(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

zhuzhu,

glad to hear that markus has recovered from his fever. hahahahaa... is he too hungry?

Janet, Amanda, Kris
Cher oso not too keen w new food esp if is somtg w 'strong taste' eg: papaya. my hb, boy n cher all dun like. jar food oso, i tried different ones; sweet, savory, plain, all she gave d 'puke' look. she is takg porridge for lunch n dinner. wat i do is rotate among fish, beef, pork and tried different vege. weekdays she takes 5 grain rice(porridge), weekend is pearl rice(porridge). breakfast is organix cereal (rotate among 3 flavour; orange, banana, apple)

me too. i just rotate fish, meat and vege.
but i find that he ate a bit then not interested liao. its quite tasty actually. so i guess he is sick of porridge...

sanrio

My baby is so not keen on porridge liao, unless as it's very very yummy! So I just feed rice (soft & mashed up) with whatever I'm eating, eg fish or chicken.

RE : Formula milk
I notice got overlap of formula milk for babies between 6 - 18 mths. Then also milk for those abv 1 yr. WHat's the diff huh? But milk powder for 1 yr & abv is so much cheaper. Anyone here on Enfapro A+? or Enfa series?

naqia,
she has been at 9kg+ for a long time n coz she suddenly grew veri tall, she looks veri skinny. when she was 1-4mths, shes reli michelin.

amanda,
i cook mushroom n cheese, tomato pasta. kelly took more for the 1st time n 2nd time she take a few onli. dats y got to find new food le.

sanrio,
kelly loves fruits like her daddy. she can eat lots of pear, apple, papaya, banana, etc.

HAi, mummies:

I'm also May mummy, now my boy is 10+ months already... I'm planning to have a birthday party for him when he is 1, any mummies knows a good place to held a party? Most of my friends are having kids as well, so need to find a place for kids to play... Thanks..

This morn brot jboy to doc. coz he's having running nose n cough. He is 9.43kg & 78cm tall.

Kris,
Chk with you .. what kind of mushroom you use?

Kris

Yeah talk abt growth spurt!
I wonder if my baby will ever be chubby...rather thin & lean leh.

As for cheese, last week I just gave him some cheesdale cheese which I just mashed up with some bread. And he chomped it down happily ! hehe..

amanda,
i use the normal cheese but i oso have the cheese for bb. i tink the name is babylon, u go cold storage n find, its the red color packaging. i cook the same way as adult.

cool,
i use the fresh shitake mushroom. i put it into kelly porridge oso.

naqia,
tis 2 mornings i gave kelly white bread, she took 1 slice. she dun like it dip in milk. she enjoys adult food, faint.

Kris,

Is the taste of the mushroom very strong? I love mushroom, wanted to let my girl try...but she so boring with food type..afraid that she may not eat.

I also use normal cheese to make cheese sauce, but found it quite salty...

Have you tried cauliflower with cheese sauce? read it in annabel karmel's recipe book...next time, i read any new recipes, will let you know...hope you dont mind me so KPO...just hope my girl is like yours...then i can experiment with many different types of recipe...hee hee

naqia
my boy was on anfalac, i still had 1 and a half tin of the FM which hopefully can finish by 1yr old.
he a bit of reject FM this morning after 8 months of TEBM.

Kris
Wow ur baby sure chubby huh, 9kg+... my gal wgt is oni 8.1kg! She don like to drink n eat....haizzz....

naqia
my gal oso on anfa. Most likely will switch to pedisure once she hit 1yr cos she don realli eat n drink.

sgn
Ooo... u stock up ur FM arh? Me don realli stock up cos 1yr coming up so nit to chg FM. 1 and a half tin sure can finish by 1yr....

CoolD
Yuhooo....bbJ got a gd wgt too!!!

Kris

heheh, same lah as my boy, he likes all food except baby food lah. I guess almost all babies are like this right? Adult food more yummy, mah :p

Mum@work & SGN

Your babies on Enfalac right? I wonder if anyone is on Enfapro? Btw,just noticed, Similac & Nan are the most expensive Formula brands huh...

SGN
my baby also on TBF till about 9 mths plus but lucky he drinks formula. So now I just express to empty, but if not enough or no time to express, just feed him Enfapro A+ lor

I saw that some of you are using this. California Baby Calendula Cream 2oz @ $15. A bit expensive hor? I am using Avent baby bottom cream, also has calendula in it, 4.2 oz@$17.20.

Is the california baby really really good? if yes, then i may buy and try. Has anyone try the california shampoo and bath yet?

BTW, for those mummies who have babies that pull hair, ear or rub eye...I found a remedy. I gave my girl something to hold (e.g blooster, handichef, etc) when she started pulling. When this other thing in her hand, she stops her pulling...I think they only want something in their hand...you can try and see whether it works on your baby...

naqia
bbK is on enfapro cos enfapro is for abv 6mths -12mths. Ya, similac is $0.24 more.

