(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

So janet is the main organiser

Janet

28th I intend to take leave coz taking adam for his jab. See first ok? If I join, I'll let you know. But then again don't worry about me, just go ahead & have fun!
Thanks for asking!

smalldreams,
hope adam is fine after the injection.

sgn,
would you want to join us at vivo? though i remember you said you will be going to collect passport right?

janet
sgn will be collecting passport on tat day. n if she can make it then will join us at vivo.

smalldreams
come join us la.....i saw u once but no chance to chat ....heheh....still remember at tampinese courts.

SD
Amara Sanctuary at Sentosa good?u went there b4? which room type u take??

zhuzhu
my colleague put her son at playgrp last yr and she told me her son cry for full 3 months b4 he get used to it. now, when she bring him to the class, he dun even bother to look at her mom when she reach the classroom....off he goes to meet his frens n toys....guess we really have to let them get used

cheezel
wah really ah..it takes up to 3 mths ah..then I must hang on...last nite i saw him..so guilty..keep giving him food to eat.. MIL said yday when she bot him back..wah he keep eating non stop..then he nap from 2-5pm..think he must be super hungry n tired..

zhuzhu,
maybe markus doesnt like the food there and didnt eat, and also not used to sleeping there...
jia you ok?

janet..
thanks..i will hang on...MIL said this morning when she bot him there..the moment he reach the gate...he refused to go in..keep pulling his ah ma the other day..

Cheezel
I didn't stay at Amara Sanctuary..but visited their hotel rooms and a few hotels as well in Sentosa due to work. Their rooms are cleanly designed and modern with see-through bathroom.

Another one which has a luxurious feel kinda rooms is Sentosa Resort & spa...but they've got no seaview rooms.

zhuzhu,
i think it varies from kids to kids. The principal at the CC that Josh is going to told me that some kids can adapt str away. some take a few mths, some even a year!....

my fren got 3 kids. She told me her eldest daughter (this yr already P1) adapted to sch v easily even when she was only a toddler. But her 2nd daughter is very difficult and v different from the sister. This yr she's already 4 but she still cry when she goes to nursery! not even CC just 3hours nursery! somemore got cousins attending together with her in the same class she still cry.

so it really depends on the kid.

But from what you describe, i think maybe Markus will be ok aft some weeks lah. just have to keep at it.

on the contrary, i think Josh will really tear the school down!

nellu
ya lor..it just a matter of when he will get adapt to cc..but its more of the mummy heartpain for him..

I called home..n MIL told me today he cried lesser...but i think after the weekend..the story will repeat again..

zhuzhu
i think the kids are still at the stage of insecurity so if leave ky in the cc sure will flood the school!

sgn,
i dun really agree with you...cos not all kids are the same. Some kids are very secure and confident. Some are not. Some are just cos used to being at home so cannot get used to new environment...all this really depends on the kid's personality and how we parents nurture them.

of course if you can help it and if it is your preference, then no need to put kid at CC..

for me, even tho we dun have to put Josh at CC, we still decided to do it. because we want him to be in an envt to learn to be independent and also to socialise with other kids properly, rather than being at home and growing up with so many adults...

nellu
that is the purpose of me putting Markus in CC as well..even though my MIL can help take care of him..but I want him to socialise and learn things...cos at home he only face his granny n no one else..

nellu
i agree. Tats y i decided to put Javen in cc initailly but cos no vacancy so put him up in playgrp fr next yr onwards. Now start him on busybods to get used to class room envt. i want him to learn to be more independent and most impt, socialise with other pple other than us. Else he will be at home all day long with his granny.....dun wanna him end up sticky pad to her.

SD, cheezel,
i saw Javen's snowman today! but couldn't find Jonas'.

look out for Josh's angel when you go for class this sat. It's just outside the washroom. hehehe

SD,
speaking of hotels, can you recommend some nice spa resorts around the region or not? not too expensive types lah..my close gf and i thinking of doing a short trip together. wahaha leave Josh with hubby!!

cheezel

If I were to place Adam in a CC, I'll do what you do - get him used to baby classes first. Through pics, it seems Javen is getting quite used to that and is doing well
Plus, he can speak already, perhaps that helps too.

