(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

springdance,

is it near capital sq there? its ok.. i can eat at any part of far east sq...u let me know

darlie,

wow...must be tough working and having a pair of twins...sounds like really cute to have 2 babies roaming ard.... heehee... wow! u r very adverturous to try frog! I din know can feed frog leh....

ms tan,

thanks for the pic. will check out NTUC
for the minipork floss...as mentioned, price is now $32 per kg....increased so much hor...

sanrio,

i still dare not try pork... coz i personally find there is a meat smell in pork... not so sure wanna intro so early to baby yet. Definitely will not intro beef as I do not eat beef. Will she be short of some nutrients if I do not let her eat beef through her growing up years? can they survive only on fish and chicken?

lovedogs

if really oily- cn try to freeze the stock n b4 using the stock, scrap off the layer of oil first. so far i hv been buyg fake 'yo ba' . its much cheaper (abt 1/3 the cost) of rael yo ba. cheem hor? heehee.. the butcher taught me this.

gacc

sound like C really likes her HT . cn u camouflage fish/ meat / other ingred in2 the HT? weird combi but still got same nutriens. bo bian since she wont eat her porridge.

jeanyard

i wud be crying if my MIL snatch bb away frm me like tt. cn try to ask ur hb to mediate n tell ur MIL that its wrong to do tt?

lovedogs

yes ! maishia also alw go ma/ da/ mum/ aiya-aiya. but haha, dont think she's calling me 'mum' or 'ma' lor .. think its part of babbling. kekeke

spring

chinatwn mkt got sell the frog legs but must go early .

ms tan
sori to hear abt ur mishap . i also had small mishap with my u like. the grinder has a rubber seal around the edge- it came off once when i was grinding halfway - ended up i grinded the rubber seal as well. Had to throw away everythg. super sian

i heard a lot of people said that boys are usually slower than girls. something to do with physiological thingy

This is why you will notice that your hubby ages slower than you.

So for mothers with boys, dont worry so much as this is a good point when the boys grow older...they dont need SK-II

hi lovedogs, maybe can try using little pork to boil into broth first, then add rice to make porridge. then add in lots of chopped spinach / onions to cover up the smell? onions will turn the porridge sweet so there's no meaty smell :) will also help to expel wind from their tummies.

welcome darlie
i understand how tough its to have twins..my sis just had twins gal..wah i tell u..they both har..rotates one..elder one cries finished..the younger on cried..then finished alraedy..elder one again..like a neverending cycle

moxi
sometimes markus cries..he will goes "maaaaaaa" duno he is calling mama or wat..

i dug up the rubber seal to clean the below..so far so good..but i realised dat sometimes the u-lite grinder..when grinding apple..not very smooth..always have some small bite size left..duno is it becos i always shake n grind at the same time..

Sanrio
My mum told me the bone they buy for us is not 'Yao ruo', it's "lao-tui-bak". I havent try lotus root or zuchinni yet, will go get them tonight. Faith used to like cereal before I intro porridge, now she hates cereal, maybe becoz I always put fruits into cereal. She's a typical Asian gal, porridge w veg & meat type.

SpringD
We use the oil drainer for every pot of soup we boil except instant noodle. I use it whenever I see oil floating in the pot.

Darlie
Applause! Frog is the last thing I dare to try. U are so adventurous
Heard it's super nutritious.

lovedogs
Wah, economy sure is picking up. Can U help me chop 3kg pse. Thx.

Moxi
Hi-5 to our U-like
The sales promoter shld add it's so good till can grind rubber and plastic.

