(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

wonder baby
my mum oso told me dat..must "cook" it 1st..otherwise pretty raw leh and dun wat bacteria inside the meat

really envy ur bbs eating so well. cher is not 'interested' in eating nowadays so she is still petite in size. she can go wo milk or food for 6hrs. tried different stock, different ways of cooking, different ingredients, white or brown or mixed, different texture, consistency of porridge, grind, blend, dun grind/blend, she is just not keen.
somtx i feed until feel like giving up cos she wld turn her head away, refuse to open her mouth. af 1 feed, she perspire, i oso 'hot'.
i tried adding bm to porridge jus to try n she gave me d wan to puke look.
i m clueless now, just hope 1 day she wld like to eat. even af starving her for 6 hrs wo anytg, wen feed porridge, she can jus take few tiny mouthfuls n refuse liao..
perhaps i jus hv to stick to cereal for now thou i very much feel tat she nid porridge/other food beside cereal now

a bit 'kek sim' wen cum to feeding her. i ask my mum/hb to try, all failed....

sanrio
pat pat...sometimes when i cooked porridge..bbM oso dun like..then i had to pour away..so heartpain oso..

my MIL cooked the porridge with wolfberry n red date leh..bbM likes to eat leh..u wanna try?

long time no see! long time no hear! Glad to know everyone's fine.

A VERY BIG CONGRATS TO JEANYARD!

Amelia's still chubby, same as in the past. Check out my blog on her at http://myprincessamelia.blogspot.com/ .I've been bringing her to go swimming lately and she loves it.

Amelia's quite adventurous in her diet. So far, she has tried brown porridge with fish, or sweet potatoes, or green peas, or french beans, broccoli, spinach, carrot, pumpkin, yogurt, steamed apple, banana, papaya, pear and lately oatmeal (for babies).

sunee
long time din hear from u..

Amelia is still the chubby amelia..

ask u..how u cook the french bean? do u remove the seeds inside the bean?

hi zhuzhu,

nice to hear from you too.

I don't remove the seeds. I cut it very thinly, then add to brown porridge (when it's cooked till very soft) + other things. After it's all cooked, I'd strain all that through a strainer.

hi sunee
how's life? wow Amelia seems to love swimming huh. i dare not bring my boy yet.
u even bring ur gal for travling! very pei fu u!

To all my dear SHI FUs,

THANK YOU for ALL the cooking tips! I have gotten myself a notebook and copied all the tips each one of you gave me. Easier for me to refer to each day mah. Can't wait to hit the supermarket to get stuff so that i can experiment over the weekend!

Moxi,
I missed you guys too! *weep* But nowadays cannot anyhow take leave for yum cha sessions, or take long lunch breaks liao. I think boss realized that I was too free, so he gave me more responsibilites! Sigh. But don't worry, when it comes to big sales, I'll be there! heehee

Sanrio,
Laura doesn't like to eat anything either, except non-food items, eg. spoons, towels, remote controls, handbags, rubber mats, plastic bags, bed posts, lotion bottles etc etc. Sometimes I think she's more like a goat than a baby girl. Dun like food, only rubbish. So, we have a hard time trying feed her too. Usually we would give her something to chew on, like a bowl, or a plastic container etc., then whenever her mouth open, we'll quickly stick the spoonful of food into her mouth. Then she'll bo bian eat the stuff. It can only be acceptable HT cereal though. Any other cereal, she'll spit out. Then after that, the moment she sees the spoon, she'll turn her head. Sigh... so young such a fussy eater already. My boy was very different though. He loved eating. Too bad I was so ignorant then.

Need some advice. My boy has eczema. The patches on his 'outer' ankles are especially big, red and blotchy, and don't seem to get better even with moisturiser.
Very heartpain. Anybody with experience? Can advise please? Thanks

dudette,
same. my boy loves to eat. cher is fussy too. i oso 'force' feed her like wat u did, eat 1 meal like fighting 1 war, chuan..

cherryteq,
did u try mild steroid cream like hydrocort or slightly stronger one like elomet? i noe steroid is no gd but my boy has bad ezcema n c him he 'suffer', itch n scratch till weepy or bleed, no choice but to apply such cream on him wen necessary n other days, i use moisturiser.

zhuzhu,
tks. as a mum cant help but wori loh cos she at tis growing stage, nid nutrients fr food n milk mah. even latch her, she nowady oso not 'so keen'. if she din ask for it n i c her af hrs wo food/milk, i latch her, she dun even wan or latch for few mins, unlatch n wan to 'chao'

she can even still fit into her 0-3m top jus tat is shorter, haiz..

gacc,
the PD gave my boy steroid cream also, but I was hoping without applying the cream it can get better with just moisturiser. Guess I'll have to use the steroid more often. No other way out?

hi sgn,
life's busy but good. it's wonderful to see how fast Amelia is growing. how's your little one?

hi sanrio,
so in the end, did u rent any toy from rent-that-toy.com? does cher like the toys?

can someone advise me?

