(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

oh-my-yummy-yam,

the clip was hilarious!!
hm.... see, now you make me have second thots abt feedin my bb with avocado.

Hapybaby
Sorry lar dear you know the May thread move so fast and so many things to read, I sometimes just speed reading abit only and pause only when I see my nick. :p

Think you get your hubby to threaten the contractor better this kinda of thing let the men do got more power. Hahah!

By the way, did you help the mummies order COACH products eventually from your friends colleague? I had wanted to buy a wallet but end up never see anything I like from the website so decided not to get liao.

Ask you horyou intend to give brown rice or white rice for Avys 1st congee? Me feel like giving brown mix with white but really too lazy & busy to sun & grind the rice. Then hor, still need to wash, sun and grind ikan billis somemore...really "Duo Gong" lei.

hi ambery,
met up w my frd n bb on sunday. she pre-prepared 2 feed of fm n we wen lunch n shopping 2geter. she told me she did tat since day 1 n her bb has no problem. she dun even warm d milk b4 feed. she said in overseas, many pple do tat..
fyi, since tat day u ask whether can pre-prepared fm. but me still prefer 'freshly' prepared even for ash who is oreadi 3 yrs old.

<font color="ff0066"> moxi</font>

i tink hoh, the ikan bilis gotta 'pan fry' (without oil) them dry dry OR pop them inside the oven to bake leh.

my MIL used to buy from dry goods shop n do it tis way n i'll munch on them loh, suppose to be good for calcium.

let me go ask another experienced mum as i've seen the 'powder' ikan bilis in her blog.

when u going? i interested in the blender Kris bought as can blend ikan bilis n brown rice.

springdance,
in fact now n for quite somtx oreadi, ikan billis is no longer being recommended as bb's 1st food due to its salt content. fm is nowady fortified w calcium n u can use fish bone, yellow bean etc to make soup base for porridge. lentils is another gd source too. wen bb is older, i do use ikan billis to cook soup for my boy but minimal amt only n i soaked n washed b4 use..

moxi,haby
my mum will buy the ikan bilis, fried, let it cool, and put into grinder to grind it. then she will use a sieve to sieve away those chunks, left only the powdered ikan bilis.

Taro,

Your son? very cute!
Can share w me the avocado receipe? & how you bluff bbYX laugh (behind the scene) so he'll open his mouth for the feed huh??

littledan,
I just mash the avocado with a fork and I gave him a quarter slice each time with 30ml of milk added. Ehh.. as for the laughing part, sometimes I pop my big face in front of him also works. heee hee

<font color="ff0066"> Karen</font>

ask u stupid question. how much ikan bilis powder to rice/water?

WOW! Similac Step 2! thanks thanks.

springdance,
yah, the industry i'm working in is very small in singapore, so only a few companies around unless I want to change career path.
I may be taking leave to go shopping but not confirm. maybe 24th oct....

springdance,
I like the curry udon at Central!

<font color="ff0000">Re: baby rolling off bed</font>
heard from my mum that my aunt's grandchild fell off from Bed and then yao lan when infant and now at 10yrs old, mental is like a 5yr. got to go special school cos brain slightly damage. so sad.

So ALL mummies,
no matter how impt the kettle boiling or phone ringing or lazy your are, pls put bb in Cot first before you leave him unattended.

Re: California baby
Ris, the website you provide sells them expensively. I got mine from the overseas spree thread at $14 only! (self collect)

hapy
i gng @ lunchtm cos hb come bk hm n pik me..prolly try OG

karen
thks fr info... sound like ALOT OF HARDWORK *scared*

taro
speakg of yx...tellu sthg funi.. the other day i was watchg his battle with the milk botl that u posted(he was in carseat)..n i swear i heard him say "MAI MAI !!" errmmm... so wat u say abt him nt very chatty like nt true lei...kekeke

jesmine
this whole week on leave ah??cm join us on thurs for our tea la...

ambery,
when Cookie when for checkup when he was 2mths, I'll pre-make the formula too and didn't bother keeping it warm cos "room temp". I will discard if not consume within 4 hrs.
If using express milk, will warm it and must consume within 4 hrs.

Sanrio
amk hub can only go during wk days, ppl stay at amk dun visit during wk ends cos too crowded.
tks will go check it out.

Moxi
by now i think the fair finished loh, last wk went amk hub with ILs saw some fair there but they rushing to go back so never had a channce to go take a look.

hapybaby
my friend's mum says need to bake the ikan bilis n peel of the head n tail (if not wrong) the grin till very fine. lots of work.

Jeanyard,
I am also looking for insect repellant. How much is it selling here as compared to the overseas spree?

sgn, moxi, hapybaby,

re: ikan bilis

will buy the better grade ones, coz less salty. wash them and fry in bulk to store. when cooking, wash with water. then i'll put the needful into those tea-bag bags and cook with mixture of unpolished and white rice. when ready, mash and feed.

the essence in ikan bilis is in its bones, this one surely cannot remove. remember.

<font color="ff0066"> sgn</font>

unsure if its lots of work but Nanny volunteer to do it so now i'm contemplating getting her the grinder. den i'll buy ikan bilis she will do the rest.