Janet
CB calendula is gd for enzema, my hubby using it for his dry skin and he says is gd. bbK oso using CB shampoo & bath, I find it not so soapy as pureen de.

mum@work

I asked for a free sample for Enfagrow and I would probably receive one soon. Milk for 1 yr is so much cheaper than the ones for 6-18 mths!

Agree with ya abt the CB not being as soapy. I suppose it's coz they don't use soap. The smell also not so strong, and just use a few squirts will do. But it's so expensive, I think it's a luxury item. Since my baby's skin is not the sensitive yet, I just use Kodomo after I've used up my CB soap :p

Janet
I bot the calendula cream for fun, hehe. But I find that it's good in healing little cuts & scratches here & there.

naqia
hai... i start to miss the BF part.
btw my boy wean himself of the latch of ok but i think he will miss the taste of my EBM. sweet sweet one hee hee.

mum@work
i bought the FM when i just deliver my boy cos i dun have much BM for him untill when he was 2 months old.

naqia
actually u don nit to ask for free sample cos they will send to u as they hv records. Not only enfa will send, abbott will send too. I've juz re'vd enfagrow 2day in my mail box. Normally PD do give samples too. I got 2cans of enfapro, diapers bibs, spoon, cereal etc everytime bbK visit her PD.

Mia awhile. Been busy with work for Finanical Year rush. Hee. Finally it's over now.

Anyone signed up with JG or GUG classes? Is it fun? I called up JG today and their classes for babies is only available on weekdays. I am thinking either GUG or JG if it's on weekends.

my boy last visit to PD over the wkend, he only weighs 8.9kg @ 10mth ++..think he getting skinnier n skinnier

janet
i think the calendula cream is good leh..i always use it on his bottom when I saw he got rashes coming back

sgn
my boy now oso dun really wan to suck..show him my breast..he just stare at it n laugh..suck for 2 sec then dun wan liao..cos not much milk

Blue
U called up JG for their trial or wad? Im on waitlist for end june intake. Attended GUG trial b4, I find quite ok but for JG they hv outdoor activities. If Im not wrong, JG wkend class don ve playnest group.

zhuzhu
I getting bbK 1st bday cake frm PG. Juz went down to order in the evening.

janet,
i tink the mushroom smell is ok coz got other food in the porridge. in the pasta is no prob coz the sauce cover the smell totally.

i forgot abt cauliflower + cheese. so boil the cauliflower n melt the cheese on it rite?

i would b glad dat u share wif me more receipe, im gg crazy. kelly had bread for last 2 days breakfast and 2day she dun wan liaoz, faint.

zhuzhu,
i tink for bb bdae better dun order ice cream cake coz by the time u cut cake, the ice cream melt le, unless u r keepin in the fridge till u gonna cut den take out.

Blueblue,
Try hard to convince your DH then we go for the class together =P

Naqia / Sgn,
baby YX also taking Enfapro now. I have received free Enfagrow sample from MeadJohnson. Think will let him try. I also received Gain IQ sample. Heard that it's sweeter. May let him try that too. If he can finish his milk fast fast, hee, I'll definitely change quick quick too

Kris,
YX is also another picky baby. Now he doesn't even take cereals. Not even the Nestle type with many flavours. He's taking porridge for 2 meals now. Think he's around 9.5 kg now coming 1 year if my weighing scale is accurate.

Kris,

Cauliflower boils for 10 mins. Then on the side, you prepare the cheese sauce. you need to add milk. starch and the cheese...will become like thick thick kind. When cheese sauce is ready, pour onto the boiled cauliflower. Can puree or if Kelly can take a bit of solid, can feed like that...
for me, my girl still need to puree...

– 冷一下 –

有人说mas selamat 可能在Malaysia,
因为有人在进入Malaysia的时候看到很大的banner写。。。
“SELAMAT DATANG!!!”

也有人说mas selamat可能已经离开Malaysia,
因为当他们离开Malaysia的时候看到很大的banner写。。。
“SELAMAT JALAN!!!”

-我click-
Datang 在马来文是“来”
Jalan 在马来文是“走” 或 “离开”

zhuzhu
my boy too stare n suck suck then feel something not rite n unlatch.

now i'm down with flu n bm not enough for a day, wonder should i give bm cos i took panadol flu med.

Taro
that day after went home i wt ky with the digital wt scale it's 9.6kg.

