(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

Cool_D
That’s really nice of you to describe him as “smart”…I always think is Kia-Si. Bad mummy huh…. :p

Baby J & Mummy
So sorry to hear that…but dun blame yourself ok! Am sure it’s not your fault…mummy must be really heartpain to see her boy “kanna” the viruses at such a tender age…he’s with a infant care centre or something? Any idea who pass the virus to him?

Mooch
Welcome welcome….2 new mummies here in a day….WOW! U got twins…you must be terribly busy? Are you a SAHM or FTFM? Anyone helping you to take care of the twins?

My boy can’t talk anything yet nor start to walk…only know how to “Oh Oh Oh”…shake or turn head….and cruise with support. Like Cool_D mentioned, all babies have different milestone….guess it’s better to let them explore & take their time to learn…try not to get too worry & pressurise yourself to train them up.

Naqia
Yupz…vanilla ice-cream…also is a form of milk…no harm giving abit to Adam to try…some “carrot” to bring out his appetite for food.

Sanrio
Another heart-warming milestone for Cher & yourself too ...

mooch, bbJ,
dun b stressed. my older boy was 'slower' than my girl. he din 'talk' till abt 2 yrs old. but tdy at 3.5yr sold, he is talking non-stop, keke...

sanrio,
Ur boy sounds like my nephew. He also started talking late (2+yrs) & his mummy was initially worried. Now at 4yrs old, he is also talking non-stop. Can even start chit chatting with aunties in the lift and calls me to argue wif me sometimes .. haha.

SpringD
Jonas is being cautious mah .. maybe he knows if he falls, he hv to bear wif the pain

naqia
ya i missed my boy's babyhood too. time flies....

update of my boy progress: can call pa pa n ma ma, ball, duck and mum mum. sometimes he will say hello.
still can't walk but crawlling all over the hse.

sgn

gee...yr boy can talk already?! Amazing!

Mine cannot lah...still going "UH, UH!" or some other funny baby noises...hehe...like "AYA YAA"

sgn
wow KY can tok already..Markus still goes "AHHHH" only..

Re:Walking
think my MIL trained him to walk by holding on to his tee when he stand up..dat why all the tees I had are very loose at the neckline..

anyone have any idea how to coach baby to drink water? i think most baby dun like water. when i try to feed him wih water, his eaction is like i am trying to feed him with poison. I have tried all method like syringe, spoon & cup, still not successful. I try to give him gulcose water also.He only like milk..

naqia / zhuzhu
ky can only say simple single word but not very good sometime i wonder what he saying, some days he will 'teh teh teh teh teh' the whole day.
my boy's speech is better but physically he is slower.

baby j
have tried giving him straw cup?

SpringDance
Vanilla ice-cream....tats wad my PD told me to gib when bbK refuse to drink her milk...but den I tot tat was crazy...so din try!!! maybe I shd gib her some tmr....wahahahaha....

mooch
Welcome to the thread. WOW!!! long fong tai!! coolzzzz... gd to pop out once n close shop though it tiring nw...heehee...

naqia
bbK's lips not tat swollen liao..heng arh...bday over, if not how to show pple her photos..kekeke...

BabyJ
WATER: I started gibing H2O when bbK was abt 3mths, so I din had any problem wif H2O. Sometimes, she can finish up till 12oz of H2O.

CoolD
bbK oso cant suck frm straw, still on teat. Enjoy Jboy bday later ya. HAPPY BIRTHDAY Jordan.

Baby J, then like that, would diluting more water with his milk help?

I use the NUK spout, that one the opening is quite big, so he drinks more. I use the Pigeon spout too..but for now he still don't know how to drink from straw. I think i'm going to try training soon, coz babies would drink more. My friend gave me a tip - use thin straw (like those in yakult), easier for them to learn. Havent tried tho

Mum@work
good that the swelling has gone down. now it's my babyadam's turn. just now he was trying to crawl into the balcony while he was already sooo sleepy, and he bumped his head against the floor. now got one "egg" on his forehead.

RE: B-free bottles
How often do you change yr baby's bottles? My kid is now 1, yet hes still using the same bottles as newborn or the newer ones (but still old lah). Should I change? Thinking of switching to b-free ones

Mum@Work,

Have u read my e-mail reply to u? Please revert. Do u mind exchanging contact numbers coz got stuff to discuss with u directly? Please email asap. I am still waiting for your reply. Thanks in advance

i have tried cup but not with straw. he dun know how to suck from straw. Really have problem coaxing him everyday.since infant he dun like water aldy..

baby j
i gave my boy pigeon straw cup when he was sick. maybe the colour n the straw attached him. i gave him n ask him to 'su' then he just did it. can try teaching ur boy. babies are very clever their brain is just a sponge absort anything u teach him!

naqia
i change 6-8 months depends on how offen i use the bottles. i prefer avent bottles as my boy is comfortable using their teats, dun wish to change. bfree dun need to change frequently?

naqia
me oso still using the same milk bottles since he is a newborn...had been using Bfree at my plc..but MIL prefer pigeon..cos its easier to assemble..

