(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

My gal has three teeth, all still quite small. So havent started brushing them. I guess will try the thin hanky method first, if she doesnt like then will buy finger brush and try see how.

I havent been cleaning the tongue. But I usually give her some water before she sleeps...you know like adults rinsing mouth like that loh...

I alternate porridge and mash potato. She ok with both...yes, mash potato cant be too thick, otherwise, very dry for baby...so you may need to add a little butter/margarine, milk or the cooking water. Then I will add one of the below; peas, carrot, broccoli...actually it could be any ingredients that your baby likes.

If your baby likes sweet potato, you can also do mash sweet potato. My gal doesnt like, the taste too strong for her already...she like bland bland food.

Janet
usu i will add the pork stock for the mash potato to make it more watery for feeding.

the pigeon carrier can use to 1-2 yrs old but bb very heavy can't sling for long.

naqia,
Most bb biskit can melt in bb's mouth, so risk of choking is quite low. I gives bbJ the whole pc of bb bites & he can finish all

Janet,
I also hv th habit of feeding water after every milk feed & meal. I am also thinking abt 'rinsing' his mouth tis way.

Zhuzhu / sgn
How many tooth your baby has? I bought the baby toothpaste & finger brush already but have not start using. Coz my boy only has 2 half grown teeth on his lower gum.

Sgn
Mee Sua is salty on its own…maybe wait until after KY is 1 year will be better ba….

Wonder_baby
“Boh Gay’ still can eat bread…just tear small bit for baby to ‘gum gum’ and swallow.

springdance,
cher has 4 teeth now. i use d finger brush but wont start on d toothpaste so soon for her. i oso use a clean small face towel to wipe her teeth, gum n tongue. after meal, i feed her water to 'clean' her mouth. i started d first teeth toothpaste for ash only after he noe how to 'rinse' his mouth. i taught n demonstrated to him how to 'spit' out d water. tat was wen he abt 14-15m old, i cant remb exactly. else they wld end up 'eating' d first teeth toothpaste cos it tastes 'sweet'.

sgn,
there is this organic mee sua tat is not salty n wo any artificial ingredients in it. is fr a local organic food supplier n u can only get in organic shop. my family has been eating this whenever we want mee sua. it was recommended by a nurse (counsellor) in sgh when my mum fell ill d other tx. d taste n texture is great too. af cook, is not powdery n wld turn 'kor kor' type.. tink is d same supplier for organic/brown rice bee hoon n vermecilli.
but i only let ash tried mee sua or bee hoon after he turned 1+. but he is one who dun fancy such stuff. he was ok w organic abc pasta n very soon he cld progress to rice. he loves rice even till now.

sgn
i tried giving mee sua to bbj also. i wash few times with water so not so salty. then use scissor n cut b4 cook. when feeding then just use spoon to cut into small pcs to eat. bbj also can eat one bowl.

cos everyday eat porridge very boring le. sometime breakfast i let him have bread with milk, mashed pumpkin, mashed potato. once in a while i let him eat "shui keoy" without the caipo else will be very oily.

TRIAL BELOW IS CANCELLED.. sorry to disappoint..

JULIA GABRIEL TRIAL CLASS
DATE: 15 Mar
Time: 9 - 1030am
CANCELLED

1) chie
2) en_hui
3) bedebe (july thread)
4) tek_koh
5) Mum@Work (May thread)
6) Joycelyn Pang (Mum@Work's frenz)
7) marcus (may baby)-ctc no:91883428
8)
9)
10)
11)
12)
13)
14)

Hi Mommies, just to share. My gal now has 8 teeth and she started teething ard 3 to 4 months. I bought her a lot of teethers but she doesn't seems to have very long attention span for them. So started feeding her bread and soft carrots when she was 6mths. Then went on to mash apples... she seems to like them as well. Currently she is into biscuits, which she started sometime ago. This brand - Baby Bites -is rather popular among BBs, so I heard from my frens. Been buying boxes and boxes of them eversince she started 2mths back. I am also starting to feed her rice, which she seems to enjoy more than porridge and mas potatoes. I steam the fish (no sauce, no seasoning) and then feed her with plain rice.

SL
u means ur gal has 8 teeth at 10th months?
she can take rice already? wow! my KY only has 2 lower teeth.

sgn
my javen also only 2 lower teeth n one finding its way out at the top, can see abit of white at the top liao. hehe...