Kris,

Here is the complete recipe

Cauliflower and Broccoli in cheese sauce *suitable for freezing

1 1/4 cups chopped cauliflower florets
1/2 cup chopped broccoli florets

Cheese Sauce
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1 tablespoon all purpose flour
1 cup milk, you can use formula milk or breast milk
5 tablespoons grated Cheddar cheese

Steam the cauliflower and broccoli for about 10 minutes or until tender (or boil in a saucepan of water for 10 minutes or until tender).
Meanwhile, prepare the cheese sauce.
Melt the butter in a saucepan, stir in the flour to make a smooth paste and cook for 1 minute.
Gradually, stir in the milk, bring to a boil and cook for a few minutes over low heat until thickened and smooth.
Stir in grated cheese until melted.

my boy would like to read to you a short chinese story
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-9j5JpJvoTY
i can't watch d show, 'my perfect child'. stressed.. :p ash is 3+ n he can read some chinese n english books on his own and recite some simple chinese poems and i thought, 'hey, tats quite gd' n i m oreadi so happy. but look at d 'perfect child'.
but i mus remind myself, dun compare, alwy give thanks..
we do set aside time for him to read n write beside play. i alwy tell hb how i wish not to reside in s'pore where d education sys n society is so stressful. i wld very much like my kids to enjoy their childhood b4 they enter pri 1 n cum back w lots of hmworks, assessments, enrichments, tution etc etc... i cant imagine leh. i hv frds whom kids are in pri school n oreadi get frequent headache n stomachache n doc said d kids are too stressed up. oh no...

Taro

How big is the sample of Enfapro? Or is it just satches? Previously I got a 400g enfapro sample from PD, but dunno how else to get it now.

Just now i went to united sq for lunch...one of my favourite places now..so many baby things to look see & to spend unnecessarily on! :p

Blueblue

I walked past GUG just now. Bustling with mothers bringing their kids there! hehe...I wonder if I have the discipline to bring him there every weekend though.

taro,
kelly choose the type of cereal she wanna eat according to her mood. one day she like brown rice, another day she like apple n cranberry. super mafan, juz like me.

janet,
the way u describe is so much easier to understand den the actual receipe. will try out soon.

sanrio
Ash so cute, agreed with u now the kids at school very stress.
saw u at the SAHM n BF thread hee hee.

sanrio
ash sooo clever

naqia
I oso received the samples from enfapro..its just 2 sachets..

toking abt milk powder..i so angry with Friso..I heard they had the buy 5 get 1 foc promo again..so tot of getting Friso 3..called up Friso..this stupid lady can tell me..oh my boy is not 1 yr old yet..she cannot take my order.. wat rubbish is this...then she said i can continue with Friso 2...but I told her Friso 3 cheaper wat..she keep insisting that I must gradually intro Friso 3 to my son..I am not changing brands..only change the stages wat..
machiam like got problems if I straight away change to Friso 3..sooo idiotic

mum@work
I going to call again tomolo..this morning I email them a complaint letter..who knows the email bounced back..duno why Friso's email always got problems...

mum@work
Yeah, I called JG and their playnest is not available on weekends. I cant bring bbR on weekdays. So I hv to try other schools le. Thinking of shichida...but think only la...cos hubby thinks is too young.

Taro..
Yes Mdm, will try to convince. Or we go to GUG? hee.

Blueblue,
Start young! My sis tooks her girl there at 6 months or younger I think. I can consider GUG

Kris,
xin ku ni le. hee hee

Naqia,
2 packets

taro, blueblue, naqia,

i like GUG after attending the trial. coz it was fun. however, if must commit to bring our child on a weekly basis, super tiring. wondering do they have fortnightly classes or something....

for shichida, i think 1 parent must attend all the classes rite? also weekly basis? very tiring for us working mums leh.....

zhuzhu & Taro

2 satches only? Quite sad hor...hehe, coz PD could give out 400 grams samples!

N u r right... milk for 1 yr is definitely cheaper than those for 6-18 mths. I asked the Enfapro staff why that's so & why the overlap in ages. I gather, a 1-yr old doesn't need milk with same content as 6 mths old, but some babies have difficulty switching to milk for 1 yr. *shrugs*

Btw, saw GUARDIAN pharmary promotion, Enfapro A+ selling for $31.90. good deal!

Anyway zhuzhu, yr baby is on friso huh? Thinking of asking for a sample, but the website is down, lousy!

Janet
Actually all the stores are about the same in terms of pricing. For basic stuff, Kiddy palace more worth it (with discount card) But at United Sq, Just more variety and sometimes the stores have special offers. Like I got a pair of oshkoshbgosh shoes for $17 when its original price was about $37.

Lovedogs
Yah, that's the thing, committment. Guess now we have a baby, our time is our baby's time. No longer can just laze around & waste time slacking away... Guess I'll only start signing up for baby classes when I'm sure I can take him there regularly.

Hi Lovedogs,

My feedback for the GUG class. I think it will be more suitable for older bb.
Cox some of the program, my boy cannot focus. But it really depends on individual.
If u like then u shld sign up & commit yrself to bring yr gal there.
Anyway, its a wkend class so after the class, u can shop abit ya..

I have signed up the Schicida class & BB Jayden class will start this sun.
I worry whether he can focus cox its a 11/2 hr class & mummy has to attend together..
Back at home, we still have to do some homework..