Lovedogs
talk to nanny just now she says dun know why the string was catch between bb's leg as she was trying to tie the walker n the table. anyway she removed the string already today, so i never say anymore. just tell her to be careful next time.

hi welcome darlie!
my mil also says frog leg is very good for bb but she dare not touch when it's raw n i busy with work no time to go market.

springdance
i ate quite abit of froglegs and black chicken when preg. Javen like to kicks his legs. but hor he also no know how to crawl. only know how to shift position nia. very slow le. somemore very lazy....make him crawl, he rather lie on his back n play, then flip left n right instead of crawling. but last sun, he can stand a few secs with support....hehe....

zhuzhu

i dont dig upp the seal intentnally but cos i use brush to wash therefore the seal comes off during the scrub smtms. the ulike's wattage is nt tt hi thats why cnx grind hard fruits like apple. even for avoccado , its dry n tuff to grind. i usu use braun handheld if i knw the food is tuff type. but MHO is that ulike is one of the best grinder arnd for everyday cookg. worth every last cent.

hi cheezel, my boy also exactly like that!!! very contented to lie on his back and play with his toys. *sigh* gotta push him a little lor, else he so nuah.

hmmm..... i just bought an avocado and it's pretty hard. what can i do with it? it's quite tasteless, not sure if the terrors will like it.

one simple recipe to try if you dun mind your bb taking beef. just use a whole chuck of minced beef and boil with rice. then add chopped pumpkin. it smells super super good. just like the Heinz jar food! hiak hiak hiak

oh yah, the Si Shen powder, what is it good for? I see it being sold everywhere, esp in brown rice powder. to stimultae appetite?

moxi
usually i add a bit of water to grind apple..but still not very smooth

darlie
u had to wait for avocado to ripen 1st..put it at room temp..and wait for a few days for it to soften..

haven't popped in to chat for a long long time.. guess i am very new to u gals.. i got 2 boys - 1 born in 06 and another in 07.. both r having the same birthday, i.e. in may..

cheezel, darlie
haha my 2nd son is also very nuah.. dun wan to crawl, but want to stand up.. he can now stand up on his own w/o much support, but i wan him to crawl first then walk, dun want him to jump his steps.. compared to his kor kor, he is really very slow.. kor kor crawl at 5mths, stand up at 7mths n walk at 10mths.. sigh i guess different bb have different devt

Lovedogs
Yup yup somewhere there…where the very popular YaKun toast is….shall we arrange next week? Can discuss via sms. :D

Moxi
Ya I think Chinatown market have…but must go real early! Which means I must wake very early on weekend….plus the thought of lugging back all the marketing stuff (vege, fish, chicken, pork) that are purchased for the whole week and coming back on public transport, it’s kinda sianzzzz lei. :p

Ms Tan
Oic…thanks for the info!

Cheezel
Can ‘High 5’ with U liao! Jonas also like to kick legs lei…..my MIL commented that it is becoz I got eat crab when I preggie….I guess characteristics of kicking leg & slow in learning to crawl are common among baby boys ba….

Peng
You deliberately target same months to give birth? Heheh…good good…can save and combine into one birthday celebration for your boys every year.

got a question to ask guys.i'm still bfeeding and had my 1st period on 30th nov. then till now nothing leh. i had stomach cramps then spotting last sunday and monday. is this normal? or is my period suppose to be regular?
kao_scared.gif

sgn,

suggest u "spotcheck" your nanny next time if possible... what do u think?

springdance,

oh, i know where liao... monday i juz went to the bak cho mee along that stretch and had kopi in ah kun after that :p i can meet u at Ah Kun then decide where to eat. Which day is good for u? i am ok except next friday as I may work from home if i get my vpn setup by then.

peng,

think i recalled seeing you before ...but then u nvr post of a long time after that... how are u? r u working or SAHM?

wonderbaby,

think if u r still breastfeeding, it will always be irregular one right? i also very confused abt this issue...think next time must ask doctor...

darlie,

i heard si sen fen is to stimulate appetite and good for spleen and stomach or something...

wonderbb,
me oso tbfg. so far no menses yet but i did experience spotting few tx. tink shd b normal as d ovulation cycle is affected by d hormones produced during bfg. but if in doubt or experience any pain/discomfort, gd to check w a doctor.