<font color="ff0066"> littledan</font>

must wash de huh? thanks for highlighting.

den wash liao will the calcium be gone or its perfectly alright?

me a bit ku-ku when comes to ikan bilis powder.

sgn, moxi, hapybaby,

re: ikan bilis

get the silver fish (yin yu). really small ones. this one's better than ikan bilis and no need to remove head or tail.
the better grades are less salty. wash them and fry in bulk to store.
when cooking, wash with water. then i'll put the needful into those tea-bag bags and cook with mixture of unpolished and white rice. when ready, mash and feed. it's actually quite delicious.

the essence in ikan bilis is in its bones, this one surely cannot remove. remember.

taro,
I got it from Moms Essential the Gel type for $18 before 10% discount. (have VIP)
I don't know CB sales how much, you can check out the spree.
but noticed that if I use the CB cream with lavender scent, the mosquito will stay away...

littledan,
I tasted it and is nice. Taste like coconut milk with avocado. I licked the bowl clean after YX. haha

Moxi,
got OG card. another 10% applies?

Re: working mums and baby puree
Help needed:
I hardly see my baby, let alone go NTUC to buy ingredients. how should I advance Cookie to baby food with high nutrients content?

taro,

i will try normal bb powder see how first. so meaning apply desitin after shower. then after that, apply powder?

hey, bbYX loves his avocado! must be very delicios leh ! heehee... btw, i saw ur blog u stored the avocado in the cubes...do u freeze it? or juz normal compartment in the freezer? if it is frozen, how to "warm" it up for feeding and how long can it be stored? thanks

jeanyard,

take leave this thursday lah... few if us meeting for kopi

taro
LJP also sellg CB products. ready stk but more exp than o/seas bp. got insect repellant @$19 cos i got buy but hvnt collect

jeanyard
wow drop dwn so serious conseq ah??

hapy
taro bot hers 69 so i thik shld b aame bah.. i no og card

xiaodan
thx fr tip!!

jeanyard,

where is mums essential or is it a brand huh?? me super ignorant with bb products leh... will be good to have a insect repellent in hand leh... i will like to get it too..

Moxi,
Haha. Aunty here has lots of cards. wahaha.

Lovedogs,
I keep the cubes in a ziplock bag and leave it in the freezer compartment. I just make 1 avocado at a time so 4 cubes, 4 meals. Finish in 4-5 days? I thaw by placing the cube in a bowl of hot water and when it becomes normal temperature, I add warm milk to it.

hi taro,

thanks for the advise
u super expert leh...heehee... btw, when u feed YX avocado, do u still feed him rice cereal? ie, he has a few solid meals a day? is avocado "cooling" or "heaty" ?

moxi,

so nice...shopping again har... ;)

taro,

this thursday? meeting at 2pm for kopi/tea ...most prob marina sq...

moxi, sanrio, yoyo , (kris-maybe)

wanna try out the jap place u suggested the other time? what is it called again?

Lovedogs,
I'm still learning la. Manage to give YX pumpkin puree yesterday. He likes that too. I still give YX ceral lunch time. Then the puree will act as snack. No idea of avocado being heaty or cooling lei. Neutral? I am going to start him on 2x cereal this weekend. Lunch and dinner. Good to set a habit for him.

moxi
i have i have****** OG card, errr, it's my MIL's she got 2 usu she give me 1. ha ha today might go town to shop u want to meet me then can pass u the card.

moxi,
forget to mention... whole week and maybe except thurs only cos gt to go bk to office to collect the kaya and durian cakes that mil ordered for bil's wedding

taro
hehe.. ok, mayb later ask hb whether he mind swingg by ur orpic to take frm u .. will sms u if need k? thx ah .. btw, u bot frm which branch de? i am gng to the orchard pt one

lovedogs,
today already resting at home. I try not to take more than 1 day off per week.
Cookie's checkup coming up soon, so will be taking leave then.
when are you and yoyo meeting me? heh, can see how miserable my office is....

moxi,
if bb drop and hit head directly, will be very serious if happen too often cos their skulls still soft.

re: insect repellant
prefer the Gel type to spray cos difficult to control.
Lovedogs,
moms essential is available at KKH and Suntec. It's a shop that sells bb and mum's skin care.
I have 10% discount. let me know if you want anything.

moxi,
if bb drop and hit head directly, will be very serious if happen too often cos their skulls still soft.

re: insect repellant
prefer the Gel type to spray cos difficult to control.
Lovedogs,
moms essential is available at KKH and Suntec. It's a shop that sells bb and mum's skin care.
I have 10% discount. let me know if you want anything.

sgn
u gng town ah? which part har? heheh.. thx fr offerg

lovedogs
azaru sabo... hee..no la..thot of tryg this blender wonder lor
btw, u got mail lo

taro
COME n join us !!

hapybaby
remember i told u about the similac sample? so far never recieve but only recieved their $3 of voucher, u want? can mail to u.

JeanYard
I tried the Curry Udon twice 1st time like very nice second time find it so-so only think it rather filling ba. Anyway, theres quite a number of Jap restaurants at Central to try out. Must let me know if you decide to come by yah Ill be eagerly waiting.

My boy also twist and flip a lot nowadays total agree with you that its really very dangerous to leave baby on bed unattended Been reprimanded by my hubby becoz I was went into the toilet to wash hands only and baby was on bed.

Sanrio
Really ah see like a few mummies talking about ikan billisso just use fish bone is sufficient liao? But this means baby wont get to eat the bones .heheh

What are lentils in Chinese??

LittleDan
Why need to put the ground ikan billis in teabags? Where you buy teabags for ikan billis?

Moxi
Me working near OG People's Park...DO let me know if you go there to shop.