Pisces Gal, M@w
B-free is a bottle brand which does not contain Bisphenol-A. Apparently Bisphenol-A is found in high levels in plastic bottles like Avent, Dr Browns' etc. Bisphenol-A is linked to cancer, hyperactivity, etc. That's why am thinking of switching to Bisphenol-A bottles.

Zhuzhu,
If you use B-Free, wow, must be expensive huh! I bot my first B-free bottle justnow, and it costs me $21.90 for a 260 ml one! If buy pack of 4, it's $60+!! Can we not use the stuff inside the B-free bottle? Shall read the manual later.

sgn, mum@work
oh, change 6-8 mths? Then it's time i change my bottles liao. Will try to see if my boy likes the B-free teat. If yes, then I think I'll make a switch. But sometimes i wonder whether these are all just marketing gimmicks...

naqia
tk u for the answer to pisces gal cos i also dun how to answer. hee hee.
btw thousands of babies had been using avent and other brands how many of these cases had been reported?
i think with the price of 4 bfree i can buy 10 avent bottles and use for 1 yr.
i found that whichever brand of bottles also need to change cos after long usage there will be stain inside the bottles. i think better change after a period of time.

naqia
true i think more or less a bit marketing gimmicks.
well i'm waiting for GSS n spend$$$ ha ha ha.

sgn

Ive already spent a lot yesterday, didn't even wait for GSS! Hehe. I think even my hubby was shocked coz I'm usually a careful shopper (except online, where Im such an impulsive buyer!). whoops...hehhe..wonder if Coach got GSS sale :p

Pisces gal
I found it at Kiddy Palace. Nett price, so current 20% discount won't apply, hmphhh!! I've also seen it Baby Hypermart. I bot 1 only to try out -300ml bottle costs $21.90!!

Ive tested it for my boy's morning feed, and he drank effortlessly from it. Yeah! coz he just can't gel with Avent teats...

naqia
wow so u dun have to spend $$ on bottles for quite sometime. check with u bfree is wide or standard neck?

pisces gal
robinson also carries bfree.

sgn

it's wide neck. I think pigeon & avent teat can fit...but haven't try. anyway as usual, these manufacturers will say, only use their bottles with their own same-brand teats...

so whats the plan today?

anyway since robinsons carry Bfree, i think i shall wait for the GSS, then buy the bottles there to get the discount.

naqia
those stick inside the bottle is meant to prevent colic..now bb turned 1 yr old..i don't use the stick except the green part and the blue valve...if not when u shake the bottle..the milk will start to spilt out..

the other day isetan pte sale..bfree had 20% off leh..duno now still have o not..if i know kiddy palace no discount..would have get it during isetan sale..

softpillow
i still giving enfa2, today went ntuc saw enfa 2 selling $32.90. last wk was $34 when i bought.

naqia
i had tried using avent teats with pigeon bottles but leaks. maybe i didn't put properly. i prefer wide neck easy to pour water and powder.

we;re bck! chloe was admitted to the hosp after a week of fever and cough and vomiting.her viral infection turned into another bout of bronchiolitis and was wheezing badly. she didnt want to eat or drink anything and didnt want to eat her med. after forcing her to take some med, she'll juz cough till she vomits it out.tried to gv her even vanila ice cream but she juz refused to even try and eat. so no choice but to hospitalised her and put her on nebuliser. she's discharged today and has started eating/drinking . so glad and happy now. but she will hv to be on medication for 3 months.

re:bfree bottles
hmm...should i chg to this or juz introduce training cup to her?

wonder baby
glad to heard that chole is ok now. dun give her grapes n oranges until she recover.

training cup easy for them to suck can give her if she wants.

zhuzhu

Just now I tried doing away with the valve...I just screw the teat onto the bottle. But nothing leaked.... phew~ so now I think I won't be using any of those "internal" parts anymore. Quite ma fan right...hehe... or rather I'm just a lazy mummy..

Janet
Yups, now Kiddy palace got 20% off everything except for nett items (aiyah, fed up man, so stingy...). Guess gotta get from where zhuzhu & sgn said...Robinsons or Isetan - at least for them their discount is throughout the whole store, not limited.

sgn
yup, I prefer wide neck too...but too bad lah when my baby was still young, he only wanted NUK teats, so stuck to that till he was about 8 mths plus. By then he's OK with Pigeon. now, he's even OK with Bfree.

wonder_baby
omigoodness.... poor chloe had to go thru all that.... how is she taking the medication?