lovedogs,
red meat is a gd source of iron. iron is impt for growing bb/kid. but can get fr other sources too. so remb to include some iron rich food in tess diet. fm is oso iron-fortified.
as for chicken, just some personal sharing. a famous ent specialist/surgeon whom i worked w (last tx in my job) n consulted (me got ent history) believes tat chicken is a highly allergenic food (even compared to seafood). he advised me n my boy (we got allergy conditions n ezcema) to minimise chicken in our diet, max once a week. n if we are down w allergy conditions during any period, then take chicken out fr our diet. i did try both for me n my boy and do tink it made a difference. tcm oso believe tat chicken prolongs cough n causes phelgm.
in d past, i nvr like pork. but now i take in moderate n so oso give pork to both ash n cher. thou me still prefer to eat fish n beef.
just a little sharing, but i suppose many pple like chicken. tink i do eat more chicken than pork.

Springdance
haha.. actually it's all accidents.. din really plan for it..

hi lovedogs
yeah haven't been posting.. cos i m working mom, so quite busy these days din really have time to say hi

wonder_baby,
i rem when i had the 1st bb, my periods were irregular though i bf and thks to that haha.. i have the 2nd bb..

but i do agree with jackie that i find my ss drop when my period is here..

sanrio,

what other food contains iron? cham...i eat lots of chicken leh... i eat chicken almost everyday and at times, for lunch and dinner on the same day even ! i know if we had some surgery, must avoid chicken or eggs as well...

Dear Shi Fus,

Thank you all for your encouragement. I will persevere with my cooking endeavors, for the sake of Laura. One good news is that I told the maid to feed her the mashed up fish porridge again, but this time with peas puree, and she managed to finish the whole bowl. Can't say she enjoyed it, but at least she finished it. That's most important.

Will probably try to do a pork stock 2 weeks later. But 1 question, must cook for 8 hours in the slow cooker also ah? Then hor... anything else to add, other than the pork? Like ginger for fish, so what's for pork? Or can add stuff like garlic? If never add anything, will there be a porky smell?

Unfortunately, I will NEVER do frog porridge, coz I'm terrified of frogs! I will never touch a frog, dead or alive. I don't eat them either! Laura will just have to be happy with her fish or pork porridge! :p

Another question. How to choose japanese sweet potatoes ah? They all look the same - muddy, spotty, and wrinkly. So dunno how to choose leh.

Zhuzhu,
I push spoonful by spoonful of the cooked porridge thru a sieve. It becomes very soft and fluffy after that, so would probably be easier for the babies to eat. Maybe you can try that too.

Sanrio,
I read in several places that it would be better to introduce corn at a later age wor. SOmething like it's a allergenic food or something. I had actually bought organic sweet corn to introduce to Laura. Then when I will checking the internet on how to cook the corn for babies, I saw several articles that said to introduce later lor. But since Cher likes it, and doesn't have any problem with it, then should be okay?

Grinder:-
I'm using the Philips blender in green color. Pretty happy with it. Easy to use, and not too big or not too small. Blends everything very nicely.

Gathering Mommies/Mommies-to-be for Bulk Purchase

Hello Mommies,

I am intending to bring my baby girl for a studio shoot session before her first birthday in May. I have spoken to David and Benjamin @ Foto-U and they are willing to give us an offer if I could gather 15 mommies /mommies-to-be to take up the bulk purchase.

What does the package include?
Suitable for family of 5 members, maternity, couple, makeover/glamour, kids, and pets etc

1. All images return in CD on the spot.
2. 2hrs session.
3. Maximum 5 people.
4. 1 x make up.
5. 3 x 8R.

David’s and Ben's Packages @ $258/- (before discount)
Wai Peng’s Package @ $238/- (before discount)

What is special?
1) 10% discount off photographers’ package price (above) if we take up the bulk purchase
2) As the package have 3 x 8R, so the mommy who signs up can exchange for a 12 by 18 print with frame and canvas laminate, usual at $128, now at $100. This offer is for this BP only, and so we can choose 3 x 8R or this $100 print with frame.