Zhuzhu

Don't be disheartened ok? Gotta perservere. If u really can't tahan, another alternative is to take him out for now, enrol him in baby classes first, when u think he's ready, place him in a playgroup first. Then if playgroup also OK, place him in full day CC. That could ease the transition.

sgn, nellu
true, kids at this stage have different levels of confidence. even though I see Adam pretty confident when he mixes with his cousins - aged about 3 to 5, I'm not really sure still of how he'll be when he meets with a class full of toddlers. In fact I wonder if he'll be bossy & possible bully others coz when he met up with my friends' kids aged about 2 yrs old, he was the one conquering play.

I'll wait for him to turn abt 2 yrs old before placing him in CC. Mebbe before that try some toddler classes first.

But frankly I think the busybods class you gals are bringing yr boys too sound very chim! Not sure if Adam would be able to follow through.

smalldreams
i find ky too sticky to me even he can mix well with other kids but worry he will cry for me if put him in cc.
i also planned to let him join playgroup after 2yrs old.
my niece was placed in a playgroup when she was 20 months old and she cried everyday during the class and even had nightmare asking for nanny dun go away! very traumatic to her!

smalldreams,
you can also try GUG, or gym class maybe more suitable for boys.

Cheezel,
That time when you go genting, which theme park has the most rides for our kids? I am thinking of going too, but dont know which theme park ticket to buy. Thinking of buying them online, would it be cheaper this way?

smalldreams,
BB classes are not chim lah..it's very str forward one...not need rocket science degree to understand.

you wanna try it out? bring adam to join javen and jonas on sat lah..i think it'll be fun for him...anyway it's designed for kids who wants to do a lot of things... it seems to go down really well with the boys...so far i see more boys in my classes than girls.

the activities are really varied. There's music, there's art and craft (this one is really fun!), there's outdoor play (if weather is good!), there's puppet play, storytime, reading time, and snack time (josh's favourite!!).

Nellu

If u're free, could you forward me the website for it? Also need to see if the snacks are halal. hehe, quite mafan rite (we all lor) :p

smalldreams,
go to http://www.gracekids.com.sg

snacks wise, usually they serve just biscuits (which we usually can get from supermarkets) or fruits. If you are concerned you can always bring your own snacks, which a lot of the mummies, including myself do.

not troublesome lah...o/w can always request that they get some for adam. I'm sure they'll be more than willing to help.

Nellu
Unfortunately, I am not familar with hotels in the region..focus on Singapore only. :p

Smalldreams/Nellu
For our BB class, on the contrary to Josh's class, we always see the gals enjoying themselves alot at class...while the boys tend to be indifferent or distracted...

smalldreams,
you looking at rhythm in me ah? MM1/2/3 are the RIM class codes.. hehehe...

you look under busy buddies term 4 can?

the classes are open for trial. just call up. if you want I can help you to ask too when I go there.

SD,
ya..it's usually like this...the gals seem to get it faster than the boys. Initially when Josh started he was also crawling all over the plc! he started to participate more in the last 1mth. But I must give the teachers credit. They really do try to engage the kids as much as possible.

nellu
mmmm... the program sounds interesting. to bad i'm working alt sat, so will have prob attending the class.

Update on the Gathering:

Venue: Marina Barrage (wet weather plan, Raffles City, Jap Food Court)
Date: 8 Dec
Time: Morning, 9.30-10am

1. Janet
2. Nellu
3. Mum@work
4. Cool daughter
5. SD - is morning ok with you? More preferred morning
6. sanrio - is this date ok with you? More preferred 8 Dec
7. Cheezel

smalldreams
ours are busybods. sat class is 11.15am to 12.45pm. dun worry abt snacks la....they serve bread, biscults and plain water etc. u can bring ur own snack which lots of parents did. but i never. hehe....i just let him drink water from his own water bottle.

sanrio
did u come up to the play aREA just now? i never see u le. Really cant tahan Javen.....told me he wanna "pom pom so i bring him there". reach there, he see so many older kids, no dare to play. only half wet n told me he wan poo...end up bring him go change then go giant buy some stuff then back home... what abt u?

janet
i think 1st world indoor has the most rides suitable for our kiddos. I didnt go to the outdoor theme park this time rd cos no time as we wanted to go KL. but we will be going back again next feb....4D3N....definitely will be going for the outdoor.

btw, the outing at marina barrage is for the kiddos to run ard the big area?