SL
8 teeth at 10 months....wow!! thats fast....

SL
Wow!!! 8 teeth!! My gal got 4 teeth so far. She oso don like teether but when I put the teether in the fridge den let bite while its cold, its stuck inside her mouth!! She likes it!! heeheehee......

cheezel
well my boy is abit slow ba, tomolo it's him 10th months old n today then he just started to crawl officially.

mum@work
oh my boy only 3 sec hot only then he throw away the teether. he only interested in bottles esp cold ones.

sgn
Normally boys are slower de. Haha I guessed all bbs are the same at this age, all 3sec hot nia. bbK oso like to feel cold drinks n play with ice!!! Sometimes when I bathe her, I throw in few pcs of ice cubes n let her play, but by the time she catches it, all melt liao....*evil mummy here*

wonder, naqia,
Cookie can finish 1 slice of bread by himself. I think the saliva will just soak up everything.

Janet,
are you in Science or engineering?

sgn, cheezel, m@w
Yup, she has 8 teeth and only turning 10 mths end of Mar... really has to watch out when bf her cos sometimes she bites and that will be VERY painful! Nevertheless, she also bites her daddy, grandma and the maid!

She likes things that are tough to relief her gems as she is still teething, think another 2 are coming out. So at times she can be quite cranky...

Now having the problem putting her back into her walker as she prefers us to carry her. But when she is in her walker, her grandma will have problem running after her as she runs faster the grandma. So now we had the main door blocked in case she runs out to the porch. My mum used to tie her walker to the window grill so that she does not run beyond the designated area... heehee

Sl
So did u brush her teeth? Javen is ok with finger brush. Just bought him a small pigeon toothbrush suitable for 2-3 teeth....but when he saw it, he refuse to open his mouth.

Jeanyard,
I am in the Science industry.

For those still interested in the free trial, maybe you can try Kallang Branch. I cant make it on the 15 Mar, so I wrote to them to ask about other free trial. Here is their email,

"Hi there,
Yes our Kallang branch is having a 1 week free trial class session.
Your 10 month old baby will be eligible for the Wobblers Class. Classes for
the Kallang branch is on 14 Mar Fri 9am, 16 Mar Sunday 1pm and 17 Mar Monday 10.30am

If you need more information give us a call at 63481889 (East Gate Branch)
63442320 (Kallang Branch) or at 63338511 (UE Square Branch)

Thank you and have a great day

Kal
Senior Funner Trainer

UE Square Branch, Clemenceau Ave: 63338511 Fax: 63338501
East Gate Branch, East Coast Road : 63481889 Fax: 63486511
Hp: 93887838
www.jwtkids-singapore.com

BTW, there will be a baby fair coming again at Singapore Expo. Anyone has being to the fair the previous year? is it good?
http://202.172.178.90/modules/enewsletter/enewsletter.aspx?eid=N0308-00005&Username=janet_loo

sgn,
dun wori. cher doesnt even crawl much thou she can. she prefers to stand up n cruise ard. ash was very slow in speech. he only call 'mama' at 2yrs old n he dun even talk jus babble till we sent him for speech therapy. but tdy he is talking non-stop, can correct us if we din speak 'properly' n has so many questions to ask till somtx i hope he can kip quiet for a while :p

sanrio
well ky also prefer to stand but my doc advice not to let bb stand too early if not will get bowleg.

sgn,
Really?? But when is too early? bbJ also loves standing & for quite long (10min or longer sometimes) holding on to his cot or playyard. ..

Sanrio
Ash sounds like my little nephew. He was also not 'talking' till abt 2 yrs old &oh mine, now he speaks so well. He can even chit chat with the auntie he meet in the lift .. so cute

sgn,

You mean now at this age, still consider to be too early for baby to stand ah?

My gal doesnt stand a lot. I thought I could quicken the process by letting her stand more...ok, better not do that then. thanks

My bb has 2 lower teeth only too. He is always standing up (but we must support him) and not sitting on high chair to eat anymore. He wants to crawl around. Anyone has tips how do I help him sit down and finish one meal?

For green veg, he is eating broccoli, kai lan, cai xin, xiao bai cai, spinach. What other green veg do you give to bb?

Ris,
For my bbJ, the key in feeding is no distraction. Usually if it's juz me & him, he can sit on his high chair long enuff. But once he see someone walking ard, he wants to get out of it ..