If you are keen, we will have to pay a deposit of $50.00 (I am coordinating for the collection of deposit), and the date for the shoot has to be arranged within Feb and April (validity: 3 months).

Please transfer the deposit and PM me with the following information before 31 Jan 08 if you are interested.

Name/Nick:
Contact number:
Email:
Date/Time (of intended studio session):
Preferred Photographer:
Deposit reference (after you have transferred the $50):

My bank account:
POSB Savings 241-42673-4

Take a look at the Foto-u thread:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/556344.html?1200478759

springdance
i also ate crab during preg. tot they say baby will have itchy hand...wanna touch everything they see....hehe

lovedogs
food rich in iron: iron-fortified cereal, fish, spinach, lentils, baked beans, liver, beef

dudette
i also read that corn can cause allergic reaction so also no intro now.
i never buy jap sweet potato b4. its always my mil who go market buy one. i saw those she bought looks quite nice one le. abit spotty but not so muddy and wrinkly. think wrinkly means not good liao ba.

lovedogs
well my hb n mil had been the ones doing sport check while i always tell her what time i will be fetching bb so she will prepare bb for home.

dudette
huh corn also allergy but never mind lar i think my son ok cos taken already.

sanrio
i agree with u cos i find chickens gets injections in the farms, ppl says dun take so much as side effects from the jabs.

cheezel, dudette,
i did read n hear tat corn belongs to d allergenic food gp. but since cher is choosy n more of a 'vegetarian', i tot let her try corn since it tastes pleasant n sweet. she is ok w it so far.

lovedogs,
not to wori. me n my boy have allergy problems esp ash alwy hv allergy cough so i try to cut down chicken fr his diet if possible. he prefers beef n pork thou. he reacts quite badly to nuts too. hb ever let him try a bit of bread w peanut butter n next moment he started coughing badly till he like 'lost' his voice. even drk a lot of water oso wont help.

I wonder if anyone has tried cooking pumpkin before? It's apparently a good food as it's rich in beta-carotene. But I think it's more of an ang-moh food lah... anyway I'm trying to cook it right now..bake it rather.. so hope it turns out OK for baby to eat

hi smalldreams. i usually buy and steam the japanese variety rather than the vietnam ones. mash and mix with milk when the babies were younger. now we add to porridge to sweeten it; cook with beef.

can't feed them too often so we alternate between red/orange/yellow fruits & veges with green ones.

<font color="0000ff">Hi MummyYoko,</font>

I have just PM u as I am interested in the Foto-U shoots too. I am planning to take photos with my baby boy around April or May '08 too when my baby turns 1 year old. However, I need to clarify the price for the package again with u as I still very blur about your special rate if we go bulk purchase. I am planning either on 3rd or 10th May '08 (the weekend!). Are u able to extend the validity until May instead of April '08? Do revert back to me soon via e-mail: [email protected]. Thanks

Lovedogs
Yup that’s the place…How about next Thursday? We can sms each other to confirm again next week…

Jesmine
Would like to try “tian Ji” porridge…but first, I need to convince myself with some determination to go all the way to Chinatown market early in the morning.. :p

Cheezel
Babies are simply too KPO and curious…hence touching everything they see and put in their mouth if they can! Hahahah….

Naqia
I got give my baby porridge with pumpkin….is not an ‘ang moh’ food actually….Chinese use pumpkin to make soup also. Quite nice….

Dudette
As far as I know…to make pork stock, there’s no need add anything else besides pork…but like what Moxi say, much ‘wash’ the pork ribs in boiling water before slowcooking…around 5 mins in boiling water then transfer to slow-cooker…you can also make pork stock in a pot over the stove (small fire)…for this method, around 5 hours is sufficient but you must remember to constantly keep a watch over the fire.

