(2007/05) May 2007 MTB

lovedogs, sgn & moxi
ya man..since they never called back..i oso not goin to be bother abt it

naqia
ya.. Markus is walking like a penguin now..

zhuzhu
at least markus is trying his best to walk, my ky is lazy lor. MIL tried to make him walk he always sit down.

serene,

nice cake
Bet shernise had a great time

zhuzhu,

markus sounds very cute
i think i have some photos of markus and tessa trying to snatch the scooter the other day... very funny but too bad most of the pix were blurry

Serene
Sweet-looking cake...how was the party? Tired? Opened up Shernise's ang paos & pressies yet?

Lovedogs
No sharing of photos from you for Tessa's party?

I saw your cake from Ms Tan's blog...looks taller than the standard 2 tier cake...it's a special request?

Moxi
I saw your blog...the photoshoot got Jap & Korea costumes one! So interesting....the studio charge for rental of these dresses?

Janet
The cakes on the mummy's blog all look so nice....sugar figurines look so alike the cartoon character. So how much she charged you for the cake? Can finish since you say not so nice?

Re: Eggs
I asked PD...he says toddlers at this age can take egg everyday! But after discussion with MIL, we figure it's really too filling and worry my boy got indigestion... so decide to keep to 2-3 per week.

Lovedogs
Tessa is drinking so much milk...think not necessary to take too much eggs...I wanted to give Jonas eggs becoz he hates milk (so this is a alternative according to PD)...he's drinking 300-400ml per day onli.

springdance,

i got no time to update my blog as super busy leh. also most photos from my bro's camera were blurry. now waiting for the photos from his gf's camera. hope will be better. when i get them, i will try my best to squeeze sometime to update my blog... heehee... instead of uploading more of david cook's music :p

moxi,

i also saw the studio pix! maishia (i got the spelling right this time :p ) looks so happy and cute!
where did u do the studio pix? how abt the costumes and props...u brought along or provided by the studio?

springdance,

thanks for the info on eggs
well i wanna give coz i find when u beat the egg inside the porridge, it makes the porridge very very yummy... perhaps i will give one every alternate day?

Lovedogs
No harm trying alternate days...can monitor her appetite after you feed porridge with egg...if her appetite drops alot after 3 days or so...then maybe have to change to longer days of interval.

Amanda
After 1 year old, supposedly can give yolk & white together...I did for my boy. :p

But if you wanna be safe, can start with just yolk first.

Only thing to avoid is HALF-BOILED egg...as long as it's fully cooked, you can steam, hardboiled or even do omelette.

i'm so stressed and tired..bbc still hving fever, bad cough and blocked nose. brought her to pd again who said it's a viral infection..this time ard she doesn't want to eat. don't want milk or plain water. not even glucose or juice|! and she hates her medicine so much that she will not swallow and starts crying till she gags on it and vomit out. this time the pd gave me suppository for her fever. i've to figure out how to keep her still alone to insert it. i can only manage to make her drink abt 3-4 oz milk when she is asleep. at times she will cough till she vomits all up.but she still has to take her cough medicine orally. but i don't seem to be able to get her to swallow it.
what can i do to make her drink and eat? she even rejected barley

wonder_baby , sorry to interrupt . i am april thread mummy . my sonny also sick , same symptoms like ur gal. did u try diluting her milk ? milk powder can be heaty . try sponging her too if she has fever.
i applied vicks on throat and feet to make him feel better before he zzzz . keep trying to feed medicine , he also refuses to drink . sigh .. he is stil not fully recovered yet but his appetitite is returning

caicai
she rejects everything even diluted milk. at nite she has difficulties sleeping due to her blocked nose. she'll get agitated and wake up crying and crying. glad to know your boy's appetite is returning.how many days has his fever been going on?

my son also sick fever, cough running nose and thick phlem le.. now fever no more but the running nose and phlem is serious. haiz...

For block nose, maybe can try tilting the mattress a bit, so that the child's head is slightly higher than the feet.