I trying to train my baby in using the training cup but he wont suckle.
Do you have any idea how to go about it?

sanrio,

dun give up....try to feed every 2 hours if possible... even a few mouthful also better than nothing... hope she will regain back her appetite and this is juz a passing phase...

everyone has their problems hor... for me, its war with tess whenever i feed her water... hiaz...

zhuzhu,

i bought the snoopy thermal mug the other time. coz it is quite compact, i tot maybe can use that to store porridge if really needed. but so far, i will still try to avoid bringing porridge to feed baby outside... i am worried about the mess it will create.

cherryQ,

i was in City Hall robinsons on Wed. I saw some baby cream for eczema. Can't remember the name but it is next to the NUK shelf... maybe u can check it out?

lovedogs,
tks. i wld cont to try. whenever i feed her food/porride, her whole bib wld b solied. i mus b v alert too as she wld sweep my spoon/bowl away too..

cherryyteq,
to manage ezcema, u nid to keep ur bb cooled, wear comfy cotton clothings as perspiration wld make itch worst, cut his nails short. apply hydrocort very thinly wen necessary, if no flared up, mus diligently moisturise esp af shower.

Sanrio
Seems like Cher dun quite like porridge…but she’s still ok with drinking BM right? Maybe need to try other ways of feeding like putting abit of cereal with BM in milk bottle (although I know books dun recommend), mashed potatoes or carrots with minced meat…

By the way, what’s Cher’s weight now? She looks quite chubby in the studio photos lei…not that small size looking like you mentioned.

springdance,
for d tx being, i may stop cookg porridge liao cos she really din like n alwy cook n throw. i did try mashed potato w bm, papaya w or wo bm, all give me d 'wan to puke' look. steam n mashed carrot oso din like. mayb she jus 'dun like to eat'. wld hv to give her HT cereal n add little bit of pumpkin, sweet potato or fruits as varieties/nutrients.
she rejects bottle, only latch.
so wen it cum to her food, me really headache.
last weighed at 7+ mth was 7.49kg. now not sure. only her face is a bit chubby. i m not too concern abt her wt but more of her lack of nutrients for growth.
u tink can add meat or pork stock or fish stock such to cereal???

sunee
my boy ok growing well eating well, ha ha ha.
he also " not a good eater" can't say the other way cos i start to believe. eat everything eg. controller, key pouch, toys basically everything he can grab.
he's now 9.05kg when we went pd last wk.

sanrio
oh dun hui xin maybe ur gal is cha kan tang type, dun like porridge n likes potato.

can someone teach me how to prepare ikan bilies for add to bb's porridge?
i bought yin yu as the man says i'm more nutrious than ikan bilies but cooking wise same method.

sgn
my mum put the yin yu inside the toaster and toast until dry..cos she said fried very oily...then i grind it into powder...

sanrio
i think u can try dat...at least she got the nutrient in the stock...

I follow Super Baby Book. I grind organic short grain brown rice into powder form, keep in a glass container and keep inside fridge. About a week or so, the amount will be used up and I will grind a new batch again. Just scoup the powder, add into water and cook, ready in 10 minutes. Very easy.

sanrio, is quoina bitter? I surf net says bitter, so I dare not try on my children. Since you say Cher likes cereal, I would add ebm to cereal and let her eat till tired of the taste. Cos maybe she likes the usual taste of the food, don't like always change.

zhuzhu
much long to toast?
u add to the porridge while still cooking on the stove or when ready to serve?

sanrio
javen has been taking 3 meal daily...breakfast, lunch n dinner. n inbetween supp with milk. sometime have biscuits, bread for snack....However, these few weeks i weigh him, never gain wt. dunno y also....haiz

sgn
my mom also toast the yin yu. toast till its crispy and can grind. but not burnt...hehe...up to u how u wanna add it....

hi sgn,
Indeed, Amelia likes to eat ... and this applies to EVERYTHING that she can get her fat little fingers on to! She loves pulling out tissue paper non-stop. There was once she even had a mouthful of tissue and I had to use my finger to dig the mess out.

sunee
wahahahah, my boy too, loves tissue paper esp mine was blue coloured ones! keep pulling n pull into mouth if not he will tear it up!

cheezel
means once toasted no need to cook anymore?

sgn
think my mum toast abt 10mins o not...i added it to the porridge when i wan to "serve" bb lor..

but dun add too much cos can be salty

sgn
yeah. no need to cook anymore. you can add when want to serve or when u r cooking the porridge.

remember got to wash b4 toast cos of te salt content

zhuzhu/ cheezel
tks very much shi fu.... i will try on mon when i'm off.

btw anyone tried giving marmite?