Sanrio
Me also using the thin handkerchief to cleanse Jonas’ tougue & gums currently…yup yup…also feel that if baby dunnoe how to spit out, beta not use toothpaste 1st I guess…

Never know that organic foods extend to Mee Sua too…hehehe…Thanks for letting us know.

Actually I am already giving my boy niblets of rice when we dine out…to keep him happy. Pasta have not tried yet…. :p

Cheezel
So long no hear from you! How are you? Busy with work? Realised you went Australia with Javen…how was the trip? Easily manageable?

You so hardworking…prepare mashed potatoes/pumpkin for Javen’s breakfast then rush to work…. Mine just eat plain cereal only….

Sgn
Yours not the only one…. My boy also know how to crawl properly when he was around 10mths… at first I to the would skip crawling.

Sgn/ ZhuZhu
How’s your baby’s birthday prep getting along? Did you gals go see the balloons party shops at Concourse? Now the shops move to Tekka mall liao I think….decided on the venue yet?

Springdance
yeah busy with work. not working for these 2days so got time to log on. eh...no la....i only make those for javen when i not working. tell my mil to make tose for him for breakfast.

aust trip quite tiring but its fun! actually i still miss the trip le. Javen is ok on flight which is the only thing i worried b4 the trip. other than tat, i just bring a mini slow cooker along n make porridge for him there. hope to make another trip soon.

what abt u?? any plans?

Re: Bday cake
any recommendation??

Janet,

Do u want to go for the trial at JWT at Kallang? However, my boy is 10 months plus already leh
. U want to go together?

Cheezel,

The April thread is organising a bulk purchase for the birthday cake from ecreative. U can check their thread if u are keen

Hi Cheezel,
Yes, the maid wipes her teeth twice a day, once in the morning during her shower and the other in the evening when we freshen her up. She is alright so far and sometimes tends to bite us as well. But we make it a habit to feed water after every feed/meal to clean her mouth.

Btw, are BBs this old starting to speak already? Mine just know how to say Papa and Mama. Not sure if we should start looking out for speech classes. Learnt from a fren that the Phonics classes at "I Can Read" are quite good. Any recommendation anyone?

Hey Cheezel, any learning lesson from your trip to share? I am bringing BB to Perth this April/May alone (family visit). So kind of worried that she might turn the flight upside down and disturb other passengers...

SL
u going alone with baby? wow. when we came back fr perth, there this lady who sitting beside me also alone with her 10month old baby. she's flying back to england...really wanna salute her....

just bring baby's favourite toys to last for the whole flight. bring some cookies alone too. when plane is taking off, standby water or milk to drink. else can suckle on pacifier. i let javen suckle on pacifier n play n sing to him to distract him but he seems more interested looking ard the plane. when its meal time, i just put him in the bassinet n give him some toys to play, while me n hubby have our lunch. then let him sleep for a while n b4 u know, u have reach ur destination,
dun worry.

Pisces_gal,
NO, not going to the Kallang Branch. Because I also cannot make it on those dates. But I will try to ask them again for other dates. Once I have the other dates, will let you know.

Cheezel
So envy can go holiday with Javen & your hubby liao…we still dun dare to bring Jonas overseas…he different from Javen who is so sunny & outgoing… mine so ‘homely’ and timid….abit not happy then want cry liao….dun think we can survive even a one hour flight! Haizzz…..

Regarding BD cake…Like PGal mentioned, a number of the April mummies getting from e-creative coz got BP discount and their designs are quite interesting… you wanna consider? Me still undecided yet…coz I may get a simpler cake without all the sugar paste….dun think my relatives & friends like to eat cake with alot of cream & marzipan…

If not, Pine Garden is a popular option too… but their shop in AMK…so far.

Cheezel,
Thanks for the tips, I will need more toys and food cos my BB does not like pacifiers. She will probaby end up looking ard the plane as well. Will let you guys know if I survive the trip... hahaha

Cool
Thanks, but sometimes she says papa and mama even to her toys, or while watching her TV programmes. 8-(

Janet,

FYI, the free trial is only for this week coz it is Kallang branch new opening. Therefore, u have to pay for the trial fees if u have decided to go on other dates

springdance
i'm considering pine garden. heard their lychee martini is nice. hehe......else chocolate flavour also not bad.

springdance
i think i might just order cake from Polar or Bengawan Solo..cos they have nice Seasame street or looney tunes design..