How about putting the medicine in the milk? Child will only drink if he/she is like sleeping. My gal drinks when she is half awake.

wonder baby / caicai/ baby j & mummy
my boy was down with fever 1 months ago n ended up with pneumonia. he had fever 1 wk n he did't want milk for 10 days, cos it will made them breathless when they suck. try using spoon to feed or give more solid, easy for them to swallow, to keep them full.

Janet
try not to add med in the milk or else next time they dun want milk too.

Wonder baby, caicai

I hope your babies will get well soon! I think we mummies feel very helpless and miserable too right? With regard to blocked nose, would vapour rub for babies help? Vicks is too strong, but I can't remember the name for the rub for babies. That should help ease congestion. Cherry rub is only for those above 2 yrs old.

Today my Adam turns 1. No party for him, just a small gathering with my family. Feel quite sorry for him though...he bumped his head twice today! Trials and tribulations of growing up....

baby J,
welcome
hope your kiddo gets well soon too... !

naqia
<font color="aa00aa">Happy Birthday to Adam!</font>

i think u are referring to snuffle babe vapour rub? i did used on ky n i think it works.

Hi mummies out there,

anyone have PNEUMOCOCCAL &amp; ROTAVIRUS immunisation for yr babies?

i intend to bring him to poly clinic for immunisation for his next visit.

my boy now learning to walk, but he only walk a while and he will sit down... so lazy... haiz.. but i have observe that when he walk he will step on his own foot. is that ok?

wonder baby / caicai/ baby j &amp; mummy
Hope ur bb recover soon. For blocked nose, did PD prescribe nasal spray? I tink it works though I hate to use nasal spray.

naqia
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ADAM
Talking abt trials and tribulations of growing up....bbK got a SEXY LIPS!!!! she crawls so fast tat she flew down n kissed the floor!!! Ouch!! Bled n swollen SEXY lips she got! The papa still said " nvm, its time u fall down n grow...." zzzzzzzzz....

babyJ&amp;mummy
Welcomed. bbK had 2 pneumo liao, she'll be due for MMR on her nxt visit. My gal oso lazy bump, she walked few steps and sit sit sit. But wen she sees birds or cats, she'll wanna chase...stepping on their foot its normal I guessed.

wonderbaby ,
my sonny's fever on -off for 3 days , but not exactly high . coz i think it is also partly due to his teething . i think he has a total of 12 teeth now ( going to erupt + out ) ones ...

his fav food is still milk , so we just let him be . by rite he shd be eating porridge but now , he is on milk most of the time . last time when he was sick , he wld be leaving 40-50ml . but now , he can finiz all his milk . i heard fm my experienced coll , that flu takes a longer time to recover . as long as there is no wheezing sound , i think no cause for alarm. as first time mummies , sometimes we are too scary cats . kancheong ... he is still playing and active . so i guess he is fine now (though he still has mucus on his nose n coughing slightly)

Baby J &amp; Mummy
Welcome to the thread....feel free to chat &amp; share with us ya...

My boy had both the immunisations jabs that you mentioned...done at his PD clinic.

Naqia
HIPPIE HIPPIE belated birthday to ADAM!

Think the falls &amp; bumps are inevitable when baby learning to walk....my boy is super afraid of falling (in-borned character!!)...that's why simple refuse to learn to walk..."die die" must grab hold of something to cruise along or just do the crawling.

Re: Sick babies
I read from a mummy's sharing that her PD advise her to give baby vanilla ice-cream if baby refuse to eat or drink anything. Apparently, it works after she has tried!

My way of feeding my boy with medicine is that it takes two persons. One person to pin him down and hold his arms tightly, the other person to quickly pour the medicine into his mouth using a small spoon...1 of us need to pinch his nose lightly so that he will open up his mouth for the medicine though...