Abt changing to Bfree or training cup, i guess it depends on how much she can drink via training cup. I've yet to try. But if she can drink a lot, u should just use training cup ...or u can switch to B-free training cup too...I think they carry something like that.

PGal
I've replied ur email.

wonderbaby
Poor Chloe...hope she's feeling better nw. medication for 3mths? Poor gal...how many types of medi?

Sgn
u mean to put the milk inside the training cup and let them drink?

Naqia
maybe the last time I did not screw probably..that's why all the milk started to splash out when i shake...

zhuzhu
ya my friend did that but i still prefer feed milk with teats.

naqia
huh u buy such a ex bottle but never uterlise the spare parts it quite a waste.

zhuzhu

but u may be right too you know, coz I also read on the net that milk leaks when you shake if never use the other parts. I wonder why mine didnt. Any diff between Born Free & BFree? Mine is BFree Plus. Wonder if got difference

sgn
I tot it was a waste too, but now I see it as saving time cleaning those extra parts. Esp if boy no longer has colic, and what I really want to use is the Bisphenol-A free bottle

Maybe some of you have answered such question before. Pai say, ask again.

Anyone know if Sengkang area has shops that can inflate the balloons? I know parkway and cityhall have shops for such services. Too far from my place.

wonderbaby,

poor chloe.. i can understand yr feeling when she is in hospital. it is the worst nightmare and can even cries even at night seeing our precious suffering.

sgn, maybe i will buy the pigeon straw cup lo.. i tried the avent training bottle also no use le.. he like to bit and pull the teat and refused to swallow any water except milk.

enfa 3 got 2 flavours meh? just now i check my din i din see any indication of flavours le..

wonder_baby,
Poor Chloe. Good that she is ok now. Take care.

Blueblue,
If all florists provide the inflation of balloon, then there is one florist at the basement of compass point, maybe you can try that.

thanks, mummies.
she cried and struggled each time when she is on the nebulizer. so had to wrap her up then she was so upset. i'm juz glad it is over now.
as this is her 2nd bronchiolitis in 4-5 months, she has to take a powder medicine everyday for 3 mths to prevent it from happening again.and also an inhaler for these few days till her cough goes off. and i've gotten probiotics and multi vit for her.

naqia
saw from another thread that pigeon also safe like bfree n can use avent teats. may go buy 1 n try out.

baby j & mummy
can try lah, cos i bought one is slim bottle type not mag mag. multicolour so my boy likes it.

enfa: i'm not sure about flavour until saw someone posted about there's 2 flavour.

blueblue
is it the one at b1? i asked gerfio to inflate the balloons for me they charge $18 for a trip maybe can call them. look for greg 996884724.

sgn
Grefio charge u $18 per trip? for wad kindof balloon & how many? I chk wif him b4, $1.40per balloon. For him to inflate foil balloons, its not worth it, cos its different prices in sizes...min. $12+ i tink.

BFree Bottles
Mummiesss, Cheong Choon selling BFree bottles, set of 2 is $30.00. She oso sell single bottle. Naqia, I've tried avent teat too. Phew...it ddnt leaked.

sgn, M@W

Alamak...I just bot 2 more Bfree bottles from hypermart! I bot 1 new version - $21.90, and one older version for $15.90. Silly me, should've bot the older version since i'm not using the spare parts...

Just now i went to takashimaya also, no Bfree there. Can't find Pigeon BPA free though I scanned through the Pigeon shelve there. What to do, bot already. So just use lor...

But for now can't throw out all my Avent bottles first...coz I still need them to express whatever BM i have now...

mum@work
i had 20 latex balloons and 6 foil balloons + $18 total bill was $70.

zhuzhu/ naqia
i'm not sure how much but i like the colour. saw taka selling pigeon BPA bottles b4 cos there's a mummy advice me to buy as she said it's a long term investment.

naqia & Sgn,

What is Pigeon BPA bottles? Can enlighten me again?

I have just bought two Bfree bottles for about S$38 plus. That means each Bfree bottle costs about S$19 plus from Kiddy Palace. I have tried using Bfree milk bottle on my babyG and he likes it coz he can finish 180 ml of milk faster than the old milk bottle

Thanks to both of u for giving me this piece of advice
!

PiscesGal

Wow, went on a shopping spree huh? EHhee..yeah I think the flow is quite good... and thank goodness my boy also can get used to the teat!

Cheong CHoon is this place in Chinatown that sells baby stuff, usually at prices lower than retail stores. But u gotta do yr research..sometimes more worth it to buy the stuff in retail stores when there are sales.

ANyway i think 2 BFree bottles should be good for a start. I have 3 in total...but only using 1 so far.