Janet,
8 dec, i cant. we gg hotel stay. u all go ahead lah

Cheezel,
yup i saw u n javen at d waterplay area but we were at d playgrd, i din brg cher near d waterplay area as din brg extra clothes. yes imm so crowded tdy..

springdance,
Package is $2188, consultation is free now. but don't know have how many hidden charges for Lasik.
You want to go?
I have to wear specs for 2 weeks before consultation cos i'm wearing hard lenses.

nellu,
josh is doing flash card? wow, he can read.
Cookie can only imitate the tiger eating human or lion roar or giraffe's neck.

Nellu, cheezel

I'll consider, but maybe early next yr. We're going for a 2 week break in Dec 08, so there'll be some disruption there. Do you intend to cont sessions for yr boys next yr too?

sanrio
WOw, enjoy yr hotel stay. Whereabouts?

Jeanyard
U're so funny...but kinda morbid..tiger eating human..errr...ehhehe.. Adam also, don't know what he can do. Pa ka lio, everything all in one, but no structured reading or anything.

Hmmm thinkin of going to zoo today, it's finally so sunny! but i bet it'll be crowded on saturday mornings...

sanrio
which hotel u going?? i thinking of going for one in dec.

smalldreams
not too sure if will continue....have to see how.

cheezel

if javen is enjoying the classes, would be fun to let him continue
I'm considering placing adam in one of those activities.

Just now we went to a family day & adam went to play in one of those inflatables with balls - where all the kids can jump around in it. He doesn't seem afraid of the bigger kids as much as I was! But then that's only play. gotta try him out in classes :p

sanrio

so nice... enjoy yrselves. Can bring cher & ash to underwater world..

anyway today we brought adam to see ponies at gallop stable again ehhe

Smalldreams
I'm keen to enrol Jonas in RIM after this term of his BusyBuds classes finish....which means next year.

JeanYard
I have considered about doing Lasik beofre but hor, my dark eye rings are getting from worse to incorrigible ever since I become a mummy...so tot maybe should stick with specs to camouflag alittle...hahahah.

Janet
You intend to have any "programme" for the gathering at MB on 8 Dec morning? Staying until lunch time?

jeanyard,
we are not really doing the glenn doman flashcards with Josh. We use the Your Baby Can Read series. he learns from watching the VCDs. didn't do much. just plonk him in front of tv only...hehehe...

sanrio,
aft you go to Amara Sanctuary, let me know if the place is family/kid-friendly or not. We had wanted to do our weekend stay there, but went to Rasa Sentosa instead. Because Rasa is closer to the beach plus the facilities are quite kid friendly (got kids play room and waddling pool for kids to swim in).

btw, now at what time do you bring cher to IMM to play? she's napping at 3pm thereabouts right?

i brought Josh to IMM with my parents just now. Play for a while only then have lunch. Not so crowded in the morning it seems.

smalldreams,
I'm not likely to continue with BB classes next year cos Josh will be going to CC. BB is like playgroup and at CC the activities are similar to that. so no pt repeating it even for weekends. We are still deciding whether to continue with myGym or RIM. my hubby is leaning towards RIM while I'd like to bring Josh more for gym.

mommies
i'm back. brought Javen to tampinese today. travel by bus and train. really long journey

SD
I prob not joining BB classes next yr. considering My Gym. not too sure abt RIM. prob will attend a trial to see how cos not too sure if Javen will like the teacher.

nellu
IMM not so crowded in the morning? hmm....bringing Javen to IMM tomor to the water playarea again. think he still not so courageous to go forward to play among bigger kids. so wanna let him get used to it.

smalldreams,
tks. we hvnt been to gallop stable thou. brought kids to marina barage n hort park over d wkend. nice places. but must go evening time else very hot. kids esp my boy like d waterplay area at marina barage.

nellu,
sure. we hv been to rasa few tx so tot wld try amara tis tx.
cher's nap tx is now either abt 10am-12pm or 2pm-4pm. it all depends on what tx she wakes up. some days she takes a short morning nap n would nap agn at 4pm to abt 5pm. i usually brg her to imm for lunch with frd n stay till late noon n let her play at playgrd for a while.

cheezel,
imm is crowded now due to school holidays..

sanrio
ya....saw alot of kids there. now go anywhere aso crowded.

cher's nap time abt the same as Javen. Cher willining to sit stroller.....u go shop aso easier. my javen dun wan....keep running ard...else have to carry him.

btw, which type of accommodation u staying at amara??

CD,
oh...too bad hor... you want to try to check out those baby places at Ubi...you know those baby kingdom, baby hypermart...??