Sounds cruel rite? Well...NO CHOICE! Better than let the sickness drag for so long becoz of no medication being taken.

springD
yes, some x have to be abit hard hearted. I rmbr when Jboy started the sterima spray for his running nose, we were also pinning him down, holding his head &amp; spray. But u know wat, nowadays he seems to know tis is gd for him &amp; now, i tell him, ok, mummy wash ur nose he will juz lie quietly for me

Walking . .. Jonas is smart to know he is unstable, so hold on something. Jordan is the cheong kind, cheong cheong cheong, fall fall fall :S The day b4, he juz walk so fast at the playgrd n fell, flat on his face. Luckily nowadays playgrd are those carpetted kind, so no injury, but his left side of face, arms n legs all black black .. Hua lian mao!!

tks all the mummies there for giving me such good advise. but i dunno whether my son can still have the jab for PNEUMOCOCCAL. My boy have the worst childhood. he got HFMD, Rotavirus and bronchitis before. So i really blame myself as a lousy mummy, make him suffered so much during his childhood. So now watever jab can give i will give him

i have nvr tried the nose spray before maybe my boy is too young. They always precribed me the nose drop, no use lo.. only dry up the mucus only. But cannot cure.

bb J
Pnuemo sure can. In fact, if you give after 1 yr old, u only need 1 or 2 jab. I gave jboy at 3mths, so he needs 4 jabs in total.

I prefer the salt water nose spray coz it's actually non medicated. Justo to wash down his mucus since bb cannot sneeze mah. I try to avoid medication coz they are so young.

my poor boy have been having medication since 3 mth onwards when he have bronchitis. KK doc have nvr precribed me any nose spray to me before they alway give me nose drop. which nvr work.

cher took her first 4 steps 2 days ago. so happy! i video it down. cos i saw her trying to 'move' so quickie grab my camera. she can speak quite a bit too. she alwy cum to me n said, 'ma ma up' (askg me to carry her to somewhere) then i ask her, 'go where', she wld point to korkor rm. next i ask her what do u want, she wld point to somtg n said, 'take'.

i have to hold my boy hand in order he can walk for 2-3 steps. i train him to walk every evening after work. but he still dun dare to let go my hand and his body always like to lean forward whaile holding my hand when he walk.

babyJ,
let him hold onto something he likes. cher has been holding onto korkor toy ball n trying to move n then she walks..

wat u mean is for example: i let my boy hold on to one end of his toys and me hold another end. using that as a support for him to learn walking?

i would like to join this thread too
i am mommy of twins, one boy and one gal, born May 2007.

would like to check are most of your kids walking or talking already?

me a bit concern, cos my boy only hold on to furniture and cruise, and my gal dun even do that.. talking my gal jus does jibberish tat no one can understand, except mama but she mama to everything! and my boy dun even try to talk.

any advice or tips how to 'help' or encourage them?

Hi mooch
Welcome .. wah, envy u having twins leh. somemore 1 boy 1 gal, license to buy blue n pink

my jboy is walking ... but toking still his 'ah' &amp; 'pa'.

To encourage walking, I guess juz hv to lure them with some fav toys. I also try &amp; place my boy against the wall, dan sit abit further &amp; ask him walk to me. It works most of the time. And sanrio is right, let them hold onto some toys, so they will not depend on furniture etc ard them.

To encourage talking, I heard from some mummies dat you can speak slowly infront of your bb &amp; show them your lips. i tried, din work :p

Anyway, I believe all babies r diff &amp; hv diff milestone, so i m not rushing him into anything.

Btw, he still can't suck from straw, so still drinking water from teat.

welcome mooch,

my boy can say mama &amp; da da also. He also can only walk for 2-3 steps and sit down.

gacc / cool daughter

maybe tonight i will try both the matter to encourage him to walk

Sgn

Yups, it's called Snuffle babe! It works quite well I think!

Sgn, Cool_D, Janet, Springdance, Mum@work
Thanks for yr wishes
Cant believe they're officially toddlers now...sighs..miss their babyhood. Time flies don't ya think?

Mooch,
welcome! Wow, twins! R u a SAHM? So hard to cope with 1, let alone two!

gacc
Congrats to Cheryl! hehe...now u have to watch her like a hawk right? They just keep tumbling, falling... ehhe (like Fergie's song)

Mum@work

is yr yr gal's lips still swollen? What can alleviate that? Bonjela? Ice? Lucky her birthday over...hehe, so less phototaking... :p

Springdance
Vanilla icecream? That's new! I think my boy will love it!