Springdance,

Are your Similac milk powders still available? If yes, please let me know via sms regarding the collection. Thanks

Naqia,
My elder gal takes pumpkin too. I used to think of pumpkin as ang moh food but I like it a lot now.
I will intro pumpkin to my baby soon.

Cheezel,
I didn't eat crab during pregnancy but both my gals have 'itchy' fingers leh... always like to touch here touch there.

Dudette,
I also need to learn how to cook baby food. I didn't do much for my elder gal and now she is quite a fussy eater... anything that is alien to her she won't eat.

sgn, zhuzhu,
BF is great but the sacrifice is huge, Kelly is now still drinkin on reserve, tink will run out quite soon.

wonder,
i reli cant imagine if i am to BF my #2, tink i will b back to puberty stage, sianz.

jeanyard,
noooo, it reli shrink.

Kris,
Your reserve is so much. I'm still aiming to stop bfg when bbcay reaches 1yo.... although I also shrink liao. This time I shrink faster compared to the time I bfg my first kid.

kris
wah! i'm really be flat like dat

what happened to hapybaby? so long nvr see her post. yoyo must be bz at work

re: tian ji
bbC will not get to eat this coz mummy is terrified of tian ji. dare not eat let alone touch! hehehe

springdance,

ok, we fix it next thursday. meet outside ah kun then decide where to eat. btw, what time can u meet?

dudette,

all the way! congrats to laura finishing the porridge

sanrio,

will ash outgrows the peanut butter allergy? peanut butter is very nice leh..i love peanut butter...can juz take 1 tablespoon , scoop out 1 big spoon to eat it like that only.... heehee...

kris,

i am working in town. so hor, if u going to town during weekdays, u can let me know and I can bring the sprouts to the office and pass it to you..... what do u think?

Caymom, sanrio &amp; springdance,

yah guess you're right that pumpkin does sweeten porridge. I just baked it &amp; fed a few spoonful to baby this morning. He's a small eater so even if I cook porridge, he'd only eat a few spoonfuls..but he'd burp after that, so I guess that's a signal he's full!

Wonderbaby, wah, you only got yr menses now?
I got my first one after a looong time in Sep 07. And yes, milk supply does take a dip when i'm about to get my menses...sighs..

naqia
i normally steam the pumpkin and freeze. then either add to porridge or cereal
actually had my only period on nov 30th. till now don't hv leh..my ss all the while also very little but bb has a habit of latching to sleep/nap. at nite also comfort suck few times a nite. so i juz continue. i nvr pump since sh was 2-3 mths. so i dunno how much i'm producing now..hahaha

Kris
i wonder how ur frozen milk can last so many months? i thought can keep for 3 months only?

zhuzhu
yahoo! time to spend money!!!!
tks for keeping me updated.

<font color="0000ff">caymom,</font>

Can I clarify this part, 'although I also shrink liao. This time I shrink faster compared to the time I bfg my first kid'? Are u talking about your body weight or breasts? I am a bit blur here leh
. Paiseh

lovedogs,
pd said may or may not. me allergy to nuts too but peanut butter once a while i still eat. but limit d amt. new yr goodies are no no for us as many contain nuts. but agn, once a yr mah so i still 'dou chi'.. but wont give to ash.

Re : Thermos
Can I chk with you mummies which one did you buy &amp; comments .. I am thinking of getting one, but dunno to get big one, small one, tall one, short rounded ones .. hehe. So many choices :p

cool daughter
i got the one with 3 different compartments..the lunch jar set..cos i like to have diff compartments to put diffferent things..thinking whether to get the beverage food jar o not..

cool daughter
i bought the smallest one (0.29L) with only one compartment cos i lazy throw in everything and bring along. i use it as a warmer for BM sometimes when i bring bb out, just nice for 4oz avent bottles.