YX having fever, cough and flu again. Last week once, now come back again. He has lost weight le and whole face looks smaller

Sigh.. as for milk now even worse. drink 30-50ml dun want le but at least he still loves the porridge I cook for him. He can finish one big soup bowl.

Re: Pork Stock
I tried cooking the pork stock and it taste nice but it's very oily. Did you girls do anything to strain off the oil on the surface??

Kris,
your breasts are also big. maybe if you continue to bf, no need to go for surgery enhancement :p

zhuzhu,
the Angel wipe guy changed his hp. I don't have his no. now cos my hp is flat and i'm not at home. you remind me again. how about you go through the free or WTB threads?

Re: Isetan member
Anyone know if we can buy cash voucher with discount at Isetan during sales? or where can I get discounted Isetan vouchers?

Sunee,
hi there. I feel v guilty cos haven't steamed anything for Cookie. he just take cereal and whatever his grandma cooked.

Re: West Gathering 16 jan lunch at Jurong Point
Anyone? cos I will be on leave and going to grab Eu Yan Sang products at 20% off

Taro
poor YX, got give him barley water?

usu mil will use 1 piece of soft spare rib for cooking the porridge so not very oily.

zhuzhu
dun know ley mil says can take marmite n never ask pd is it ok to take so want to ask u all.
anyway i love marmite, i just add a bit to make the porride more tasty.

jeanyard
EYS sales what u want to grab? birdnest?

Have disappeared from the thread for some time. Busy with baby girl and my 2-year old boy. Can I join in? My bb girl is born in May 2007 too.

My girl is only taking 135ml milk per time. On 3 solid meals now and 4 milk feeds. Is it normal?

sgn,
get birdnest and chicken essence. too busy to cook birdnest now and MIL doesn't care about me anymore.

JackieJillie,
3 solid meal is quite a lot cos before 1 yr, usually 2 meals is enough. but if she's active and weight is in 50th percentile, should be ok.

taro,
put some damp hanky on YX's head to cool him down during the day.
Are you stillworking now or going full time with your online biz?

sgn
dunno if can take marmite anot le. prod can check with PD.

Jackiejillie
My boy take cereal/potato+milk in the morn, porridge for lunch and dinner. in between milk. abt 700ml in total for the whole day.

135ml per time should be ok ba. my boy sometime drink 90ml-120ml inbetween meals. but early morn 1st feed and night will drink 150-180 ml each time.

taro
got bring him see doc? better let him drink more water. weather still not very good. one moment super hot another moment rain. wipe with damp hanky to keep him cool.

Cos i was reading in other threads that some babies already taking 240ml. Seems like my girl is quite small drinker. She also doesn't really eat alot for her meals. Loves cereal though.

cheezel,
thought marmite contains MSG?

re: milk
Cookie drinks 210ml, 3 times per day. if we give more, and he can't finish, will let him play for 30min and finish up the remaining part.

JJ,
milk contains more nutrients. but since you give 4x a day, should be ok

jeanyard
this steven still selling angel wipes meh? tot its out of stock everywhere..

eh..u found out ur bb is a boy o gal?

JJ
my son only drink abt 150ml each feed..sometimes he can't even finish it..

Jeanyard
poor thing, 1st preg always sayang by many ppl.
marmite is made of veg, in nutc it's put together with bb food so should be ok but never state how old bb is fit to give.
btw bb no allergy since given 2 times so close 1 eyes lor.

JJ/ cheezel
my boy also taking 3-4 feeds with 2 meals n sometime with 'snack' per day. his feed on 150mls each time but can't finish most of the time.

zhuzhu,
decided not to know the gender this time cos everyone not too excited so by keeping the gender a suspense, there'll be something to look forward to.

sgn,
maybe you check the ingredients again for high sodium content? cos bb's liver not ready for salt intake yet.

jeanyard
what's the brand of prune juice you're feeding cookie? think i need to get some..she keeps crying till so cham each time she poos. so heart pain..thanks
i've been feeding her plum and pear puree but she still strains to poo.
what else can i feed her to soften her poo?