11.30pm and then, 5.30am (he always wake up around 5.30am, and if i don't feed him, he will become awake even though i don't think he is too hungry). Sometimes, he seems to cry harder betwee 2am-4am, and he does cry out loud, i will feed him. so quite many nite feeds.

2) how do train him no more 5.30am feed? i am ok to feed up to 11.30pm. I tried patting, and he will eventually awake. Is like he has a internal clock.

3) After he sleeps (7pm - 8.30pm), he will cry out loudly sometimes until i pat and soothe him. esp between 2am-5am. does this happen to your bb too? is it normal that all bb cries in their sleep? recently (just last week), he seeemed to want me to carry him and he will stop crying then. What I really like to know also when your bb sleeps, will he just sleep quietly like us adults, with occassional maybe whimpering noise (which is fine) but any cry?

4) when you bb goes to sleep, does he/she keeps rolling about....turning about..as if very difficult to actually fall asleep? can describe his reaction when going to sleep?

wounwounbee
I give my 9mths old nite feed at abt 10pm & his next feed is usually 8.30-9am. He still wakes up at nite (few times some nites), but usually pat pat or pacifier works. Worst case, i give him water.

My nite feed is usually 240ml of FM. What abt yours?

Oh btw, my bb rolls, turn, flip, flip back b4 sleep and during sleep too

wounwounbee
my boy's last feed usu 8.30-9pm n next feed 5-6am or 7am depends what time he wakes up. in between i will give him pacificer n pat him back to sleep.

woundwoundbee

Hey, that makes it the 2 of us. My baby still hasn't given up his night feed (lucky you, cool_daughter!). He sleeps around 10 pm, gets up for another feed around 1 - 2 am, then another time around 5 or 6. And he wakes up early too, by 7 plus, wake up already. If he gets up after 8 pm, I'll be lucky!

And my night feed is not as much as 240 ml too. In fact, he has NEVER drunk that much. The max is 180 ml. And I'm still BF-ing him too, but around 8 pm I'll give him a bit of formula with a little cereal too, hoping he'll sleep thru, but that has never happened... haiyahh...

wounwounbee

my bb sleep ard 8 plus after his 7 plus feed. i will feed him again at 12-1 plus. then when i wake up for work ard 6am, will feed him again else he will wake up realy early. he will also make noise ard 3-4 plus...dunno y le...."erk erk erk" then wil pat pat him n he will go back sleep.
dun worry, my boy can turn and flip fr one side to the other. sometime when i wake up in the middle of night, his feet is at my face there liao. sometime i see him toss here n there machiam like no comfy n dunno which style he wanna sleep in.

wounwounbee
I guessed some of us do experience similar situations. My bb last feed is ard 8plus and d nxt feed is ard 5-6am. She do sometimes wakes up in the nite n stand on her cot n start waking us up!! Some mummies do train their bb by not giving so much feeds in the nite, so they gave them water instead.

my boy last feed is around 9pm...then usually he will sleep after dat or say around 10pm..he do wake up around 3-4am..but i dun get up to make milk for him..i let him suckle..not alot of supply for him..but too bad lor..cos i am too tired to make milk..then around 7am..i will give him his 1st feed of the day..

Cheezel
my boy oso flipped like nobody biz..sometimes duno how he flipped..his butt can sit on his daddy face

zhuzhu
u boy so funnie then u hb also soundly alseep with u boy's butt? i usu put my boy to sleep on his own when he wakes up in the middle of the night to latch then i let him sleep with me.
if not i really miss a lot of personal space for sleeping!

mum@work

I've yet to try that water thingy. But u noe my baby's not that chubby anyway, so i just give milk lor. and i think easier to latch on than to give water. oh well, guess i shan't complain huh :p

zhuzhu
baby's butt on daddy's face is ok...not the other way round...tee hee

sgn
come to think of it, i miss my personal sleeping space too (whatever that means), now must be extra conscious~

sgn
ya lor..my hubby sleeps like a pig..now i really sleep on 1 tiny corner of the bed..lucky i am not one who flip alot when sleeping..so not so bad..

anyone file for the income tax already?
I am getting confuse on the child relief thing..there is a working mother child's relief and child relief...can i claim the working mother child's relief..n hubby claim the child relief

zhuzhu/ cheezel
huh got differences? my company says no need to file n i always use internet filing.

sgn
my co oso efile for us..but this yr must claim child relief..so duno wat to file..think i claim for the working mother child's relief n hubby claim the child relief

naqia
if the daddy's butt on my son's face..i will kick daddy off the bed..

zhuzhu
talking abt hb slping like a pig hor, my hb oso!! He wants bbK to slp wif us but yet everytime ended covering her wif our comforter or loud coughing!! Making me cant slp peacefully. Haiz....sometimes I wonder how these men slp...

naqia
is ur bb those kind not chubby no matter how much u feed? Cos one of my gf's daughter oso like tat, eat alot but no bb fats de. For my case, bbK is not a milk bb and oso start rejecting solids!!! Everyday wen comes to feeding time, I drag myself really...but den, she look chubby.

zhuzhu

Hehe, baby more important than daddy huh? :p
I'm not sure about the working mother relief too, coz this will be the first time I'll be filing as a working mum. And for past few years, I didn't need to file, as all auto already. But I guess they should have on records that we now have children right?

Mum@work
Can say so, my baby i think is not chubby tho he eats a lot! And I'm beginning to give him watever I'm eating too as long as it's not oily or spicy. I guess that's what weaning is all about. He only eats porridge if it's tasty... and he prefers rice. Even plain rice would do.

Cereal? Haiya, don't hope for him to eat more than 3 teaspoons unless i mix with papaya or banana.

He's about 8.9 kg now, oh well guess as long as PD say it's OK, then OK lor

Re: Baby fair @ Expo
Anyone went? I had a quick one there on Friday. Rather lousy lah...not half as happening as the one at Takashimaya. The stalls also look so-so only. Nothing much except Nestle booth - I saw daddies buying Nan milk powder by the cartons! I only bought some brown rice cereal and juice for baby.